X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3602 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

great price but you cant expect a 5-star hotel...

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ori! You are totally right!!!We are a basic youth hotel, great for backpackers, groups and young people who would like to have the best time in Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

I will come back! It's a really cool hotel, good location great anti-advertising and nice people. The only thing that should be changed are the opening and dinner hours of the bar, because the downstairs disco is a little bit boring, dark and without tables. The bar itself is much more comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Anna! Thanks for your great message! Great to hear you've had the best time at our hotel! We really hope to see you (and your friends) again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

it was very good all around

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thibault, Thanks for your message! We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

100%

what you pay is what you get.


94%

There are some terrible hostels in Amsterdam hans brinker is not one of them! Stay here or regret the decision not to forever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessica! Thanks for your great message! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

I have several giant mosquito bites. Mosquitos are a serious problem. Other than that, it was great. Thanks very much for the wonderful stay. Long live Happy Hour.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Chris! Thanks for your review! Great to hear you've enjoyed Happy Hour! did you party at our underground club as well? Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

great for young people or even teenagers travelling with a group of friends. A reasonable, affordable option in an excellent location for any kind of tourist who is tolerant of noisy, drunk, but generally respectful groups of teenagers, and who doesn't plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Soledad, Thanks for your review. We hope you've had the best time in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

The location was excellent, the room was clean, the only bad point was the bathroom , which did not have real walls , only tainted glass.

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lara, Great to hear you've had an excellent stay. Not all our bathrooms have glass walls, only a couple on the 4th floor. Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Better than advertised - taking into consideration they are a self proclaimed terrible hostel. Rooms and showers were average for what you would expect from a hostel. Location is good, only a block from the tram but you can also walk to the museum area and touristy areas easily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Risa, Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon! If you are interested in our advertisement campaigns, please have a look at our website! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

the hostel is very good located, there is a young enviroment, i would definitely recommend it for young groups who would like to have fun and being at the centre of Amsterdam

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Eva, Thanks for your stay and your review! Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

For a citytrip to Amsterdam it's a fine hotel. You pay what you get.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Erik, Thanks for your review! Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

It was just great! I will definetely return with a bunch of friends.

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Martiros! Great to hear! Well, see you and your friends soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

A decent hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nicolai! We are decent, fun and central located :)! See you next time? Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

Very good breakfast! Top!

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jeroen, Thanks for your comment. We hope you enjoyed more than only the breakfast ;)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

The hostel has a good location, reception is open 24 hours and they are very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marco, Thanks for your great review!! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!! Greetings, Hans Brinker

43%

Bathroom not clean at all. The hostel could do with a lick of paint, a good clean, better mattresses, better beds, safer lockers that work. Breakfast bland. They actually pride themselves on being the worst hostel in Amsterdam! Apart from the location I'm afraid that my experience was not great.

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sean, Sorry to read you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. Our bathrooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a dorm with other people, they may make the bathrooms dirty after cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

great hotel! could do with a bit more facilities and a little more clean!!!!

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nerthika, Thanks for your review. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

Such a nice place to stay and meet awesome people!

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

The room and bathroom was very clean, breakfeast was the best I've ever had in a hostel! It's quite a big hostel but not too noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Laura! Thanks for your comment! We hope to see you soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

Good value for money... but in main season u feel like entering a main station building, very crowded and long waiting lines, therefore the staff was not friendly at all (which i can understand a bit...). Rooms are ok, simple and clean enough . Not recommended for a trip with your girlfriend, but for a party trip its perfect! I was there for the second time and will come back again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Dennis, Thanks for your review! We are a youth hostel with basic rooms, so indeed, we are not the place for a romantic weekend with your girlfriend. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

(1910 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback