X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
4425 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

They really need to put a stair to the top bunk, I hurt myself because of that. A simple portable-three-steps-stair in each room would be a start!! There's absolutely nowhere you can leave your towels and clothes in the bathroom, not even on top of the toilet, since it doesn't have a lid. And a three minute shower is enough to leave the entire bathroom flooded. Otherwise it's clean and well furnitured (it really needs those stairs!!). Locks for each bed. Good breakfast. 24h Reception

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, you're information helps us to improve our property! Hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

63%

Well, the location is quite good and you can walk to the main attractions. Was cheap comparing to the other places and has free breakfast. About its facilities, the rooms are pretty small and the bathroom not so well architected, as it gets quite wet after any shower despite the care you take for it not to happen. Don't stay on the first floor rooms if you want at least one night of rest in Amsterdam, is desperately noisy and the seem not to care about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion about our hostel. As a youth hostel with a bar and club inside, it can be a noisy sometimes. We're sorry if that kept you awake - hope you still enjoyed your time in Amsterdam though!

77%

The hostel it's nice, nice location, nice area, very big and nice bar. It's a shame that the corridor was so nosy early morning!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your opinion, we’re very happy to hear that! Hope to see you again next time you’re visiting Amsterdam, hasta pronto!

80%

The shower really needs a better separation in order not to leave the whole bathroom wet. It needs a small wall or something. Also, it doesn't have anywhere to leave clothes, towel and shampoo. It doesn't even have the lid of the toilet. It is really hard to go to the top bunk without a stair, I hurt myself with this. A simple portable ladder per room would go a long way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review and suggestions for improvement of our hotel! Thanks a lot for giving us 80%, hope you’ve had a great time in Amsterdam!

66%

The hostel is good for the price! The breakfast is really great. However, the showers didn't work properly.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your opinion, glad you liked the breakfast! We’ve send someone to the room you’ve stayed in to check the showers; thanks for your feedback. Hope to see you next time you’re visiting Amsterdam!

60%

close to Rejksmuseum, van Gogh Museum and with tram (or by foot) everything important good reachable. When we arrived there was still hair from our before roomies in the bathroom and one always knew where to go due to the smokers surrounding the entrance. :( Breakfast though was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your opinion and helping us to improve our hostel! We're sorry to hear you’ve found hair from the former guests in your room, we must state though that are rooms are being cleaned daily. Happy to hear you loved the breakfast! We hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

74%

Booked with two other friends the 26-27, so just one night. It was pretty good. We ended up paying around 90 Euros so it was a little pricey, but it was Christmas time so now worries. We also have our own bathroom and shower in our room with lockers so it was prefect for our one night. I

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review! We’re happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. Hope to see you again sometime!

69%

The hostel was ok if you needed a place to stay. The rooms were not to big and the locker in the room was skinny but tall. This would probably be a place for younger people. The bar area was the best aspect because it was very big and a good place to hang out. We stayed in two different rooms and the second room had bed bugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Indeed our main target group is young people :) As I don't see records of you staying in 2 rooms, I've sent you an e-mail so we can get the details of what happened? I hope you can answer me there, it would be of great help. Thank you!

83%

Holland: Helemaal prima! Leuk met 6 vriendinnen 1 nachtje op een 6-persoons dorm. Niets te klagen. Zelfs een handdoekje en een prima ontbijt!

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Bedankt voor je review! Fijn om te horen dat er niets te klagen was :) Graag tot een volgende keer! Groetjes, Hans

63%

The place is just OK. The rooms don't look nice, the building don't look nice, the cleaning is OK and the staff are not the most helpful ever, but it's a place that you can sleep and not far from things. During my stay the bar and the club were completely empty.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • dy_branco
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We were pleasantly surprised! Location is perfect, everything is in walking distance so you don't even need to use the public transportation :) The rooms are OK, only shower head could be better (water is everywhere, except on you :D). I think you can't get a better hostel for this price, and they offer free breakfast! We are definitely coming back!

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Your opinion is of great value to us, this way we can improve our facilities and services. I've let the handyman know to fix the showerhead in this room! Thanks for letting us know. We hope to see you another time! Greetings, Hans

91%

Nice hostel to stay near to the city centre!! Amazing bar with loads of different people and great prices. Would recommend this hostel...the funny advertising as the worst hostel in the world makes a special environment!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review and positive words! We do our best to keep the special environment going :) We would be happy to see you next time! Greetings, Hans

57%

Decent enough hostel, but it's dead during the off season. Would not recommend to solo travels visiting Amsterdam during this time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! It can be quiet when we don't have lots of guests, luckily that doesn't happen very much :) We hope to see you another time!

69%

Bathroom in the dorms are very disgusting and smell, but overall it was ok

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Your review is of great value for us. I will let the maintenance-staff check out the room and fix the problem in the bathroom. Thank you for helping us improve our hotel. We hope to see you next time! Greetings, Hans

83%

Glass bathroom in the en suites was an interesting shock! But very happy with cleanliness and housekeeping, staff very helpful and friendly. Would come again & recommend :) :)

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your comment, your opinion matters to us! The glass bathrooms are only in 6 twins that we have, an interesting choice indeed :) However, in shared rooms everyone has their privacy! Glad to hear you had a great stay! We're happy to have you next time! Greetings, Hans

89%

The hostel is very well located, in walking distance of everything, even the central station (of course, if you have heavy bags, it's best to take the tram). The bathrooms are indeed old, but everything works and is cleaned everyday. The breakfast is quite good, especially comparing with other hostels I've been in. All in all, good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your review! Glad to hear you had a good stay. We hope to see you another time! Greetings, Hans

83%

Nice location to stay. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Rooms are good. Bathrooms can be improved a bit. Wifi strength is very good at the lobby but inside room, its poor. this has to be improved. Overall, a decent stay place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Your opinion is of great value to us, this way we can improve our facilities and services. I've noted your room number, so we'll have a look at your bathroom and the Wi-Fi connection. Thanks for letting us know. We hope to see you another time! Greetings, Hans

40%

Compared to other hostels that I've been, this one is the worst one.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for leaving a review! Your opinion matters to us and helps us to improve the hotel. Therefor I've sent you an e-mail to follow up on your bad experience. I'd be happy to hear from you. Thank you!

86%

Loved to stay on the Hans brinker! Great location, friendly staff and breakfast included. Beds are really comfortable as well!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , thanks for such loving words! We hope to see you another time! Greetings, Hans

26%

Staff are twats club was never opened can't smoke and not clean. Stupid policy's!!!

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Your opinion matters to us, because it helps us to improve the hotel. Therefor I've send you an e-mail to further investigate your bad experience. To reply to some of your comments; our bar is daily opened, the club is opened nearly 350 days a year, this was just bad luck. Smoking is indeed not allowed in the hotel, this is Dutch law, not our policy. Thanks for understanding. Greetings!

(2227 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback