X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3893 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

Wow they really are the worst hotel of the world...

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for pointing out what we are proud of!

74%

I stayed there for only one night and I basically went there only to sleep. I think that for this purpose it's a good hostel. Hostels in Amsterdam are very expensive, so if you book with time, you will get a more central and cheaper hostel. They have free breakfast and a happy hour that you pay only one of the two drinks they give you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! See you again next time you're visiting Amsterdam with your friends? Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Please have WIFI facility near to the rooms.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your remark. Currently you have use our free wifi at the bar, restaurant, lobby and underground club. Greetings, Hans Brinker

54%

Private suit with bathroom was quite poor - bath is a glass doors inside the room, one small towel per person - you can only dry hands with such a towels, I'm not talking about the shower. After shower the whole floor in the bath was wet. no slippers. One can say that this is a hostel - but who will bring a shower towels in vacation? We were really disappointed, and really expected our days end in Amsterdam. Next time decided to get a normal hotel without any surprises.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

This is a very basic budget hostel. Rooms weren't clean, cold showers, bed bugs! Awful wifi which they admit to immediately, and only available in the bar/kitchen area. Seems a loud but out of the way hostel. You get what you pay for and that is their policy! Upgrades included are nothing, literally nothing

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear you've experienced some difficulties during your stay, but I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We are a basics hotel, but we provide everything you need for a great stay in Amsterdam. Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Remark, curtains rooms could be more opaque/dark and prevent the return of light. My postcards sent from the hotel are very late arrival at destination. We were surprised that the dorms are mixed, but there was no problem.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. We send the stamped postcards as soon as possible. The delay of the arrival of your card is due to the postal office! Greetings, Hans Brinker

51%

I was there for two nights with 3 friends - all female- in a separate room with private bathroom which was basic but comfortable overall.The location is perfect, I can't say the same about people you'll find there (seemed not exactly like "good guys") and about common areas (hall, kitchen, luggage room). This place is ok only for open mind people not fixed by cleaning.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

My friend got injured with glass on her foot, so I would really recommend to be more careful with the cleaning of floors. Really good breakfast, continue like this!

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! I guess you've enjoyed our pancakes at breakfast :)! Sorry to read your friend got injured by stepping in glass, but our rooms and floors get cleaned every day. Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Good hostel, basic stuff but clean, cheap with a good location !


77%

great and cheap hostel!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your short but complete review! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

51%

the bathroom flooded making the floor not just slippery but dangerous.... I woke up with bites all over my feet and les

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Karen, Currently (during spring or summer time) we have mosquitos in some rooms unfortunately. We hope you did enjoy Amsterdam after all. Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

It has everything what u need for sleep and breakfast. Not more, not less. Enjoyed my night

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

really the worst hotel ever, but the best hostel :) good staff, good meal for good price

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your positive thoughts regarding your stay! Looking forward welcoming you again soon at our place! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Delicious breakfast the bathroom is small and not clean as expected


86%

Very basic but pretty clean. I was surprised there was even a bar with big tables where to have breakfast (included in the price) and for some beer.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We have not only a big bar, but did you visit our underground club too? See you next time! Greetings, Hans Brinker

54%

The staff is rude, mainly the girls who stay at the front desk!! They are not helpfull and make you fell unconfortable. They don't allow you to take breakfast if you arrive before the check-in time, and you can not stay inside the building after your check-out. The place is okay, the breakfast is really good (and Mr. Pedro is the only one of the staff who is polite and gentle). It snt a place to have a good time! It's only ok to sleep and look for fun outside. Go to Flying Pig (cheaper n fun)!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Mr. Pedro will be happy to hear your compliment. It's true you cannot take breakfast when you haven't checked in yet (as in any other hotel), but you can stay at the bar area after check out! Compared you Flying Pig we are cheaper and we have our own underground club…. Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Good location, good value of money


71%

We had BED BUGS in our room, which unfortunately kind of ruined the whole stay. We had to move to another room in the middle of the night and I got bitten all over. Instead of being comprehensive or offering a discount, the reception staff was so rude to tell us that we didn´t have to pay extra for the new room (hello??? we had bed bugs!! Should we pay for that? That was not what I requested, seriously). Truly very bad service at the reception and a very disappointing stay.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear you had some difficulties during your stay. Although you've had some troubles, we hope you've had a great time in Amsterdam. Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Good hostel in great location and clean rooms. It may be basic but its cheap so you can't have it both ways

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

Certainly wouldn't say it's the worst hostel in the world but clever marketing..its a big hostel which means big queues to check in as only one person on the desk..except for that really good , free breakfast and decent sized rooms and shower was fine..would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Of course it's only marketing, but doesn't that make your stay even nicer and funnier (especially our Wall of Shame)? We would love welcoming you again soon when visiting Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

(2014 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback