X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
3220 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

I stayed on a Friday night and the bar and club were both dead! The check out process is ridiculous. There was a line going out the door! The luggage storage room smelled like vinegar and feces, and EVERY single worker was SO RUDE! Not even in that sarcastic-funny kind of way. They were just straight out rude. My locker was difficult to even open or lock, and the 5 euro deposit is kind of ridiculous. Breakfast was good though, but you have to pay extra if you want juice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Natasha, Sorry to hear you've experienced some difficulties during your stay at our hotel. We hope you've had a great stay in Amsterdam after all. During high season (especially in weekends) check-out can be really crowded. The 5 euro deposit is for your room key (many guests lose their keys) which you will get back at check-out. Greetings, Hans Brinker

37%

Hello I am Rebecca I paid to stay at the hans brinker hotel and I was put into a room with 3 men, there was no ladder to the bed and the staff did not refund the money even though I checked out after half an hour. Bad service would never go again.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We only stayed in the hostel for one night, but I would definitely recommend it. It's nothing fancy but if you're looking for a bed in a tidy place, with great location then this is perfect. In advance we were a bit worried due to some reviews that said that it was very noisy due to the club downstairs, but as our room was on the third floor we didn't hear a thing. One tiny negative point: the lockers in the room looked a bit shabby.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sharon! Thanks for your great review! We hope you've had the best time in Amsterdam and please remember us for your next visit to the city :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Everything is a walking disacnce away. There are two bicycle rental shops right next to the hostel with bike tours available, which i highly recommend. My lock on my locker was loose and the door would open even without the key. I reserved my room at 11 AM and the room wasn't ready untill 1 PM.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Dario, Thanks for your review! About your room: during high season it can be really busy so sometimes rooms aren't ready untill 1 pm or later. We hope you've had a great stay in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

A bit too rowdy for me. Lots of noise all through the night. Great for young partiers, no so much for middle aged folks.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi John, Thanks for your review! Indeed, you're right, we are a party / backpackers / scholars / students hostel. We hope you've had a great stay in Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

Room flooded, at least 2 inches of rain on the floor of our room. It was pretty funny but there was no socialising happening at the hostel. Good fun overall, although expensive for what it was.

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rob, Thanks for your review. We are in fact the cheapest hostel in Amsterdam. We hope you;ve had a great stay and we hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Bike rental guy was really helpfull for us.

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sine! Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Great budget hotel with a great location. Very busy. Close to all the main attractions, including leidseplein and rembrandtplein. The tram stop is also very close to the hostel. Happy hour every day, with cheap alcohol, which is great as Amterdam can be very expensive. Lively atmosphere in the hostel, although checking in and out is pretty unorganized.


71%

close to all the attractions. good bar downstairs, 2 for 1 deals on all drinks during happy hour. Crowd very young 90% looking under 20. Poor lockers in the rooms. Wi-Fi doesn't work in the rooms only at the entrance and the bar. Very good free breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

The location was great! The atmosphere was always buzzing with people chilling in the main lounge and the free breakfast was a bonus! The only thing that let it down was the size of the room as we slept in a 6 bed room and struggled to move around it. Other than that it was a great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stephanie! Thanks for the review! Did you take a look at our underground club? Maybe next time :)! See you! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

The staff wasn't very nice and the bathroom was kind of dirty, with very disgusting toilet. But the bar and the breakfast are really good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Erasmo, Thanks for your message. The bathrooms get cleaned every day, but if you share a dorm with other guests they can get the place messy after cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Everything was great, except for the bed bugs.

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jenny, I can assure you we DO NOT have bed bugs (we check the rooms every time and we never find them)! We do had some mosquitos in a couple of rooms (due to the warm weather). We hope you've had a great time in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

nice pub inside, good breakfast "all u can eat", no place to sit during the night and wifi only in the reception

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Paolo, Thanks for your review! About the WIFI, you can use the internet not only at reception, but also at our bar, underground club and restaurant (for the next time you're staying at Hans Brinker:))! Greetings, Hans Brinker

100%

Amazing place. Absolutely perfect

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Luchia! Thanks for your great review!! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

This place reminded me of my dorm in college. In other words, it was a great place, with kind staff. However, there were ticks or bedbugs in my bed, and it sorta ruined my stay, because I had the itches all night. Other than that, I can't complain. 2.5/5 stars

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marc! Thanks for your review! I can assure you we DO NOT have bedbugs! We checked your room and it were mosquitos (we can't help that with the current heat / weather). We hope you've had a great stay in Amsterdam and see you next time! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

One of the staff is very helpful... Sorry I don't know his name, a guy with long hair. They provided all the basics. They even have mama to clean and made our beds. Easy access to a shopping street, nightlife etc. things are simple but equipped well. Their breakfast is the best I can have in my 30 days travel. Awesome. I will choose here again!


60%

Average hostel, not the cleanest beds, but sufficient. Decent location in Amsterdam,


83%

Bar staff not always friendly but receptionists helpful. happy hour in bar appreciated. Breakfast included was brilliant and the best we met on our trip. Lockers in the room, although secure couldnt fit my 80L bag. Not really and issue as we filled a dorm but security may be a bigger concern for others. Great location on leidesplein square.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I cant say this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are very basic and my dorm had a funny smell, the bathroom was old and when I left i was covered in bites from something inside the dorm. The common area was always very noisy but the location of this hostel is very good so If you don't spend time in your room then its okay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Teresa, Thanks for your review. Because of the weather we have some mosquitos at our dorms. We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam and your stay at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Good location, near to the tram station. Very good and free breakfast. The room is clean although it was very noisy due to the club downstairs and entrance ( my room was on 2nd floor, same side as the entrance). People was hanging outside the entrance chit chatting especially on friday and sat night. Overall, good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Siew, Thanks for the great review! See you soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

(1782 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback