X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3619 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Amazing Hostel, really enjoyed staying there. Perfect location! Great atmosphere if you're in Amsterdam to have fun. One of the slight downfalls was that one of the girls I stayed with got a skin infection (possibly from the bedding) but this is a risk you take staying in hostels and it has cleared up very quickly with antibiotics. Breakfast wasn't amazing but it definitely helped to cure my hangover in the morning. The bar and club is only for Hostel Guests which has it's pros and cons...

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Naomi, Thanks for your review. I can assure you we DO NOT have bedbugs in our hotel and all our bed linen is clean. Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Very good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi William! Thanks for your review! Great to read you've had the best time at our hotel! See you next time? Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

Nice hostel a bit noisy

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rubino, We are a youth / backpackers / party hostel, so we can't guarantee quite nights. We hope you've had a great stay in Amsterdam and at our hotel. Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Really good location (Really close to bars and clubs, but just off the beaten path so that you wont be woken up by drunk people). Nice, little place with good atmosphere. The only downside is that it's quite expensive but would definitely stay again.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Simon, Thanks for your stay! About the prices: we are one of the cheapest stays in Amsterdam, including our bar and club prices. See you soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

well organized backpacker. Good breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Urs, Thanks for your comment. Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

Would definitily stay here again, great location and great value for money, food was all lovely and the atmosphere was fab. Would reccommend to any youngish person that was going to amsterdam and will more than likely be coming back, thanks again for being lovely and providing such a great service!

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Penny, Thank you for your great message! Wonderful to see you've had the best time in Amsterdam and at our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

97%

An excellent place to stay, even though we are both approaching 50 years old.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sean! Although we are a youth / party hostel, it's great to hear you've had the best time in Amsterdam and especially at our hotel! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

I am pleased with my stay at Hans Brinker Hostel. It was clean & they give you new towels & bed sheets everyday. Wifi connection was also excellent. Breakfast spread was fine but could be improved. Location of the hostel was perfect as well. My only concern was the ventilation of the rooms. Since you cannot open the windows wider, it was a warm inside the room & fresh air could not get in. I would come back to Amsterdam next year & surely I would book again with this hostel.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Joel! Thanks for your great review! We are more than happy to welcome you again next year! We are aware of the heat during summer in some rooms, but due to safety rules the windows can not be opened more. See you next year! Greetings, Hans Brinker

46%

Way overpriced. Stayed in city's which are far more expensive than Amsterdam and were Half the price.


34%

unexpectedly bad mixed room environment and room mates

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, sorry to hear, but can you be more specific next time? about the mixed dorms: when you make a booking in a dorm at our hotel, you'll get a bed in a mixed dorm. If you would like some more privacy: we have private rooms as well. greetings, Hans Brinker

63%

It had a great location, but facilities are not good, cleanliness at dorms are deficient, wifi is only available at the bar, prices at the bar are high. I would not recomend this hostal at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Genaro, About our prices at the bar, we are cheaper than any bar in and around the Leidseplein area. WIFI is available at our bar and restaurant only, but the service is free of charge. Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

nice hostel, good location, easy to use

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Adam, Thanks for your review! Great to hear you've had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and at our hotel! See you soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

wifi only works in reception. everything is poor, but for 25€ per nigth is not bad in the center of Amsterdam


77%

I didn't have any security issues myself, but the fact that you can 'lose' a key for a simple 5 Euro deposit means the security at the hostel is terrible. Make the deposit higher and change locks when possible.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Charles, Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel. About our security, we can a secured front door, so no uninvited guests can enter our hotel. Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

nice bar! ;)) best place to meet people ;) i also kinda like the self-irony of hans brinker ^^ in general, i would totally recommend your place! only suggestion: wifi in the rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stefan, Thanks for your message! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Breakfast was great. Staff really friendly. Would happily return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Grant! Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

The Club downstairs is dead, but overall, it was clean, the staff were really nice, and the free breakfast is really good. Only a 5 min tram ride from central station

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nicole, thanks for your review. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

I very much enjoyed my stay at Brinkers, and am particularly grateful to the staff at the check-in desk

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was about 20 mins from the main train station by foot but we had an enjoyable 4 nights with excitements and life time experirence. The hostel is not more than 5 mins walk from the main shopping streets and by the end of it we arrived back to the train station and the red light district. The hostel is renowned fot it's worst hostel but the truth is was one of the best hostel and we very much enjoyed it. We recommend for others to stay there and experience the worst hostel in amsterdam

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brunei
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Muhd! Thanks for your review! For the next time you're staying at our hotel: take tramline 1, 2 or 5 from central station to stop Keizersgracht. Take the next street to the left till you see our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Will try and make this as detailed as possible in spite of the word limit... Firstly, location. We tried to walk from Central Station and ended up getting a taxi. It's approx. 2km away (30 min. walk), which isn't far during the day, but is with luggage at night. Security: lockers in room for casual luggage - some were slightly damaged but still worked. Safe at reception for peace of mind. Staff: Great Value: Can't beat it at all, especially with breakfast included. Facilities: Faultless.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Zachary! Thanks for your great review! Wonderful to hear you've had a great time at our hotel! See you next time you're visiting Amsterdam? Greetings, Hans Brinker

(1915 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback