X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3577 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

wifi only works in reception. everything is poor, but for 25€ per nigth is not bad in the center of Amsterdam


77%

I didn't have any security issues myself, but the fact that you can 'lose' a key for a simple 5 Euro deposit means the security at the hostel is terrible. Make the deposit higher and change locks when possible.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Charles, Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel. About our security, we can a secured front door, so no uninvited guests can enter our hotel. Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

nice bar! ;)) best place to meet people ;) i also kinda like the self-irony of hans brinker ^^ in general, i would totally recommend your place! only suggestion: wifi in the rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stefan, Thanks for your message! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Breakfast was great. Staff really friendly. Would happily return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Grant! Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

The Club downstairs is dead, but overall, it was clean, the staff were really nice, and the free breakfast is really good. Only a 5 min tram ride from central station

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nicole, thanks for your review. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

I very much enjoyed my stay at Brinkers, and am particularly grateful to the staff at the check-in desk

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel was about 20 mins from the main train station by foot but we had an enjoyable 4 nights with excitements and life time experirence. The hostel is not more than 5 mins walk from the main shopping streets and by the end of it we arrived back to the train station and the red light district. The hostel is renowned fot it's worst hostel but the truth is was one of the best hostel and we very much enjoyed it. We recommend for others to stay there and experience the worst hostel in amsterdam

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brunei
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Muhd! Thanks for your review! For the next time you're staying at our hotel: take tramline 1, 2 or 5 from central station to stop Keizersgracht. Take the next street to the left till you see our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Will try and make this as detailed as possible in spite of the word limit... Firstly, location. We tried to walk from Central Station and ended up getting a taxi. It's approx. 2km away (30 min. walk), which isn't far during the day, but is with luggage at night. Security: lockers in room for casual luggage - some were slightly damaged but still worked. Safe at reception for peace of mind. Staff: Great Value: Can't beat it at all, especially with breakfast included. Facilities: Faultless.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Zachary! Thanks for your great review! Wonderful to hear you've had a great time at our hotel! See you next time you're visiting Amsterdam? Greetings, Hans Brinker

40%

You get get what you pay for - a bag of suck.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lukasz, Yes we are really cheap. Next time, be a bit more specific, because now we don't know why you've had a bad experience at our hotel. Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

This hostel is better than described on its website. It was busy and lively with always someone to talk to or disrupt your sleep. Its the best place to go if you are young in Amsterdam. There is free breakfast which was brilliant for a budget hostel. Staff were friendly and a brilliant location in town with easy tram links everywhere. The hostel wi-fi wasn't massively consistent but that is what you expect in European hostels and at least it was there rather than just being advertised!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Isabelle, Thanks for your great review! We hope to se you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

Check the advertising before you go. Do a google image search...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ryan! Thanks for your review! You can check all our advertisement campaigns on our website. Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

This budget hostel is good enough for 1 night, but not longer, especially in summer, at hot night, because there are not air condition, so it's not possible to sleep. The hostel is for young people, so you shouldn't expect for quiet atmosphere. But the location of the hostel is very good, near the center, tram station, bike's rent point, etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daiva, Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Good hostel for a good price. Our room was small, but clean and we got a fresh towel everyday . The Location is perfect, in the middle of Amsterdam's Centrum and the People who stayed in the hostel were great! The breakfast was quite good and the prices for Drinks and Food okay. I've got actually not much to complain about this hostel, the only negative Points are that lots of mosquitos had been in our room and it was very hot in there.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Really good value especially with the free massive buffet breakfast in the mornings. Lockers seemed a little dodgy but would recommend it again. Good hostel to stay in

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Madi! Thanks for your great review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

Not a bad place, good location and everything you need but nothing special. Alhough the free breakfast each moning was brilliant, a lot of choice. Possibly more of a party hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thomas, Thanks for your review! See you again next time you're visiting Amsterdam? Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

it was alright hostel. breackfast was free and really good. location was just perfect in between city centre and museums.


69%

It was OK I guess. Nothing to write home about. The location was good because it is close to the museums and to Vondelpark. Staff were OK. Wifi connectivity was awful. I probably would not stay there again.


77%

Wifi is terrible but a good place to stay for he money spent. Staff aren't very helpful

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The room was totally messed up and my pillow was gone. I spoke to reception and they did not helped me to find.


83%

Great happy hour and breakfast! But expect extra time for check-out, there were atleast 15 people in line.


(1903 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback