X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3691 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

A decent hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nicolai! We are decent, fun and central located :)! See you next time? Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

Very good breakfast! Top!

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jeroen, Thanks for your comment. We hope you enjoyed more than only the breakfast ;)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

The hostel has a good location, reception is open 24 hours and they are very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marco, Thanks for your great review!! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!! Greetings, Hans Brinker

43%

Bathroom not clean at all. The hostel could do with a lick of paint, a good clean, better mattresses, better beds, safer lockers that work. Breakfast bland. They actually pride themselves on being the worst hostel in Amsterdam! Apart from the location I'm afraid that my experience was not great.

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sean, Sorry to read you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. Our bathrooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a dorm with other people, they may make the bathrooms dirty after cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

great hotel! could do with a bit more facilities and a little more clean!!!!

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nerthika, Thanks for your review. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

Such a nice place to stay and meet awesome people!

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

The room and bathroom was very clean, breakfeast was the best I've ever had in a hostel! It's quite a big hostel but not too noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Laura! Thanks for your comment! We hope to see you soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

Good value for money... but in main season u feel like entering a main station building, very crowded and long waiting lines, therefore the staff was not friendly at all (which i can understand a bit...). Rooms are ok, simple and clean enough . Not recommended for a trip with your girlfriend, but for a party trip its perfect! I was there for the second time and will come back again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Dennis, Thanks for your review! We are a youth hostel with basic rooms, so indeed, we are not the place for a romantic weekend with your girlfriend. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Very good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Roberto, Thanks for your review! See you again soon at our hotel? Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

thanx u so much

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nicolas! Thank you for staying at our hotel! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Not expensive, has a nice bar on the ground floor. The rooms are ok. Nice place if you are willing to meet people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Roberto, Thanks for your review. Great to hear you've had a nice time at our hotel! Did you have a drink at our underground club as well? Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

Too few staff in the check-in desk. Good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Anne, Thanks for your message. We hope you've had a great time in Amsterdam and at our hotel. Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

A RIGHT LAUGH!!!....BASEMENT PARTY IS AN EXTRA TILL 4am...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jack, Thanks for your review! Great to hear you've had the best time! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

İts place 10 min to central rooms are fine and breakfast is very beautiful lockers are little small but it works

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Eray, Thanks for your review! We are 10 min from central station, but next to entertainment area Leidseplein! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

The toilets were a little bit dirty

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. The bathrooms get cleaned every day, but if you share a dorm with other people, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

Bathrooms need fixing water went everywhere! And there was a strange smell that never left the bathroom. Think the sinks where blocked.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Claire, Thanks for your comment. Although our bathroom sometimes may have a bit of a smell, they get cleaned every day. We hope you've had the best time in Amsterdam and at out hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

It's not like the worst hostel but it has a lot of downsides.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Atakan, Please be more specific next time, so we know what went wrong during your stay. Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Showers did not work

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mara, I guess you went to the reception and they fixed the shower? Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

The rooms and beds were good, there was always a lot going on, so if you look for a quiet hostel, this is definitely not your place. The common area including the bar was very nice and perfect for socialising. Also the location near to Leidseplein and the city centre was very comfortable. I would recommend this to young people, who want to spend some fun days in Amsterdam. Worst hostel in the world ;-)

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel and location!! Lots going on..... Bathrooms weren't great but you get what you pay for!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sophie! Thanks for your review! Please remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

(1938 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback