NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained


3503 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


This place should be classified a frat house not a hotel. The mattress was stained with god knows what and the towel they give you should be called a washcloth not a towel. It is nicknamed the worse hotel in the World and it is.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Elizabeth, Thanks for your review. I can assure you our bed linen and towels are clean. We are a budget hotel / hostel so we are really basic (and one of the cheapest in Amsterdam). Greetings, Hans Brinker


The rooms are really hot in the summer! And full of mosquitos, i've had a problem with mosquito bites there. Otherwise, the rooms are basic but good, the toilet inside the room is also good. The WIFI only works at the bar, so don't expect to use the wifi in the bedrooms. The breakfast is really good :)


When we walked into our room there were about ten flies circling the room. When I mentioned this at reception I was handed a tin of bug spray to kill them off. As great as this was, the flies returned the next day...... Might have been due to the foul smell coming from the bathroom. For these reasons, I wasn't keen on relaxing in the bedroom but the bar area was nice and the food was decent and well priced. They sell themselves as a bad hostel and they certainly live up to this reputation.


This hostel is the best of the worst

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The room got very hot and stuffy as the window does not open very far.


First of all you should check out there website http://www.hansbrinker.com/ if you thinking about booking. Now you´d expect it to be downright awful but the reality it isn´t. I have been at way worse hostels that presume way less. It´s that weird dad at the barbecue that tries to be cool but just comes off as extremely creepy. That somehow the fact its so bad, as something cool. But its just minor details that can be changed such as the air flow and the shower head. I would not recommend it.


Dirty, and do not have locker...


Upon arriving, the hostel wasn't too bad, after entering the room however, I wanted to die. The stench of feet, sweat and urine hit me like a wave. Having to mop the floor because stoned guys don't seem to know the difference between a shower and a toilet and no cleaners entered the room was also not pleasant. We did meet some nice guests who showed us the city, which was great, and the breakfast wasn't half bad. Location is also pretty decent and the walk back at night fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alexander, Sorry to hear you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. Our rooms get cleaned every day, but sometimes the guests at dorms can get the room dirty after cleaning. Maybe for your next visit to Amsterdam, book a private room at our hotel. Really cheap and no other guests in your room! Greetings, Hans Brinker


It's a bit like a prison, but in an okay sort of way. The reception staff are way too moody.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Basic hostel good for the price. Friendly Staff, guests and good security. Bar, beer prices also good. Only downside is when we wanted to buy tickets for the ice bar and couldn't as the hostel's printer was not working. Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ryan, Thanks for your review! We hope you've had a great time in Amsterdam! See you soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker


The hostel is fine except its very loud and my stay was unfortunately not so great because of the noise. Staff made no attempt to ask people to be quiet even though they were running up and down the corridors yelling and talking very loudly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Karen, Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear you've had some difficulties during your stay. It's high season and the hotel is fully booked, so it can be a bit noisy now and then. Greetings, Hans Brinker


Security is good, staff are helpful, Pretty much all you need for a stay in Amsterdam


Great location and very lively place. The rooms are quite basic, but it is good enough to have a sleep, and the breakfast is very generous. The bar and restaurant is also a pélus and it has a great location quite close to everything.


They try to make themselves seem so bad, but some of the staff was actually pretty cool!! Some were rude, but so was the staff at other Amsterdam hostels. Very social vibe, always full of people. Good location, easy to get to. Fairly clean, again, not at bad as they try to make it seem with their funny signs and posters everywhere! Would probably stay here again...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your great review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel!! Greetings, Hans Brinker


The hostel is located right in the city centre. Everywhere is within walking distance. However it is a party hostel, it is very noisy until the wee hours, 4 am. Not the hostel you want if you tend to catch up some sleep. But they serve really good breakfast variety and it's free !


Arrival: Cheeky young woman says 'you are too old for this hostel, it is only for under-30's '.I raise my 'OLD' eyebrows, she says 'this is stated on Hostelword'.I assert this is not true & show my printout. I explain that I had also been on the phone to Hostelworld(about Hans Brinker)and they had said nothing about this. She says I can go elsewhere or 'upgrade for a few euros more' to a 4 instead of 6 Dorm...Hmm? But-NO fleas, v-good breakfast & caterers/cleaners are decent and hardworking folk


Great breakfast!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rishi! Thanks for your message! See you again soon at the Hans Brinker Hotel? Greetings!


Windows should at least be opened more to let the air in. its too hot! but besides this, the atmosphere is good. love the happy hour and food. i will be back at hans brinker, maybe not in summer!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Great to hear you're planning to come back! You are more than welcome! Greetings, Hans Brinker


The receptionist was not at all pleasant. In the rooms you could not breathe, was too hot. For one or two night it is ok. The best was the breakfast..


Very small room for 6 people, definitely not very clean, but grest for the purpose of being the cheapest possible but reasonable place to stay in Amsterdam.

(1883 results)

View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback