X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
3220 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

No kitchen, but definitely more hostel than hotel. Kings bikes opposite the entrance wer also great, cross the road, grab a bike and explore the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Andrew! Thanks for your review! We don't have a kitchen for common use, but we do serve great and cheap meals every day! A tip for next time you're visiting Amsterdam and staying at Hans Brinker: ask the bar or reception for tickets to activities, attractions or museums! We can arrange cheaper tickets and you don't have to stand in line! See you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

I stayed in Hans Brinker for two days in a July weekend with five friends. Well, it's not a fancy hostel, don't expect nice sofas, design chairs or beds or things like that. Everything is very functional, beds are okay enough for a nice sleep, they give you linen, pillowcase and a towel (they seemed to be clean - except for the pillow case wich was turned inside out so I doubted of that). The room is a bit small, so like de bathroom. We where in the first floor, but we slept really well there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Cecilia! Thanks for the review! All our bed linen is clean, so you don't need to worry about that! We hope to see you again soon at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

97%

Very clean (after reading some comments about the cleanliness I was quite worried), friendly and helpful staff. Came back with a few mosquito bites, so would take repellent next time, but overall I was very pleased.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Agata! Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

34%

We read this was not the best before we came but it was honestly the worst. The place was so dirty and the showers ran all over the whole room. The staff were rude and people yelled and ran in the hallways all night. It was so bad we left after one night. Please do not stay here. Only good thing about it was the breakfast in the morning


43%

I believe the rooms needed more of a clean. as the floors were very dusty and not really bothered with, as well as this i think the service from the staff could have been better, and lastly the cost for the room per night is OK but could be cheaper due to the condition of the hostel rooms. But overall an OK stay and in good location to the coffee shop "Happy Feelings".

  • 3rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Steven, Thanks for your review. About the prices: we are one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam and our rooms are indeed basic, but every thing you need (incuding ensuite bathrooms). Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Basic hotel, but good value for money. Great Location!


66%

Too much busy and noisy place. Not suitable for relaxing. Check-in can take quite long time.

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gazi, Thanks for the review. Youre right, we are not a hotel for a relaxing time, but when you're in Amsterdam you have almost no time to relax because of all the great things the city and our hotel have to offer! We hope you've had a great stay in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

Wifi was not working. Wifi is nowadays a necessity and a selection criteria to select a hotel.

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

best breakfast ever!

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nadine! Thanks for your review! We do serve the best breakfast ever :)!!! We hope to see you soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

This is a hostel, not a hotel XD

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Wai, Thanks for your review! In fact we are a budget hotel, because all our bathrooms are ensuite instead of at the hallways. For your next visit: we have private rooms as well! Greetings, Hans Brinker

100%

This is a fantastic hostel! The location is very central, staff very friendly and helpful. Top for a weekend with friends or for backpackers! Tasty and cheap food, nice bar and a night club. The rooms are basic but everything you need!

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your great review! We hope to welcome you again soon at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

Hostel for people who wanna party (bar and club). It's noisy. No self catering facilities, and we are asked to not bring food in the common rooms either ... Eat alone in your room or pay for all your meals at the bar. Other than that, we get what we paid for. Pretty basic. No ladder for the bunk beds, be prepared to climb!


63%

Very basic which is fine but it's too expensive for what is being paid!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Danny, Thanks for the review. Actually we are one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam! We hope to see you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

It was okay. Nice Staff and towels provided! Lockers seemed to be very old and not very safe. Quite a bit to walk from central station, but near to every important spot and quiet location. great bar with cheap drinks and great breakfast included! I had a very nice time there. Thumbs up :)

  • 27th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Iris! Thanks for the great review! Next time you're staying at the Hans Brinker you can take the tram to our hotel (within 10 minutes you're here) from central station! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Both days breakfast was superb: choice of breads, cold meat, boiled egg, roasted tomatoes (English breakfast style), cheese, pancakes + syrup, jams, peanut butter/chocolate spread, a selection of cereals including muesli, fruit from can, youghurt, tea/coffee. Enough for everyone. The nights were surprisingly quiet and beds comfy. Tricky to climb for shorter people as bunkbeds have no ladders. In case it rains you can always spend your time in the bar downstairs. Helpful staff too.

  • 26th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the great review! So good to hear you've had a great stay in Amsterdam and at our hotel! We hope to see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Very good location on Amsterdam.


60%

When we had arrived to the hostel, we had arrived only 15 minutes later of the check in and the receptionist said: You have lost the reservation, but you can stay 1 night maybe. Only 15 minutes and we have lost the reservation! Too sad :_(


77%

There's no glamour at this place, but that's not why I travelled to Amsterdam. This is the best located hostel with the best atmosphere that I've come across in my 4th visit to the city. The bar and restaurant facilities encourage socialising between groups and individuals and make it easy to befriend new people. The rooms are very standard, but they are secure and comfortable which is all you really need. When I return to Amsterdam, I'll stay here again.


43%

Where to start! We arrived at the hostel before 12 - as indicated that check in should be done before 12pm room wasn't ready until 1 – but on check out you get kicked out at 9:45. The room smelled, no heating, lockers not safe. People screaming until 8am. Staff unfriendly. Nothing positive apart from the location. DO NOT STAY HERE – pay a little more else where. They are called worst hotel in the world for a reason!

  • 24th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Fabio, Sorry to hear the inconvenience you've experienced. We hope you've had a pleasant stay in Amsterdam after all. Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Very close to the city centre, perfect location, nice and clean rooms, helpful staff. Nice breakfast that is included in the price. Great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Dimitar! Thanks for your great review! We hope to see you again soon at the Hans Brinker Hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

(1782 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback