X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3894 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Everything was fine except for the bathroom. It smelled horrible. I am not sure if it was lack of cleaning or a sewer problem, the smell never went away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to read you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. We clean our rooms every day, so it's not a cleaning problem. We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

For me, one of the best in Amstedam! the only problem (not a real problem) is that we have to call to confirm the booking before arrive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! When you arrive later than the expected time you could send us a Facebook message too, so you don't have to call! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

EVERY TIME I COME OVER THIS IS IDEAL AS A GOOD WELCOME IS AWAITS YOU & BEING BUSY YOU SINK INTO THE PLACE .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! I guess we will see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

As fun as ever, clean and everyone is cool. Can't ask for more at the price

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

nice place not too expensive and well located. it was a little noisy in the night but when you go to hostels you already know that it won't really be quiet. the staff was really nice!

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your great comment! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

43%

I recommend a stay to convicts or those who want to have a 'nearly jail'-experience. There's no Wi-Fi (except for the basement).

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are basic, but we are definitely not a jail. We have a great bar, restaurant and club! Our wifi is not only at the basement, but also at our bar and restaurant! Greetings, Hans Brinker

63%

Clean, simple... but beware: Hans Brinker is a noisy hostel. Don't expect getting much sleep!

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your message. We can't guarantee a noise-free room, but we can guarantee a unique and awesome stay in the middle of Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Good, no frills accommodation in central Amsterdam.

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

This hostel is not even worth its low price! As a student who is used to grimy dorm conditions, I expected something similar (cheap, no frills, just a place to crash after a day in Amsterdam) but I was absolutely disgusted by the conditions of the hotel. I found multiple insects in the bedroom (on the linens) and the bathrooms were filthy (beyond dorm conditions). Would not recommend to anyone at all.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our rooms get cleaned every day, including bed linen and towels. When you share a room with other people they can get the place messy after cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

46%

rude people at the reception, bad shower............

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Sorry to read you have some complaints regarding your stay. We hope you've had a great time in Amsterdam though! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

Really good hostel. Great value for money!


83%

The hostel is great, but the value is incompatible...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Your right, our hostel is great:)! We are one of the cheapest in the middle of Amsterdam (especially with our continental breakfast included). We hope to see you (and your friends) again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

31%

I thought i was in the army.. The beds didnt even have a ladder to get to the top. For one day could be ok. For more i worry about my mood... Melancholia

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

be carefull with check in and out times so you can schedule you trip, even on the website they ask you for arrival time you won't have available your room at that time if it is before check out time and it is all full, of course.

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Indeed we ask our guests to fill in their estimated check in time, so we can use the rooms when no-show. We hope you've had the best time in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

Provided me with a bed for the nights I was there... be warned however because the bunk beds have no ladder so if you're the unlucky one to get a top bunk, you pretty much have to ninja it to get to your bed. Had sheets and a towel, relatively clean toilets (this really depends on the people you're staying with) but with breakfast included and top location, it was a nice stay overall! Definitely not the worst hostel I've stayed in but don't expect fancy!


89%

If ı will go to Amsterdam again, ı would choose this hostel again because of their breakfast, prices and location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We really hope to see you again in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

100%

Disgusting! I had to pay cheap for beers at that bar, with a lot of people around me! And I won't say anything about that burger with a lot of chips! Also I was obligated to shower in that hot water. If I knew I'd pass through this, I'd certainly have paid more in other hostel.


89%

I liked the bar at the bottom. Although not spending time there, it has potential. Bathrooms with each room which is also cool. The beds were NOT creeking, which is always a big plus when doing bunker beds :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your great review!! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

100%

Great value! Had an amazing stay and there was a great atmosphere!

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your great review! See you next time soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

51%

Cold at night. Not even a spare blanket. A guy got his passport stolen from the locker in a room next to us. Their explanation: anyone can have a copy of the key. Not that cheap, but rooms, though clean, are better in any hospital.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to read you've experienced some difficulties during your stay at our hotel. We hope you've had an amazing time in Amsterdam after all. Greetings, Hans Brinker

(2014 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback