X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
4043 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I was placed in a 4 bed room but in the end i was in the room alone. Did not really feel the interaction with other visitor but overall the stay was nice. Breakfast was very good indeed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive words!

69%

Took 23 of us down (men and women aged 17-22) decent location, we were concerned after the advertising but at £20 a night it's a treat. Perhaps the girl on reception could of smiled though.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good you liked your stay, we hope to see you again sometime and if you let us know, we will instruct our receptionist to smile :) (even though she has a sign with ‘worst staff in the world’ in front of her’)

71%

Solid Hostel.


69%

hostel was ok, probably will be fan for a big group of friends in their twenties. nevertheless, the rooms are so basic and simple, it brings to mind an army camp. a bit of colour in the rooms and a stopper for the shower water would improve the rooms immensely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your suggestions for improvement, we will definitely take them into consideration!

74%

There was an enormous group that made things harder:checkin, breakfast, checkout were almost impossible to do with everyone occupying the hall with their bags. The hotel was ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, and we’re happy to hear that even though you had some difficulties with a big group you still had an ok stay with us.

94%

Great location and very cheap! The breakfast was not that great, but it was free so it was to be expected. Would definitely recommend staying here for anyone heading to Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, happy to hear you liked your stay!

71%

Not a bad hostel, not the friendlyiest staff but not bad. No lockers is a bit of a pain

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We do have lockers in every room though… hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

83%

i had a great experience , staff was helpful and friendly loved it will stay there again an dagain

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Then we will see you again and again and again! Great, we’re looking forward to it!

74%

It is pretty honest in what it is and what it isn't. It is a budget hotel. There wasn't a lot of choices for the breakfast, but there was a breakfast and it was ok. The room was ok. The bathroom was ok. The hotel provides the basics. I am sure that if you are young and don't expect a high-quality hotel, you can definitely stay there. Only the old lockers looked a bit unsafe. Some of them could be replaced.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A decent sum-up of what we are (although we do think the breakfast deserves a bit more credit with bread, cheese, ham, jam, peanut butter, yoghurt, cruesli, pancakes and fruit salad, tea and coffee). Many thanks for your review, hope to see you again sometime!

83%

Good place to stay, with good facilities. Free lockers in the room, and no problems with cleanliness and very helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We like that you liked us, thanks for your positive review!

77%

We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm. The room was pretty clean. But it was very small. The toilet was also small. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was just average, nothing too great. Overall, it was pretty good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, we hope to see you again sometime!

94%

Absolutely great, bustling place with a brill vibe. A great place to meet people and get the Amsterdam experience. Just what you want from a youth hostel, can't complain!

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love your review, thanks a lot! We’ll meet again soon ;)

89%

We traveled in January 2015. The place is good for group of youngsters. It has a nice location close to tram station and nearby city center. The ambience of hostel is good. Food is also nice. I liked the way they market themselves :-) The only issue is with showers.. The pressure of water in shower is too low to be able to take bath properly. Overall : Good


69%

Toilet is dirty and bed is a little uncomfortable. BUt location is superb. Right in the city and quite close to Leidseplein

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, you’re helping to improve our property!

100%

Exactly what we expected. Clean, close to the center and just a few minutes walk from Leidseplein. Nothing luxurious but we didn't ask for it ;)-

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great you liked your stay with us, thanks for your review!

89%

After using the shower complete bathroomfloor flooded, a sill between shower and bathroom will avoid this small problem.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your suggestion for improvement. Happy to see from your rating that you did enjoy your stay!

60%

The wifi was awful and trying to get on the top bunk is a bit tragic, but otherwise, it was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, your comments help us to improve our property!

80%

The hostel was very good, but I think there are better ones for the same price. We actually ended up choosing it because it was the best one that accepted one night reservations. The only huge downside I see is that they dont have a kitchen, but it was a nice stay..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, glad you liked your stay with us! True that we don’t have a kitchen, but we do offer cheap food (around €6,-) at our restaurant, that’s open daily!

71%

Overall, not a terrible hostel. if you're a neat or clean freak, best stay away. However, the beds and pillows were amazing! Also were great about letting me leave my luggage there during the day after I checked out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment! Hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam, and that our comfortable beds didn’t keep you away from the city too much ;) Hope to see you again sometime!

57%

Was an alright stay, however the payphone stole money off me and made me waste about 20 euros, it accepted 2 euro coins as 50 cents, not a brilliant location but not bad,

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that the phone took your mone; phones can be unpredictable. Therefore, normally when you go to reception, we do refund you the money the phone ate (in case you weren’t able to call). Hope you did enjoy the your stay in Amsterdam!

(81 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback