X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
4711 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is definitely an experience. What Hostelsorld doesn't tell you is that it is supposed to be the worst hotel in the world. However this is not true. It is kind of gross, but you are not staying Ina 5 star hotel. Overall, the location is unbeatable and the beds are comfortable. Would stay there again.


77%

What you expect is what you get! We were pleased with the price and location! Thanks!

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very pleased with your review, thank you!

89%

Great value for money, friendly staff - would definitely stay again.

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Great for what we wanted it for (a night to crash after a gig). Picked for location of where the gig was. Happy hour deal was fantastic, but wasn't the buzz we expected on a Friday night. Bunks had no ladders and room smelt pretty bad. Breakfast was better than anticipated. All in all, what we needed for our purpose.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to provide for all of your needs! (and do it in the cheapest way possible) Too bad your room smelled, but at least the breakfast was good! Hope to see you back on a more buzzing night. Mostly our fridays can get pretty crazy, but if you're unlucky enough it can happen that it's a bit of a quiet night.

66%

It's a fine hostel for the money.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And a fine review, thanks!

74%

It was a nice hostel with good location. Our room was very very cold which made it difficult to sleep. When we came back one night at 4 we could just walk in without showing our key or anything, it felt rather unsafe!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! What a shame the heating wasn't turned up high enough. We will check it out! And it's true that our night receptionist should look at every key before people enter the hotel, but it could be that he recognized you from that day. However, it's noted that they should check more carefully. Hope you had a nice time in Amsterdam!

97%

Great staff, enjoyable stay.

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review! Thanks

89%

One staff member was very rude but everyone else was lovely

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Could be someone had an off day. We're happy the rest of us made up for that!

94%

Great location, everything is within walking distance from the hostel. Food in the hostel is pretty decent so that's a plus! The only downside is that is no ladders to the top bunks, that was interesting!!!

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Interesting is a good word to describe it. We just like to challenge our guests muscles. Good to hear you liked our location and our food. Thanks!

71%

It's actually not as bad as the reviews make it out to be. Overall it was ok. U get the value for ur money I guess


91%

Lovely staff on reception and nice atmosphere the Thursday and Friday nights I stayed there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a lovely person you are :) thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you back one day!

77%

Well organized hostel, has its own bar and basement club, which was interesting. They pride themselves on being the worst but they are actually a decent hostel. Free breakfast which was nice. In my mixed room we got our own bathroom inside the room which was a plus. Pretty close to the center at least walkable, coffee shop down the street so real convenient. Check out was super early and it gets busy only down side.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're always happy to surprise in a pleasant way! Thank you for not thinking we're the worst hotel in the world. We do what we can for the lowest price we can! Also good to hear you explored all the great things in our neighbourhood!

91%

Excellent value for money with helpful staff and a good general atmosphere! Little bit noisey (you can hear other people's conversations through the extractor fan in the bathroom) but to be expected from a city centre hostel.

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to hear you had a good experience with us. And yes, walls in Amsterdam are generally thin, but hey, makes you get to know the neighbours!

97%

Everything went well during my short stay. The best two things about it was that there are a lot of sockets in the room so lots of electric devices can be charged at once, the other good thing and maybe the best thing was BREAKFAST. It was really good (complete and tasty). we had a good experience there, better than other hostels really recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We will have to agree with you that we are a pretty good hostel. Happy you liked our breakfast as well! Hope to see you back one day :)

91%

I really enjoyed that the hostel had a bar downstairs and being able to take advantage of the "happy hour". Also he breakfast being included was great!!!!!!!!! :)


66%

The worst thing about this hostel is that there's no ladders for the upper beds. They all seem quite indifferent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're right about that... It's noted! Thanks for the review!

77%

We got what we paid for. The bathroom was quite unconfortable, good breakfast tho.

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I liked the honest approach: you pay for what you see on the site. no disappointments

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Exactly our point of view :) thanks for the review!

100%

Very clean and safe. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Great location.

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay! We got 10 points! Thanks for that :)

66%

Loved the location and felt very safe, but the rooms were not nice, the bathroom needed a hook or something, and smelt awful. the beds were reasonable but bar was not friendly and the "club" that wasnt a club, was empty but the music was so loud it kept me up regardless. Loved the bike rentals next door though! Not excellent for a solo traveller, but it was cheap!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, at least we are cheap :) Too bad you didn't like our rooms... And did you know we have free earplugs at reception? Might help with the noise...

(97 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback