X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4703 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Only location is good, another have to do improvement, otherwise customer will not come back again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We’re happy you at least liked our location… Too bad you thought we needed improvement… We kinda like our run down careless style. But it’s true that it’s not for everyone… Our bar is brand new though, so we hope you hung out a lot there. Thank you for the review!

66%

Buen desayuno pero se arma muchisima fila. La abitacion muy pequenia y sucia no habia donde enchufar los celulares


71%

Fiquei com meu namorado em um quarto para 6 misto. Banheiro foi bizarro. Mas o wc feminino ao lado da recepção sempre limpo. Chuveiro meia boca. Happy hpur 5-6pm heineken 4 euros 2 pints. Jantar bem servido e gostoso. Café da manhã farto e delicioso.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re so happy you enjoyed our Happy Hour, breakfast, and dinner! Sounds like you got the full Brinker experience. Thanks for enjoying us to the max, and we hope we see you back one day.

77%

Great hostel - cheap and secure!


69%

The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is definitely an experience. What Hostelsorld doesn't tell you is that it is supposed to be the worst hotel in the world. However this is not true. It is kind of gross, but you are not staying Ina 5 star hotel. Overall, the location is unbeatable and the beds are comfortable. Would stay there again.


97%

Les gens qui hurlent dans le couloir toute la nuit ne sont pas de très bonnes choses mais pour tout le reste rien à dire !

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! People screaming in the hallways are never a good thing, we agree. Other than that, thanks for your amazing rating!

77%

What you expect is what you get! We were pleased with the price and location! Thanks!

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very pleased with your review, thank you!

89%

Great value for money, friendly staff - would definitely stay again.

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Lage einfach super! Ansonsten ein typisches Hostel mit vielen verschiedenen Menschen. Super Personal und kostenlosem Frühstück. Man muss natürlich vorher wissen das es im Keller eine Disco gibt. Und das es daher im ersten Stock sehr laut ist. Wir waren zum Glück in der 3. Etage und konnten gut schlafen.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your review is einfach super! Danke :). It's true that the ground floor can experience the noise from the disco, but we provide earplugs for that. We're happy it didn't bother you and hope to see you back on day!

80%

Auberge très sympa, superbe piece a vivre, bar et boîte de nuit à l'intérieur , possibilité de faire un beer pong! Chambre suffisante, literie propre petit bémol pour le pommeau de douche à l'ancienne mais c'est tout! On recommande!

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup :) we're happy you enjoyed a little game of beer pong. Next time, we'll play along!

57%

Pero sólo estuve una noche y sólo lo utilice para dejar mis cosas y dormir. Se podría decir que esta a unos 30 min caminando de la red light zone y a unos 40 min a la estación central. Las habitaciones son sencillas pero están limpias, cuentan con un armario para que guardes tus cosas, la salida es a la 9:00 am. Entonces si sales de fiesta o te desvelas no es muy comodo. Lo mejor es rentar una bici por 24 hr =12€y si eres ágil y te sabes mover podrás experimentar muy bien la ciudad en dos días.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We do have to set a few things straight: The Red Light district is 20 minutes away, and so is Central Station. Also, check-out is at 10.00, not 9.00. Other than that: we're happy you liked our clean rooms and facilities. And it's great you got to know our city on a bike! Do it like the locals do it, as we always say. We hope you loved Amsterdam as much as we do!

63%

Great for what we wanted it for (a night to crash after a gig). Picked for location of where the gig was. Happy hour deal was fantastic, but wasn't the buzz we expected on a Friday night. Bunks had no ladders and room smelt pretty bad. Breakfast was better than anticipated. All in all, what we needed for our purpose.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to provide for all of your needs! (and do it in the cheapest way possible) Too bad your room smelled, but at least the breakfast was good! Hope to see you back on a more buzzing night. Mostly our fridays can get pretty crazy, but if you're unlucky enough it can happen that it's a bit of a quiet night.

66%

It's a fine hostel for the money.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
And a fine review, thanks!

74%

It was a nice hostel with good location. Our room was very very cold which made it difficult to sleep. When we came back one night at 4 we could just walk in without showing our key or anything, it felt rather unsafe!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! What a shame the heating wasn't turned up high enough. We will check it out! And it's true that our night receptionist should look at every key before people enter the hotel, but it could be that he recognized you from that day. However, it's noted that they should check more carefully. Hope you had a nice time in Amsterdam!

97%

Great staff, enjoyable stay.

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review! Thanks

89%

One staff member was very rude but everyone else was lovely

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Could be someone had an off day. We're happy the rest of us made up for that!

94%

Great location, everything is within walking distance from the hostel. Food in the hostel is pretty decent so that's a plus! The only downside is that is no ladders to the top bunks, that was interesting!!!

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Interesting is a good word to describe it. We just like to challenge our guests muscles. Good to hear you liked our location and our food. Thanks!

77%

旅社的地理位置还不错,但是楼下是一个酒吧,晚上8点左右的时候有点吵,晚上还好,卫生间设施比较简陋。

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Things can get a bit noisy on party nights, but we provide for 2 solutions: 1. Free earplugs. 2: party along!

71%

It's actually not as bad as the reviews make it out to be. Overall it was ok. U get the value for ur money I guess


91%

Lovely staff on reception and nice atmosphere the Thursday and Friday nights I stayed there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a lovely person you are :) thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you back one day!

(167 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback