X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
4453 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This hostel is nice, especially for backpackers. A bit noisy at night due to the bar down below and lousy wifi, but the location is just 2-3 minutes walk to nearest tram stop and just next to the area filled with restaurants, so finding food even at night would be easy. Recommended!


89%

The room looks like a prision, hahaha And the wi-fi was not working properly, looks like a autentication problem or too many people connected, because when it works, was very good. Otherwise, great atmosphere, well clean, very well located, oh, and such a delicious breakfast!!!

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Repas simple, pas cher et très bon, convient a tous ! Bien pour les végétariens ;) Bonne nuit passée à l'hôtel , bonne literie !

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Oh here one night but I think it would have been better had I stayed longer. Seemed like a good spot to stay. Really loud especially having a room on the first floor. Could hear music in the reception area all night.


69%

Very tight lockers so only one of our backpacks fit in, the bathrooms weren't very clean but we didn't have much of a choice since it was one of two hostels to accept a reservation for just one night, so at least that's positive.


69%

Air conditioning would be good - at an extra cost

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

One of the worst hostels I've ever stayed at. Checked in, put our stuff in the dorm, and went out. When we get back, the guy at reception says there's a problem with our room (this is about 2-3am). Proceeds to tell us the room was overbooked and that he told the extra guy to just sleep in any open bed. When we open the door, there's a guy asleep in my bed. Had to wake him up and argue at reception before I could sleep. Also, bathroom was flooded. Stay away.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Bunk beds do not have stairs, climbing to the bed is hard especially when someone you do not know sleeps under your bed. Additionally, bunk beds do not have a protection someone could easily fall down.


46%

only for young people.. unfriendly staff and everything is dirty


66%

Auberge bien placée, espaces communs spacieux et agréables. Malheureusement les casiers dans le dortoirs se verrouillent mais peuvent s'ouvrir à la main et les matelots étaient humides.


97%

Chambres non climatiser

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The wifi doesnt work at all and the cleanliness is argueable.


60%

We had a 1 night stay in Amsterdam. Great location easy to find and to get to from the train station by the tram. We were three girls and we stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm with washroom. It was tight but there were lockers and everything for everyone. The washroom was very tight in the room but still worked. you get what you pay for with this hostel it's pretty standard. Only complaint was that the girl at the reception was fairly rude to everyone.


63%

El dormitorio muy pequeño para 6 camas, fue insoportable el calor y el baño muy pequeño. No corre nada de aire y las ventanas no pueden abrirse lo suficiente, la falta de ventilacion hace que haya mucho olor en las habitaciones. El desayuno es bueno y suficiente. El agua se sale de la ducha y moja todo el piso del baño, por lo tanto todo el piso de la habitacion termina mojado.


100%

Did everything asked of it.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The worst hostel in Amsterdam. The showers are inside the room and the steam causes bad smells always. The beds are not clean and show yellow stains which is disgusting. I would never go back to this place. It's too expensive for what it offers.


66%

Es war viel zu heiß nachts, weil sich die Fenster nur ankippen ließen. Außerdem hatten die Hochbetten weder Absperrung noch Leiter und man konnte jeden Ton im Bad hören. Frühstück war gut.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Gute Atmosphäre! Viele junge internationale Leute. Die Mitarbeiter waren alle freundlich. Das frühstück war auch gut. Super Angebot! Der Preis war für die mangelnde Sauberkeit zu hoch. Ob überhaupt mal geputzt wurde während meinem Aufenthalt bezweifle ich. Badezimmer voller Haare und Dreck. Das Zimmer an sich war in Ordnung. Bis auf das Badezimmrt war der Aufenthalt gut.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The shower didn't work at all and the bathroom was pretty grim. The top bunk had no barriers to stop anyone falling out so if you move a lot in your sleep then I wouldn't recommend it!


74%

A decent room and free breakfast. The staff weren't very friendly during check-in and when we asked questions but a cheap and cheerful place to stay for a couple of nights in Amsterdam.


(261 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback