X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3895 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Good atmosphere, relatively clean. Just a terrible smell in the bathroom.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Its a hostel , i dont think you should expect to much ,its cheap living but everything you need , and considering ive now stayed here twice for two seperate trips the fact im still happy with the place has to be good

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Dandy, did what it said on the tin.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The value for money is very good. A ladder for the beds in the dormitory would have been good. Maybe you can ask people to be quiet during the night in the corridor near the dormitory, because it was a bit noisy.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Our shower wasn't too good because, there was not enough water on one point, but everywhere else in the bathroom. The rest was fine. And we would come back at any time :)

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice place, kind staff, perfect location, clean place, good value for money Negative point: towels very small (bring your own), in the "private ensuite rooms" the wall of the shower toilet is a see through glass


100%

Definetely coming back again :) Kisses

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excelente hostel. A localização é perfeita. Chega-se facilmente em todos os pontos principais de Amsterdam andando. Café da manhã muito bem servido e eles também servem jantar a um preço excelente. Atmosfera do hostel muito agradável. Quartos limpos e confortáveis. O único problema foi o wifi que só funcionava bem no hall.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Geweldig hostel. Alles wat we verwacht hadden, daarom dat we er ook al vaker geweest zijn. Great Hostel. Everything we expected. We have been there many times.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Está ubicado cerca de los museos, linda zona pero un poco lejos a pie de Dam y el resto de las atracciones. De la ducha sale agua caliente pero casi no sale agua, muy incómoda. Desayuno con cereales, yogurt, cafe, jugo, agua, fiambres, panes y ensalada de frutas incluido en el precio, fue lo mejor. El colchón a algunas personas puede resultarle muy duro.


83%

Very good location, the staff is helpfull, my room was clean and great breakfast for the morning ! Best value for money In Amsterdam !

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

A pesar de qué fue el Hostel más barato qué conseguí para pasar la noche del sábado en Amsterdam, deja bastante que desear la relación calidad-servicios ofrecidos/ precio. De la ducha, si bien salía agua caliente no tenía presión. Cerca de los museos, no tanto de plaza Dam. La chica rubia de la recepción muy amable y atenta, no así las otras dos.


37%

We had no electricity both nights of our stay. We had gone out of our way to book a twin room to have a little bit of time out from the dorm life, and we're given no compensation for the fact that we were showing in the dark, without appliances and without heating. The hostel staff (including the manager) are rude, inconsiderate and above all, ignorant. Do not stay here if your life depends on it.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Wir (3 Frauen 25/31/31) hatten ein 3 Bett Zimmer, das Zimmer war sauber. Handtücher und Bettwäsche waren im Zimmer, auch die waren sauber. Wir wurden freundlich empfangen. Die Nächte waren ruhig, natürlich liefen immer mal wieder Leute am Zimmer vorbei aber das hatte ich in anderen Häusern auch schon. Das Frühstück war ausreichend. Es gab Toast, Wurst, Käse, Marmelade, sogar gedünstete Tomaten gab es. Sehr gut. Das Hostel ist gut für Gruppen geeignet. Pärchen würde ich abraten. Danke!!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Loved the hostel, friendly, smiling staff and the location, my only minor issue was with the buildings maintenance. I have stayed in many budget hostels and i do understand it is not always easy to keep up with such things as painting etc, but as i come from a trades background these sort of things are the first to catches my eye. Very happy with my stay though.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

不能更糟心了,像监狱一样唉……


86%

They really work on the negative marketing and it works. You go in with very low expectations. In saying that, the location is excellent, the rooms are clean, the bar is pretty funky and cheap and the FREE breakfast does the job nicely (toast, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, tomatoes, muesli and yoghurt). Would recommend to anyone on a budget, also Mike's Bikes is next door which is a good option for a bike tour and you get €1 off #winning


51%

I thought the bathroom was kind of gross and there were bugs in the room. My friend had a hard time getting up onto the top bunk but other than that it was a place to sleep.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

On average, the hostel is not bad, but usually one can find something better in Amsterdam for the same price or even cheaper. The location of the is also not bad, but - again - for the price one could find something closer to the city centre.


(236 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback