X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
3233 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Only complaints are no wifi in the rooms. There is in the bar/breakfast room but that isn't always open so there are times when you'll see a bunch of people standing around the front door and foyer with their phones. Also, the weekend I stayed they were filming a commercial so that meant everyone had to be quiet around them. Made to feel uncomfortable and in the way, why would they film on a weekend in Amsterdam? It really hurt the atmosphere. Aside from that everything was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tim, Sorry to hear you've experienced some difficulties during your stay regarding the filming. Although in a month you can see the result at our website and social media pages! We hope to welcome you again when visiting Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

40%

dont bother

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jack, Please give us more positive and negative points next time, because we cannot see what your difficulties were during your stay. Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

The hostel is near to the center, although it's easier to get there by tram. The breakfast is included!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thiago, Actually we are located in the middle of the center: it's only a 2 min walk to entertainment area Leidseplein and 5 min walk to Museumplein. Our hotel is located between the famous canals and public transport is really nearby. Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Good location! Rooms are the bare minimum, but that's in the description.. Also I experienced that even though the guests on my floor weren't exceptionally loud, I could hear them talk very clearly in my bed.. The sound transfers pretty far! Staff don't seem very interested in their job or in the guests.. The bar/food is very nicely priced! Cheap pints, cheap food compared to a lot of other places, and not stingy with fries! Pretty good if all you need is a bed and a place to get smashed!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tom, Thanks for your review. We hope you've had a great time in Amsterdam and at our hotel. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

40%

The hostel experience was terrible. They gave me a bed and locker that was already under use by someone else. I was woken up in the middle of the night by certain people, one among whom was using the bed and locker. They explained to me that they had not yet checked out. Yet, the hostel staff gave me the key to the locker which they were using, and the corresponding bed. I have never experienced anything so bad. When I complained, I only received a perfunctory apology. It is better to avoid it.

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Srikanth, Sorry to read you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. We promise, next time your visiting Amsterdam we provide the best stay in town for you! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

A truly terrible hostel with great breakfast and an awesome atmosphere in a very sweet location. Definitely lives up to its title of "worst hostel in Amsterdam." Stay here if you're ok with not so clean facilities, a little noise, and a fun time. Don't stay here if you're not ok with these things. Thanks Hans Brinker!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Noah! Great to read you've had the best stay at our hotel!!! See you soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

One minus.... At the reception they tould us we could take breakfast with us because we have to leave early to catch our plane. The man behind the counter for breakfast said NO! Strange! The man wasn't friendly at all.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michiel, Dank je voor je review! We hopen dat je een goed verblijf bij ons gehad hebt! Hopelijk zien we je snel weer voor een verblijf in Amsterdam en geniet je van ons Happy Hour! Groetjes, Hans Brinker

89%

The BEST Hotel in A'Dam!!!! The WORST Hotel in the world!!!all in perfect style upgraded

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Aurelio, Thank you so much for your great review! Great to hear you've had the best stay in Amsterdam and our hotel! See you soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Nice room, but the toilet wasnt properly sealed so the first hour the room stank very badly.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel, Thanks for your review. We hope you've had the best time in Amsterdam and at our hotel. See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

very basic room, just bad and one chair...good breakfast buffet

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Massimo, Thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon. greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

Everything was great, super clean, very nice staff (special thanks to the barman who played "moi je m'appel Lolita" when he noticed we were french haha) and close to everything we needed. I'll recommend !

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jade-Eve, Thanks for your great review! Lovely to read you've had the best stay at our hotel! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

1 2 3 Next » last »
(51 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback