X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3576 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Hans Brinker Bed-Bug Hotel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we check and clean our rooms every day I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs in our rooms. We do have mosquitos sometimes during summer season. Hans Brinker

66%

Hans Brinker is epic if you don't care about anything but the weed and booze, and perhaps a bit of culture. We were on a lads holiday and although the staff messed up our booking and there were bed bugs, the beds were actually pretty damn comfy and the location epic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we check and clean our rooms every day I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. Unfortunately we have mosquitos sometimes during spring and summer. We hope you've had an epic time in Amsterdam and see you next time! Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

friendly and helpful receptionists, hearty breakfast (not just bread and jam), overall great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Great to see you really liked your stay! Please recommend us to all your friends and we hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

Too noisy, impossible to sleep, but good rooms and breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Next time your staying at out hotel don't forget to bring ear plugs :)! Hans Brinker

86%

Hans Brinker was a nice place. It's very easy to find and is close to a lot of shops, bars and restaurants. The dorm room was a fair size with lockers and the bathroom was okay. You only get wifi downstairs at the bar but it's a great way to meet new people. They have happy hour too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, True, just look at the big yellow sign HOTEL and there we are :)! See you soon at our happy hour? Hans Brinker

86%

BED BUGS. BED BUGS. BED BUGS. I stayed here with two others and all three of us woke up with multiple bed bug bites. Had at least 10 bites on one arm. Besides that everything was nice. The rooms were clean, bathroom was clean. You only get wifi downstairs which was a downside. But the breakfast was amazing! There was one girl at the front desk that was extremely unhelpful and rude but there were other few nice ones.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. As we check our rooms daily I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We do have a lot of mosquitos sometimes during summertime. For your next stay at our hotel, please mention you have mosquitos in your room, so we can provide you a spray. About our wifi: currently we are installing wifi at some of our floors in the rooms! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

Bitten by bedbugs, so cleanliness wasn't their best point. But the bar had a really good atmosphere for young people, and the free breakfast was really convenient if you don't want to spend money on food outside the hostel.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we clean and check our rooms every day we do not have bed bugs. We do have a lot of mosquitos sometimes during summertime, but we have a spray at reception. We hope to welcome you next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

It's fine. You get what you expect. Not a lot. Worth the adventure.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Indeed we are an adventure / experience :)! See you! Hans Brinker

83%

Facilities are good but beds are not very confortable.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

We would definitely stay here again! :) And the breakfast? Exquisite...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! See you again soon at our breakfast? Hans Brinker

94%

Very happy with Hans Brinker. Posters on wall make fun of the lack of facilities and extras but it was everything you need. Have stayed in far more expensive hostels in worse locations that weren't as good as this one. Would definitely book again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your review! We would be really happy seeing you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

The hostel is located in one of my favourite areas of Amsterdam. Whilst it offers value for money and is clean overall, the lockers in the room we had were falling apart and we were rudely awoken by the cleaning staff way before our check out time of 10am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! We are aware of the fact some of our lockers need to be renewed. See you soon at our bar for happy hour?? Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

fantastic hostel staff on front desk where always very helpful

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for your comment! Please recommend us to all your friends and next time you're visiting Amsterda, you know where to find us! Hans Brinker

77%

Very nice, just not enough staff at reception when you're waiting to check out, you have two staff working but both are with the same customer so queues build up rapidly. We had a problem with Mosquitos I'm our room and both of us were bitten quite badly but nothing like some of the reviews go on about on here. The room was very clean and the bathroom also, just bring flip flops because the bathroom gets soaked after one shower! Other than that haven't got too much to nag about. Enjoyed our stay

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! The moment you've checked out we had a trainee at reception extra, so unfortunately there was some delay. We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

I sjust a place to sleep, nothing else. Well located.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Paulina, We are not just a place to sleep, we have a bar, restaurant and club :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Great location most places within walking distance, a couple of the england fans watching world cup were a pain in the arse, but that's nothing new and not hostels fault.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! I guess during the World Cup every hostel is filled with fans :)! Greetings and see you next time! Hans Brinker

86%

Amazingly helpfull staff, clean rooms and delicious breakfast, the worst hostel I've been to so far, and I loved it. will surely come back.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Aruba
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review! Well, see you again soon then! Hans Brinker

86%

really nice!! i totally recommend this hostel! clean, wide, good breakfast ! everything is super nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

51%

Some girl from the staff told us that check-in is at 9 a.m. At arrival didn't even let us inside earlier. Then it turns out the check-in isn't until 14.00 and they have no idea how did this mistake happen or what to do... Very rude and poorly organized staff. Otherwise a decent place.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Check in is from noon, but during high season sometimes rooms get cleaned after noon. You can leave your luggage in our luggage room for free though (so you can enjoy the city). Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

You get what you pay for, so it was a place to sleep and breakfast in the morning was tasty. Content is the best way to describe it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! Please recommend us to your friends! See you next time! Hans Brinker

(136 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback