X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4237 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great Hotel, in which you can find exactly what you pay for : little. But comparing the price and the service, the balance is perfect. That's just a pity that the courtyard closes so early, and smoking a cigarette outside the bar after 10 PM, might have been delicious. Another "problem" (even if it's not a "problem") is that there's quite nothing outside the hostel in the street to take a little rest, with a cigarette too. Except theses tiny details, there nothing to add or to change there.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good atmosphere, very clean toilets, nice cleaning staff, cheap beer and dinner. Wifi doesn't work but it's good to be disconected sometimes. Amsterdam and Hans Brinker hotel you are awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are awesome!!! Thanks for telling us you’ve had a great time, and hope to see you again soon!

40%

bed sheets were very dirty; it seemed that they were not changed; the staff told us they will change them but when we returned to our rooms, the sheets were still the same; additionally, the toilet was not cleaned; overall, the staff was very unfriendly and didn't care...

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sorry to hear this, our sincere apologies! We have discussed this with the staff who was working during your stay and made clear this isn't acceptable behaviour. We hope you did enjoy your time in Amsterdam, even though your stay at our hotel wasn’t as expected.

77%

Good atmosphere in bar area. Happy hour cheap. Club open late if u didn't want to venture far bt still stay up. Only complaint would be the communal toilets downstairs were disgusting and had to tell the bar staff a few times. So had to go all the way to your room if going number 2.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again sometime and we’ll make sure our toilets will be bright and shiny :)

94%

Some soap in the bathrooms to wash hands would be greatly appreciated. Apart from that great hostel!! Breakfast was really good! I felt safe around the hostel, was a good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good advice, it should be there actually… Sorry if it wasn’t! Happy to hear that apart from that you had a great stay, we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future, this time with soap!

89%

Hans Brinker is in a great location and the staff very friendly and helpful. I'd be very happy to stay there again and would absolutely recommend the place to any traveller or visitor who has a low budget. Thank you Hans Brinker Hotel for a cool stay in Amsterdam.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive words! Glad you had a cool stay, we’d be very happy to see you back again!

94%

Very lively hostel, as you'd expect in Amsterdam! There are no luxury furnishings but everything is functional and clean, and the staff friendly. Basically, they provide everything you could need. The only problem I had was kind of silly: I was assigned the top bunk but could not get up there despite repeated attempts - I'm not very tall! So if you're a shortie, ask for a bottom bunk or just arrange with your roommates.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great advise ;) Thanks a lot for the positive words and we’re very happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay! We’d love to see you back you cool shortie!

69%

Do you know how shock am I ? I order an mixed 6 person room, and my roommate are 5 boy .....only one girl is me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, that’s what can happen when you book a mixed person dorm… it is where boys and girls stay. We don’t select people by gender, sorry! Hope that besides the shock you did have a nice stay!

86%

Really close to everything and really nice breakfast in the morning.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your positive comments!

63%

The hostel was ok the staff were friendly enough but we had bed lice in the bunks which gross and wasn't very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re really sorry to hear that, our sincere apologies! After reading the review we checked your room and debugged it. It’s not of help to you but at least the guests after you won’t be bothered by it! Hope it didn’t spoil your stay in Amsterdam!

80%

Breakfast is great (crepes, bread, cheese, ham, spreads, coffee, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, tomatoes) and kind of makes this hostel. Location is pretty good walking distance to all major sites and close to the nightlife. Hostel is clean. Doesn't have a kitchen but can eat there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review; the breakfast doesn’t make us, you do! See you again soon!

80%

Tipical big hostel, 25 minutes away from Dam sq. By foot. Its basic, you only have a bed, but Internet works very well and the breakfast is very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for the positive words, hope you’ve had a great time in Amsterdam!

77%

Good value for money nice and cheap and not to far to walk to the city. Very decent prices drinks at the bar. Had some very rude dorm mates but that can't be helped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sorry to hear you had rude dormmates… But happy that otherwise you’ve enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again sometime and we’ll pick our favorite guests to stay with you in the room!

40%

This is a hostel for single men that are here to party only... Not clean, safe or suitable for couples.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We do agree that we are mainly a party hostel, but that doesn’t mean we are unsafe, only for single men or unsuitable for couples. We are a youth hostel, so the majority of our guests is below 30 and visiting Amsterdam with friends, but we accommodate as many women as man and offer secure accommodation for both. Also, the whole hotel is cleaned daily.

89%

bunk bed without ladder... so not easy to get on top And the 2 elect. plug are on the bottom bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - good to see you liked our hostel even though you had to practice some gymnastics to get in bed! Hope to see you again sometime!

77%

It´s hard to get a good nights sleep on Weekends with drunk guests screaming around on the Hotel floors and banging doors. I suppose this is part of your concept. But still I think a bit more common decency isn´t to much to ask for. And I think that your staff is obliged to enforce this.Other than that we had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you for your comments and the suggestion for the improvement of our hotel. We do have someone working from 10PM to 4AM, who’s especially here to maintain order in the hotel. We’re sorry to hear that his presence couldn’t avoid disruption when you were staying with us. Glad you had a great time anyway!

80%

excellent hostel just to rest, because the atmosphere is sad, nobody in the lobby and so quiet. So clean, the personal nice, good u bicarbonate

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We also like that we have a good bicarbonate. We do wonder where all the guests went when you stayed with us then… But we’re glad you liked your stay!

43%

One of the worst Hostels I've stayed in. - Smelled horrible. - There was blood on on of our towels. - The lockers aren't fastened to the wall and as a result nearly fell on my friend. - Mass groups of people standing around the entrance smoking. Pay a tiny bit extra and just stay in a hotel.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30

Owner Comment (Hide)
True, we’re basic; this doesn’t mean you should find blood on towels or horrible smells, and as soon as this is reported to us we’ll definitely take action. Sorry to hear you didn’t like your stay much; we do hope you did like your stay in Amsterdam in general.

63%

As Advertised.


54%

the staff was distant and not very helpful with asked question

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Too bad to hear our staff wasn’t very helpful to you. We’ll try to do better next time!

(111 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback