X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
4711 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great stay, very good location, 15 minute walk from Van Gogh. The Hostel provided bedding, a small hand towel, toliet roll and breakfast in the morning which was good. I really liked the free yogurt fruit and granola. The room also had lockers to keep your items safe. Only downside was the music downstairs was really loud as I was on the first floor. And the rooms were very basic not a nice looking room.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! What a great and honest review. It's true that our great atmosphere can be found in our bar and club, but not particularly in the rooms itself. All we want for the rooms is for them to be clean :) And if you're bothered by the noise from the club next time: we got free earplugs for you at reception!

100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in while in Amsterdam and I have been through Amsterdam more than 20 times!! I will be staying here for now on... They even have a club downstairs...

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay when in Amsterdam, the was great with a lot of such as bar and club for guests. It just i understand why put me in the same room with group of 5 people who travels together, make me kinda alienated ..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We're happy you think we're great. We think you're great! Too bad you didn't feel happy with the group of 5 though. Sometimes that can be a lot of fun, but when it isn't you can always check at reception if you can switch rooms. :)

86%

Good basic hostel. Easy location to get everywhere. Lockers are too small for you backpack though. Wifi in the rooms doesn't work

Owner Comment (Hide)
All very true. But the WiFi we're working on! So that should be fixed soon.

63%

The location and the staff is superb, the security at the main door is poor. The bed was comfortable but very very unstable-something that could easily be fixed. Having the shower inside the dorm was very good, so you don't have to go in the hall. However, there is no kitchen to put your stuff in the fridge or fix yourself sthg to eat. No problem about cleanliness. A little overpriced for a 6-bed dorm but overall, it was OK.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

No cleaning. Very simple rooms. Horrible bathrooms (in the rooms and outside). When there are so many people, there should be cleaning people all around to organize the mess. There should be bed lights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Interesting that you would think we don't have cleaning people. Because we have around 20 of them, roaming around the hostel every single day :) we get more complaints about them being too present than too absent... So thanks for the different point of view!

100%

Awesome Location . Break fast superb. I would wish hangers in bathrooms . Enjoyed the happy hour deal @ bar. Thanks to Lotte ( receptionist) was her friendly attitude and guiding us with the "Must watch Location" around the city.


83%

Well the Hans Brinker does not lie, it is a basic room with a rather outdated bathroom. Beds were comfy and clean. One storage locker was broken but they were large so we shared. No problem. The washroom unfortunate but for 2 nights I could tolerate it. Overall the free breakfast offered in the morning was AMAZING and made it all worth while. Internet works well in the common area and the location is close to everything. Cheap bike rental place across the street that was convenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We like to be honest to our guests, and therefor we're happy you gave us an honest review in return! Thanks :)

83%

Only difficulty I had was with the wifi, very very very slow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Working on it :)

86%

Awesome breakfast!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're awesome!

77%

Reception staff and check in at afternoon was a bit poor but at morning there was a girl receptionist who was excellent and informed me really well. Breakfast buffet is quite simple but is really ok for a hostel, and the best is that is included in the price. About the bed i slept well and bathrooms were clean.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you had a good stay in the end, despite the check-in service. Hope to see you back one day!

97%

Great location. Staff were super helpful despite reviews I had read. They have a free charging dock for your phone which is great if you forget your charger. They have luggage storage which I was worried about because some places don't hold your bags. But yeah if you want to stay in amsterdam this is worth a look just for the location. Thanks. :)

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a review! We try to be the best we can, so it's always great to read it's appreciated. Thanks so much!

80%

It wasn't bad nice hostel for young people, party atmosphere, nice bed, Awesome breakfast, hot waters for shower, bad wifi though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Parties, breakfast and hot water What more could you need in a hostel? Thanks for the review, and we're working on the wifi :)

80%

The bunk beds are really comfortable. Great breakfast. Bag storage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Short but positive, that's how we like our reviews. Thanks!

80%

Totally a backpackers party hostel. The bar is great :)


69%

Was not to clean but really cheap. To many big groups stayed there it brought the atmosphere down a lot. (But that might be bad timing) it's a good place to stay if you are looking for a cheap place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's true that on certain times a year we have big groups coming in, especially during low season. That doesn't mean it should bring down the atmosphere though! So maybe next time you'll be more lucky with a better group, or no group at all :)

83%

It was clean which is my main concern, the lockers were too skinny to fit most people's backpacks but the room for six people was quite roomy so not too bad. The shared showers were fine but some hooks or a bench to keep your stuff dry would be nice, there was a tiny chair but not big enough. The kitchen does not have a stove or hotplate so people were cooking pasta in the microwave. It is a fair distance, you need the tram to get into town, but it was a good place to stay and i would be back!


80%

Breakfast was good, location was pretty good, staff were always quite nice. The disco downstairs was so loud it kept me awake, if you're not a partier, maybe ask to stay on a top floor, not ground. Good elevators. The top bunks didn't have a ladder so you literally had to pull yourself up, they didn't have a head board either so your pillow falls down and no side barrier. Wifi is a little crappy. The bathrooms weren't great either. They give you keys to lock your locker so security is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't really have any comebacks on your comments, because they're pretty accurate! And you provide for good tips for future travellers as well, so thanks! Job well done.

74%

There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hostel, and a club aswell. Great atmosphere, helpful staff available 24/7. 5 minutes walking from leidseplein. Very recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
WE LOVE YOU!

91%

Overall a good hostel. Good location, You can walk to the center (red light district), it's a 15 minute walk. The first two nights my boyfriend and i stayed at a 6 people room. everything was clean. The bathroom smelled though. The next two nights we stayed at a room for 2 and it was very good. The bathroom was really clean. The hostel was crowded, a lot of people. You can smoke weed but only until 10pm. Excelent value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for enjoying our hostel :) Just a note: smoking (weed or regular) is not allowed in the hotel, only in the garden outside…

(97 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback