X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3794 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Had a great time will like 2 visit u guys again!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you again soon at our bar during Happy Hour!!! Hans Brinker

66%

need to improve the bathroom and toilet facility

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review. We are aware of the fact some bathrooms are getting old. Currently we are looking for the best solutions! Hans Brinker

77%

Hostel staff excellent although the cleaning staff could be a bit abrupt.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Excellent guest :)! See you next time when visiting Amsterdam? Hans Brinker

43%

as their slogan say - worst hostel you've ever stayed at suitable for backpackers, those only want to get drunk very dirty, bathroomceiling was completly covered in mold, shower didn't work proper, you got wet but couldn't wash hair properly, no additional accouterment like bottle holders, towel hangers, soap etc... no ladder to the top bunks, could her others throwing up in the next room smelly breakfast room free breakfast and room lockers were good! just get waisted there and you'll be fine

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! About the mold and the ladders: currently we are looking for the best solution (not the worst solution ;))! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Really enjoyed this hostel, has a great feeling with the bar and great staff! The rooms did get very hot but that was 5 of us getting ready at once. Location was good not too far from anything really. Only comment is take a towel the ones there are rather small. I would stay here again for sure

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Well, see you next time then at our bar during Happy Hour :)! Thanks for writing the review! Hans Brinker

66%

The bar was really good! Nice breakfast as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Nice Happy Hour too, right ;)?! Looking forward seeing you again! Hans Brinker

86%

A litle bit expencive hostel. Perfect lociation and nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are in fact one of the cheapest stays in the middle of Amsterdam and our prices are including the breakfast buffet. Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Me and my friend booked the Hans Brinker because we wanted a party holiday, we thought it would be a bit of a laugh. In actual fact, every staff member we encountered was so helpful funny and pleasant, the staff enjoy being there as much as you do! Happy hour 5-6 is a great time to meet people from all over the world and the Hans Brinker provide an excellent communal space to allow that! I would recommend the Hans Brinker to young travellers/party people and those who are up for a bit of fun.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great summary of our hotel! We would love to see you again soon at our bar during the Happy Hour! Hans Brinker

43%

Noisy, dirty toillets, far too basic. The lockers were really narrow, so I coundn't place my bag in it. The shower was awful, it only sprayed water. The bunk beds didn't have a ladder, so it was very difficult for me to climb it. *The location and the breakfast were fairly good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our bathrooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests they can get the place messy after cleaning. Currently we are looking for suitable ladders for the bunk beds! Greetings, Hans Brinker

63%

I got disapointed with the shower that sprayed watter everywhere in the bathroom and really annoyed with some spoiled boys that were "high" doing a mess on the corredors screaming and knocking all doors (including mine) from 3:00 AM until 5:00 AM.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Although you did not like our shower, we hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

Get what you pay for I guess. Free breakfast is sweet; drinks at the bar are reasonably priced. Not a place to go for a good night's sleep (which might be impossible in Amsterdam anyway!) There is a lift so no lugging stuff up stairs. Rooms are fairly sparse, and there are no ladders on the bunks so you get a little workout if you are on top. Clean enough place.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Indeed we have basic facilities, but we offer cheap beds and provide a fun place to hang out! Currently we are looking for suitable ladder for our bunk beds! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

The hostel has all the necessary for young people to stay in the city for a while.rooms are small but essential.services are good.not expensive,under Amsterdam prices. Good atmosphere,good experience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Indeed we are basic, but fun, cheap and everything you want for a stay in Amsterdam! See you soon? Hans Brinker

89%

I stayed two years ago at Hans Brinker and thought it was good value for money so decided to stay again this year. The hostel has improved a lot! Rooms are cleaner, beds are more comfy and the staff was really nice and helpful. The location of the hostel is great and its pretty cheap compared to hostels in Amsterdam. Nice atmosphere, quiet easy to meet other travellers. Definitely a place i recommend.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!! Thanks for staying again! Well, we are looking forward to your third time at our hotel! Hans Brinker

86%

The hostel was what I expected. It met our needs fine, breakfast was good. Hostel was situated in a good central location. Staff were helpful and room was clean. Myself and husband and child of 14 stayed. Bit noisy at times but to be expected in hostel type accommodation.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review. Good to read you liked your stay! See you again soon? Hans Brinker

66%

we spend here 2 nights, in a 8people dormitory. The room was quite big. The forniture was simple and very essential. we had a private bathroom with shower in the dormitory. it's very practical but every time we had a shower we flooded the bathroom. the breakfast is included. it isn't a big choise but you can have a satisfyng breakfast. it's a good hostel if you want to visit the city thanks to its position. there are also bike rental and public transport in the nearby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are aware of the fact the showers in some bathrooms will flood when having a long shower. Currently we are looking for a solution. We hope to welcome you again when visiting Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

83%

Awesome atmosphere, couldn't ask for any more. Bar downstairs is the best idea ever, and free breakfast was delicious. Bathroom in room was pretty gross though, and a few guys who I shared a room with were super rude. But I'd stay again for sure

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your stay! Looking forward seeing you next time at our bar during Happy Hour! Hans Brinker

80%

Our shower was grim but the food was great, cheap drinks and great atmosphere. Location couldn't have been better. Worst part was the strange loud, incomprehensible, announcements that would wake us up and inform us of nothing. I would stay again though.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well then, when is the next time we'll see you at our bar during Happy Hour? Hans Brinker

100%

I had a short stay but it was smooth and hassle free. Good place to stay!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Next time staying a bit longer to enjoy Amsterdam and our hotel even more? :) Hans Brinker

66%

Annoying reception had to open the door every time. Supposed to be for security so you have to show your key but they open it without even showing the key. Staff took away our towels and we had to go to reception to ask for them back, then we waited around for them to give them to us and they never came so we had to ask again and receptionist was like, "Oh, you need them now?" Ummm it would be nice, only takes 3 minutes to do so. Shower water pressure super low, had to put on cold to get a flow.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Too bad to read you had to wait for your towels! Besides this we hope you did enjoy your stay at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

Some part of the staff were rude. I had the impression that there was quite a lack of organisation. The furniture is old and oxidated. But it is an hostel not expensive and in a good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, Although you've experienced some downsides during your stay, we do hope you've enjoyed Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

(1979 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback