X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4332 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Incredibly fun atmosphere, knew their audience completely. Really enjoyed the community feel with happy hour and bar. Definitely go to happy hour!! Great deals and the snacks are good too. Cleaning staff did a nice job. Shower spray made taking a shower difficult - hard to shower and not get entire bathroom soaked. Wifi was pretty weak in both the room and bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your positive words! We'd love to see you back sometime, you seem incredibly fun as well!

83%

party hostel. okay wifi. lots of people. good for socializing


63%

Windows wouldn't open sufficiently for a room with 7 guys and 30℃ weather outside .


69%

O café da manhã foi bem legal. A wifi não pegou hora nenhuma. Não tinha escada na cama beliche. As staffs não foram mt prestativas. Tem um banheiro nos quartos e isso é legal.


60%

Way too hot. Can't even open windows all the way. Not worth staying in unless you want to sleep in a pool of sweat

Owner Comment (Hide)
That does sound kind of attractive to us though... free sauna!

80%

The problem we had is that there was no AC in the room and it was a boiler, everybody had trouble sleeping and the windows wouldn't open completely, so that air would run. I know AC is kind of difficult to put in the Netherlands, but maybe for hot days you should consider the possibility of opening the windows fully.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the suggestion! Problem is, other safety regulations don't let us. But we'll think about a way how we could fix this. Hope beside the heath you did like your stay!

54%

There are not enough people working at the hostel to provide good customer service. I couldn't even get a map. I do not recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that, we do provide maps, but we also agree that we can get a bit busy sometimes. We just love multitasking so much!

77%

방에서 와이파이 안되는거 빼고 다 좋습니다 중앙역에서 트램타고 이동해야되고 주위에 마트 10시까지 해요 직원도 친절하고 시설도 괜찮은편 다른 도시에 비하면 가격도 싸고 좋습니다


80%

I would only come back because they have the best breakfast selection I've ever seen at a hostel for free. Wifi is spotty and showers suck but yeah Its doable if your a youngin


83%

Wifi inaccessible

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Working on it! Thanks for the positive review btw, hope you liked your stay!

94%

Excelente!


37%

We had a very bad experience at this hostel. We had a 6 person room and the bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Flooded everywhere and in 48 hours no one came to clean. The worst part was definitely the lady at the front desk. She was not accommodating what so ever and was very rude. We were supposed to stay three nights but left early.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Was an interesting stay. Dude I'm the front desk early morning was . . . Fun 😀

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks... we think?

80%

Decent enough place. Downstairs bar/restaurant provided cheap food which was surprisingly good. 24/7 reception was helpful and fluent english. Each bed had their own lockers and the bathroom in our 6-bed dorm was usable and LOVELY.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot! Hope we may welcome you again sometime - our lovely bathrooms are waiting for you!

77%

It was a little dirty and there is no bed linien but anyway is well located and for the price is okay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ho, wait! There should be bed linen! You can find them in your locker... if they weren't there always tell reception, linen should be included in the price. As should a clean room btw - we apologize if this wasn't the case.

63%

Ideal for young travellers on the move as I probably wouldn't have liked to stay for more than the one night. Shower was old and dirty. Pillows had someone else's hair on them when we arrived. Staff were mostly helpful but also pretty disinterested. The luggage room isn't the most secure place as we noticed a lot of the bags had been looted. Bar staff were clearly very inexperienced. But good location, breakfast included in the price is a plus. Fun atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comments. Our bar staff just had a new bar the week you arrived, therefore might have looked a bit lost, but normally they tap great beers!

100%

Me encanto

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchisimas gracias!

63%

La noche fue horrible. Es un alojamiento lleno de borrachos que a partir de las 2am solo saben que cantar, gritar y picar a las puertas del resto de gente. Así estuvimos hasta las 4am. Continuaron la fiesta por los pasillos de las habitaciones. Espero que solo tuviéramos la mala suerte de alojarnos un sábado por la noche. Lamentable el espectáculo del bar, más cuando vas acompañado de tus hijos de 8 y 10 años.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por sus comentarios. Sentimos que no haiga tenido una buena experiencia en nuestro hostal. Sin embargo, somos un hostal para jóvenes, enfocado a gente que quieren celebrar su estancia en Ámsterdam. Por esto estamos muy de acuerdo con ustedes; no somos un hostal muy adecuado para una familia con niños. Esperamos que hayan disfrutado su tiempo en Ámsterdam, aunque su estancia con nosotros no era como esperada.

91%

Loved staying here! The atmosphere was brilliant and the fact that a lovely breakfast was included was a bonus. The bar is vibrant and the drinks prices are a lot cheaper than in the town - 10 euros for a pitcher of heineken! Only criticism - I booked a 5 mixed room for 3 people (female) but we were put into a room for 4 with a lone male who did not speak english; I felt sorry for him as we are loud girls and he seemed very uncomfortable.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks, we love you for your positive comments! Hope to see you again soon, our pitchers of Heineken are here for you any time you want!

54%

Wouldn't say a bad place but definitely wouldn't describe it as a nice stay , main complaint was the room (tiny,smelly and hot) and the noise

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to see you didn't like your stay with us... we hope you did enjoy the pretty city that is Amsterdam though!

(196 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback