X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3706 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Awesome atmosphere, couldn't ask for any more. Bar downstairs is the best idea ever, and free breakfast was delicious. Bathroom in room was pretty gross though, and a few guys who I shared a room with were super rude. But I'd stay again for sure

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your stay! Looking forward seeing you next time at our bar during Happy Hour! Hans Brinker

80%

Our shower was grim but the food was great, cheap drinks and great atmosphere. Location couldn't have been better. Worst part was the strange loud, incomprehensible, announcements that would wake us up and inform us of nothing. I would stay again though.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a short stay but it was smooth and hassle free. Good place to stay!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Next time staying a bit longer to enjoy Amsterdam and our hotel even more? :) Hans Brinker

86%

Posizione ottimale per chi vuole alloggiare nel centro di Amsterdam e godersi la città a piedi!!! (No posto auto ma possibilità di parcheggiare in zona convenzionata e ritornare all'ostello gratuitamente!) Ostello molto frequentato (specie ragazzi giovani) ma non caotico! Bel clima di relax e spensieratezza! Ottimo per nuove amicizie!!! Colazione a buffet inclusa e non è poco!!! Da tenere in considerazione per soggiorni futuri!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great! Already looking forward seeing you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Condividere la stanza con una panzona è il massimo

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Please recommend us to all your friends and we hope to see you soon again at our bar during Happy Hour! Hans Brinker

66%

Annoying reception had to open the door every time. Supposed to be for security so you have to show your key but they open it without even showing the key. Staff took away our towels and we had to go to reception to ask for them back, then we waited around for them to give them to us and they never came so we had to ask again and receptionist was like, "Oh, you need them now?" Ummm it would be nice, only takes 3 minutes to do so. Shower water pressure super low, had to put on cold to get a flow.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Too bad to read you had to wait for your towels! Besides this we hope you did enjoy your stay at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

Some part of the staff were rude. I had the impression that there was quite a lack of organisation. The furniture is old and oxidated. But it is an hostel not expensive and in a good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, Although you've experienced some downsides during your stay, we do hope you've enjoyed Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

80%

Very good for Weekend/Party Trips. The rooms are absolutely okay and the nice bar invites for one or two beer before going into the city or after that. You can meet nice peoplebto talk with in the dorms, what makes it interesting. I'll definetly come back.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your great review! Looking forward seeing you again soon! Hans Brinker

94%

Super auberge. Bien placée petit dej copieux, chambre propre avec la salle de bain à l'intérieur et draps fournis. Impec !

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! Great summary of our hotel :)! Thanks! Hans Brinker

83%

Good beds, good breakfast, good price

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good beer, good atmosphere, good location, good bar, good club, good dinner, BEST hotel :)! Hans Brinker

63%

We were in twin beds room. Very basic beds (metal frame). No table. 1 chair. 2 vertical metal lockers. No decoration. No dark curtains. 4 small towels. Shower with static water output.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Indeed we have really basic rooms, but we are cheap and provide everything you need for a fun stay in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

94%

Awesome People, awesome Beer, awesome City :)

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome Hotel, awesome Bar, awesome Club, awesome Location, awesome Staff, awesome Rooms :)

91%

Don't forget to update your information sheet concerning Olympisch Stadion car park + PR price reduction system!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the remark! See you next time! Hans Brinker

83%

It advertises itself as being the worst hostel in the world, but when I went with my friends, we all had a great time... As long as you accept that it's going to be a budget place, you'll find it just fine. There was a good atmosphere too- loads of other people staying there and the bar and reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI! Indeed we are basic, but we are cheap and the best location for a great weekend in Amsterdam! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

49%

Rumoroso, stanza piccola, non si poteva aprire completamente la finestra e in quel buco con sei persone di moriva. Bagno minuscolo con doccia (mal funzionante) annessa, il water non aveva nemmeno il coperchio, quando andavi a far la doccia non sapevi dove appoggiare le cose. Siamo arrivate e abbiamo trovato il letto sporco, non c'era la scaletta per raggiungere il letto in alto. In germania, pagando molto meno, eravamo in ostelli che in confronto erano una reggia. Consigliato solo per poche nott

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Due to safety reasons it's not allowed to open the windows completely. Our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Currently we are looking for ladders for our top bunk beds! Hans Brinker

80%

This hotel is amazing! You get what you need for a cheap price! Next trip to Amsterdam will be a sure Hans Brinker stay!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, GREAT REVIEW :)! Well, see you soon again then! Hans Brinker

57%

Completly covered in bed bites which is disgusting. Left the hostel 3 days ago and my arms and legs are still red. Youbhave been told about this before yet nothin had been done!!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We do have mosquitos sometimes during high season, but we provide a spray at reception! Hans Brinker

83%

I really enjoyed my four day stay at the Hans Brinker. The location is amazing, I also really liked the pillows and duvets, the mattress was also better than my one at home. The breakfast was ok however there was not really much I could eat as most of the options were meaty or contained dairy apart from the fruit which tasted like it was canned in the early 1920s. Perhaps a dairy free margarine could be offered? But apart from that I had a good time and would stay again.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Looking forward to welcome you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

Schlechte WLAN Verbindung. Personal könnte beim einchecken wesentlich freundlicher sein!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gutentag, Thanks for your review! We are awar of the problems with our wifi and currently we are looking for a solution! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Super Preise! Leider kann man nirgens im hotel rauchen und die Hygiene liess zu wünschen übrig. Alles in allem wär es gut. Für Leute die nur ein Bett benötigen ;)

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. It's not allowed to smoke in any hotel in Amsterdam due to Dutch law. Our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Hope to see you again soon! Hans Brinker

(261 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback