X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3894 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great stay in a perfect location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for being the perfect guest!

77%

We stayed here for four nights and the first two nights were great! Beer vending machine downstairs a nightclub a bar and a restaurant, so that was pretty cool. On the third night we realized we didn't want to stay up until 2 am and that we needed real sleep...that's where this place gets bad. If you want a great night of rest look elsewhere this place is seriously loud.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we are a youth / party hotel we cannot guarantee a quiet night...But why not going downstairs then for a fun beer :)? Hans Brinker

89%

The Hans Brinker is, despite it's advertising, NOT the worst hotel in the world. It's actually pretty great. It's not the cleanest, the staff aren't the friendliest, and the lack of kitchen means it's a hotel experience as opposed to a hostel one. But the breakfast is fantastic, the beds are comfy, and the bar is a great place to meet other travellers. Bring earplugs if you want to sleep properly! The walls are VERY thin!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Although we aren't the worst in the world, we are a true experience, right?! Hans Brinker

91%

Great hostel, the only bad thing about it, is the fact they are serving Heineken instead of any good beers :D


60%

The hostel was mainly used to host big groups for school trips. The average was very young and not very open to meet other people than the ones they went on the trip with. In the bathroom it was not easy to keep the clothes dry for putting then on after showering as there where no hooks or anything else like a toilet seat to place it on. On the other hand, it was perfectly located in Amsterdam. Shops and bars very close as well as public transport.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Currently we are looking for an upgrade for our bathrooms! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

Breakfast was amazing for a hostel - especially given it was free. The dorm and bathroom clearly had been cleaned for at least a couple of days and was disgusting. The towel had a stain on it. Bar and restaurant area was nice. Very good location - within walking distance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We can assure you our rooms and bathrooms get cleaned every day (even during your stay)! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

Great location for a hostel. Minutes away from everything you would want to do in Amsterdam. Only letdown was that we were asked what time we would like to check in, so we put 10am, but once we arrived we were told we couldn't check in until 2pm, so we had to completely re-arrange our day. But apart from that the place is great, there is a nice bar and even a nightclub downstairs. The room was small, but did the job just fine for the price. Afterall, when in Amsterdam, the room is only for sleep

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!! Thanks for your review! Minutes away?? Just downstairs is all the fun you can get in Amsterdam :)!! Hans Brinker

80%

Perfect location, security is great! Rooms are nothing special but nice big lockers, and a bathroom in every room. Mould on the ceiling in our room and bathroom was pretty gross but nothing you can't deal with. Breakfast was basic but did the trick. Happy hour is great! Also love all their "anti-advertising" pieces. Brilliant! !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We are aware of the mould in some bathrooms and currently we are renovating that parts. See you again soon at our Happy Hour again? Hans Brinker

80%

The hostel is fine, really well located in the city. Staff is friendly, the rooms have the minimal comfort. Good value for money given the prices of others accomodations in Amsterdam. Ok, it's not cosy, it's a bit noisy and the breakfast is quite bad (there is an organic bakery just around the corner which provides good coffee and croissants though, at a pretty cheap price). But if you just want a place to stay with your friends for a short city trip, it's perfect.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your review! Didn't you try our freshly made pancakes at breakfast?? Hans Brinker

74%

Decent hostel - clean and reasonably priced both for the room and in the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We hope you did enjoy our decent club as well ;)!! Hans Brinker

77%

If you have small budget and you want to be close to the center it is a great choice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Actually it's the BEST choice :)! Hans Brinker

80%

Pretty central hostel for a budget. Do not have the best facilities and the helpful staff in the world, but it does still worth. I would recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your recommendation! See you! Hans Brinker

80%

괜찮았는데 사람이 너무 많아서 체크인 체크아웃할 깨 시간이 굉장히 오래 걸렸어요. 조식도 괜찮았고 다 무난무난했어요.


94%

Great place!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Clean. Large lockers in the dorm. Ensuite was fine. Very cheap, which was the main reason we booked it. Staff were nice. Very good overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! You have forgotten the nice bar, our fantastic club and great breakfast :)! We hope seeing you and your friends again soon!! Hans Brinker

91%

Had a great time will like 2 visit u guys again!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you again soon at our bar during Happy Hour!!! Hans Brinker

66%

need to improve the bathroom and toilet facility

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review. We are aware of the fact some bathrooms are getting old. Currently we are looking for the best solutions! Hans Brinker

77%

Hostel staff excellent although the cleaning staff could be a bit abrupt.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Excellent guest :)! See you next time when visiting Amsterdam? Hans Brinker

43%

as their slogan say - worst hostel you've ever stayed at suitable for backpackers, those only want to get drunk very dirty, bathroomceiling was completly covered in mold, shower didn't work proper, you got wet but couldn't wash hair properly, no additional accouterment like bottle holders, towel hangers, soap etc... no ladder to the top bunks, could her others throwing up in the next room smelly breakfast room free breakfast and room lockers were good! just get waisted there and you'll be fine

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! About the mold and the ladders: currently we are looking for the best solution (not the worst solution ;))! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Really enjoyed this hostel, has a great feeling with the bar and great staff! The rooms did get very hot but that was 5 of us getting ready at once. Location was good not too far from anything really. Only comment is take a towel the ones there are rather small. I would stay here again for sure

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Well, see you next time then at our bar during Happy Hour :)! Thanks for writing the review! Hans Brinker

(2014 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback