X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4214 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The hostel was ok the staff were friendly enough but we had bed lice in the bunks which gross and wasn't very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re really sorry to hear that, our sincere apologies! After reading the review we checked your room and debugged it. It’s not of help to you but at least the guests after you won’t be bothered by it! Hope it didn’t spoil your stay in Amsterdam!

80%

Breakfast is great (crepes, bread, cheese, ham, spreads, coffee, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, tomatoes) and kind of makes this hostel. Location is pretty good walking distance to all major sites and close to the nightlife. Hostel is clean. Doesn't have a kitchen but can eat there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review; the breakfast doesn’t make us, you do! See you again soon!

60%

auberge tres bruyante chambre et salle de bain tres petite pas echelle pour le lit superieur

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for taking the time to write a review about us, you're helping to improve our property!

80%

Tipical big hostel, 25 minutes away from Dam sq. By foot. Its basic, you only have a bed, but Internet works very well and the breakfast is very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for the positive words, hope you’ve had a great time in Amsterdam!

60%

Non per deboli di stomaco!!!

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good value for money nice and cheap and not to far to walk to the city. Very decent prices drinks at the bar. Had some very rude dorm mates but that can't be helped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sorry to hear you had rude dormmates… But happy that otherwise you’ve enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again sometime and we’ll pick our favorite guests to stay with you in the room!

40%

This is a hostel for single men that are here to party only... Not clean, safe or suitable for couples.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We do agree that we are mainly a party hostel, but that doesn’t mean we are unsafe, only for single men or unsuitable for couples. We are a youth hostel, so the majority of our guests is below 30 and visiting Amsterdam with friends, but we accommodate as many women as man and offer secure accommodation for both. Also, the whole hotel is cleaned daily.

89%

bunk bed without ladder... so not easy to get on top And the 2 elect. plug are on the bottom bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - good to see you liked our hostel even though you had to practice some gymnastics to get in bed! Hope to see you again sometime!

77%

It´s hard to get a good nights sleep on Weekends with drunk guests screaming around on the Hotel floors and banging doors. I suppose this is part of your concept. But still I think a bit more common decency isn´t to much to ask for. And I think that your staff is obliged to enforce this.Other than that we had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you for your comments and the suggestion for the improvement of our hotel. We do have someone working from 10PM to 4AM, who’s especially here to maintain order in the hotel. We’re sorry to hear that his presence couldn’t avoid disruption when you were staying with us. Glad you had a great time anyway!

83%

Bon accueil, petit déjeuner copieux, bien frais... Ambiance bon enfant... Par contre beaucoup de chahut la nuit...Cris et coups dans les portes des chambres!! Et ça, c'est lié aux "locataires" pas à l'Auberge elle-même....

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup, great you like your stay, hope to see you again soon!

71%

Notre dortoir de 6 personnes était petit mais il y avait suffisamment d'espace pour tout le monde. Pas de rideau ni de cabine, une douche suffisait à inonder toute la salle de bain. La chambre était très humide (même en aérant) et froide. L'auberge cuisine des plats que l'on peut acheter (minimum 6€), il n'y a donc pas de cuisine à disposition des clients pour que chacun puisse faire ses repas. Excellent point cependant le petit déjeuner à volonté TRÈS copieux et très varié!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us! Hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

83%

Bon rapport qualité prix pour cette auberge idéalement située. Bonne ambiance générale et état de propreté tout à fait correcte si on vient bien dans l'esprit "auberge de jeunesse". Le plus : petit déjeuner ultra-copieux. Le moins : la taille, ça fait un peu "usine" certains jours. Nuits possiblement un peu bruyantes, très variable en fonction des jours... Les boules quiès peuvent être utile !

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

excellent hostel just to rest, because the atmosphere is sad, nobody in the lobby and so quiet. So clean, the personal nice, good u bicarbonate

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We also like that we have a good bicarbonate. We do wonder where all the guests went when you stayed with us then… But we’re glad you liked your stay!

71%

晚上偶尔会有人在走廊吵闹。早餐很不错

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us!

43%

One of the worst Hostels I've stayed in. - Smelled horrible. - There was blood on on of our towels. - The lockers aren't fastened to the wall and as a result nearly fell on my friend. - Mass groups of people standing around the entrance smoking. Pay a tiny bit extra and just stay in a hotel.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30

Owner Comment (Hide)
True, we’re basic; this doesn’t mean you should find blood on towels or horrible smells, and as soon as this is reported to us we’ll definitely take action. Sorry to hear you didn’t like your stay much; we do hope you did like your stay in Amsterdam in general.

63%

As Advertised.


54%

the staff was distant and not very helpful with asked question

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Too bad to hear our staff wasn’t very helpful to you. We’ll try to do better next time!

63%

Un incubo!camera sporca anche se giornalmente fanno le pulizie e con le finestre bloccate e neanche una ventola per il circolo dell'aria!una notte hanno deciso anche di venire a fare la pipì fuori alla nostro porta. L'unica cosa positiva sono stati i nostri due "coinquilini" carinissimi e silenziosissimi, ma siamo state molto fortunate!!

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay at our hostel much… hope you did enjoy the beautiful city of Amsterdam!

80%

location is perfect,clean beds everyday,comprehensive staff ! The bathrooms are kinda too small and the street are a little noisy,but you get used to it ! too bad the outside garden lacks of tables and chairs ! Nice stay anyway

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your positive words! And great idea to put tables in the garden… we’ll think about it! Hope to see you again soon!

54%

The bathroom in the room was not cleaned up during my 3 night stay (there was a smudge of something in the sink as proof). Also, it smelled as sewer, badly. And it propagated to the room. My particular room didn't have a window that could be opened to ventilate, so the smells piled up. The wifi was HORRIBLE. The lockers were very small, so you couldn't stuff a regular-sized suitcase in there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, it is always good to know what can be improved in our hostel. Although we must stay that normally we clean rooms daily. We do hope you had a nice time in Amsterdam!

(153 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback