X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4698 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

El bar es muy bueno. La habitación esta bien, nada especial. Te dan llave para locker. La atención es muy buena pero se nota el cansancio de tener que lidiar con 500 personas de fiesta. No es un lugar para descansar. Ir temprano a desayunar por que se arma una fila eterna.. Bien el precio y recomendable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks man! We do provide for a better bar than rooms, so people will hang in our bar and not in their room :) it makes our place more social. So thanks for getting that, and hope to see you back one day!

100%

Awesome Location . Break fast superb. I would wish hangers in bathrooms . Enjoyed the happy hour deal @ bar. Thanks to Lotte ( receptionist) was her friendly attitude and guiding us with the "Must watch Location" around the city.


83%

Well the Hans Brinker does not lie, it is a basic room with a rather outdated bathroom. Beds were comfy and clean. One storage locker was broken but they were large so we shared. No problem. The washroom unfortunate but for 2 nights I could tolerate it. Overall the free breakfast offered in the morning was AMAZING and made it all worth while. Internet works well in the common area and the location is close to everything. Cheap bike rental place across the street that was convenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We like to be honest to our guests, and therefor we're happy you gave us an honest review in return! Thanks :)

83%

Only difficulty I had was with the wifi, very very very slow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Working on it :)

86%

Awesome breakfast!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're awesome!

77%

Reception staff and check in at afternoon was a bit poor but at morning there was a girl receptionist who was excellent and informed me really well. Breakfast buffet is quite simple but is really ok for a hostel, and the best is that is included in the price. About the bed i slept well and bathrooms were clean.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you had a good stay in the end, despite the check-in service. Hope to see you back one day!

97%

Great location. Staff were super helpful despite reviews I had read. They have a free charging dock for your phone which is great if you forget your charger. They have luggage storage which I was worried about because some places don't hold your bags. But yeah if you want to stay in amsterdam this is worth a look just for the location. Thanks. :)

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a review! We try to be the best we can, so it's always great to read it's appreciated. Thanks so much!

80%

It wasn't bad nice hostel for young people, party atmosphere, nice bed, Awesome breakfast, hot waters for shower, bad wifi though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Parties, breakfast and hot water What more could you need in a hostel? Thanks for the review, and we're working on the wifi :)

77%

stavo per mettergli tutti 1, poi però sono stato a Berlino e la tristezza di questo posto ha reso nostalgici e magnifici i ricordi dell'Hans Brinker di Amsterdam. unica pecca la doccia non regolabile in nessun senso.tuttavia l'ambiente è stupendo tranne che per la donna delle pulizie che la mattina entra urlando "Morning" per poi uscire subito due secondi dopo senza dire nulla per il puro gusto di vedere se c'era qualcuno nella stanza probabilmente ed odorarne gli odori

Owner Comment (Hide)
Haha, maybe she thought you wanted a wake-up call? Anyway, we love your beautiful and poetic description of our hotel, we almost cried reading it in Google Translate. Grazie!

89%

Los lockers en la habitación un poco pequeños.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good point. Thanks anyway!

80%

The bunk beds are really comfortable. Great breakfast. Bag storage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Short but positive, that's how we like our reviews. Thanks!

80%

Totally a backpackers party hostel. The bar is great :)


69%

Was not to clean but really cheap. To many big groups stayed there it brought the atmosphere down a lot. (But that might be bad timing) it's a good place to stay if you are looking for a cheap place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's true that on certain times a year we have big groups coming in, especially during low season. That doesn't mean it should bring down the atmosphere though! So maybe next time you'll be more lucky with a better group, or no group at all :)

83%

It was clean which is my main concern, the lockers were too skinny to fit most people's backpacks but the room for six people was quite roomy so not too bad. The shared showers were fine but some hooks or a bench to keep your stuff dry would be nice, there was a tiny chair but not big enough. The kitchen does not have a stove or hotplate so people were cooking pasta in the microwave. It is a fair distance, you need the tram to get into town, but it was a good place to stay and i would be back!


31%

Definitivamente pior hostel que já me hospedei na vida. Lugar muito sujo, banheiros fedidos, assim como o bar do hostel. Paguei por 4 noites, mas na primeira noite tinha um casal transando (aos gritos) e usando drogas dentro do quarto, reclamei com a recepcionista e ela não deu a mínima. Pedi meu dinheiro das próximas 3 noites e ela disse que não daria. Se eu tivesse achando ruim que fosse embora. Fui embora pagando 4 noites, sendo que dormi apenas 1. Nunca mais volto e não recomendo.


80%

Breakfast was good, location was pretty good, staff were always quite nice. The disco downstairs was so loud it kept me awake, if you're not a partier, maybe ask to stay on a top floor, not ground. Good elevators. The top bunks didn't have a ladder so you literally had to pull yourself up, they didn't have a head board either so your pillow falls down and no side barrier. Wifi is a little crappy. The bathrooms weren't great either. They give you keys to lock your locker so security is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't really have any comebacks on your comments, because they're pretty accurate! And you provide for good tips for future travellers as well, so thanks! Job well done.

74%

There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hostel, and a club aswell. Great atmosphere, helpful staff available 24/7. 5 minutes walking from leidseplein. Very recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
WE LOVE YOU!

91%

Overall a good hostel. Good location, You can walk to the center (red light district), it's a 15 minute walk. The first two nights my boyfriend and i stayed at a 6 people room. everything was clean. The bathroom smelled though. The next two nights we stayed at a room for 2 and it was very good. The bathroom was really clean. The hostel was crowded, a lot of people. You can smoke weed but only until 10pm. Excelent value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for enjoying our hostel :) Just a note: smoking (weed or regular) is not allowed in the hotel, only in the garden outside…

34%

Hasta el orto

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't know what 'orto' means, but we assume it's not good...

51%

El hostel no es recomendable en absoluto, aunque su precio es más bien accesible. Las habitaciones son incómodas, sucias, pequeñas y sin ventilación. La limpieza deja mucho que desear, los baños, también. El personal, sin palabras, más que deficiente. ¡Como si atenderte fuera un disgusto para ellos! El WIFI anda muy mal. Tiene bar (no muy lindo), pero no hay cocina. Lo mejor, por lejos, el desayuno: ¡muy completo! Si pueden, elijan otro lugar!


(172 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback