X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3894 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Es un buen hotel, con servicios que se agradecen como un buen desayuno, duchas limpias cada dia, la posibilidad de comer y beber a precios mas especiales lo convierten en una muy buena opcion para alojarse. Esta cerca de los lugares principales a visitar y con excelente conexion de transporte. Si deben mejorar el servicio de internet, dado que pide periodicamente dar un " like" en facebook y solo permite conectarse en los espaciones comunes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

69%

the reception could be a bit more nicer or attentive. the fact they make you like their fb page to get wi fi is boerderline criminal. bathrooms are really tiny and no hooks to hang nothing. its ok for a hostel but with a bit more it could have been a great place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, What's not to like about our Facebook page? ;) Hans Brinker

91%

I enjoyed staying there. I stayed in a dormitory. I felt the lockers in the dormitory could have been better, I found it a bit strange that there were lockers beside the beds, but the lockers beside my bed did not correspond with the number of my bed!

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Great you've enjoyed your stay! See you next time! Hans Brinker

77%

L'ostello gode di un eccellente posizione, la struttura è pulita ma estremamente spartana.consigliato per ragazzi con grande capacità di adattamento. I prezzi rispetto alla media di amsterdam sono buoni ma sicuramente non aspettatevi una bella struttura!

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

The room is very smelly and the air circulation is very bad.. The bed is dirty and quiet dangerous if u sleep on the top bed and most of the locker is spoil... Toilet and room is disgusting..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are located in a very old building, so sometimes the sewerage may smell something during rainy days. We can assure you though all our rooms and bathrooms get cleaned every day and we definately provide clean bed linen and towels! Hans Brinker

49%

Eigentlich eine Frechheit sowas an Gäste zu vergeben..billig hin oder her.. Übler Geruch, Fenster ging nur leicht zu kippen..dann 6 Mann im Zimmer und schon hat man eine Sauna..dreckige Bettwäsche, Schimmel an der gesamten Decke im Bad und noch schlimmerer Geruch als im Zimmer usw..

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gutemorgen, Too bad you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. Although I can assure you we clean our bedrooms and bathrooms every day! Hans Brinker

89%

Price:Value

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hans Brinker Hotel: Fun

97%

The room was clean and freshly painted, the whole place was more like a well run hostel than a budget hotel. The main attraction must be the staff who are unfailingly helpful and cheerfull. Somewhat suprised to find two seventy year old backpackers asking for a key , we were rewarded with a big smile and all of the info we needed. A clear case of old meets young and both benefited. Cannot recomend this hotel enough!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Well, looking forward seeing you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

I found the staff helpful and very nice to deal with. Someone’s always on duty at reception and they check your key before letting you in. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm room with a very small en suite bathroom which was clean by hostel standards. They also offer a decent selection for their free breakfast. You can easily walk to the Rijksmuseum from here.


66%

The location was great, we weren't early birds to get better hostel accommodation for our budget and was thankful to have found hans brinker. Linen was clean. Staff at reception very helpful. On the downside, the 6-bed dorm we were in was really stuffy, and very hot. The bathroom/toilet drains emitted a foul smell the entire time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review. We hope to see you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

well the hotel is really central. you can walk 5min and you are in the middle of Amsterdam though the hostel walls are really thin and there are a lot of loud people in the hostel. also the hotel makes a raunchy impression an the toilet stank.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Indeed we are a youth / party hotel, so we cannot guarantee quiet nights. We can assure you we are a clean hotel as we clean the rooms and bathrooms every day! Hans Brinker

71%

Le confort des chambres est minimum ! Rapport qualité/prix pas très bon, j'ai trouvé un peu cher vu la vestuté des chambres ... Rien qu'une échelle pour monter dans le lit du haut serait un bon point, plutôt que devoir escalader contre le casier pour pouvoir se coucher. Le petit déjeuner par contre est royal !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! In fact we are one of the cheapest hotels in the middle of Amsterdam! Great you've enjoyed our breakfast! Did you try our freshly made pancakes? Hans Brinker

100%

Such an awesome hotel/hostel! Good location and the bar has a great atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Great club, best breakfast and coolest guests :)! Hans Brinker

83%

There was no ladders to get on the top bunk but the breakfast was good and the location was great!


63%

also an sich war es ganz nett in dem hostel.. man darf nur keine hohen ansprüche an sauberkeit haben. frühstück war vollkommen okay und die zimmer auch, das bad könnte nur größer sein für so viele personen. ansonsten hat es sich aber fürs geld gelohnt (25euro/nacht) aber mehr würde ich auch nicht unbedingt dafür zahlen. lage sehr zentral, alles zu fuß erreichbar, das war sehr gut!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gutemorgen! Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon! Hans Brinker

40%

here's just terrific. the room is so disgusting smell.... I never go there again....

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, The rooms may be a bit old, but we clean them every day (including the bathrooms). Hans Brinker

71%

Albergue muito bem localizado, perto de várias atrações, mas atrai uma galera jovem afim de curtição. Tem um bar grande com happy hour que funciona a partir das 18h. O pessoal da recepcão sempre foi atencioso e colaborativo. Quarto que eu fiquei era pequeno, seis camas, e o banheiro minúsculo. Por ter muito jovem tem muita gente que fica neste albegrue por causa da bebida e tbm de fumar maconha (permitido em Amsterdan). Recomendo pelo preço, localização e café da manha. Não recomendo pelo resto


83%

C'est un peu l'usine mais les chambres sont correctes et propres; le personnel est très varié donc il y a des personnes plus aimables que d'autres. Le petit déjeuner c'est vraiment la cantine avec énormément de monde, le personnel est très bien mais la grandeur du lieu fait qu'il est moins aisé de rencontrer des gens en préparant ses céréales. Globalement c'est une auberge très pratique pour visiter Amsterdam, et je la recommande.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for your recommendation! Hans Brinker

86%

Nice Staff, nice Location.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice bar, nice club, nice restaurant, nice breakfast, nice rooms, nice guests

86%

Amazing location right in the middle of where you want to be. We were mind-blown by breakfast (when most hostels offer only corn flakes or nothing at all, then yes, hot eggs and grilled tomatoes possess the ability to blow my mind). The bunks are sort of military style and the rooms are fairly sterile but that didn't really bother us - we got clean towels daily, another rare bonus. Oh and because of the canals mosquitoes are rife - I had to lather myself in repellent before bed. Would recommend.


(237 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback