X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
4428 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The problem we had is that there was no AC in the room and it was a boiler, everybody had trouble sleeping and the windows wouldn't open completely, so that air would run. I know AC is kind of difficult to put in the Netherlands, but maybe for hot days you should consider the possibility of opening the windows fully.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the suggestion! Problem is, other safety regulations don't let us. But we'll think about a way how we could fix this. Hope beside the heath you did like your stay!

54%

There are not enough people working at the hostel to provide good customer service. I couldn't even get a map. I do not recommend this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that, we do provide maps, but we also agree that we can get a bit busy sometimes. We just love multitasking so much!

80%

I would only come back because they have the best breakfast selection I've ever seen at a hostel for free. Wifi is spotty and showers suck but yeah Its doable if your a youngin


37%

We had a very bad experience at this hostel. We had a 6 person room and the bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Flooded everywhere and in 48 hours no one came to clean. The worst part was definitely the lady at the front desk. She was not accommodating what so ever and was very rude. We were supposed to stay three nights but left early.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Was an interesting stay. Dude I'm the front desk early morning was . . . Fun 😀

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks... we think?

80%

Decent enough place. Downstairs bar/restaurant provided cheap food which was surprisingly good. 24/7 reception was helpful and fluent english. Each bed had their own lockers and the bathroom in our 6-bed dorm was usable and LOVELY.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot! Hope we may welcome you again sometime - our lovely bathrooms are waiting for you!

77%

It was a little dirty and there is no bed linien but anyway is well located and for the price is okay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ho, wait! There should be bed linen! You can find them in your locker... if they weren't there always tell reception, linen should be included in the price. As should a clean room btw - we apologize if this wasn't the case.

63%

Ideal for young travellers on the move as I probably wouldn't have liked to stay for more than the one night. Shower was old and dirty. Pillows had someone else's hair on them when we arrived. Staff were mostly helpful but also pretty disinterested. The luggage room isn't the most secure place as we noticed a lot of the bags had been looted. Bar staff were clearly very inexperienced. But good location, breakfast included in the price is a plus. Fun atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comments. Our bar staff just had a new bar the week you arrived, therefore might have looked a bit lost, but normally they tap great beers!

91%

Loved staying here! The atmosphere was brilliant and the fact that a lovely breakfast was included was a bonus. The bar is vibrant and the drinks prices are a lot cheaper than in the town - 10 euros for a pitcher of heineken! Only criticism - I booked a 5 mixed room for 3 people (female) but we were put into a room for 4 with a lone male who did not speak english; I felt sorry for him as we are loud girls and he seemed very uncomfortable.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks, we love you for your positive comments! Hope to see you again soon, our pitchers of Heineken are here for you any time you want!

54%

Wouldn't say a bad place but definitely wouldn't describe it as a nice stay , main complaint was the room (tiny,smelly and hot) and the noise

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to see you didn't like your stay with us... we hope you did enjoy the pretty city that is Amsterdam though!

80%

A memorable stay here! Had everything we needed to survive but can't say it was 5* but we did have fun! So would recommend to any other young travelers.


74%

Overall the Hostel was good for the price & the location is ideal being an easy bike ride to everything & really easy to get there from Airport. The breakfast was great with a nice variety. The bathrooms were the biggest downfall they were small & had no hooks, no toilet seat & nowhere to put your things when you were showering & when you're in a 6 bed mixed dorm this is kind of essential. Also it didn't bother us but if your the type who likes it quiet to sleep, it's quite noisey.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestion for improvements. Glad you liked your stay though and hope we may welcome you again sometime!

63%

I like that they embrace the fact the place is shit. But at the end of the day, the place is bad.


51%

Bathrooms really need hooks or shelves, or something to keep your clothes off the wet ground. Internet was out for the first day I was there. Staff seemed impatient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your suggestions for improvement. We're working on the wifi! Hope you've enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

74%

Overall good. Very basic place... definitely get what you pay for. Wifi was down.... not good. Staff is lame.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re sorry to hear you think we’re lame. We’re not per sé saying it isn’t true, but we would like to know why you think so, so we can de-lame ourselves. Wifi is having some hiccups lately, are solving it. Glad overall you liked your stay!

89%

The hostel is in a great location, has a good standard of cleanliness and all the basics you need for a holiday at a very reasonable price. Our only concern was the... 'Mess' left in the communal male toilets which included blood although that is probably a measure of the clientele than the hostel itself! I have reviewed it as a hostel (which it is and I knew it was), if I'd believed it was a hotel though, I would have expected more!! It also got quite loud some nights so take earplugs!

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks, happy to read your review! Next time you'll visit us we'll make sure our bathrooms are clean as hell. Hope you've enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

51%

Please wifi is very important!!!!! Don't lie about having wifi in the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The thing is, we’re actually not a hostel. We’re a place where people go to where they need to rehab from internet. Just kiddin. Wifi is mostly here, but due to the reconstruction of our bar it had been off for some time. We didn’t ‘lie’ about it, it was just broke for a while. Now it’s back in the air!

91%

You get what it says, nice facilities the main criticism is the wifi, which is next to impossible to connect to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the positive words! Sorry about the Wifi, we're working on it... hope to see you again sometime!

83%

It was a really good hostel, big brekky and good bar. Can be really noisy at times sounded like a rave going on at 6am everyday!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Apart from liking your positive words,we also like that we’ve learnt a new word (brekky) from you review. See you soon, we hope?!

86%

The worst hostel in the world!!! lol Check in was easy. Was briefed well by the staff. Room was basic and clean. Enough space for 4 pax. The locker was small but did the job. Toilet was clean. Fresh towel everyday. Was pretty lucky because both night, the room was for myself. Met a lot of travelers while staying. Really great and cheap hostel with a perfect location for roaming around Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review, very happy to read you’ve enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime!

(178 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback