X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3956 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

Please add a second window to the rooms for 8 Persons. Or change at leat that the window who is in can be full opened and not only a little gap. The air in the room in the morning was really awful!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I’m sorry to inform you that it’s something we cannot change. The windows may not be opened fully, because of safety regulations. We take safety matters very seriously. I'm sorry to hear this compromised the air in your room. Greetings, Hans Brinker

51%

The atmosphere was very poor. I felt i was in the army. Too many schoolkids with no quality.


66%

Lindo hostel...pero casi no hubo relacion con los del staff...estan como muy aislados, el unico que tenia buena onda era un chico rubio de la barra...pero casi no tenes relacion con ellos...buen hostel pero me gustan los hostel con mas contacto con la gente del staff...entiendo que es un hostel grande, ese es el problema


63%

Definetely not a quiet hostel. Cheap , loud music and kids all around but good quality-price if you are in Amsterdam to party


94%

Everything was good. The Interior could be a bit more white or less-dark but thats just me. Would gladly stay here again and recommend to friends.


77%

Quite a walk from the city centre and train station. Wifi worked well in rooms and the main dining area. Excellent breakfast. The ensuite shower was in good condition. Dorm room was large and spacious with cages under the bed for storage.


83%

Absolutely good hostel for great value - only negative point is the shower that floods the whole bathroom. Rest was great - mostly very nice staff as well!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Really great hostel! Spacious, moderately clean rooms with ensuite facilities. The bar and breakfast are awesome, and cheap happy hour drinks! Luggage storage and elevator were a bonus. The street is very close to everything and easy to find your way back because of the huge light-up "HOTEL" sign on the building that we called our "beacon of hope" :) The constant intercom announcements are mildly annoying throughout the day but you likely won't be hanging out in the room enough to care.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon at the 'beacon of hope'! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

Es un buen hotel, con servicios que se agradecen como un buen desayuno, duchas limpias cada dia, la posibilidad de comer y beber a precios mas especiales lo convierten en una muy buena opcion para alojarse. Esta cerca de los lugares principales a visitar y con excelente conexion de transporte. Si deben mejorar el servicio de internet, dado que pide periodicamente dar un " like" en facebook y solo permite conectarse en los espaciones comunes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

69%

the reception could be a bit more nicer or attentive. the fact they make you like their fb page to get wi fi is boerderline criminal. bathrooms are really tiny and no hooks to hang nothing. its ok for a hostel but with a bit more it could have been a great place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, What's not to like about our Facebook page? ;) Hans Brinker

91%

I enjoyed staying there. I stayed in a dormitory. I felt the lockers in the dormitory could have been better, I found it a bit strange that there were lockers beside the beds, but the lockers beside my bed did not correspond with the number of my bed!

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Great you've enjoyed your stay! See you next time! Hans Brinker

77%

L'ostello gode di un eccellente posizione, la struttura è pulita ma estremamente spartana.consigliato per ragazzi con grande capacità di adattamento. I prezzi rispetto alla media di amsterdam sono buoni ma sicuramente non aspettatevi una bella struttura!

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

The room is very smelly and the air circulation is very bad.. The bed is dirty and quiet dangerous if u sleep on the top bed and most of the locker is spoil... Toilet and room is disgusting..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are located in a very old building, so sometimes the sewerage may smell something during rainy days. We can assure you though all our rooms and bathrooms get cleaned every day and we definately provide clean bed linen and towels! Hans Brinker

49%

Eigentlich eine Frechheit sowas an Gäste zu vergeben..billig hin oder her.. Übler Geruch, Fenster ging nur leicht zu kippen..dann 6 Mann im Zimmer und schon hat man eine Sauna..dreckige Bettwäsche, Schimmel an der gesamten Decke im Bad und noch schlimmerer Geruch als im Zimmer usw..

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gutemorgen, Too bad you've experienced some difficulties during your stay. Although I can assure you we clean our bedrooms and bathrooms every day! Hans Brinker

89%

Price:Value

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hans Brinker Hotel: Fun

97%

The room was clean and freshly painted, the whole place was more like a well run hostel than a budget hotel. The main attraction must be the staff who are unfailingly helpful and cheerfull. Somewhat suprised to find two seventy year old backpackers asking for a key , we were rewarded with a big smile and all of the info we needed. A clear case of old meets young and both benefited. Cannot recomend this hotel enough!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Well, looking forward seeing you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

I found the staff helpful and very nice to deal with. Someone’s always on duty at reception and they check your key before letting you in. I stayed in a 6-bed dorm room with a very small en suite bathroom which was clean by hostel standards. They also offer a decent selection for their free breakfast. You can easily walk to the Rijksmuseum from here.


66%

The location was great, we weren't early birds to get better hostel accommodation for our budget and was thankful to have found hans brinker. Linen was clean. Staff at reception very helpful. On the downside, the 6-bed dorm we were in was really stuffy, and very hot. The bathroom/toilet drains emitted a foul smell the entire time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review. We hope to see you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

well the hotel is really central. you can walk 5min and you are in the middle of Amsterdam though the hostel walls are really thin and there are a lot of loud people in the hostel. also the hotel makes a raunchy impression an the toilet stank.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Indeed we are a youth / party hotel, so we cannot guarantee quiet nights. We can assure you we are a clean hotel as we clean the rooms and bathrooms every day! Hans Brinker

71%

Le confort des chambres est minimum ! Rapport qualité/prix pas très bon, j'ai trouvé un peu cher vu la vestuté des chambres ... Rien qu'une échelle pour monter dans le lit du haut serait un bon point, plutôt que devoir escalader contre le casier pour pouvoir se coucher. Le petit déjeuner par contre est royal !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! In fact we are one of the cheapest hotels in the middle of Amsterdam! Great you've enjoyed our breakfast! Did you try our freshly made pancakes? Hans Brinker

(206 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback