X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3696 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Showing the keys to get inside is not really safe option. Open luggage storage as well as small locker in the room doesn't really help. When you pay extra for your own bathroom, you usually expect it to be clean. No kitchen nor even fridge is quite unplesant supprise for every backpacker. And finally, there is a leaflet at the reception: "Do NOT like us on Facebook". Quite ironic, if you require like on the Facebook to get logged into the wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, First of all, you can rent a safety deposit box at the reception to secure your personal belongings like your passport etcetera. All our rooms have an ensuite bathroom, so you don't pay extra for it. Besides that, our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Indeed, we don't have a kitchen for common use, but we serve cheap and tasteful meals at our restaurant. Hans Brinker

63%

Poor ventilation in the toilet. Rooms very stuffy as we were not able to open the window.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, You can open the windows in our room, but due to regulations you cannot open them very wide. Although we hope you did enjoy our stay at our hotel. Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

The rooms are clean with ensuite bathrooms, which are perfect. However, the rooms have no ventilations and in summer it gets very still at night. Facilities are awesome and breakfast was good and simple. When we checked out, we requested for a security deposit box. The receptionist asks us what we needed to keep and she offered to keep our passports at the front desk. We politely decline and asked again, to which she threw the key on the table and gave us attitude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for pointing out our assets! Sorry to read though about our receptionists behaviour. We will definately ge back to that! We hope you will recommend us to all your friends :)! Hans Brinker

91%

Muy buen lugar para pasar laa vacaciones, bien ubicado Las habitaciones justas de tamano pero tienen taquilla con llave. El baño muy basico no hay perchas ni donde apoyar nada y ventanas se abren poco en habitaciones mas altas por lo que hace mucho calor pero el comedor de abajo es grande y comodo. Comida buena cantidad y restaurantes cerca tambien. Bar barato bebidas y comida.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks your sharing your thoughts about your stay! See you soon next time? Hans Brinker

80%

Nos tocó una habitación con uj baño muy estrecho para la cantidad de personas que eramos. En general es un lugar aceptable para la estadia.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • jp22
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


23%

Muy caro para las condiciones en la que se encuentra. Realmente muy deficiente

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Actually we are one of the cheapest hotels in the middle of Amsterdam. We are basic, but provide everything you need during your stay! Hans Brinker

66%

The hotel was kind of proud of beeing dirty what seemed quite akward... Even though good located and all in all not to bad.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. See you! Hans Brinker

69%

In Amsterdam it's a good value for the money in comparison to others houses . The bathroom in the room could be better by JUST installing a box (or even a towel which stops the water spilling around) in the shower, I mean, if someone from your room decides to take a shower the whole bathroom will be totally wet. The room is very warm too. They don't have A/C or even a ventilation system in the rooms, and the window hardly open. So, if you are coming in the summer expect to 'be cooked'.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are aware of the water flow in some bathrooms and currently we are looking for a solution. During summer it can be really hot in Amsterdam, so some rooms can get a bit warm indeed. We hope to welcome you again soon (perhaps during winter time when it's less hot?) Hans Brinker

97%

I like to be there. Very nice staff and very clean, the mattress was very great. The breakfast is also great. The Pfunk-Stalker Sasan

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, Thanks for your review! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

The rooms felt like prison cells and no ac

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Fortunately we have a bar and underground club, so you don't have to stay in your room when you want to chill! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

This was definitely the dirtiest hostel we stayed in on our Eurotrip. Despite the fact cleaners gave all the rooms a once over every day the place just seemed to accumulate dirt. It was also unbearably hot in the middle of August so if you're one in need of air con I definitely wouldn't recommend here. However, you only need your room to pass out in anyway so neither point mattered. The hostel is in a prime location, the bar is good and they can arrange tickets to attractions for you.


60%

Hostel para ir de fiesta. Buena ubicación. Habitaciones pequeñas, baño sucio. Desayuno grande.


77%

good location, cmax 10 min to Red Light (depends on what you are on). Friendly staff, happy hour between 5 and 6 PM. If you are just looking for a place to sleep, this is it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your summary of our hotel :)! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

i'm coming back for shure! great location and we had everything we needed for the stay! sometimes a bit noisy at night! a shelf in the room and in the bathroom would be great!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to read you've enjoyed your stay! Looking forward seeing you at the bar during happy hour again! Hans Brinker

89%

Funcionario muito receptivos, mas oquarto precisava de ventilaçao.A janela nao abria, e o banheirodo quarto era fechado, sem janelas minusculo, tudo alagava depoisde um banho. Mas tirando isso o hostele perfeito, nao se escutava as festas nos quartos. Bar otimoo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review and great to read you've enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you again soon! Hans Brinker

54%

Definitely payed for a bed I didn't sleep in...

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We hope you didn't sleep, because you partied all night in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

83%

This is the second time I've stayed here It's basic rooms but efficient and functional The breakfast is great as are all the offerings from the canteen Highly recommend this place if you are after basic accommodation at good price

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI! Looking forward seeing you the third time in our hotel! Hans Brinker

63%

Never again!although it had about 30 degrees there was no air conditioner or Ventilator so that I could not sleep a second

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to read you've stayed in a really hot room. During extremely high temperatures it can be a bit hot in some rooms. Please keep us in mind for a winter visit to Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

80%

I love this hostel. Location is amazing, room was very clean and everything was very organized.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

69%

This was our first hostel - we didn't think it was too bad until we carried on with our trip. Staff weren't particularly nice and helpful & a lot of school/colleges seem to stay in the hostel. Decent enough but still a bit pricey for what you get. Free breakfast too!


(259 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback