X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3990 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

They really work on the negative marketing and it works. You go in with very low expectations. In saying that, the location is excellent, the rooms are clean, the bar is pretty funky and cheap and the FREE breakfast does the job nicely (toast, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, tomatoes, muesli and yoghurt). Would recommend to anyone on a budget, also Mike's Bikes is next door which is a good option for a bike tour and you get €1 off #winning


51%

I thought the bathroom was kind of gross and there were bugs in the room. My friend had a hard time getting up onto the top bunk but other than that it was a place to sleep.


49%

On average, the hostel is not bad, but usually one can find something better in Amsterdam for the same price or even cheaper. The location of the is also not bad, but - again - for the price one could find something closer to the city centre.


63%

I agree with the previous comments of it being "military-like" but it was a pretty average hostel otherwise!


94%

Great breakfast! Great Bar and secret bar! and Very funny place!

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, will be my home whenever I visit Amsterdam!

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Cheap hostel, whith excellent location and good breakfast!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

It is nice, party atmosphere consider this. Very good breakfast for value ;)


94%

It was a very godo experience.Everything was clean and very organised, even with all the people that were there. The staff are really nice people and helpful. The only critic is that the bathroom and shower are tiny and they are in the bedrooms. When somebody needs to use it, it is too loud for the rest of the people sleeping there.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

El hotel se encuentra en muy buena ubicación, 5 minutos andando a la zona de los museos y a 10min del mercado de las flores y la zona de tiendas. Es un Hotel que parece un hostal, pero comparando con los precios de los demás hoteles y alojamientos de Amsterdam, merece la pena. Más recomendable para gente joven y para grupos de amigos( no es un sitio muy romántico y las camas son de litera, por lo que para gente más mayor quizás sea un inconveniente) No es tan malo como lo ponen. Es aceptable.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff was helpful but kind of rude. Lots of really random young teenagers there.


80%

Die Lage ist super. Die Bar und das ,,Restaurant" sind top und die Preise unschlagbar! (Riesen portionen!) Die Mitarbeiter sind nett. Es ist immer was los. Die Zimmer sind recht karg und trostlos aber alles in allem kann man dieses Hostel nur weiter empfehlen.


63%

Bathroom is covered in mould.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your review! I’m sorry to hear you’ve run into a room with mould in the bathroom, We paint our rooms + bathrooms once a year, and more often if necessary. Your room is on the to-do list! We hope to welcome you next time (in fresh bathroom)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

Das Hostel ist sehr zentral gelegen und befindet sich dennoch in einer netten und eher ruhigen Seitenstraße. Für Amsterdamer Verhältnisse ein günstiges Hostel. Frühstück ist im Preis inbegriffen und dafür echt gut. Zimmer waren sauber. Im Bad fehlten Seife und Handtücher und das Duschen funktionierte nicht immer einwandfrei. Insgesamt ist es aber zu empfehlen!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your review! I'm sorry to hear you didn't receive a towel, as we provide one to every guest. We do hope to see you again! Greetings, Hans Brinker

57%

여자혼자 쓰기에는 좀 불편했던 호스텔이였습니다


29%

Please add a second window to the rooms for 8 Persons. Or change at leat that the window who is in can be full opened and not only a little gap. The air in the room in the morning was really awful!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I’m sorry to inform you that it’s something we cannot change. The windows may not be opened fully, because of safety regulations. We take safety matters very seriously. I'm sorry to hear this compromised the air in your room. Greetings, Hans Brinker

51%

The atmosphere was very poor. I felt i was in the army. Too many schoolkids with no quality.


66%

Lindo hostel...pero casi no hubo relacion con los del staff...estan como muy aislados, el unico que tenia buena onda era un chico rubio de la barra...pero casi no tenes relacion con ellos...buen hostel pero me gustan los hostel con mas contacto con la gente del staff...entiendo que es un hostel grande, ese es el problema


63%

Definetely not a quiet hostel. Cheap , loud music and kids all around but good quality-price if you are in Amsterdam to party


94%

Everything was good. The Interior could be a bit more white or less-dark but thats just me. Would gladly stay here again and recommend to friends.


(143 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback