X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
4450 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great deal for the price. Good location, decent free breakfast, helpful staff, and ok facility(considering the price, i wont complain).

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • lennaea
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive words, a pleasure to read you liked your stay!

91%

Cracking three night stay! When we moved in we wish we could have gone back. It may advertise itself as the worst hotel in the world, but for the amount it costs and it's location it's probably the best value for money hotel I've been to!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cracking review! Made us happy and hope we can soon share a beer again at our happy hour. Cheers!

80%

Great location, nice breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot!

89%

El hotel se encuentra bastante céntrico, las habitaciones son cómodas, el precio razonable con respecto a lo que ofrecen. Buen desayuno pero el baño no estaba en las mejores condiciones.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias por tus comentarios! Esperamos que haya disfrutado su tiempo en Ámsterdam y que podemos verte de nuevo pronto.

51%

The location was very good, near most turistic places. But this is the only good thing about it. It wasnt clean, very hot in the room, the up bed dont have stairs, so the person have to climb. The bathroom was the worst. When you take a shower, it floods. The smell was terrible. And the backpack didnt fit in the locker, actually it didnt look very safe. Just dont stay in this hostel.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very helpfful whenever i need.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

It's a cheap hostel, for AMS standards, to spend a few nights. It has a good location, a very good free breakfast, and a cool bar and disco, with happy hour in the afternoon and parties at night. The bedrooms are very simple with a shared bathroom, which made me question its cleanness, and also the lockers are too small to put your back pack in there. I also didn't find the staff that friendly.


74%

Great staff, lots of high school kids. Looks like its always filled with excitement. Washrooms and inside the rooms and are really well maintained. Lockers also in the same place. Everyone is chill.


94%

hostel location is the best of the best.


66%

Das im Preis inbegriffene Frühstück war für Hostel Verhältnisse schon ziemlich gut. Kostenlose Handbücher sind auch nicht selbstverständlich. Der Große Aufenthaltsraum war schön gestaltet und stimmig. Allgemein ist das Hostel durchschnittlich eingerichtet sowie die Zimmer. Die Sauberkeit ist ebenso durchschnittlich. Rezeption ist wenn viele auf einmal ab oder anreisen überlastet das heißt lange Wartezeiten. Im Zimmer war es u Unerträglich heiß da Fenster nur ein Spalte geöffnet werden konnte!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

66%

This hostel wasn't the best, but it did it's job. The breakfast was pretty good - always take advantage of every "free" meal you can get. The bar staff was also very friendly which was a plus since the groups of people there mainly stayed to themselves. A couple of cons were that my sheets had stains on them & the shower had hardly any water coming out of it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We’re happy to read that you like our staff and breakfast :) We’re sorry about the showers – when everybody’s taking a shower at the same time, they tend to loose pressure. We will be working on it! Sheets are all clean, but we can imagine you don’t like finding stains on them (even though they are clean stains). You’re always welcome to go to reception to change the sheets! Hope you liked your time in Amsterdam!

60%

The hostel breakfast is very good. The staff is a little bit ´cold´ but they always help you when you ask. The rooms are simple and do their propose. Overall we recommend this hostel to anyone who wishes a cheap stay in AMS.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your spot on review! Hope we may welcome you again sometime!

31%

To call this place a budget hotel is a massive overstatement. It is more acane to a hovel where stained mattresses have been thrown on the floor in an attempt to trick you. The gremlin like staff do not care that your room is the tempreture of hell. Due to the fact that they must have signed their soles over to Beelzebub already. If you wish to clean yourself of the filth that enivitably sticks to you upon entering here, it would be better to jump in a canal that use their bathroom facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muhhahahahhahahahhahahahhaa (= evil laugh from the devils themselves).

60%

The receptionists were extremely rude. They over charged me by €25 as they claimed the money we had paid in advance went to hostel world and then we had to pay an extra €25 even though I had an email with balance due on arrival. We haven't had this problem in any other hostel we've stayed in and they were all booked through hostel world too. People were also smoking in our rooms which wasn't very plesant.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

Je n'ai pas pu aller à cette auberge que j'avais pourtant réservé, car je ne rentrais pas dans les critères d'âge, max 35 ans et j'en ai 55. J'ai donc été obligé de chercher un autre endroit, je n'avais pas vu les critères d'âge sur la fiche, d'ailleurs je ne comprends pas que le site m'ait laissé booker une auberge dans laquelle je ne peux accéder, je trouve que la sélection n'a pas fonctionné. Et comment récupérer mes arrhes, je n'ai pas pu obtenir d'infos de la part de l'auberge ?

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re sorry about this… we state clearly at our description that you cannot book in dormitories when over 35. With any complaints regarding your deposit, you should contact Hostelworld. Doesn’t mean we don’t feel sorry that you had to look for another place! We hope you could find something and that in the end you had a nice stay in Amsterdam.

100%

Really nice location, simple breakfast but included, rooms didn't feel crowded and had their own bathroom, overall really great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great! Many thanks for your positive words, makes us happy! Hope to see you again soon!

71%

Its the place to go if you are in your 19's otherwise isnt the best place to stay. Breakfast is poor so the people in the reception, not their fault because theres always lots of people around there and gets a bit annoying. Location is alright, bit far from the central station.


69%

The hostel has a very good location. They have a club in the basement and a nice bar/lounge area. Lockers were big enough, beds were very comfortable. The room was SO HOT it felt like a sauna though, the window barely opened. One of the days the cleaning ladies got in the room to clean up for other guests checking in and left the door completely open while doing so. Everyone could see me lying there. Not very good for solo travelers, lots of groups.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about us. We’ll ask our cleaning ladies to be a bit more subtle in the future ;) Hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

91%

I stayed just for one night but I can say the atmosphere s great and the hostel is well organized. The only "issue" was the lock room where I had to leave the luggage: it was a little bit crowded so be sure you do not leave anything precious and you close well your luggage (something can drop). But nothing happened to my luggage so nothing really to complain about.. on the contrary you go home with more faith in human beings :)


80%

First hostel in Europe. Really appreciated the breakfast selection. The sheets smelled though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Next time you visit us we'll make sure your sheets smell really nice!

(257 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback