X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3802 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Get what you pay for I guess. Free breakfast is sweet; drinks at the bar are reasonably priced. Not a place to go for a good night's sleep (which might be impossible in Amsterdam anyway!) There is a lift so no lugging stuff up stairs. Rooms are fairly sparse, and there are no ladders on the bunks so you get a little workout if you are on top. Clean enough place.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Indeed we have basic facilities, but we offer cheap beds and provide a fun place to hang out! Currently we are looking for suitable ladder for our bunk beds! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

The hostel has all the necessary for young people to stay in the city for a while.rooms are small but essential.services are good.not expensive,under Amsterdam prices. Good atmosphere,good experience

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Indeed we are basic, but fun, cheap and everything you want for a stay in Amsterdam! See you soon? Hans Brinker

89%

I stayed two years ago at Hans Brinker and thought it was good value for money so decided to stay again this year. The hostel has improved a lot! Rooms are cleaner, beds are more comfy and the staff was really nice and helpful. The location of the hostel is great and its pretty cheap compared to hostels in Amsterdam. Nice atmosphere, quiet easy to meet other travellers. Definitely a place i recommend.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!! Thanks for staying again! Well, we are looking forward to your third time at our hotel! Hans Brinker

51%

Le seul atout de cette auberge de jeunesse est d'être bien située. Pour le reste je n'aurais presque que des critiques à faire: chambres et literies peu propres et surtout peu comfortables, douche commune peu pratique, énormément de bruit, petit déjeuner plus que frugal et de mauvaise qualité: il faut même payer le jus d'orange! Un rapport qualité/prix vraiment bas. Je ne recommande pas.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, As all our bathrooms are ensuite, you only have to share yours with the other guests from your room (different and I would say better than other hostels). Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

The hostel was what I expected. It met our needs fine, breakfast was good. Hostel was situated in a good central location. Staff were helpful and room was clean. Myself and husband and child of 14 stayed. Bit noisy at times but to be expected in hostel type accommodation.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review. Good to read you liked your stay! See you again soon? Hans Brinker

66%

we spend here 2 nights, in a 8people dormitory. The room was quite big. The forniture was simple and very essential. we had a private bathroom with shower in the dormitory. it's very practical but every time we had a shower we flooded the bathroom. the breakfast is included. it isn't a big choise but you can have a satisfyng breakfast. it's a good hostel if you want to visit the city thanks to its position. there are also bike rental and public transport in the nearby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are aware of the fact the showers in some bathrooms will flood when having a long shower. Currently we are looking for a solution. We hope to welcome you again when visiting Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

83%

Awesome atmosphere, couldn't ask for any more. Bar downstairs is the best idea ever, and free breakfast was delicious. Bathroom in room was pretty gross though, and a few guys who I shared a room with were super rude. But I'd stay again for sure

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your stay! Looking forward seeing you next time at our bar during Happy Hour! Hans Brinker

80%

Our shower was grim but the food was great, cheap drinks and great atmosphere. Location couldn't have been better. Worst part was the strange loud, incomprehensible, announcements that would wake us up and inform us of nothing. I would stay again though.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well then, when is the next time we'll see you at our bar during Happy Hour? Hans Brinker

100%

I had a short stay but it was smooth and hassle free. Good place to stay!

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Next time staying a bit longer to enjoy Amsterdam and our hotel even more? :) Hans Brinker

86%

Posizione ottimale per chi vuole alloggiare nel centro di Amsterdam e godersi la città a piedi!!! (No posto auto ma possibilità di parcheggiare in zona convenzionata e ritornare all'ostello gratuitamente!) Ostello molto frequentato (specie ragazzi giovani) ma non caotico! Bel clima di relax e spensieratezza! Ottimo per nuove amicizie!!! Colazione a buffet inclusa e non è poco!!! Da tenere in considerazione per soggiorni futuri!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great! Already looking forward seeing you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Condividere la stanza con una panzona è il massimo

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Please recommend us to all your friends and we hope to see you soon again at our bar during Happy Hour! Hans Brinker

66%

Annoying reception had to open the door every time. Supposed to be for security so you have to show your key but they open it without even showing the key. Staff took away our towels and we had to go to reception to ask for them back, then we waited around for them to give them to us and they never came so we had to ask again and receptionist was like, "Oh, you need them now?" Ummm it would be nice, only takes 3 minutes to do so. Shower water pressure super low, had to put on cold to get a flow.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Too bad to read you had to wait for your towels! Besides this we hope you did enjoy your stay at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

Some part of the staff were rude. I had the impression that there was quite a lack of organisation. The furniture is old and oxidated. But it is an hostel not expensive and in a good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, Although you've experienced some downsides during your stay, we do hope you've enjoyed Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

80%

Very good for Weekend/Party Trips. The rooms are absolutely okay and the nice bar invites for one or two beer before going into the city or after that. You can meet nice peoplebto talk with in the dorms, what makes it interesting. I'll definetly come back.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your great review! Looking forward seeing you again soon! Hans Brinker

94%

Super auberge. Bien placée petit dej copieux, chambre propre avec la salle de bain à l'intérieur et draps fournis. Impec !

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! Great summary of our hotel :)! Thanks! Hans Brinker

83%

Good beds, good breakfast, good price

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good beer, good atmosphere, good location, good bar, good club, good dinner, BEST hotel :)! Hans Brinker

63%

We were in twin beds room. Very basic beds (metal frame). No table. 1 chair. 2 vertical metal lockers. No decoration. No dark curtains. 4 small towels. Shower with static water output.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Indeed we have really basic rooms, but we are cheap and provide everything you need for a fun stay in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

94%

Awesome People, awesome Beer, awesome City :)

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome Hotel, awesome Bar, awesome Club, awesome Location, awesome Staff, awesome Rooms :)

91%

Don't forget to update your information sheet concerning Olympisch Stadion car park + PR price reduction system!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the remark! See you next time! Hans Brinker

83%

It advertises itself as being the worst hostel in the world, but when I went with my friends, we all had a great time... As long as you accept that it's going to be a budget place, you'll find it just fine. There was a good atmosphere too- loads of other people staying there and the bar and reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI! Indeed we are basic, but we are cheap and the best location for a great weekend in Amsterdam! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

(266 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback