X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3893 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

괜찮았는데 사람이 너무 많아서 체크인 체크아웃할 깨 시간이 굉장히 오래 걸렸어요. 조식도 괜찮았고 다 무난무난했어요.


94%

Great place!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Clean. Large lockers in the dorm. Ensuite was fine. Very cheap, which was the main reason we booked it. Staff were nice. Very good overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! You have forgotten the nice bar, our fantastic club and great breakfast :)! We hope seeing you and your friends again soon!! Hans Brinker

60%

Quando eles dizem que é o pior hostel, não é brincadeira. Os quartos são desconfortáveis, os banheiros são ruins, a Internet, quando funciona, só funciona no bar (boa sorte se tentar usar o Skype). Por ter um ambiente "festivo", está cheio de bêbados e fumados, na sua maioria em grupos, de modo que não é possível conhecer gente nova, ou mesmo dormir. Deve ser bom se você quer ir com os amigos para Amsterdã fumar todas, mas não para um viajante independente.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola! Newsflash: we have free wifi at our rooms!! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Had a great time will like 2 visit u guys again!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you again soon at our bar during Happy Hour!!! Hans Brinker

66%

need to improve the bathroom and toilet facility

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review. We are aware of the fact some bathrooms are getting old. Currently we are looking for the best solutions! Hans Brinker

100%

Excellent :)

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I know! :) Hans Brinker

77%

Hostel staff excellent although the cleaning staff could be a bit abrupt.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Excellent guest :)! See you next time when visiting Amsterdam? Hans Brinker

57%

Bon rapport qualité/prix pour 1 ou 2 nuits pour petit budget. L'hostel est correct (petit déjeuner en self service, casiers assez grands) et bien situé. Propreté laissant à désirer (pas de battant sur le siège des toilettes alors que les toilettes sont dans la salle de bains, pas d'aération donc forte odeur désagréable dans une petite pièce pour 6 et insupportable dans la sdb, colocs très sales). Jet de douche insignifiant (pas possible de se laver les cheveux). Personnel pas très accueillant...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for your review. Our rooms and bathrooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

43%

as their slogan say - worst hostel you've ever stayed at suitable for backpackers, those only want to get drunk very dirty, bathroomceiling was completly covered in mold, shower didn't work proper, you got wet but couldn't wash hair properly, no additional accouterment like bottle holders, towel hangers, soap etc... no ladder to the top bunks, could her others throwing up in the next room smelly breakfast room free breakfast and room lockers were good! just get waisted there and you'll be fine

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! About the mold and the ladders: currently we are looking for the best solution (not the worst solution ;))! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Muito bom, bem localizado, funcionários atenciosos, com pessoas de diversas nacionalidades!! Adorei...

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola! Looking forward seeing you and your friends again soon! Hans Brinker

91%

Really enjoyed this hostel, has a great feeling with the bar and great staff! The rooms did get very hot but that was 5 of us getting ready at once. Location was good not too far from anything really. Only comment is take a towel the ones there are rather small. I would stay here again for sure

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Well, see you next time then at our bar during Happy Hour :)! Thanks for writing the review! Hans Brinker

80%

Posizione ottima, perfetto per chi vuole soggiornare ad Amsterdam e non vuole spendere tanto.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Exactly what we are :)! We hope to see you again soon when visiting Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

74%

Schimmel in de badkamer, en geen klein beetje; toch maar niet gedoucht dan, voor de rest vertelt de site van het hostel aan wat we konden verwachten, en het hotel loste deze verwachtingen in! Het was oké!

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Dank voor je review! Onze kamers inclusief badkamer worden dagelijks schoongemaakt. Onze kamers zijn dan ook totaal niet vies. We hopen je snel nog een keer te mogen zien aan onze bar tijdens ons Happy Hour! Hans Brinker

40%

para llegar hay buenas combinaciones de tranvías, muy céntrico. el hostel es inmenso.. muchísima gente para poder descansar es muy mala elección, pero bue.. las habitaciones dejan mucho que desear.. falta limpieza y nunca te vuelven a limpiar la habiacion, solo tirar la basura. el desayuno esta incluido y es bastante abundante y razonable. el internet es malasimo en la habitación. tienen ascensor, y hablan solo ingles.


57%

Il piano doccia dovrebbe essere separatp dal resto del bagmo pernevitare allagamenti Parecchi armadietti erano difettosi rimanendo quasi semi-aperti

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

54%

De todos los hostales low cost que he visitado este año dejó mucho que desear en cuanto a la habitación y baño debido que el forro del colchón tenía manchas de sangre y el baño totalmente sucio, al carecer de separación de piso entre ducha y lavabo se formaba grandes charcos de agua. La Red de wifi fue pésima. Sin embargo la ubicación y el desayuno fueron buenas .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola, Indeed our bathrooms may look a bit old, they get cleaned every day, even during your stay! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

The bar was really good! Nice breakfast as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Nice Happy Hour too, right ;)?! Looking forward seeing you again! Hans Brinker

86%

A litle bit expencive hostel. Perfect lociation and nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are in fact one of the cheapest stays in the middle of Amsterdam and our prices are including the breakfast buffet. Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Me and my friend booked the Hans Brinker because we wanted a party holiday, we thought it would be a bit of a laugh. In actual fact, every staff member we encountered was so helpful funny and pleasant, the staff enjoy being there as much as you do! Happy hour 5-6 is a great time to meet people from all over the world and the Hans Brinker provide an excellent communal space to allow that! I would recommend the Hans Brinker to young travellers/party people and those who are up for a bit of fun.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great summary of our hotel! We would love to see you again soon at our bar during the Happy Hour! Hans Brinker

(239 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback