X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4334 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Interesting hostel.. Didn't expect much going into it since they advertise it being crappy but it ended up being not THAT bad.


77%

No frills. Clean and good location. There is a good amount of storage in the locker.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

66%

Its sheap, the beds are clean, free breakfast and dinner! One negative thing that I can think of is the shover...water come in slow speed and the water temperature needed regularly to switch or it going to be too cold or too hot.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and positive words! And true, our showers may not be of the greatest quality… but we make up for that with great atmosphere ;) hope to see you again sometime!

69%

The hostel was fine for 2 nights if you just need a bed, clean sheets, etc. The staff was not friendly and the facilities aren't great (they even make fun of themselves for being cheap). But it's very inexpensive and served our needs fine. The one complaint was that the bar was under construction and there was absolutely no wifi in the hostel. Other than that the location was good and the facilities were ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel, hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

100%

Buena ubicacion, personal agradable, desayuno abundante y buen ambiente

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias! Esperamos verte de nuevo pronto!

69%

I couldn't use wifi for 4days because of the construction. I think they should find a way to solve this problem. It was really inconvenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Problem solved! Like you said, the malfunctioning of wifi was due to the construction. Now we have a new bar + wifi working again!

86%

WiFi didn't work the entire 4 days, but can't complain about anything else

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about that! Duet to the construction of our new bar wifi was off for a couple of days. Glad the malfunctioning of wifi didn’t ruin your stay and that over all you had a good time!

66%

You definitely get what you pay for here. My friend and I stayed one night here while in Amsterdam because everywhere else was booked. I know it is a bare essentials place. Just be aware that staying here you will not actually want to be in your room at all because the bathroom is very dirty and rooms small and depressing. good value for what you spend and it is a good location overall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review! True, if you want to spend more time in your room, you might want to book a different hotel… with us you will probably prefer to spend more time in the bar! Although we must state that we clean daily, so rooms or bathrooms really shouldn't be dirty!

83%

was een leuk hotel vlak overal bij. en een leuke disco /bar onder het hotel. alleen de douche was slecht kwam niet echt een straal uit.heb ik ook door gegeven.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dank je voor je beoordeling, fijn dat je een leuke tijd hebt gehad! En ook bedankt voor de douchetip ;)

74%

Voor de prijs is het een goed hotel en met ontbijt erbij.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Location is good. Breakfast was very good. Too bad the weekend prices is expensive but still the cheapest one I could find.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry, prices are high in Amsterdam… (although we must say we don’t have weekend prices – prices are the same during week or weekend). Glad you liked your stay!

94%

We had a great time at this hostel! Location was easy to find and not far from major downtown sites. The room was clean and had free locked storage. The Happy Hour specials and free breakfast are wonderful perks. Breakfast was much more than just a couple of slices of toast like we have had at other hostels. In short, for the price we paid, our expectations were exceeded and we would certainly recommend this location to others!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for recommending us! Love to hear you’ve had a great time with us, hope to see you again sometime!

89%

Party hostel with a very good location. Nice bar and club inside


80%

Great Hotel, in which you can find exactly what you pay for : little. But comparing the price and the service, the balance is perfect. That's just a pity that the courtyard closes so early, and smoking a cigarette outside the bar after 10 PM, might have been delicious. Another "problem" (even if it's not a "problem") is that there's quite nothing outside the hostel in the street to take a little rest, with a cigarette too. Except theses tiny details, there nothing to add or to change there.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Die Rezeption ist rund um die Uhr besetzt, sodass jederzeit ein Ansprechpartner vor Ort ist. Die Kommunikation mit dem Mitarbeiter ist nicht unbedingt freundlich, aber die Informationen sind ausreichend. Das Frühstück ist in Ordnung und die Zimmer soweit sauber.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write your opinion about us!

89%

Good atmosphere, very clean toilets, nice cleaning staff, cheap beer and dinner. Wifi doesn't work but it's good to be disconected sometimes. Amsterdam and Hans Brinker hotel you are awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are awesome!!! Thanks for telling us you’ve had a great time, and hope to see you again soon!

40%

bed sheets were very dirty; it seemed that they were not changed; the staff told us they will change them but when we returned to our rooms, the sheets were still the same; additionally, the toilet was not cleaned; overall, the staff was very unfriendly and didn't care...

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sorry to hear this, our sincere apologies! We have discussed this with the staff who was working during your stay and made clear this isn't acceptable behaviour. We hope you did enjoy your time in Amsterdam, even though your stay at our hotel wasn’t as expected.

77%

Good atmosphere in bar area. Happy hour cheap. Club open late if u didn't want to venture far bt still stay up. Only complaint would be the communal toilets downstairs were disgusting and had to tell the bar staff a few times. So had to go all the way to your room if going number 2.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again sometime and we’ll make sure our toilets will be bright and shiny :)

80%

Un hostel muy bien ubicado en la ciudad, muuucha onda e ideal para pasar buenas noches dentro del mismo hostel con un pequeño boliche en su interior. Limpieza normal y muy buen trato del personal. Y lo mejor, sin dudas el mejor desayuno, suuuper abundante!!


74%

Durchschnittliches Hostel. Lage ist super. Frühstück hat unsere Erwartungen weit übertroffen.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schön! Our breakfast will always be waiting for you!

(196 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback