Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained


4006 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Staff was helpful but kind of rude. Lots of really random young teenagers there.


Die Lage ist super. Die Bar und das ,,Restaurant" sind top und die Preise unschlagbar! (Riesen portionen!) Die Mitarbeiter sind nett. Es ist immer was los. Die Zimmer sind recht karg und trostlos aber alles in allem kann man dieses Hostel nur weiter empfehlen.


Bathroom is covered in mould.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your review! I’m sorry to hear you’ve run into a room with mould in the bathroom, We paint our rooms + bathrooms once a year, and more often if necessary. Your room is on the to-do list! We hope to welcome you next time (in fresh bathroom)! Greetings, Hans Brinker


Das Hostel ist sehr zentral gelegen und befindet sich dennoch in einer netten und eher ruhigen Seitenstraße. Für Amsterdamer Verhältnisse ein günstiges Hostel. Frühstück ist im Preis inbegriffen und dafür echt gut. Zimmer waren sauber. Im Bad fehlten Seife und Handtücher und das Duschen funktionierte nicht immer einwandfrei. Insgesamt ist es aber zu empfehlen!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your review! I'm sorry to hear you didn't receive a towel, as we provide one to every guest. We do hope to see you again! Greetings, Hans Brinker


여자혼자 쓰기에는 좀 불편했던 호스텔이였습니다


Please add a second window to the rooms for 8 Persons. Or change at leat that the window who is in can be full opened and not only a little gap. The air in the room in the morning was really awful!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! I’m sorry to inform you that it’s something we cannot change. The windows may not be opened fully, because of safety regulations. We take safety matters very seriously. I'm sorry to hear this compromised the air in your room. Greetings, Hans Brinker


The atmosphere was very poor. I felt i was in the army. Too many schoolkids with no quality.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next » last »
(107 results)

View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback