X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
4229 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

O Hostel é bastante movimentado, por conta do bar no térreo. De noite tem PubCrawl sempre por lá. O café da manhã é bom. O quarto espaçoso, o banheiro razoável. Como ficamos no primeiro quarto do andar, o barulho era intenso durante toda a madrugada

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Hope you did get a bit of sleep, and to see you again sometime!

46%

What they dont say on the hostelworld website is that they are proud of their 'lack of service'. Its a gimmick and is kinda funny at first, but when they dont replace toilet paper, let peple scream in the halls at 4am for over an hour straight and dont give you the pillow that you paid for, its no longer cute. Not to mention, I seriously doubt that the bar has passed any health code checks in years.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for being excellent at ignoring your complaints… But seriously, when you don’t have toilet paper or a pillow, you should definitely come to reception to report that, and we’ll get you new ones! That comes with the price and should be in your room, and if it isn’t, we’ll get it there. Our bar complies with all legal requirements and is regularly checked. Hope you did enjoy your stay in Amsterdam!

80%

Buen Hostel pero los cuartos eran bastante básicos. Igual, está muy bien ubicado y es perfecto para pasar la noche.


83%

The shower was kinda uncomfortable cos the water goes easily everywhere in the bathroom... So, it gets dirty. Also, take into account that it is a hotel for young people: there would be people entering the room really late and making some noise...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, correct that we’re for young people! We’ll take your points into consideration. Hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

74%

Very basic hostel, does the job though and is in a good location. Nice and cheap by Amsterdam standards and includes a decent free breakfast. Not great on the facilities side of things though


71%

trés bien placé, la chambre simple mais propre, linge de toilette changé tous les jours, petits déjeuners copieux, personnel sympa. Le seul bémol mais de taille très très bruyant tout au long de la nuit , jeunes hurlant , courant, frappant aux portes dans le couloir de 2h à 6h du matin, Prendre plusieurs paires de boules Quies.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup pour vos aimables commentaires!

43%

Wow, where do I even start... First of all, the 'rules' that this place are just stupid. So I booked this hostel and it was fine, they asked what the arrival time was and I put 9am. Not knowing this but this meant that if I didn't turn up on time that my booking would be completley cancelled. So when we arrived they said they had given our rooms away for he second night even though the email says confirm before 12pm (we arrived at 11 because of delays at the airport) Outrageous. Rude staff too

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, very sorry to hear your experience with us was disappointing. We state clearly in our ‘things to note’ that if you don’t call us when you arrive later than you’ve stated, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. Even though, we completely understand that this hasn’t been a nice experience for you. We apologize and hope that despite this event you were still able to enjoy your time in Amsterdam.

89%

my locker was almost broken

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the notice, we’ve reported it to our handyman!

77%

Overall Hans Brinker is exactly what they said it is. We stayed during the week so the party crowd had died down a little but they still had a club and bar crawls being offered if anyone was interested. The location is definitely the best part of the hostel! If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your hostel other than to sleep it is a decent price for Amsterdam.


74%

We went there in 7 and stayed in a 8 beds room. The shower and bathroom ensuite were definitely appreciated. The room is very basic, nothing fancy but clean. Only issue, we were not able to open any windows which made it a bit difficult after 7 people showering and at night. Only down-side: no hairdryers available to rent! I would suggest buying some as the majority of people travel without them since most of hostels make them available! Great value for money and good location!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A place to put clothes in bathroom when you're in the shower would be useful as the floor gets completely wet!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we’ll take it into consideration!

77%

Für den Preis und die Lage empfehlenswert.Wir haben angegeben das wir um 9 Uhr einchecken und als wir da waren wurde uns gesagt das wir erst um 13 Uhr einchecken können. Das war ein negativer Punkt ansonsonsten war es sauber und die Zimmer sind für den Preis aufkedenfall ok. Die Lage ist auch sehr zentral. Wir sind auf einen negativen Mitarbeiter gestoßen der uns das Rauchen vor dem Hotel mit einem schreien verboten hat anstatt dies zu sagen

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive comments about our property. About the check-in time, that’s just an indication for us to know if you are arriving on time. Check-out is at 10, by that time all the rooms need to be cleaned, so it’s (almost) never possible to check in before 13 o’clock. Sorry if we were rude to you! Hope to see you again sometime :)

66%

La Camera da 6 era molto piccola, letti a Castello molto attaccati e bagno minuscolo. Buona colazione e discreta pulizia. Ottima posizione ma il prezzo un pochino troppo alto per la struttura

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! Sorry to hear you think our price is high, we think that for Amsterdam the price is very decent… Hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

31%

Apparte la posizione questa struttura va chiusa. Ho dovuto chiamare il personale due volte per poter cambiare lè lenzuola.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh my! What did you do with the sheets?

77%

Everything was great, there was just a bit of blood on my bed :/ before I got into it, I should add

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do hope you asked our receptionist to replace the sheets… Happy to hear that beside that you had a great stay!

89%

The location of this large hostel is excellent. The rooms are quite spacious, cleaned and have a decent locker to store your stuff. The breakfast is good for hostel standards. I just needed a place to sleep and I'm happy I've stayed there. The only minor thing is they force you like them on Facebook or to subscribe to a mailing list in order to get wifi access. This is childish because wifi access is part of the facilities shown on Hostelworld and has nothing to do with 'protecting' the network.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great sum up of what we are. And you know, if you like us, we like you! Truly, we do!

94%

I only gave an "average" grade to the cleanliness due to the constant smell of puke in the stairs. That was quite disgusting. Appart from that, everything was perfect (for the price).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ooh, smell like puke in the stairs really doesn’t sound too good… Please tell our receptionist next time (if you didn’t do that already), so we can try to fix it in some way! Very happy to hear that beside that you had a great stay!

86%

Excellent hostel if you're looking something close to the museums and to the downtown! Definitely I'll come back!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear that, see you soon!!

89%

Perfectly fine hostel

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks!

83%

Great hostel !

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are great!

(158 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback