X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4701 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel itself is very upfront about the no-frills experience and this plays out. However, if you just need a cheap place to stay, you can do far worse. Staff is friendly and helpful. Drinks are cheap at happy hour. Very straightforward.


74%

only wifi at bar and it is hard to climb up to the upper bed. But the breakfast is very good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
we're working on the wifi, so if you come back one day, we hope it's a little better. Thanks!

80%

You are such a great Place! My Second Stay at your Hostel since 6 years and Nothing has changed 👍 and your Website is so cool! Amazing ;)


89%

Staff were pretty friendly, room was standard but absolutely fine. Weird tanoy gives you announcements at random times of day which is bizarre but funny. Overall good, especially location, for the price.


71%

During night the hostel was very noisy and we were toold that this was normal on week-ends. The window could not be closed, the lock did not work. The shower did not work properly.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
True, when the party gets going, things can get a little noisy. But we do provide free earplugs against the noise at reception! We do however hope that you had a good time in Amsterdam, despite the negatives that occurred in our hostel.

97%

Overall good stay! Would reccomend to anyone looking for an affordale place that is relatively close to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Overall good review! Thanks.

80%

La relación calidad/precio es bastante buena. En cuanto a la situación, estaba un poco lejos del centro. El desayuno incluido fue genial. Cambiaría dentro de las habitaciones el estado de las taquillas, que estaban un poco deterioradas. Me pareció muy buena iniciativa que la habitación contase con la llave de la habitación y la de la taquilla para no tener que llevar un candado.

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias! We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and can appreciate our lockers! We do wonder what centre you went to though, since we’re situated right in it…

91%

Almost perfect, if they had a hair dryer, the hostel would be perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much! It's true that we don't provide hair dryers. But we do have hand dryers! Almost the same.

80%

Exactly what it says on the tin. Nothing fancy, you get a bed, a locker and a bathroom. Small basic and clean. They do a really nice breakfast for free. The bar is nice and open and it's really easy to get to everything else from. Had a great time here

Owner Comment (Hide)
We may not be fancy, but we are fun! And you got that. Thanks so much.

83%

Für WLan muss man über Facebook Hostel liken... :(

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Rooms are a bit scruffy but have everything you need, with an en suite in each one. Bar area is awesome, and the free breakfast was great at filling us up for another day of debauchery!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Scruffy? Debauchery? Oh, we love the British reviews! We learn so much from you. Thanks and see you soon for a night of debauchery.

43%

mucho ruido a cualquier hora, sin respetar nada de nada. y la ducha era pésima 3 gotas calientes y 3 frías. staff muy bueno

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias! we are happy you liked our staff, just a shame it was noisy on the night of your stay. But we do provide free earplugs for that at reception!

54%

Zimmer waren dreckig. Meine Bettwäsche war voller haare und die Toilette wurde schon länger nicht mehr gesäubert. Frühstück war in Ordnung und das Personal war freundlich

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schön! Too bad not everything was clean when you found it. Our bathrooms and toilets are cleaned every day, but if you found them a bit dirty, just let us know next time!

77%

The Hostel is located in a great location I really recommend to check it out specially if you are arriving to Amsterdam by train. There is a nice bar and it is a good place to meet people. People are loud and they don't really check on night around the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We like to be a social place in a good location.

43%

Ничего особенного, только хмурые воспоминания...


74%

Waren in einem 6er Zimmer untergebracht, dies war sehr klein sodass 3 Hochbetten und ein Lockerabteil gerade so hineinpassten.


63%

no micorwave heater and hair drier, the WiFi is not stable, and the bathroom is so small I cant even find a place to put my clothes

Owner Comment (Hide)
We wonder if you did notice you booked a Budget hotel when you booked with us? Budget, so no microwave, hairdrier, fancy mints on pillows or bell boys with silly hats. Wifi actually is a thing we are currently are working on, so it might be something we have as a plus in the future.

77%

Basic hostel but has everything you need. Nothing great but was very good price for the weekend. Nice bed and bar, location is ideal. Would stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
This review has everything we need, thanks!

80%

El hostel está muy bien ubicado, tiene un desayuno excelente y el ambiente estuvo muy bien, pude dormir tranquilo sin ningún problema, recomendado =).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias! We love a review like this from one of our Southern American amigo's. Muy bien :)

74%

Perfect Location for walking into the centre of Amsterdam. Good for going out and really easy to make it home after. I would not stay here if you plan on staying in every night as it can get quite noisy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our home is your home! as the Spanish would say. And we don't recommend staying in all night anyway, Amsterdam has so much to offer! So thank you for this perfect advice, and we hope to see you back home again.

(169 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback