X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3821 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It you want to party, Hans Brinker is the place to go, loud, has it own club down stairs, very close the trams and coffee shops. restaurants and shop everywhere. Bike hire right next door. free breakfast is good has a variety of food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

My locker was damaged.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Please come to reception to tell you're locker is damaged, so we can find a solution. Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Great hostel with great location. The staff is friendly, the rooms are alright. The breakfast is actually very good and the bar is awesome; perfect place to meet people. They just need to have internet in the rooms, because you can only use it at the bar. But overall, this is a great, fun hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your review! Currently we are installing wifi at our rooms, so next time your visiting the Hans Brinker Hotel you can go online at our rooms! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

The free breakfast was quite good and the location was great. Their are lockers in the rooms and you get a key for them when you check in. Unfortunately, the common area is more of a large cafeteria and is quite loud. Also, I woke up on my second night with bed bug bites but when I mentioned it to staff they seemed good about it so hopefully that was a one off.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Often people think they got bitten by bed bugs, but in fact it were mosquitos. We check our rooms daily and we do not have bed bugs. We do have mosquitos sometimes during high season! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Good hostel. However, the directions to the hostel are not so precise, a little bit noyse, but ok... Recomend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! The directions to our hotel are as following: From Amsterdam Airport Schiphol: -You can take a taxi to Kerkstraat 136-138 (35-45 euro) -You can take the train to Amsterdam Central Station (3,80 euro, second class, one way). From Central Station take tram 1, 2 or 5. Get out at stop Keizersgracht. Take the first street left (Kerkstraat). After 100 metres you will see the big yellow sign HOTEL!That's the one! Greetings, Hans Brinker

71%

Hans Brinker Bed-Bug Hotel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we check and clean our rooms every day I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs in our rooms. We do have mosquitos sometimes during summer season. Hans Brinker

66%

Hans Brinker is epic if you don't care about anything but the weed and booze, and perhaps a bit of culture. We were on a lads holiday and although the staff messed up our booking and there were bed bugs, the beds were actually pretty damn comfy and the location epic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we check and clean our rooms every day I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. Unfortunately we have mosquitos sometimes during spring and summer. We hope you've had an epic time in Amsterdam and see you next time! Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

friendly and helpful receptionists, hearty breakfast (not just bread and jam), overall great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Great to see you really liked your stay! Please recommend us to all your friends and we hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

Too noisy, impossible to sleep, but good rooms and breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Next time your staying at out hotel don't forget to bring ear plugs :)! Hans Brinker

86%

Hans Brinker was a nice place. It's very easy to find and is close to a lot of shops, bars and restaurants. The dorm room was a fair size with lockers and the bathroom was okay. You only get wifi downstairs at the bar but it's a great way to meet new people. They have happy hour too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, True, just look at the big yellow sign HOTEL and there we are :)! See you soon at our happy hour? Hans Brinker

86%

BED BUGS. BED BUGS. BED BUGS. I stayed here with two others and all three of us woke up with multiple bed bug bites. Had at least 10 bites on one arm. Besides that everything was nice. The rooms were clean, bathroom was clean. You only get wifi downstairs which was a downside. But the breakfast was amazing! There was one girl at the front desk that was extremely unhelpful and rude but there were other few nice ones.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. As we check our rooms daily I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We do have a lot of mosquitos sometimes during summertime. For your next stay at our hotel, please mention you have mosquitos in your room, so we can provide you a spray. About our wifi: currently we are installing wifi at some of our floors in the rooms! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

If it's a cheap and basic Hostel you want, than this is it. It is in a great location and is suited for those who are looking to use the Hostel as a place to sleep, drink and have breakfast but not much else- but what else do you really need when you have the city of Amsterdam waiting for you on it's very doorstep.


74%

Bitten by bedbugs, so cleanliness wasn't their best point. But the bar had a really good atmosphere for young people, and the free breakfast was really convenient if you don't want to spend money on food outside the hostel.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, As we clean and check our rooms every day we do not have bed bugs. We do have a lot of mosquitos sometimes during summertime, but we have a spray at reception. We hope to welcome you next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

It's fine. You get what you expect. Not a lot. Worth the adventure.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Indeed we are an adventure / experience :)! See you! Hans Brinker

83%

Facilities are good but beds are not very confortable.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

We would definitely stay here again! :) And the breakfast? Exquisite...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! See you again soon at our breakfast? Hans Brinker

94%

Very happy with Hans Brinker. Posters on wall make fun of the lack of facilities and extras but it was everything you need. Have stayed in far more expensive hostels in worse locations that weren't as good as this one. Would definitely book again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your review! We would be really happy seeing you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

The hostel is located in one of my favourite areas of Amsterdam. Whilst it offers value for money and is clean overall, the lockers in the room we had were falling apart and we were rudely awoken by the cleaning staff way before our check out time of 10am.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! We are aware of the fact some of our lockers need to be renewed. See you soon at our bar for happy hour?? Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

fantastic hostel staff on front desk where always very helpful

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for your comment! Please recommend us to all your friends and next time you're visiting Amsterda, you know where to find us! Hans Brinker

77%

Very nice, just not enough staff at reception when you're waiting to check out, you have two staff working but both are with the same customer so queues build up rapidly. We had a problem with Mosquitos I'm our room and both of us were bitten quite badly but nothing like some of the reviews go on about on here. The room was very clean and the bathroom also, just bring flip flops because the bathroom gets soaked after one shower! Other than that haven't got too much to nag about. Enjoyed our stay

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! The moment you've checked out we had a trainee at reception extra, so unfortunately there was some delay. We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

(179 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback