X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
4439 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Ein tisch oder ne Ablage wäre nicht schlecht in den Zimmern aber alles in allen war es okay

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schön! We’re not really sure if there would be space for a table though… Glad you liked your stay!

71%

Free Breakfast was nice. Sadly I went when the Bar was under construction. Some staff were nice and some were not, but we are talking about people (human beings) here, you can't expect anyone even in customer service to put on a smile 24/7.


91%

Interesting hostel.. Didn't expect much going into it since they advertise it being crappy but it ended up being not THAT bad.


77%

No frills. Clean and good location. There is a good amount of storage in the locker.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

66%

Its sheap, the beds are clean, free breakfast and dinner! One negative thing that I can think of is the shover...water come in slow speed and the water temperature needed regularly to switch or it going to be too cold or too hot.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and positive words! And true, our showers may not be of the greatest quality… but we make up for that with great atmosphere ;) hope to see you again sometime!

69%

The hostel was fine for 2 nights if you just need a bed, clean sheets, etc. The staff was not friendly and the facilities aren't great (they even make fun of themselves for being cheap). But it's very inexpensive and served our needs fine. The one complaint was that the bar was under construction and there was absolutely no wifi in the hostel. Other than that the location was good and the facilities were ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel, hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

86%

WiFi didn't work the entire 4 days, but can't complain about anything else

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about that! Duet to the construction of our new bar wifi was off for a couple of days. Glad the malfunctioning of wifi didn’t ruin your stay and that over all you had a good time!

66%

You definitely get what you pay for here. My friend and I stayed one night here while in Amsterdam because everywhere else was booked. I know it is a bare essentials place. Just be aware that staying here you will not actually want to be in your room at all because the bathroom is very dirty and rooms small and depressing. good value for what you spend and it is a good location overall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review! True, if you want to spend more time in your room, you might want to book a different hotel… with us you will probably prefer to spend more time in the bar! Although we must state that we clean daily, so rooms or bathrooms really shouldn't be dirty!

80%

Location is good. Breakfast was very good. Too bad the weekend prices is expensive but still the cheapest one I could find.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry, prices are high in Amsterdam… (although we must say we don’t have weekend prices – prices are the same during week or weekend). Glad you liked your stay!

94%

We had a great time at this hostel! Location was easy to find and not far from major downtown sites. The room was clean and had free locked storage. The Happy Hour specials and free breakfast are wonderful perks. Breakfast was much more than just a couple of slices of toast like we have had at other hostels. In short, for the price we paid, our expectations were exceeded and we would certainly recommend this location to others!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for recommending us! Love to hear you’ve had a great time with us, hope to see you again sometime!

89%

Party hostel with a very good location. Nice bar and club inside


80%

Great Hotel, in which you can find exactly what you pay for : little. But comparing the price and the service, the balance is perfect. That's just a pity that the courtyard closes so early, and smoking a cigarette outside the bar after 10 PM, might have been delicious. Another "problem" (even if it's not a "problem") is that there's quite nothing outside the hostel in the street to take a little rest, with a cigarette too. Except theses tiny details, there nothing to add or to change there.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good atmosphere, very clean toilets, nice cleaning staff, cheap beer and dinner. Wifi doesn't work but it's good to be disconected sometimes. Amsterdam and Hans Brinker hotel you are awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are awesome!!! Thanks for telling us you’ve had a great time, and hope to see you again soon!

40%

bed sheets were very dirty; it seemed that they were not changed; the staff told us they will change them but when we returned to our rooms, the sheets were still the same; additionally, the toilet was not cleaned; overall, the staff was very unfriendly and didn't care...

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sorry to hear this, our sincere apologies! We have discussed this with the staff who was working during your stay and made clear this isn't acceptable behaviour. We hope you did enjoy your time in Amsterdam, even though your stay at our hotel wasn’t as expected.

77%

Good atmosphere in bar area. Happy hour cheap. Club open late if u didn't want to venture far bt still stay up. Only complaint would be the communal toilets downstairs were disgusting and had to tell the bar staff a few times. So had to go all the way to your room if going number 2.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again sometime and we’ll make sure our toilets will be bright and shiny :)

94%

Some soap in the bathrooms to wash hands would be greatly appreciated. Apart from that great hostel!! Breakfast was really good! I felt safe around the hostel, was a good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good advice, it should be there actually… Sorry if it wasn’t! Happy to hear that apart from that you had a great stay, we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future, this time with soap!

89%

Hans Brinker is in a great location and the staff very friendly and helpful. I'd be very happy to stay there again and would absolutely recommend the place to any traveller or visitor who has a low budget. Thank you Hans Brinker Hotel for a cool stay in Amsterdam.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive words! Glad you had a cool stay, we’d be very happy to see you back again!

94%

Very lively hostel, as you'd expect in Amsterdam! There are no luxury furnishings but everything is functional and clean, and the staff friendly. Basically, they provide everything you could need. The only problem I had was kind of silly: I was assigned the top bunk but could not get up there despite repeated attempts - I'm not very tall! So if you're a shortie, ask for a bottom bunk or just arrange with your roommates.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great advise ;) Thanks a lot for the positive words and we’re very happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay! We’d love to see you back you cool shortie!

69%

Do you know how shock am I ? I order an mixed 6 person room, and my roommate are 5 boy .....only one girl is me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, that’s what can happen when you book a mixed person dorm… it is where boys and girls stay. We don’t select people by gender, sorry! Hope that besides the shock you did have a nice stay!

86%

Really close to everything and really nice breakfast in the morning.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your positive comments!

(179 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback