X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4705 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I really enjoyed my stay. For a female solo traveller i thought it was wally safe and secure, once you know the area it's so easy to to get back too. And most of all the staff are amazing. Aby help you need and their there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and really happy you liked us. Hope you liked Amsterdam as well and that we’ll see you (and your friends?) again sometime. Ps. We like Wally too.

57%

Do you want bad wifi? cheap food? small shower? No complaints sorted out? Mixed up bookings? No booking under your name? A tannoy shouting happy hour while you're napping? You've got it. It's alright to get your head down for the night. Food is alright though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheap food: check. Mixed up bookings: happens sometimes even though we really try to avoid it, sorry about that! But we always try to sort this out best way possible. Wake up during napping: well 5pm is a good time to wake up. Small shower: you’re in Amsterdam, everything’s small! Except the beers at our happy hour :)

83%

Been to this hostel three times now and it's always been pretty great. Absolutely perfect location, is a good price, and has a bar and a club. However, I wouldn't say this place feels much like a hostel, definitely a different sort of atmosphere.


77%

Everything was wonderful but the shower in our room (17E)- it was just a trickle of water essentially- made me feel less clean than when I stepped in! Other than that, the hostel was great- location was ideal, fun bar and good deals on drinks and food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Did you ever see our “check in/check out” advertising? Check it out on our website, you’re comment reminded us a lot of it :)Thank you so much for stating your roomnumber, this gives us the possibility to solve the problem. We’ll send our handyman to fix it! Glad you liked your stay – hope you’ll spread the positive word and to see you again in the future.

80%

I guess the hostel needs more staffs, you have a big demand, and sometimes you cannot answer our question, an getting a long queue just to solve one problem, and the staffs trying to do what it is possible, try to look at this point, excellent location everything is near, but this thing can be developed. Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive note and suggestion for improvement! We’re currently looking on how we can change things at reception so we can help you quicker. Glad you liked the rest of your stay and hope to see you again sometime!

63%

No kitchen. The rest is OK.


83%

Great location. The room and bathroom were clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was delicious (coffee was particularly good) and we felt safe. Earplugs are a must though.


63%

+ : reasonable price. nice breakfast - : noisy. small locker

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

83%

Cheap hostel, good location and plenty of locker space.


69%

Within walking distance of most landmarks in the city. Better than average breakfast. My only real problem was with the locker in the room, with a good yank I could open the door whether locked or not.


89%

always a cheap place to stay. a bit rough around the edges, but close to leidseplein and the star of the show is the breakfast, including pancakes. It's all a bit manic, but I'm older than you!


83%

Quite happy with this hostel. The facilities are a bit older but still gets the job done! Staff were nice but the reception area was cramped and they needed more people to be working at the desk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your positive note and comments! Thanks for your suggestion for improvement – we’re currently looking on how we can proceed things faster at reception. Hope you’ll visit us again in the future, and advise your friends to do the same!

83%

Don't be late for breakfast!

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Best advice ever.

54%

very good breakfast, amazing. terrible wify. Very noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigado for your comments!

86%

Pleasantly surprised! Hostel is in a fantastic location. Our room was basic but clean and had its own bathroom. However, the shower does not drain quickly so the whole bathroom gets very wet. Towels provided for free and changed every day by cleaners. Wifi decent on lower floors. Staff friendly and helpful. Definitely rent a safe downstairs - the lockers do not look secure as many of them use the same key. Overall, very good and would come back. Thanks Hans Brinker!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You pleasantly surprised us with your reveiw – many thanks for that! We completely agree with all your comments – showers can definitely do better (we hope to be solving that in near feature), and to rent a safe for your valuables is always best. Hope you’ll spread the positive words and to see you again soon!

74%

Not a hostel but still pretty expensive. As is everywhere in dam. Breakfast was pretty good but notin special. Location felt nice but the hostels in the red light district are way more fun. You get some serious lads on tour bellends in the bar around happy hour (which is 5-6...a stupid time for happy hour)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments! Even though we bare the name of ‘budget hotel’, what we actually are is a hostel. We’re also pretty fun. But if you know a better place, we won’t hold you back to go there – we want you to have the best possible experience in Amsterdam!

77%

Good hostel - nothing great, nothing bad

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nothing bad about you either ;) thanks for your comment and we hope you liked your stay in Amsterdam!

74%

You get what you pay for! Mattresses were comfortable. Highly recommend for a budget stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks! Happy to hear you liked your stay, hope to see you again some, our comfortable matrasses are here for you any time!

71%

brilliant location. right in the centre of the city. bicycle rent shop across the street. not the cleanest hostel but it has a great atmosphere and it's easy to meet other travellers! check out happy hour for some cheap drinks before going out also the food in the bar is delicious and cheaper than places in Amsterdam


63%

I took 30min in a queue to do the check-in; The staff could have been more kind and help me better in order to have internet. Note I and my roommates couldn't have internet. Nowadays, it is a big fault;

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you think we didn’t treat you well! We always try the best we can… We do have internet though, wifi in the entire building, although it has its flaws sometime. We hope you did enjoy your stay in Amsterdam, even though we should have been nicer to you!

(2320 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback