X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
4453 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The wifi didn't working during my entire 3 day stay. Their bar and restaurant are under construction.

Owner Comment (Hide)
True. But now we’ve finished! New bar is there and wifi works again. Hope you can come visit sometime to see how it looks now, and hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

60%

Best thing about this place is the location - other than that it's just alright.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review!

34%

The staff were rude, the rooms were not very clean and the lockers could easily be broken into, we paid way more then this hostel was worth compared to all the other hostels we have stayed at. Decent breakfast and average location. Would not stay here again.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at our hostel, we do hope you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Just to be clear: we state that our lockers are not safe and that you shouldn’t keep your valuables in them – for valuables you can rent a safe at reception. Our location rocks, can’t be more in the city center! And we’re one of the cheapest hostels of Amsterdam – unfortunately an expensive city.

63%

The hostel is very simple. Our room was quite dirty although the sheets and cover for the beds were very nice and clean. Breakfast and the good location make the hostel worth it. I'd say it's overpriced but it is Amsterdam, so every hostel is overpriced.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • dzanghelini26
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the review. Our rooms are cleaned daily and really shouldn’t be dirty – please report to the receptionist if they are, so we can fix it! Hope you’ve had a good time in Amsterdam!

91%

I wish we stayed at the hans brinker from day 1 in Amsterdam. A really laid back hotel that had quirky twists. There is a club in the basement that was great if you wanted to go for drinks before and after you went into town and breakfast was pretty good too. Surprisingly very clean too. When I come back to Amsterdam, I wont think twice about returning here.


57%

Good location but the hostel always has a big crowd that made so much noise. Mix dorm actually is all male dorm so as the only female I don't feel comfortable when many roommates being half naked after shower. Noisy in the lobby and late night in the hallway. Breakfast was awesome ! Poor wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our mixed dorms are mixed, that means you can be with all guys or all girls, just how it turns out. Doesn’t mean you will always be with only guys. Glad you liked the breakfast!

69%

It's hard to review this place because although it's very barebones it is advertised as such. Great if you only need a place to sleep, however, don't expect things like Wi-Fi to work or a common area to meet people. Better for groups.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! You’re right, we’re quite barebones. But the things you sum up (common area + wifi) are actually things we DO have, they were just not there during your stay due to reconstruction of our bar. Now they work again! Hope you’ll visit some other time to enjoy them ;)

83%

Ein tisch oder ne Ablage wäre nicht schlecht in den Zimmern aber alles in allen war es okay

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schön! We’re not really sure if there would be space for a table though… Glad you liked your stay!

71%

Free Breakfast was nice. Sadly I went when the Bar was under construction. Some staff were nice and some were not, but we are talking about people (human beings) here, you can't expect anyone even in customer service to put on a smile 24/7.


91%

Interesting hostel.. Didn't expect much going into it since they advertise it being crappy but it ended up being not THAT bad.


77%

No frills. Clean and good location. There is a good amount of storage in the locker.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam!

66%

Its sheap, the beds are clean, free breakfast and dinner! One negative thing that I can think of is the shover...water come in slow speed and the water temperature needed regularly to switch or it going to be too cold or too hot.

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and positive words! And true, our showers may not be of the greatest quality… but we make up for that with great atmosphere ;) hope to see you again sometime!

69%

The hostel was fine for 2 nights if you just need a bed, clean sheets, etc. The staff was not friendly and the facilities aren't great (they even make fun of themselves for being cheap). But it's very inexpensive and served our needs fine. The one complaint was that the bar was under construction and there was absolutely no wifi in the hostel. Other than that the location was good and the facilities were ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel, hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

86%

WiFi didn't work the entire 4 days, but can't complain about anything else

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about that! Duet to the construction of our new bar wifi was off for a couple of days. Glad the malfunctioning of wifi didn’t ruin your stay and that over all you had a good time!

66%

You definitely get what you pay for here. My friend and I stayed one night here while in Amsterdam because everywhere else was booked. I know it is a bare essentials place. Just be aware that staying here you will not actually want to be in your room at all because the bathroom is very dirty and rooms small and depressing. good value for what you spend and it is a good location overall

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest review! True, if you want to spend more time in your room, you might want to book a different hotel… with us you will probably prefer to spend more time in the bar! Although we must state that we clean daily, so rooms or bathrooms really shouldn't be dirty!

80%

Location is good. Breakfast was very good. Too bad the weekend prices is expensive but still the cheapest one I could find.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry, prices are high in Amsterdam… (although we must say we don’t have weekend prices – prices are the same during week or weekend). Glad you liked your stay!

94%

We had a great time at this hostel! Location was easy to find and not far from major downtown sites. The room was clean and had free locked storage. The Happy Hour specials and free breakfast are wonderful perks. Breakfast was much more than just a couple of slices of toast like we have had at other hostels. In short, for the price we paid, our expectations were exceeded and we would certainly recommend this location to others!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for recommending us! Love to hear you’ve had a great time with us, hope to see you again sometime!

89%

Party hostel with a very good location. Nice bar and club inside


80%

Great Hotel, in which you can find exactly what you pay for : little. But comparing the price and the service, the balance is perfect. That's just a pity that the courtyard closes so early, and smoking a cigarette outside the bar after 10 PM, might have been delicious. Another "problem" (even if it's not a "problem") is that there's quite nothing outside the hostel in the street to take a little rest, with a cigarette too. Except theses tiny details, there nothing to add or to change there.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good atmosphere, very clean toilets, nice cleaning staff, cheap beer and dinner. Wifi doesn't work but it's good to be disconected sometimes. Amsterdam and Hans Brinker hotel you are awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are awesome!!! Thanks for telling us you’ve had a great time, and hope to see you again soon!

(2237 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback