X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3795 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The staff was not the most friendly but they know it and people who go to Amsterdam usually don't care. The hostel is huge with a nice and big bar/restaurant/living room (good breakfast included). Nice garden. Free Wifi but not in the rooms. Small rooms and bathrooms. There is a club in the basement that should be cool (i didn't go but the idea sounds nice). It close to the city centre, you can easily walk there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, Thanks for your review! Actually we do have wifi at the rooms (the same network as in our bar)! We hope to se you and your friends next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

89%

centrale e comodo io è le mie amiche ci siamo trovate benissimo, c è un atmosfera gradevole, è possibile conoscere molte persone, la posizione è perfetta per girare e si può trovare tutto nei dintorni. Lo consiglio :)

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola! Thanks for your review! See you and your friends again soon? Greetings, Hans Binker

91%

Thx for all guys et very nice happy hour !!

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank YOU for staying! See you next time! Hans Brinker

97%

Breakfast was good. The staffs wsa very kind.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Great to read you've enjoyed your stay! Please recommend us to all your friends! Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

Lage ist super aber schon für sehr einfaches Zimmer und essen relativ teuer. Trotzdem wieder nächstes Mal.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Great to read you will stay again at our hotel! Hans Brinker

49%

Realmente es el hostal mas sucio que me ha tocado en todo mi viaje por Europa. No tengo problemas con compartir pieza con otras personas, pero llegar al punto de no querer ducharme por lo poco limpio es otra cosa. La habitacion era muy muy chica con nada de ventilacion, y la atencion pobre. Yo solo queria una habitacion para dormir ya que todo el dia estaba afuera recorriendo..pero llegar al hostal fue un desagrado.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. As we are a youth hotel, we are not the suitable place to sleep all day and night, especially when you share a room. We have private rooms though! Hans Brinker

34%

Das schlechtest Hostel, welches ich je erlebt habe. Schade um das Geld...

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gutemorgen, Next time you're reviewing a hotel, please say what you didn't like, so we can fix things when necessary. Hans Brinker

83%

Really friendly atmosphere and cheap drinks at the bar! It's within walking distance of everything too, I would definitely stay there again

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, That's exactly what we are :)! Cheap, central located and fun! Looking forward seeing you soon! Hans Brinker

74%

Prendre des tongs pour la salle de bain, sinon Nikel, très sympa, a conseiller!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for writing a review and good to read you've enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon! Hans Brinker

86%

Une super auberge, une super équipe, et des prix vraimenr convenables. I will come back for sure.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour! Thanks for your review! Well, see you soon then at the bar during our Happy Hour? Hans Brinker

80%

prijs-kwaliteit in gemoedelijke sfeer met leuk personeel dat weet waarmee het bezig is

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Dankjewel voor je goede review! We zien je graag snel terug met je vrienden voor een onvergetelijk weekend Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

57%

Showing the keys to get inside is not really safe option. Open luggage storage as well as small locker in the room doesn't really help. When you pay extra for your own bathroom, you usually expect it to be clean. No kitchen nor even fridge is quite unplesant supprise for every backpacker. And finally, there is a leaflet at the reception: "Do NOT like us on Facebook". Quite ironic, if you require like on the Facebook to get logged into the wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, First of all, you can rent a safety deposit box at the reception to secure your personal belongings like your passport etcetera. All our rooms have an ensuite bathroom, so you don't pay extra for it. Besides that, our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Indeed, we don't have a kitchen for common use, but we serve cheap and tasteful meals at our restaurant. Hans Brinker

63%

Poor ventilation in the toilet. Rooms very stuffy as we were not able to open the window.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, You can open the windows in our room, but due to regulations you cannot open them very wide. Although we hope you did enjoy our stay at our hotel. Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

The rooms are clean with ensuite bathrooms, which are perfect. However, the rooms have no ventilations and in summer it gets very still at night. Facilities are awesome and breakfast was good and simple. When we checked out, we requested for a security deposit box. The receptionist asks us what we needed to keep and she offered to keep our passports at the front desk. We politely decline and asked again, to which she threw the key on the table and gave us attitude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for pointing out our assets! Sorry to read though about our receptionists behaviour. We will definately ge back to that! We hope you will recommend us to all your friends :)! Hans Brinker

91%

Muy buen lugar para pasar laa vacaciones, bien ubicado Las habitaciones justas de tamano pero tienen taquilla con llave. El baño muy basico no hay perchas ni donde apoyar nada y ventanas se abren poco en habitaciones mas altas por lo que hace mucho calor pero el comedor de abajo es grande y comodo. Comida buena cantidad y restaurantes cerca tambien. Bar barato bebidas y comida.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks your sharing your thoughts about your stay! See you soon next time? Hans Brinker

80%

Nos tocó una habitación con uj baño muy estrecho para la cantidad de personas que eramos. En general es un lugar aceptable para la estadia.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • jp22
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


23%

Muy caro para las condiciones en la que se encuentra. Realmente muy deficiente

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Actually we are one of the cheapest hotels in the middle of Amsterdam. We are basic, but provide everything you need during your stay! Hans Brinker

66%

The hotel was kind of proud of beeing dirty what seemed quite akward... Even though good located and all in all not to bad.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. See you! Hans Brinker

69%

In Amsterdam it's a good value for the money in comparison to others houses . The bathroom in the room could be better by JUST installing a box (or even a towel which stops the water spilling around) in the shower, I mean, if someone from your room decides to take a shower the whole bathroom will be totally wet. The room is very warm too. They don't have A/C or even a ventilation system in the rooms, and the window hardly open. So, if you are coming in the summer expect to 'be cooked'.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are aware of the water flow in some bathrooms and currently we are looking for a solution. During summer it can be really hot in Amsterdam, so some rooms can get a bit warm indeed. We hope to welcome you again soon (perhaps during winter time when it's less hot?) Hans Brinker

97%

I like to be there. Very nice staff and very clean, the mattress was very great. The breakfast is also great. The Pfunk-Stalker Sasan

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, Thanks for your review! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

(267 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback