X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4336 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Durchschnittliches Hostel. Lage ist super. Frühstück hat unsere Erwartungen weit übertroffen.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schön! Our breakfast will always be waiting for you!

94%

Atendimento extremamente gentil, a entrada um pouco confusa, mas não deixou nada a desejar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muito obrigado! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

94%

Some soap in the bathrooms to wash hands would be greatly appreciated. Apart from that great hostel!! Breakfast was really good! I felt safe around the hostel, was a good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good advice, it should be there actually… Sorry if it wasn’t! Happy to hear that apart from that you had a great stay, we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future, this time with soap!

89%

Hans Brinker is in a great location and the staff very friendly and helpful. I'd be very happy to stay there again and would absolutely recommend the place to any traveller or visitor who has a low budget. Thank you Hans Brinker Hotel for a cool stay in Amsterdam.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive words! Glad you had a cool stay, we’d be very happy to see you back again!

94%

Very lively hostel, as you'd expect in Amsterdam! There are no luxury furnishings but everything is functional and clean, and the staff friendly. Basically, they provide everything you could need. The only problem I had was kind of silly: I was assigned the top bunk but could not get up there despite repeated attempts - I'm not very tall! So if you're a shortie, ask for a bottom bunk or just arrange with your roommates.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great advise ;) Thanks a lot for the positive words and we’re very happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay! We’d love to see you back you cool shortie!

69%

Do you know how shock am I ? I order an mixed 6 person room, and my roommate are 5 boy .....only one girl is me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, that’s what can happen when you book a mixed person dorm… it is where boys and girls stay. We don’t select people by gender, sorry! Hope that besides the shock you did have a nice stay!

69%

très déçu dans l ensemble car nous sommes arrivée a 9h00 du matin (comme indiqué dans l email de réservation) et on nous a dit que la chambre serait disponible cas 14h (pas très agréable de se promener la matinée avec les bagages) . Et le soir quand nous sommes rentré dans la chambre (vers 3h00 du matin) il y a avait un homme qui dormait dans notre chambre (qui est une chambre pour 6 personnes et que nous avons payer pour 6 personnes) , obliger d aller chercher quelqun pour régler le problème

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. Since we have guests every night there needs to be time taken to clean your room. Therefore it’s never possible to check in before 2 o’clock at our property, unless you want to sleep in dirty beds. However, we do have a luggage room at disposition where you can leave the luggage, so you don’t have to carry it with you through the city. We’re sorry if this wasn’t clear beforehand.

86%

Really close to everything and really nice breakfast in the morning.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your positive comments!

63%

The hostel was ok the staff were friendly enough but we had bed lice in the bunks which gross and wasn't very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re really sorry to hear that, our sincere apologies! After reading the review we checked your room and debugged it. It’s not of help to you but at least the guests after you won’t be bothered by it! Hope it didn’t spoil your stay in Amsterdam!

80%

Breakfast is great (crepes, bread, cheese, ham, spreads, coffee, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, tomatoes) and kind of makes this hostel. Location is pretty good walking distance to all major sites and close to the nightlife. Hostel is clean. Doesn't have a kitchen but can eat there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review; the breakfast doesn’t make us, you do! See you again soon!

60%

auberge tres bruyante chambre et salle de bain tres petite pas echelle pour le lit superieur

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for taking the time to write a review about us, you're helping to improve our property!

80%

Tipical big hostel, 25 minutes away from Dam sq. By foot. Its basic, you only have a bed, but Internet works very well and the breakfast is very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for the positive words, hope you’ve had a great time in Amsterdam!

60%

Non per deboli di stomaco!!!

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good value for money nice and cheap and not to far to walk to the city. Very decent prices drinks at the bar. Had some very rude dorm mates but that can't be helped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sorry to hear you had rude dormmates… But happy that otherwise you’ve enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again sometime and we’ll pick our favorite guests to stay with you in the room!

40%

This is a hostel for single men that are here to party only... Not clean, safe or suitable for couples.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We do agree that we are mainly a party hostel, but that doesn’t mean we are unsafe, only for single men or unsuitable for couples. We are a youth hostel, so the majority of our guests is below 30 and visiting Amsterdam with friends, but we accommodate as many women as man and offer secure accommodation for both. Also, the whole hotel is cleaned daily.

89%

bunk bed without ladder... so not easy to get on top And the 2 elect. plug are on the bottom bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - good to see you liked our hostel even though you had to practice some gymnastics to get in bed! Hope to see you again sometime!

77%

It´s hard to get a good nights sleep on Weekends with drunk guests screaming around on the Hotel floors and banging doors. I suppose this is part of your concept. But still I think a bit more common decency isn´t to much to ask for. And I think that your staff is obliged to enforce this.Other than that we had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you for your comments and the suggestion for the improvement of our hotel. We do have someone working from 10PM to 4AM, who’s especially here to maintain order in the hotel. We’re sorry to hear that his presence couldn’t avoid disruption when you were staying with us. Glad you had a great time anyway!

83%

Bon accueil, petit déjeuner copieux, bien frais... Ambiance bon enfant... Par contre beaucoup de chahut la nuit...Cris et coups dans les portes des chambres!! Et ça, c'est lié aux "locataires" pas à l'Auberge elle-même....

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup, great you like your stay, hope to see you again soon!

71%

Notre dortoir de 6 personnes était petit mais il y avait suffisamment d'espace pour tout le monde. Pas de rideau ni de cabine, une douche suffisait à inonder toute la salle de bain. La chambre était très humide (même en aérant) et froide. L'auberge cuisine des plats que l'on peut acheter (minimum 6€), il n'y a donc pas de cuisine à disposition des clients pour que chacun puisse faire ses repas. Excellent point cependant le petit déjeuner à volonté TRÈS copieux et très varié!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us! Hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

83%

Bon rapport qualité prix pour cette auberge idéalement située. Bonne ambiance générale et état de propreté tout à fait correcte si on vient bien dans l'esprit "auberge de jeunesse". Le plus : petit déjeuner ultra-copieux. Le moins : la taille, ça fait un peu "usine" certains jours. Nuits possiblement un peu bruyantes, très variable en fonction des jours... Les boules quiès peuvent être utile !

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(197 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback