X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3956 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

O banheiro é sujo, deveria ser limpado mais vezes no dia.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We clean our rooms and bathrooms every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

Great location for a hostel. Minutes away from everything you would want to do in Amsterdam. Only letdown was that we were asked what time we would like to check in, so we put 10am, but once we arrived we were told we couldn't check in until 2pm, so we had to completely re-arrange our day. But apart from that the place is great, there is a nice bar and even a nightclub downstairs. The room was small, but did the job just fine for the price. Afterall, when in Amsterdam, the room is only for sleep

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!! Thanks for your review! Minutes away?? Just downstairs is all the fun you can get in Amsterdam :)!! Hans Brinker

80%

Perfect location, security is great! Rooms are nothing special but nice big lockers, and a bathroom in every room. Mould on the ceiling in our room and bathroom was pretty gross but nothing you can't deal with. Breakfast was basic but did the trick. Happy hour is great! Also love all their "anti-advertising" pieces. Brilliant! !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We are aware of the mould in some bathrooms and currently we are renovating that parts. See you again soon at our Happy Hour again? Hans Brinker

80%

The hostel is fine, really well located in the city. Staff is friendly, the rooms have the minimal comfort. Good value for money given the prices of others accomodations in Amsterdam. Ok, it's not cosy, it's a bit noisy and the breakfast is quite bad (there is an organic bakery just around the corner which provides good coffee and croissants though, at a pretty cheap price). But if you just want a place to stay with your friends for a short city trip, it's perfect.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your review! Didn't you try our freshly made pancakes at breakfast?? Hans Brinker

74%

Decent hostel - clean and reasonably priced both for the room and in the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We hope you did enjoy our decent club as well ;)!! Hans Brinker

77%

If you have small budget and you want to be close to the center it is a great choice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Actually it's the BEST choice :)! Hans Brinker

71%

Lage hervorragend, Frühstück gut, nachts eher laut (> Gäste nebenan oder auf der Straße), Matratzenschoner schmuddelig (gehöhrten längst einmal gewaschen!), Preis-Leistung o.k.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gutemorgen! Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Pretty central hostel for a budget. Do not have the best facilities and the helpful staff in the world, but it does still worth. I would recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your recommendation! See you! Hans Brinker

80%

괜찮았는데 사람이 너무 많아서 체크인 체크아웃할 깨 시간이 굉장히 오래 걸렸어요. 조식도 괜찮았고 다 무난무난했어요.


94%

Great place!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Clean. Large lockers in the dorm. Ensuite was fine. Very cheap, which was the main reason we booked it. Staff were nice. Very good overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! You have forgotten the nice bar, our fantastic club and great breakfast :)! We hope seeing you and your friends again soon!! Hans Brinker

60%

Quando eles dizem que é o pior hostel, não é brincadeira. Os quartos são desconfortáveis, os banheiros são ruins, a Internet, quando funciona, só funciona no bar (boa sorte se tentar usar o Skype). Por ter um ambiente "festivo", está cheio de bêbados e fumados, na sua maioria em grupos, de modo que não é possível conhecer gente nova, ou mesmo dormir. Deve ser bom se você quer ir com os amigos para Amsterdã fumar todas, mas não para um viajante independente.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola! Newsflash: we have free wifi at our rooms!! Greetings, Hans Brinker

91%

Had a great time will like 2 visit u guys again!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you again soon at our bar during Happy Hour!!! Hans Brinker

66%

need to improve the bathroom and toilet facility

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review. We are aware of the fact some bathrooms are getting old. Currently we are looking for the best solutions! Hans Brinker

100%

Excellent :)

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I know! :) Hans Brinker

77%

Hostel staff excellent although the cleaning staff could be a bit abrupt.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Excellent guest :)! See you next time when visiting Amsterdam? Hans Brinker

57%

Bon rapport qualité/prix pour 1 ou 2 nuits pour petit budget. L'hostel est correct (petit déjeuner en self service, casiers assez grands) et bien situé. Propreté laissant à désirer (pas de battant sur le siège des toilettes alors que les toilettes sont dans la salle de bains, pas d'aération donc forte odeur désagréable dans une petite pièce pour 6 et insupportable dans la sdb, colocs très sales). Jet de douche insignifiant (pas possible de se laver les cheveux). Personnel pas très accueillant...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for your review. Our rooms and bathrooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Greetings, Hans Brinker

43%

as their slogan say - worst hostel you've ever stayed at suitable for backpackers, those only want to get drunk very dirty, bathroomceiling was completly covered in mold, shower didn't work proper, you got wet but couldn't wash hair properly, no additional accouterment like bottle holders, towel hangers, soap etc... no ladder to the top bunks, could her others throwing up in the next room smelly breakfast room free breakfast and room lockers were good! just get waisted there and you'll be fine

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! About the mold and the ladders: currently we are looking for the best solution (not the worst solution ;))! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Muito bom, bem localizado, funcionários atenciosos, com pessoas de diversas nacionalidades!! Adorei...

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola! Looking forward seeing you and your friends again soon! Hans Brinker

91%

Really enjoyed this hostel, has a great feeling with the bar and great staff! The rooms did get very hot but that was 5 of us getting ready at once. Location was good not too far from anything really. Only comment is take a towel the ones there are rather small. I would stay here again for sure

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Well, see you next time then at our bar during Happy Hour :)! Thanks for writing the review! Hans Brinker

(207 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback