X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4700 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This hostel is nice, especially for backpackers. A bit noisy at night due to the bar down below and lousy wifi, but the location is just 2-3 minutes walk to nearest tram stop and just next to the area filled with restaurants, so finding food even at night would be easy. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are just a nice hostel for a nice person like you. Anyone can live without wifi, but not without food, as we always say! Thanks for the review.

89%

The room looks like a prision, hahaha And the wi-fi was not working properly, looks like a autentication problem or too many people connected, because when it works, was very good. Otherwise, great atmosphere, well clean, very well located, oh, and such a delicious breakfast!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We kinda hoped that at times the wifi didn't work, people would actually communicate with other travelers. And see, it works! That makes our atmosphere this great :)

89%

Repas simple, pas cher et très bon, convient a tous ! Bien pour les végétariens ;) Bonne nuit passée à l'hôtel , bonne literie !

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci pour le bon review :)

71%

Oh here one night but I think it would have been better had I stayed longer. Seemed like a good spot to stay. Really loud especially having a room on the first floor. Could hear music in the reception area all night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do need our receptionist to stay awake, so we turn the music up for him. We don't want to bother the other guests though, so maybe we should start thinking of other ways...

97%

Muito perto de tudo! A wifi era um pouco ruim nos quartos, mas no geral, é um bom hostel.


69%

Very tight lockers so only one of our backpacks fit in, the bathrooms weren't very clean but we didn't have much of a choice since it was one of two hostels to accept a reservation for just one night, so at least that's positive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, a positive ending! We like that. Our bathrooms are cleaned daily, but it's a shame it was dirty again when you wanted to use it. Maybe try again another time?

69%

Air conditioning would be good - at an extra cost

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

One of the worst hostels I've ever stayed at. Checked in, put our stuff in the dorm, and went out. When we get back, the guy at reception says there's a problem with our room (this is about 2-3am). Proceeds to tell us the room was overbooked and that he told the extra guy to just sleep in any open bed. When we open the door, there's a guy asleep in my bed. Had to wake him up and argue at reception before I could sleep. Also, bathroom was flooded. Stay away.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, but we're very sorry about that experience. This absolutely shouldn't have happened. Like we send you by mail, we’re sorting out what happened and make sure this will not happen again in the future. We hope the rest of Amsterdam was a little less disappointing. Maybe we can make it up to you with a beer next time?

60%

Bunk beds do not have stairs, climbing to the bed is hard especially when someone you do not know sleeps under your bed. Additionally, bunk beds do not have a protection someone could easily fall down.

Owner Comment (Hide)
When you sleep in a dorm, your roommates are like family. You should never be afraid to accidentally kick them in the face. But the comment is noted. Thanks for the review!

46%

only for young people.. unfriendly staff and everything is dirty

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Yes, it's true that our hostel has a very young atmosphere, that's how we like it :) Keeps us young too. And friendly, most of the time... sorry if you caught us at a bad moment!

66%

Auberge bien placée, espaces communs spacieux et agréables. Malheureusement les casiers dans le dortoirs se verrouillent mais peuvent s'ouvrir à la main et les matelots étaient humides.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci! We indeed like to keep it spacious for so many guests. Too bad your sheets were moist, you can always ask for new ones at reception!

97%

Chambres non climatiser

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The wifi doesnt work at all and the cleanliness is argueable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The wifi has had it’s hiccups lately, we’re working on it. Also on the cleanliness. In fact, our cleaning ladies are cleaning as we speak! But thanks anyway :)

60%

We had a 1 night stay in Amsterdam. Great location easy to find and to get to from the train station by the tram. We were three girls and we stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm with washroom. It was tight but there were lockers and everything for everyone. The washroom was very tight in the room but still worked. you get what you pay for with this hostel it's pretty standard. Only complaint was that the girl at the reception was fairly rude to everyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Only one night is too short! Did you at least see our party basement and did you get to enjoy the Happy Hour? Seems that you will have to come back again for the full Brinker experience. Thanks for the review, and see you soon!

63%

El dormitorio muy pequeño para 6 camas, fue insoportable el calor y el baño muy pequeño. No corre nada de aire y las ventanas no pueden abrirse lo suficiente, la falta de ventilacion hace que haya mucho olor en las habitaciones. El desayuno es bueno y suficiente. El agua se sale de la ducha y moja todo el piso del baño, por lo tanto todo el piso de la habitacion termina mojado.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! But too bad you thought the bathrooms and showers were too small. We unfortunately cannot let the windows open due to safety regulations. But we will keep your comments in mind, and maybe see you back one day!

100%

Did everything asked of it.


49%

The worst hostel in Amsterdam. The showers are inside the room and the steam causes bad smells always. The beds are not clean and show yellow stains which is disgusting. I would never go back to this place. It's too expensive for what it offers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry your experience with us wasn’t as expected! We clean the rooms daily, and are very keen on that sheets are never used twice. However, sometimes it unfortunately happens that clean sheets still have some stains on them – you can always ask for new ones at reception. Hope you did like your stay in Amsterdam, even though your accommodation wasn’t as expected!

66%

Es war viel zu heiß nachts, weil sich die Fenster nur ankippen ließen. Außerdem hatten die Hochbetten weder Absperrung noch Leiter und man konnte jeden Ton im Bad hören. Frühstück war gut.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lucky you – you got to enjoy one out of our very rare warm days in Amsterdam! You know, they don't come as regularly as we would hope. Next time, celebrate the heat and don't sleep at all!

71%

Gute Atmosphäre! Viele junge internationale Leute. Die Mitarbeiter waren alle freundlich. Das frühstück war auch gut. Super Angebot! Der Preis war für die mangelnde Sauberkeit zu hoch. Ob überhaupt mal geputzt wurde während meinem Aufenthalt bezweifle ich. Badezimmer voller Haare und Dreck. Das Zimmer an sich war in Ordnung. Bis auf das Badezimmrt war der Aufenthalt gut.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schon! Our cleaning ladies are a bit insulted by your review though. They clean the rooms and bathrooms every day, so they were surprised you didn't notice. Next time they will scrub even harder for you, because they do that for people who like our atmosphere! Thanks and hope to see you again next time!

74%

Good for a budget hostel.... The location is great, the staff were friendly and we loved the bar and breakfast! Lockers were provided in our mixed dorm they were very narrow, we couldn't fit our bags in! The en-suite wasn't clean and the rooms were so hot it was uncomfortable to sleep. However we loved our time spent in Amsterdam !


(169 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback