X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
4325 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

location is perfect,clean beds everyday,comprehensive staff ! The bathrooms are kinda too small and the street are a little noisy,but you get used to it ! too bad the outside garden lacks of tables and chairs ! Nice stay anyway

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your positive words! And great idea to put tables in the garden… we’ll think about it! Hope to see you again soon!

54%

The bathroom in the room was not cleaned up during my 3 night stay (there was a smudge of something in the sink as proof). Also, it smelled as sewer, badly. And it propagated to the room. My particular room didn't have a window that could be opened to ventilate, so the smells piled up. The wifi was HORRIBLE. The lockers were very small, so you couldn't stuff a regular-sized suitcase in there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, it is always good to know what can be improved in our hostel. Although we must stay that normally we clean rooms daily. We do hope you had a nice time in Amsterdam!

77%

I was impressed by the quality of my matrass, it felt like new. The hotel has a bar with happy hour betweem 5 and 6 pm and a basement club open from 10 pm. Great and cheap place in the centre of Amsterdam to party and get to know new people from around the globe.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your positive words! We’re happy you liked your stay with us!

77%

aceptable para el precio


63%

After midnight, I woke up twice because of those who checked in late and made noise so much. The location is quite good and the price is almost the lowest in Amsterdam, the building seemed to be old and not so clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear you woke up due to other check ins, but that’s kind of the risk of sleeping in a dorm. Our building is indeed not the newest, but is cleaned entirely every day. And indeed, we rock location and price! Hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

66%

good in terms of atmosphere: bar, restaurant and club.. But staff wasn't very helpful: didnt even mention the existence of the club or bar, or the fact that there is internet or basic rules... Didnt like much the room despite having a bathroom (which is a plus): it was difficult to identify the bags (it even led to a dilemma with another costumer) and there should be a ladder to climb to the top beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, you help us to improve our property!

71%

The room of the hostel is barely finish, one bed and one locker only. But nothing can ask much with the price you paid in Amsterdam area. The room is very cold, heater look like no function.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Exactly! We’re cheap, and therefore basic. Heaters are on though…

57%

My bedroom smelled like an open sewer with a hint of chlorine. Even for Bans Brinker that's bad.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We agree. Sorry for that one! Next time we’ll make it smell lovely!

80%

Genau dass was man von einem hostel erwartet. Kein schnick schnack, gute Lage mit Fruehstueck. ich finde den toaster toll! Personal am Buffet sehr nett. etwas laut nachts da waende hellhoerig. aber mit Ohropax durchaus in Ordnung!

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Danke schön fur Ihre schöne Worte! We hope we will see you soon again at our breakfast!

29%

Absolutely disgusting. Boogers on the beds, damp blankets, noisy room, sewer smell. Don't stay here! You will be sorry!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We’re sorry you didn’t like your stay in our hostel, but we don’t agree with the fact that the Hans Brinker Budget Hotel would be dirty. Rooms and hallways are being cleaned daily, and beds are cleaned thoroughly. We might not be luxurious, but we are clean.

66%

need much cleaner bathrooms, beds are okay, nice bar & staff. the rooms need an upgrade, esp. the bathroom if someone is to stay for 2 days or more. the ad campaign is nice & funny, but a dirty bathroom can spoil it all.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the advice, we’ll look into the bathroom! Good to hear that except for the bathroom you did enjoy your stay.

26%

Shower didn't work. Staff the most unfriendly people I've met and the whole hostel smelled very bad, especially the bar area. Lockers were half broken and there was blood on the toilet seat when we arrived. DON'T STAY HERE.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your time at our hostel. We agree that blood on the toilet seat really shouldn’t be there. All the showers in the hotel should be working and if not, you can always come to our reception to get the problem fixed, same counts for the blood stain. If this didn’t happen, we sincerely apologize. We do hope you did enjoy your stay in Amsterdam, even though your expectations for our hostel were not met.

74%

Great location and amazing breakfast The staff is really nice. PS: do not forget to ask about your deposit right away when you make the check out. If you forget, they will not believe you and they will not give it to you. The bathrooms are not that clean/modern but they are ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, good to hear you like our breakfast and staff! And true, we only give deposits back at the moment you check out. Hope you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and the lovely city of Amsterdam!

69%

very very basic! very good location! did smell a little of swerage but you get what you pay for! breakfast was okay and free!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the smell… Thanks for your comments and hope you did enjoy your time in Amsterdam !

74%

Good all around budget Hostel, although the bar and underground bar were dead past 12. Staff was a bit uptight because of the amount of people checking in at the same time (i´d suggest getting there a bit earlier than the 2pm check in time, really long lines) but s really clean and organized, breakfast wasn´t bad either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks, hope you’ve enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and to see you again sometime!

94%

There were lockers in the rooms that you didn't have to rent. The location was near a busy shopping street, and about 15-20 minutes from the Van Gogh Museum and Anne Frank House. There was a bar with decently priced drinks and a club in the basement. Our hallway smelled gross but the room was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive words! Hope to share our decently priced drinks with you again soon!

71%

O Hostel é bastante movimentado, por conta do bar no térreo. De noite tem PubCrawl sempre por lá. O café da manhã é bom. O quarto espaçoso, o banheiro razoável. Como ficamos no primeiro quarto do andar, o barulho era intenso durante toda a madrugada

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Hope you did get a bit of sleep, and to see you again sometime!

46%

What they dont say on the hostelworld website is that they are proud of their 'lack of service'. Its a gimmick and is kinda funny at first, but when they dont replace toilet paper, let peple scream in the halls at 4am for over an hour straight and dont give you the pillow that you paid for, its no longer cute. Not to mention, I seriously doubt that the bar has passed any health code checks in years.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for being excellent at ignoring your complaints… But seriously, when you don’t have toilet paper or a pillow, you should definitely come to reception to report that, and we’ll get you new ones! That comes with the price and should be in your room, and if it isn’t, we’ll get it there. Our bar complies with all legal requirements and is regularly checked. Hope you did enjoy your stay in Amsterdam!

80%

Buen Hostel pero los cuartos eran bastante básicos. Igual, está muy bien ubicado y es perfecto para pasar la noche.


83%

The shower was kinda uncomfortable cos the water goes easily everywhere in the bathroom... So, it gets dirty. Also, take into account that it is a hotel for young people: there would be people entering the room really late and making some noise...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review, correct that we’re for young people! We’ll take your points into consideration. Hope you’ve enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

(191 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback