X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3691 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Très bonne auberge, bien située, personnel sympathique, et petit déjeuner super.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Merci bien for your review :)! See you again soon at our hotel! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Very nice, just not enough staff at reception when you're waiting to check out, you have two staff working but both are with the same customer so queues build up rapidly. We had a problem with Mosquitos I'm our room and both of us were bitten quite badly but nothing like some of the reviews go on about on here. The room was very clean and the bathroom also, just bring flip flops because the bathroom gets soaked after one shower! Other than that haven't got too much to nag about. Enjoyed our stay

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! The moment you've checked out we had a trainee at reception extra, so unfortunately there was some delay. We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

I sjust a place to sleep, nothing else. Well located.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Paulina, We are not just a place to sleep, we have a bar, restaurant and club :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Muy buen hostel, no esta tan cerca del centro historico, pero existen muchas lineas de tranvia que lo conectan.la atencion en la recepcion no es de las mejores, pero las instalaciones son buenas. Igual recomendado


83%

Great location most places within walking distance, a couple of the england fans watching world cup were a pain in the arse, but that's nothing new and not hostels fault.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! I guess during the World Cup every hostel is filled with fans :)! Greetings and see you next time! Hans Brinker

86%

Amazingly helpfull staff, clean rooms and delicious breakfast, the worst hostel I've been to so far, and I loved it. will surely come back.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Aruba
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review! Well, see you again soon then! Hans Brinker

86%

really nice!! i totally recommend this hostel! clean, wide, good breakfast ! everything is super nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

94%

Séjour de 2 nuits avec plusieurs amis et rien à redire, le rapport qualité/prix est très bon. Une auberge fiable est correct, tout de même prévoir 5€ /Pers pour avoir droit à un casier qui ferme à clé dans la chambre. Pratique: le dépôt (Gratuit) des sacs dans un local sécurisé, à l'arriver, en attendant d'avoir la piaule et au départ.

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your great review! We hope to welcome you and your friend next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

66%

Es un hostel bueno en cuanto a ubicacion, pero el servicio es deficiente no dan mucho por las personas que se hspedan alli. El desayuno muy completo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel, Thanks for your review. We hope you've enjoyed Amsterdam! Greetings, Hans Brinker

51%

Some girl from the staff told us that check-in is at 9 a.m. At arrival didn't even let us inside earlier. Then it turns out the check-in isn't until 14.00 and they have no idea how did this mistake happen or what to do... Very rude and poorly organized staff. Otherwise a decent place.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Check in is from noon, but during high season sometimes rooms get cleaned after noon. You can leave your luggage in our luggage room for free though (so you can enjoy the city). Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

Sympa mais chambres trop chaudes. Très bien situé et personnel agréable et toujours dispo en cas de problème.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! We hope you will recommend us to all your friends :)! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

no se respetan las horas de silencio. en el bar la gente bebe mucho y grita mucho, tanto dentro del hotel como en la calle. las dos últimas noches mi dormitorio parecía el bar, porque algunos clientes suben alcohol a las habitaciones. ES LO ÚNICO QUE NO ME HA GUSTADO.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Please recommend us to all your friends! See you next time at our Happy Hour? Hans Brinker

74%

You get what you pay for, so it was a place to sleep and breakfast in the morning was tasty. Content is the best way to describe it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! Please recommend us to your friends! See you next time! Hans Brinker

71%

Die spartanische Ausstattung war bei Buchung durchaus bekannt. Allerdings hatte ich zumindest ein paar Haken an den Wänden und einen kleinen Tisch mit einem Stuhl für jede Person erwartet. Bis auf die Spinde gab es keinerlei Ablagefläche. Die Lautstärke im Aufenthaltsraum/Speisesaal war kaum zu übertreffen. Ansonsten waren wir zufrieden. Lage top!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Indeed we are basic, but we are really cheap :)! See you next time? Greetings, Hans Brinker

57%

Bathroom in very poor condition. Very low water pressure. Hot and cold shower fluctuating. Hot water would disappear in the middle of my shower.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, clean, lovely breakfast!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Cooles Hostel mit eigenem Club im Keller der immer nach 22 Uhr öffnet und einer hauseigenen Bar wo man immer mal noch schnell ein Bier trinken kann ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! See you next time at our bar or underground club? Hans Brinker

60%

The cleanliness of the rooms needs to be improved. Our shower water smelt like sulfur and the beds were very old and worn down. There were stains and hairs on the mattresses and we had also read of bed bugs and understood why. However, the atmosphere was nice, loved that we could play beer pong. We left after one night to switch to a cleaner hostel that was still the same price.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our rooms get cleaned every day and we ALWAYS provide clean towels and bed linen. I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We do have some mosquitos sometimes during high season. Greetings, Hans Brinker

86%

Not at all the worst hostel in the world. This was my first hostel, but I found it was mostly clean. The only issue with cleanliness was the bathroom, which after the shower was run once in a day, the floor of the entire bathroom would be a slimy mess until it gets cleaned the next morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience! We hope to see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

83%

A really friendly atmosphere, expecially the pub/dining room at the zero floor. A lot of young people passing from here. Excellent location near the beautiful Leidseplein and not so far from the city centrum

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for your review, you've described us exactly the way we are! Greetings, Hans Brinker

(254 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback