X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3802 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I like to be there. Very nice staff and very clean, the mattress was very great. The breakfast is also great. The Pfunk-Stalker Sasan

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, Thanks for your review! See you again soon? Greetings, Hans Brinker

69%

The rooms felt like prison cells and no ac

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Fortunately we have a bar and underground club, so you don't have to stay in your room when you want to chill! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

This was definitely the dirtiest hostel we stayed in on our Eurotrip. Despite the fact cleaners gave all the rooms a once over every day the place just seemed to accumulate dirt. It was also unbearably hot in the middle of August so if you're one in need of air con I definitely wouldn't recommend here. However, you only need your room to pass out in anyway so neither point mattered. The hostel is in a prime location, the bar is good and they can arrange tickets to attractions for you.


60%

Hostel para ir de fiesta. Buena ubicación. Habitaciones pequeñas, baño sucio. Desayuno grande.


77%

good location, cmax 10 min to Red Light (depends on what you are on). Friendly staff, happy hour between 5 and 6 PM. If you are just looking for a place to sleep, this is it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your summary of our hotel :)! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

i'm coming back for shure! great location and we had everything we needed for the stay! sometimes a bit noisy at night! a shelf in the room and in the bathroom would be great!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Great to read you've enjoyed your stay! Looking forward seeing you at the bar during happy hour again! Hans Brinker

89%

Funcionario muito receptivos, mas oquarto precisava de ventilaçao.A janela nao abria, e o banheirodo quarto era fechado, sem janelas minusculo, tudo alagava depoisde um banho. Mas tirando isso o hostele perfeito, nao se escutava as festas nos quartos. Bar otimoo.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review and great to read you've enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you again soon! Hans Brinker

54%

Definitely payed for a bed I didn't sleep in...

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We hope you didn't sleep, because you partied all night in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

74%

Room was quite tight-fitting and therefore sticky.. would be good if there is a possibility to open the window a little bit more..


83%

This is the second time I've stayed here It's basic rooms but efficient and functional The breakfast is great as are all the offerings from the canteen Highly recommend this place if you are after basic accommodation at good price

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI! Looking forward seeing you the third time in our hotel! Hans Brinker

63%

Never again!although it had about 30 degrees there was no air conditioner or Ventilator so that I could not sleep a second

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to read you've stayed in a really hot room. During extremely high temperatures it can be a bit hot in some rooms. Please keep us in mind for a winter visit to Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

80%

I love this hostel. Location is amazing, room was very clean and everything was very organized.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

69%

This was our first hostel - we didn't think it was too bad until we carried on with our trip. Staff weren't particularly nice and helpful & a lot of school/colleges seem to stay in the hostel. Decent enough but still a bit pricey for what you get. Free breakfast too!


77%

Auberge accueillante et assez spacieuse. Les chambres sont correctes au niveau des aménagements (casier à disposition, douche avec eau chaude, lits confortables) mais la propreté laisse un peu à désirer, sans pour autant que cela soit choquant. Les "plus" de l'auberge sont les draps et serviettes à disposition, le bar et la boite de nuit dans l'auberge qui contribuent à une bonne ambiance et finalement le local à bagages. Le petit déjeuner est quant à lui très satisfaisant.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! We hope to welcome you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

77%

Great location and cool bar although it is the only place in the entire building with wifi access. Great because it brings people out of their rooms but if youre trying to keep in contact or do anything online past 6 youre out of luck unless you want to be surrounded by loud drunks. Staff wasnt extraordinary nor were they bad, they definitely don´t go out of their way to help you. Having to stand by the door and wait for them to open it no matter the time is also a nuissance.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Great news: currently we are working on wifi on the rooms! Greetings, Hans Brinker

74%

If you are go for be hangover , hostel is good but if you are couple not a good choice for you its very noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Indeed we are a youth / party hostel so we can't guarantee quiet nights….We are the best location though for a crazy time in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

60%

The location and the atmosphere are great but the mixed dorms are not good value for money (too expensive for a tiny upper bunk bed in a sticky room). Too many people in the tiny reception area, impossible to get to the locker. Three members of staff failed to help me figure out how the safe locker works, a bit unprofessional.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Although you've experienced some difficulties during your stay, we hope you've had the best time in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

60%

Amsterdam est un peu une destination particulière.......Population très jeune dans cette Auberge......des jeunes qui vont à Amsterdam pour faire la fête (boire et fumer) Des chambres très sale.......j'ai du enlever les draps sales du lit qui m'était destiné......des mouchoirs et des papiers partout.... Pas d'échelle pour monter dans le lit en haut Le personnel à l'acceuil : selon la journée petit déjeuner : très bien

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning! We hope you did enjoy your stay after all! Greetings, Hans Brinker

94%

Todo muy bien, lo unico malo fueron los piquetes de PULGAS!!! las camas tenian pulgas, no se si el colchon o la ropa de cama pero si fue muy feo andar todo picoteado. Mi segundo viaje a europa, y vaya que he recorrido hostales y jamas me habia pasado eso.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola,, Thanks for your review! Glad you've enjoyed your stay! I can assure though it were not fleas, but mosuitos! See you next time! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

The hotel is very clean and with great atmosphere. If there is wifi installed in rooms, it will be even better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Great news: currently we are working on free wifi in the rooms! Please recommend us to all your friends and we hope to see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

(266 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback