X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Reviews

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3893 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Don't forget to update your information sheet concerning Olympisch Stadion car park + PR price reduction system!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the remark! See you next time! Hans Brinker

83%

It advertises itself as being the worst hostel in the world, but when I went with my friends, we all had a great time... As long as you accept that it's going to be a budget place, you'll find it just fine. There was a good atmosphere too- loads of other people staying there and the bar and reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI! Indeed we are basic, but we are cheap and the best location for a great weekend in Amsterdam! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

49%

Rumoroso, stanza piccola, non si poteva aprire completamente la finestra e in quel buco con sei persone di moriva. Bagno minuscolo con doccia (mal funzionante) annessa, il water non aveva nemmeno il coperchio, quando andavi a far la doccia non sapevi dove appoggiare le cose. Siamo arrivate e abbiamo trovato il letto sporco, non c'era la scaletta per raggiungere il letto in alto. In germania, pagando molto meno, eravamo in ostelli che in confronto erano una reggia. Consigliato solo per poche nott

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Due to safety reasons it's not allowed to open the windows completely. Our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Currently we are looking for ladders for our top bunk beds! Hans Brinker

80%

This hotel is amazing! You get what you need for a cheap price! Next trip to Amsterdam will be a sure Hans Brinker stay!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, GREAT REVIEW :)! Well, see you soon again then! Hans Brinker

57%

Completly covered in bed bites which is disgusting. Left the hostel 3 days ago and my arms and legs are still red. Youbhave been told about this before yet nothin had been done!!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, I can assure you we do NOT have bed bugs. We do have mosquitos sometimes during high season, but we provide a spray at reception! Hans Brinker

83%

I really enjoyed my four day stay at the Hans Brinker. The location is amazing, I also really liked the pillows and duvets, the mattress was also better than my one at home. The breakfast was ok however there was not really much I could eat as most of the options were meaty or contained dairy apart from the fruit which tasted like it was canned in the early 1920s. Perhaps a dairy free margarine could be offered? But apart from that I had a good time and would stay again.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Looking forward to welcome you and your friends again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker

60%

Schlechte WLAN Verbindung. Personal könnte beim einchecken wesentlich freundlicher sein!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gutentag, Thanks for your review! We are awar of the problems with our wifi and currently we are looking for a solution! Greetings, Hans Brinker

80%

Super Preise! Leider kann man nirgens im hotel rauchen und die Hygiene liess zu wünschen übrig. Alles in allem wär es gut. Für Leute die nur ein Bett benötigen ;)

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. It's not allowed to smoke in any hotel in Amsterdam due to Dutch law. Our rooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a room with other guests, they can get the place messy after cleaning. Hope to see you again soon! Hans Brinker

74%

I stayed for one night only but I think its a pretty decent place. My securitylocker was in real bad shape though. Good location. Took me like 5 minutes to get there from the central station


74%

We wish we could use the kitchen, but the stay has been awesome anyway!

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! We don't have a kitchen for common use, but we offer cheap and tasty lunch and dinner at our restaurant and bar! Hope to see you next time you're visiting Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

77%

너무 좋았습니다. 직원분들도 친절하시고, 무엇보다도 위치도 마음에 들어서 어디든 걸어서 암스테르담을 여행다닐수 있었던 점이 좋습니다.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! Greetings, Hans Brinker

89%

Nice and colourful hostel plenty of services and activities; rooms are quite little but the atmosphere in the common room is the ideal one for travellers.


83%

Hostel is so good when I compare other hostels that I stayed in my journey. It is like a university dormitory. There were a lot of young people around. You can meet many people in hostel. However, wi-fi connection must be available in the rooms. Moreover, some lockers of the rooms are not so secured.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Can't get better for the price and location

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for your review! See you again soon I guess? Hans Brinker

77%

Para pocos días esta bien. Le falta ventilación a las habitaciones y los baños están un poco sucios. El resto muy bien!


74%

Muy buena opcion si visitas Amsterdam con un presupuesto limitado. No es para nada tan malo como lo pintan y está muy bien ubicado para visitar la ciudad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review! Please recommend us to all your friends! Hans Brinker

74%

Really noisy in the room if you are on the 1st floor and awkward guy at the reception...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. As we are a youth hotel we cannot guarantee a totally quiet stay. Although we hope you did have a great stay in Amsterdam! Hans Brinker

60%

Very dirty hostel, but it's not like that should come as a surprise.


86%

unico neo di questa struttura è l'areazione della stanza, non so se è capitato solo a noi, ma la finestra era appositamente bloccata da un asta di ferro per impedirne la completa apertura e considerando l'assenza di un altra finestra in bagno, ci avrebbe fatto piacere poterla aprire completamente!!!!! ma in ogni caso l'esperienza rimane più che positiva, il bagno in camera, la colazione gratuita e un pub ristorante al piano terra sono piccole chicche che apprezzo negli ostelli!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Due to safety reasons the windows are not allowed to open all the way. We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon! Hans Brinker

86%

Gostei bastante do hostel! Os funcionários estavam sempre dispostos a nos ajudar! Chegamos e tudo estava limpo e arrumado. E também percebemos que o quarto e o banheiro eram limpos todos os dias. Localização perfeita! conseguimos fazer todos os passeios a pé! :-)

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review! Great to read you liked staying at our hotel! See you soon! Hans Brinker

(239 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback