Hostelworld.com

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 5421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 5421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
6.6

It's a good hostel but not better than it. Only good. The staff is very very nice!!! They really help you with whatever you need. Location is great, probably their best point. Breakfast is very poor though and the rooms are kind of dirty (meanly the bathroom). Security is great: they give you a key for the room and a key for the locker, which is good enough for luggages such as suitcases and backpacks. I'd recommend it to a friend with low-budget around Europe, only.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • patrafferty10
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.1

Good stay. Walkable to everything in Amsterdam. First time in a hostel, would definitely return

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
7.1

Pretty average as a whole. Staff seem very bored all the time, and the noise level at night was horrendous. Breakfast was good. Bar is decent prices for Amsterdam but it was not a good layout for solo travellers to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice friendly atmosphere, great communal space downstairs with very reasonable bar and happy hour. Rooms are very basic, but have all of your necessities available. We had a 3-person private room, which had a single bed and a bunk bed. Rooms were cleaned daily with a fresh towel left each time. There was also free wifi and continental breakfast included each morning. Apart from the prison-chic decor, it was a great place to stay and I would recommend to most :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! And damn a prison-chic decor, nice description and I am sure a lot of people will like it ;) Hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
9.4

The place was very clean and good location overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.9

Exactly what they promised! Basic facilities that do the job. Great atmosphere and location. Good if you want a bed to sleep in and a bathroom. Definitely a lot of fun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What's more imporant than having a lot of fun? Thanks for your review!

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay. Bathroom could've been better/cleaner though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and feedback :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
8.0

Great location and free breakfast! No ladder for the top bunk so it was a struggle to get up but fine once you're up there. You can expect noisy room mates but you're going to get that anywhere in Amsterdam- the hostel itself is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! And all new beds do have ladders, so that problem will be solved really soon.

19th Jan 2017
9.7

Great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Perfect, thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jan 2017
5.7

Metal bunk beds and metal lockers in the dorms meant that anyone getting or putting away any of their stuff would wake everyone else up. Poorly designed. Roommates were very rude turning the lights on and talking at late hours. Noise from the hallways continued past midnight. I understand that this is really meant for people who want to be up late and all that. Lesson learned. Staff was friendly and morning breakfast was quite good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Well in the end the hostel itself doesn't sound too bad! Just the other guests who were annoying you. Something which we can't control unfortunately...hopefully you did enjoy your time in Amsterdam!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.