Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 5808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 5808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Sep 2017
8.0

Hans Brinker hostel was hard to find at first, but It was my first day in the city. The check-in was busy, and the rooms were plain with steel frame beds, questionably safe lockers, and the whole place seemed like a hotel that had gotten too old for itself, with too little love to shore it up. The wifi however was good, and the breakfast was really great. I liked the atmosphere of the dining hall, and the large wooden tables and benches lit by stained glass windows really made up for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
3.7

Very expensive with poor facilities. Staff couldn't care less about your stay! The free breakfast looks like dog food and ran out very early - avoid this place at all costs

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Compared to other hostels in the area, we're actually very inexpensive- not sure if you saw many others with our prices. We think the breakfast is quite good- simple and basic, but good. You can always upgrade your breakfast and have a lovely feast for a few euros extra! :) Hope you had a great time in Amsterdam!

8th Sep 2017
5.7

Not the cleanest hostel I have stayed in, but satisfactory. The greatest drawback is that it is very noisy (also the doors make noise when closing) and you can't sleep before 2 am. They offer a decent breakfast, you will stay satisfied. As for the location, it is a bit far away from the train station (about 30 minutes walking).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Sep 2017
7.7

The ensuite toilets constantly smelled like urine, even right after the cleaning lady left the room. There were drunken guests singing at the top of their lungs after midnight and well into The night. No one did anything about it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We will look into the bathroom issue, thanks for letting us know! All noise complaints can be brought to the front desk and we will send someone upstairs immediately to solve the issue :)

  • priscilaborges
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
6.9

The area is pretty good I didn't feel scared or something, one of my days in the I was outside at 4 in the morning and it was everything ok. Location is good you only have to walk around 20 min from the centraal station and you can also enjoy the canais on the way to the hostel. about staffs some was nice and some wasn't. I found the cleanliness very Poor , I didn't get any blanquette and the shower was kind of broke . Without some of that thing the atmosphere is amazing :)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! Yes, it's quite a safe area of Amsterdam- glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the city and in the hostel! Come back soon, happy hour is waiting! :)

28th Aug 2017
7.1

Amsterdam is expensive and this is all I could afford. Can't complain too much cuz you get what you pay for. The good is the location and the atmosphere lots of people to make friends. That's Amsterdam in general though. The bad the bathrooms were never clean. I never saw a person making the beds I think one person slept on a dirty bed because he had a late arrival and he was too tired and drunk to complain. Unacceptable. Staff ( girls at the front desk) kinda lazy and always drinking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2017
8.0

The rooms were extremely hot at night and the windows hardly open. Everything else was okay though. Good hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! You can always ask at the front desk if they have an extra fan :) Hopefully the window gave you a nice breeze though!

  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
8.6

Good value for money. Nice vibe with Interesting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great to hear, thank you very much!

25th Aug 2017
8.3

Staff don't give a bit ahah but that's the theme of the whole hostel - very chilled. Rooms are not special, metal lockers, small hard beds and hot rooms. Large luggage storage room and great social area with a happy hour, kitchen, bar and beer pong table. Don't think there was self catered facilities but cannot be sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
6.3

The room is too crowded and there is so serious problem for ventilation: there is only a small window in the room and the hostel has blocked me from opening the window wider by adding a thick strip onto the window . There are no fans or air conditioner . Although it was windy outside , I was super hot and could not sleep . My friend even kept sweating . The ventilation is so bad . The room has only very vey basic utility . We could find any shower shampoo hairdryer .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. And sorry to hear you had such a bad time in the room concerning the heat. Normally it's not that hot in Amsterdam and it's not a problem and there ie enough air in the room. But maybe some days this could be a bit better. You can always check at the reception if there is fan available. And yes we're basic, no hair dryer or shampoo. The last one you can buy at the reception!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×