Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 5440 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 5440 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Mar 2017
6.0

Receptionists seemed rude and uninterested. Security was a little lax- small lockers that couldn't fit a whole pack and couldn't use own lock. Would not stay again. Look ahead of time and get somewhere better in a better location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.6

Wasnt bad at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great!

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.0

Free locker inside room. Bunk bed without stairs. There is a bar and a club in the hostel building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

That's exactly it, thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
7.7

Does what it says on the site, offers basic amenities. A decent bed for the night and it extremely well located near coffeeshops, bike rentals and museums. Breakfast wasn't anything special but did the job. Bathroom drains stank a little but would defo recommend if you're looking just for a bed to crash in that is really well located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Perfect, thank you!

16th Feb 2017
6.6

It's a good hostel but not better than it. Only good. The staff is very very nice!!! They really help you with whatever you need. Location is great, probably their best point. Breakfast is very poor though and the rooms are kind of dirty (meanly the bathroom). Security is great: they give you a key for the room and a key for the locker, which is good enough for luggages such as suitcases and backpacks. I'd recommend it to a friend with low-budget around Europe, only.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your message! Good is quite ok and almost great isn't it? :) What did you not like about the breakfast? A complete buffet!

  • patrafferty10
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.1

Good stay. Walkable to everything in Amsterdam. First time in a hostel, would definitely return

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great, please return!

7th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel for the price. Lots of people were staying here, met lots of travelers. Decent location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Perfect, thank you!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
7th Feb 2017
6.3

Please think very hard about the sort of hostel experience you want before booking here. If you are a true traveller, you will most likely hate it like I did. If you are with friends on a party weekend like most seemed to be, chances are the 4am underground club thumping in your ears every morning, smelly bathrooms, lack of kitchen and proper common room won't be a problem. It's cheap and very well located so great for a quick getaway but disastrous for the full week I endured it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review...and yes a week in Brinker? Hmmm I will think about that myelf ;) Although I work there every day! But yes always think before you make your booking!

4th Feb 2017
7.1

Pretty average as a whole. Staff seem very bored all the time, and the noise level at night was horrendous. Breakfast was good. Bar is decent prices for Amsterdam but it was not a good layout for solo travellers to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and feedback! We'll take all feedback seriously so we can see what we can change in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice friendly atmosphere, great communal space downstairs with very reasonable bar and happy hour. Rooms are very basic, but have all of your necessities available. We had a 3-person private room, which had a single bed and a bunk bed. Rooms were cleaned daily with a fresh towel left each time. There was also free wifi and continental breakfast included each morning. Apart from the prison-chic decor, it was a great place to stay and I would recommend to most :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! And damn a prison-chic decor, nice description and I am sure a lot of people will like it ;) Hope to see you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.