Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 5812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 5812 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2017
5.7

Their website says "the hostel that couldn't care less, but we will try"... really? It's not even funny when it seems like they don't even try. While this is the average hostel price in many other cities in Europe, it's a cheap price for Amsterdam and therefore your accommodation is cheap. I stayed for one night and didn't even shower because the bathroom was gross. Also the line to check out in the morning is very long, I had to wait for 15 min. Would not stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2017
6.6

Very loud at night and during the day. Hour floor had people constantly yelling and knocking on doors and nothing was done about it. The rooms are okay for what you pay for. Not the comfortable beds what does the job for a few nights stay. The location is great, close to restaurants and metro station. About a 15-20 minute walk to the Red Light District and 5 minute walk to all the bars.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Sep 2017
5.7

Stupidly expensive for a poor standard sleeping space. Rubbish shower

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2017
8.0

Hans Brinker hostel was hard to find at first, but It was my first day in the city. The check-in was busy, and the rooms were plain with steel frame beds, questionably safe lockers, and the whole place seemed like a hotel that had gotten too old for itself, with too little love to shore it up. The wifi however was good, and the breakfast was really great. I liked the atmosphere of the dining hall, and the large wooden tables and benches lit by stained glass windows really made up for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2017
3.7

Very expensive with poor facilities. Staff couldn't care less about your stay! The free breakfast looks like dog food and ran out very early - avoid this place at all costs

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Compared to other hostels in the area, we're actually very inexpensive- not sure if you saw many others with our prices. We think the breakfast is quite good- simple and basic, but good. You can always upgrade your breakfast and have a lovely feast for a few euros extra! :) Hope you had a great time in Amsterdam!

8th Sep 2017
5.7

Not the cleanest hostel I have stayed in, but satisfactory. The greatest drawback is that it is very noisy (also the doors make noise when closing) and you can't sleep before 2 am. They offer a decent breakfast, you will stay satisfied. As for the location, it is a bit far away from the train station (about 30 minutes walking).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Sep 2017
7.7

The ensuite toilets constantly smelled like urine, even right after the cleaning lady left the room. There were drunken guests singing at the top of their lungs after midnight and well into The night. No one did anything about it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We will look into the bathroom issue, thanks for letting us know! All noise complaints can be brought to the front desk and we will send someone upstairs immediately to solve the issue :)

  • priscilaborges
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
6.9

The area is pretty good I didn't feel scared or something, one of my days in the I was outside at 4 in the morning and it was everything ok. Location is good you only have to walk around 20 min from the centraal station and you can also enjoy the canais on the way to the hostel. about staffs some was nice and some wasn't. I found the cleanliness very Poor , I didn't get any blanquette and the shower was kind of broke . Without some of that thing the atmosphere is amazing :)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! Yes, it's quite a safe area of Amsterdam- glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the city and in the hostel! Come back soon, happy hour is waiting! :)

28th Aug 2017
7.1

Amsterdam is expensive and this is all I could afford. Can't complain too much cuz you get what you pay for. The good is the location and the atmosphere lots of people to make friends. That's Amsterdam in general though. The bad the bathrooms were never clean. I never saw a person making the beds I think one person slept on a dirty bed because he had a late arrival and he was too tired and drunk to complain. Unacceptable. Staff ( girls at the front desk) kinda lazy and always drinking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2017
8.0

The rooms were extremely hot at night and the windows hardly open. Everything else was okay though. Good hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! You can always ask at the front desk if they have an extra fan :) Hopefully the window gave you a nice breeze though!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×