Hostelworld.com

Hans Brinker Hostel Lisbon

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
10.0

A warm all-out thank you!!! Helpful team, clean rooms, excellent relaxing mood, AND a wonderful breakfast along with it. Loved the daily treats ;) Don´t understand the odd complaint on here - must be some itch over the ultra-sensitive elevator :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hahaha great review, thanks a lot and please come back :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Dec 2016
5.7

We booked a double bed private bathroom and were given a 4 bed dorm. They also charged us for the booking fee again, they refunded us this money but only because we noticed ourselves. They let us keep the room to ourselves. The shower is on a timer which is extremely annoying. We also asked to do washing on 3 separate occasions and each time the staff hadn't replaced the washing powder. Its about 4 stations on the metro and a walk from there too. Not centrally located at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback and sorry you had some trouble during your stay. I don't know how you booked, but nowhere is a 'double room' mentioned, it always says it's with a bunk bed. Concerning the shower, it might be annoying, but saves a lot of water :) And we don't say we're in the middle of the center, but either a 20 minute walk or 2 minute walk to the metro and 4 stops you're in the old center. Not that bad, isn't it?

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
3.1

Hans Brinker has an atmosphere that reminded me of a hospital - very cold feel with sterile lighting. The whole setup does not really promote socializing and the staff was particularly unfriendly. The rooms were over cramped with beds that there was hardly enough room to store the luggage. As soon as we entered the hostel we made arrangements to move to another. It's possible to find a much better hostel for the same price in a better location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry your stay didn't meet your expectations! Normally people do socialize in our hostel, in the bar/rooftop terrace, but maybe wrong moment, wrong timing? And please show me same price and better location...really wonder where this will be!

13th Dec 2016
7.4

The first guy to check us in was very confused it seemed about everything in the hostel even though he said he'd been working there for a while. There isn't really a fridge or kitchen to use. The free breakfast is pretty good though with fruit and bread and a toaster, etc. Some of the other staff were very welcoming and seemed fun. I think this hostel might be run better during high season, we were there during the winter. Has a lot of cool stuff they offer just not during the winter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Yes there is a difference of course when the hostel is full during high season or not during low season. Of course the service should be the same, so hopefully you did enjoy your stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Dec 2016
3.7

One of the guests was doing drugs inside dorm, lots of noise all night, inapropriate behavior. Reception did not take action despite all the fuss. Night lights did not work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Really sorry to hear you had a bad experience with one of your roommates. Unfortunately this is everybody's own responsibility. The night lights are new and we're working it to make them all work. Soon this will be the case!

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Dec 2016
2.6

bad experience from the moment of entering the door, the reception girl wasn't friendly at all, very far off smiling, she didn't know any info about the city, she didn't tell me nothing where is what in the hostel either. I was sent into a room, there wasnt clean bed for me, I had to wait then I san sent to another Room. There was no lockers and when I went to ask she said there is none in The hostel until i said if i can cancel my stay she showed me some. Nobody is hanging around its bad vibe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I want to apologize for the experience in our hostel. Really sorry to hear this. Of course the receptionist should be friendly and at least know something about the city. Concerning the lockers, we're working on this. So soon all rooms will have them of course! And yes sometimes there are more people who want to contact and sometimes less...this is unfortunately something we can't do anything about.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
10.0

Staff were amazing, made the stay really welcoming. Clean and great value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Woooooooow only 10's! Thank you :D

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

Would've got a perfect 10 if it weren't for the bathroom situation. One toilet and shower for 8 bedroom rooms which was very unpractical.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aaah almost a perfect 10! Well hopefully besides this the rest was perfect though. And next time better book a smaller dorm, than you're sharing with less people :)

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Nov 2016
8.0

Superb brekfast. Location near Metro. Staff need more smile.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and we will tell the staff :)

  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Nov 2016
8.0

Centrally located hostel with nice staff and clean facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great, thank you very much!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.