Hostelworld.com

Happy Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 218 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 218 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Happy Backpackers Hostel Located at 29 Hang Mam Street, Hoankiem, Hanoi.
Happy Backpackers Hostel
Vietnam
Hanoi 00844 29 Hang Mam Street, Hoankiem
82% 218
21.0336295 105.8540680
Happy Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th May 2016
9.4

Friendly staff, location is not bad. The narrow streets, from the balcony you can see a busy streets in front and see the simple life of the Vietnamese of people. Daisy (reception girls name) has assisted purchase tickets water puppet show, Sapa Train tickets ... etc. Breakfast at the hotel is good, Wifi works very fast, free tea and coffee all day. I would recommend this hotel to my friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th May 2016
8.3

Great wifi. Great location for the old quarter and not far to walk to the lake, museum etc. Dorms are nice and spacious and you have room under your bed for your backpack. Lockers with key provided. Electric key access to room. Free breakfast is ok. Reasonable transfer service. Daisy very helpful and informative. Could do with personal lights by beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.1

This hotel was our base for a 3 day trip to Halong Bay. We had it all arranged through the hotel from Poland. The location of the hotel is superb, the rooms are clean and the staff are dedicated to make the sentence the guests. Especially Daisy is a winner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Apr 2016
2.6

We booked this hostel but got moved to another one of the same owner, which was annoying. That other place was horrific. Bathroom door broke while we were there so there was a hole in it through to the dorm. So everyone could see you shower etc. Everything was so so dirty. Beds horrible. Staff was so rude.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear , Thank you for your review .I would like to say thanks to you for your staying in our hostel. We are so sorry about our inconvenience because when you arrived ,our dorm room had a problem so we had to book our sister hotel .Thank you for your help,we also did discount for you to fix the problem. By the way ,the night before you stay there is 1 guy stayed in the dorm got drunk from the bar and he broke the door of the bath room.After that we immediately call the worker to fixing it . We would love to say sorry about our fault and we will improve our service everyday.Hope to serving you next time.Have a nice trip in Asia . Thanks and Best regards Manager Happy backpacker hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Apr 2016
7.7

The staff is very helpful and smiling, breakfast tasty. We lived on the 6th floor so had balcony which was nice. 12 people share one toilet with hot water shower so if it is crowded you have a problem to wait in a queue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2016
7.4

Room was clean and staff were really nice. Air con was good. Right in the centre so everything within walking distance, including the lake. Atmosphere wasn't really there as there is no common room or socialising area. It was good value and we liked the idea of card access to dorms but they rarely worked forcing us to knock on the door and get one our roommates to let us in. Shower was nice and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
10.0

We loved it. As we saw in the taxi approached to help with the bags and was greeted with Tea and Cofee. They are always with a smile ready to help, advise about the city and recommend places to eat or have a coffee. Through the hotel hired a cruise of 3 days and 2 nights to Halong Bay which was spectacular. While we were on the cruise, we could leave our luggage at the hotel. The room is well equipped. Dan toothbrushes, toothpaste, soap, shampoo and a comb.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.1

Great value for money. Good and clean facilities and tasty breakfast. The woman that runs the place is generous and I absolutely loved the warm welcome and positive attitude of Daisy/Chang, the receptionist.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2016
9.7

very clean room, even with a hair dryer. Friendly and helpful staff. Helped with tour bookings, training and all other issues. After bathing tour allowed. Baggage can be parked for longer. Happy Backpacker's hostel is bright, quiet and fun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2016
9.4

The rooms are very clean and well equipped. New linens and the room was cleaned daily. Room rates include breakfast. The staff were very friendly, but tried to sell regular excursions. We did not let themselves be influenced by the quality of the hotel and located at the front desk a day trip to Halong Bay. The trip had a lot of fun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.