Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bea675
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
5th Apr 2017
7.7

We had a very accommodating receptionist who made our experience pleasant. There was some confusion with booking because they are listed online as both happy backpackers and river side hotel. They has an elevator which is a huge plus when you have big bags and multiple flights. Breakfast was choice of eggs and baguette, jam and baguette or pho. Free coffee/tea/juice!! The bathroom was pretty dirty. Beds are small. Not much of a social atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
6.0

Positively, the location is perfect as it is right in the Old Quarter yet not right next to the loud party hostels. Also, the beds were comfy. Negatively, the bathroom was easily the most disgusting I've encountered on my travels. Also, we tried booking an excursion and they were over charging us by quite a bit. I recommend looking around the old quarter to find better prices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2017
3.1

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! My partner and I booked this place thinking it was going to be a 'happy backpackers hostel' and it couldn't have been further from the truth. The room was dirty, with mould in the bathroom and covered with insects. I got covered in BED BUG BITES and after telling the staff we shouldn't have to pay for such horrible rooms the boss said he doesn't care!! If you want to get bed bug bites all over your body and be spoken to like shit by the owner then book a room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
10.0

I stayed in the 12 bed dorm, Beds are super comfy and everything is clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast . Wifi is good. And their coffee .... !They have a elevator. Lockers outside the hallway They store your luggage and valuables for free, when you go on trips. The dining room is a decent place to meet other travellers, although not super busy. Customer would recommend this property

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

Enthusiastic staff,Room was dated and worn, but this was reflected in the price. Staff were very helpful, being greeted by David smiling makes you feel welcome. Breakfast on the top floor was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Feb 2017
6.0

Room advertised as 8 bed dorm, but we got a 12 bed dorm. Breakfast is cooked "on demand", but only offers 5 options and terribly lacks taste. Wifi was spotty at best. Do not book an airport shuttle with the hostel, an Uber will cost you about 265000VND. Advertised as towels included, but dorm customers pay for towel. Hot water runs out really fast (1 or 2 showers in a row). No individual reading light as advertised. Not enough power outlets. They charge 3% fee for paying by credit card.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.1

The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Excellent service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.4

Nice hotel, in the old town, you can explore old quarters from here. Very helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2017
9.4

The hotel is not large, but friendly staff. near the leisure center .... do very fast wifi internet, breakfast included in the room rate. Tea and coffee you drink for free all day. Accommodations needs further cleaning. This is where you should go to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Just stay here 2 night for waiting my friend. The location and quality is good, and friendly staffs - when I asked for direction, they showed me very carefully. Hoan Kiem Lake is only 6 waking minutes away. You can ask the staff for Hanoi's map ,I have booked this one for the time when I back Hanoi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.