Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 231 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 231 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Happy Backpackers Hostel Located at 29 Hang Mam Street, Hoankiem, Hanoi.
Happy Backpackers Hostel
Vietnam
Hanoi 00844 29 Hang Mam Street, Hoankiem
89% 231
21.0336295 105.8540680
Happy Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
10.0

We were greeted in the lobby with a cup of coffee. We went to our room to find rose petals for decoration. The staff escorted us to our room and make sure the a / c is working. It is located at 29 Hang mam in the heart of the old town. Everything you want to experience in Hanoi within walking distance. They can help you with local tours. The breakfast included is ok. We will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.4

Great hotel for the price a perfect location - right in the heart of the old town. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly. The room was decent with a good amount of room a TV and a safe - although the shower is the stand-in-the-bath type and a little low for us but no big deal. Not amazing but choice was good and set us up well for the day. Recommended if you want a step up from a hostel without much of a price jump.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.1

Hotels with Elevator . Big rooms and hot showers. Located in safe area and central ,has a small restaurant opposite Staff friendly... if they offer to pick you up at airport they charge 18 dollars i was charged $25 arriving(ive heard worse) id consider taking their taxi as the is airports 50 minutes away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
8.9

Only one man can speak english fluently. I think the staff can change the quality of towel given to us but that doesn't matter at all. Booked a superior double room for two days and the room is quite big. Drinks are available in the freezer, cheap. The staff clean the room everyday. The wifi is fast. location exactly at old quarter area walking distance to hoan kiem lake and many interesting places. Overall, we enjoy our stay there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
10.0

The hotel is not big ,but super friendly staff. Good location, wifi very fast,good price, great breakfast , and simple but nice rooms all made for a great stay (You unlock the room door with a smart card). They even agreed to let me leave some luggage for over two weeks while I explored south Vietnam. Thank you Daisy and the rest of the Staff .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2016
9.4

Happy Backpackers in Hanoi's Old Quarter is located very central. For my personal taste, the old quarter of Hanoi has become something too touristy. But that is not the fault of the hotel - the hotel itself is very nice. This is mainly due to the good side, hospitable and helpful at the front desk girl Daisy. The breakfast was good and included in the price. Tea and coffee plus a map with things that you can put a free supplement. The room is quite small but beautifully decorated. Walls and fur

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th May 2016
10.0

We stayed overnight at the hotel Happy Backpacker hostel 2 nights, it was clean, large room, super nice staff, but who always help - also book trips involved. The breakfast was included and we paid $ 14.8 for a double room with bathroom and breakfast drink tea and coffee are free all day, working very fast wifi. Anytime again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
9.4

Friendly staff, location is not bad. The narrow streets, from the balcony you can see a busy streets in front and see the simple life of the Vietnamese of people. Daisy (reception girls name) has assisted purchase tickets water puppet show, Sapa Train tickets ... etc. Breakfast at the hotel is good, Wifi works very fast, free tea and coffee all day. I would recommend this hotel to my friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th May 2016
8.3

Great wifi. Great location for the old quarter and not far to walk to the lake, museum etc. Dorms are nice and spacious and you have room under your bed for your backpack. Lockers with key provided. Electric key access to room. Free breakfast is ok. Reasonable transfer service. Daisy very helpful and informative. Could do with personal lights by beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.1

This hotel was our base for a 3 day trip to Halong Bay. We had it all arranged through the hotel from Poland. The location of the hotel is superb, the rooms are clean and the staff are dedicated to make the sentence the guests. Especially Daisy is a winner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.