X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Happy Backpackers Hostel Reviews

29 Hang Mam Street, Hoankiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
97 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

I wouldn't recommend staying here. The staff decided to come and sleep in our room the one night and made a lot of noise, also the communication between staff is pretty poor and people got cheated out of money. The location is good so I would recommend finding a hostel near this.


100%

More like a hotel than a backpackers hostel but at the price of backpackers dorms its a steal! For basic backpackers its a bargain, for 5$ a night you get clean nice dorm beds with personal outlets in a 14 person dorm room, nice bathroom, access to 65" LCD movie room. Also you have access to computers, wifi on every floor and they handle tours and laundry service, all located righ

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The location was good, near the lake. Some of the staff were a bit cold and the atmosphere could have been friendlier. The restaurant at the top of the hotel wasn't really used. Our room was small, had a good electronic lock (but no safety deposit box), strong air con and a tv. The room was a bit dated, looked run down and could have been cleaner. Overall though at £7 per night you get what you pay for.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed at Happy backpacker last week and we would highly recommend it. It's a very clean, safe, and well organized hostel. It's also conviniently located in Hanoi city ( 200ms from the Hoan Kiem Lake). Our room was big, clean and nice decorated. We had a great time staying there and would do it again. very cheap price but excellent quality.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The bright neon sign pointed right to the hostel when we arrived at night. The staff was nice. The room was like a fancy hotel. Great shower, comfortable bed, nice TV, good internet speed. Lock box in the room. It was like staying in a nice hotel instead of a hostel. Booked a good tour to Ha Long Bay through the hostel; it was great.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and Staff more than willing to answer any questions you may have.Tour organization is outstanding. Thump up... Thank Hostel

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hostel good the staff couldn't have been more helpful ,great location ,clean and spacious room,what more could you want go to stay this hostel .

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel and room are clean with wifi and double-glazed window,which is an advantage because the noise is terrible scooters in the street of hanoi old quarter ,staff is friendly and always ready to meat your expectation,we were on the tour halong bay 3day and Sapa 4day by the hostel which was so great,we will recommend this hostel without any hesitation

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

I dont really recommend that hostel. its very dirty and the cleaning lady didnt change the bed sheets after people checking out. i could see, how she "made" my bed after I checked out and she just folded the blanket and nothing else. the bathroom floor was brown and the AC full of mold. besides that it would be not to bad. staff is ok and the location too,

Owner Comment (Hide)
My Dorm room is new and not as you say,I think you resent that said false,we set up services clean top,we check continuous surveillance of the day with dorms and private rooms,dorms my with restaurant is equipped with elevator and large balcony to serve to guests staying at hostels why you are take untrue at us for some reason do not for you stay private room cost $ 8 for 2 people/night,exercise bed room includes wood-paneled floor with balcony 45m2 large bathroom with standing shower,2 air,Tv

100%

Good hostel we come back stay again

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My adcice is book the trip with them very good deal actually .they are responsible for everything ,bed room super clean,spotless the staff were fabulous,friendly and helpful especially Mr.Philip-Manager who help me a lot .

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The room was clean and the staff is very kind and helpful, the breakfast is OK (you can choose local and western food). They arrenged a nice trip for us to Halong bay with Happy Party (guide nicknamed "Lucky" was great) on boat Dragon Cruises (really nice cabins, good food, 95 USD 2 days trip, I reccomand). They also picked us up at the airport to hostel and made reservations for our further transportation. Thank very much with manager Philip .

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

HAppy Backpacker Hostel cheap price and good location ,clean and Staff friendly and helpful.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

All staff really helpful and friendly

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was incredibly helpful here, and helped organize Halong Bay and other tours as well as train ticket bookings. Internet was good, breakfast was good. They let us check in after an early train arrival and let us stay and use their facilities well after check out. Very friendly!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely staff and so decent room with very basic facilities and I have the biggest impression to this hostel is the Halong bay trip they organized for us, cheap price and stayed in Holiday View in Catba island

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staffs. Well organized. I really liked the staffs. they were friendly and helpful. Good knowledge of English

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Overall ok, great location. Had ants all over the room and in the beds, and spider web on the ceiling. Tours that they offer are over priced so if you do stay there, go somewhere else to book the tours


46%

Other than the fact that the ceiling COLLAPSED in the middle of the night. In the 16 bed dorm that is labelled as an 8 bed dorm on here. Oh and that we were told we could have a new room after the ceiling collapsed and then found out in the morning that we could only if we paid for it. Oh yeah and no common room as advertised. No breakfast. Noisy staff in the hallways at 6am. Other than that it was great...


100%

thank you so much all of staff stay happy backpacker hostel ,I have good time stay here ,thank your book halong bay trip are all of nice and good price ,rightly recommend this hostel

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(87 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback