X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Happy Backpackers Hostel Reviews

29 Hang Mam Street, Hoankiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
149 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

excellent hotel great service Stayed for only 2 nights but was a thoroughly enjoyable 2 nights. Hotel is in great location in the Old Quarter with hundreds of shops and restaurants within only a few minutes walk. Despite the noisy streets the hotel is peaceful and quiet. Not many rooms, but our room was perfect. Big comfortable bed and good bathroom. Even after checking out the hotel gave us another room to rest in and shower when we returned from a trip to Halong Bay. Staff very friendly

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hotel in convenient location ! We visited Hanoi for four days, the first stop on a journey through Vietnam. The hotel was excellent and could not have been better placed. The hotel staff were excellent, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. They found out that it was my birthday during the stay, presented me with a birthday cake and a silk tie - wonderful! I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hanoi.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful hotel, lovely staff I went to the Happy Backpackers Hostel Hanoi as a walk-in for a 3-night stay. All the staff is lovely, welcoming, helpful and provides a high quality personalized service. The hotel is located at the center of Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi old quarter, which is very lively and interesting. The rooms are so well soundproofed that, even if the streets are very noisy, one can sleep quietly. The rooms are well equipped, beautiful and clean. I strongly recommend this hotel

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent hotel, staff, and value My fiance and I stayed here twice on the 5th . At first we booked a standard room, which looked totally fine, but we wanted windows and to check-in early so we upgraded. Both rooms we stayed in were excellent and comfortable, with reliable hot water and internet access. The staff went above and beyond for us, even sorting out our VISAs to Myanmar. Hanoi Happy Backpackers is pretty hectic for me, especially trying to cross the street, but staying at the hotel

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful hotel right in the centre of Old Quarter This was the first hotel we stayed in when we arrived in Vietnam From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIP guests. Our flight arrived early in the morning and we thought we might not be able to check into our room until after lunch, but, no, the room was ready for us immediately so we could catch up on our sleep. We did in fact later that day upgrade to a suite mainly because of traffic noise as the first room was on the first floor. T

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed a number of nights here and couldn't recommend it more. The rooms are very reasonably priced but extremely spacious, clean and comfortable. The WIFI is excellent on each level. The hotel's location is perfect and right in the middle of the old quarter. However the rooms were still very quiet. The staff are extremely friendly. The breakfast is simple but sufficient. We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Hanoi.


100%

I have stayed at this hotel 3 nights in room 606, the dormitories Here I was very happy to make friends with many different countries. David receptionist who helped us put shaving Tour Halong, Sapa with very good price and service End of stay in Hanoi, Mr David marshalled taxi ride away helped me perfect Airport Goodbye and see who my best friends

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The best place in Hanoi Old Room only superficially good in a colonial style. Location is great. Places to dine or drink only 20 meters to the right. Staff helped organize a private car if necessary, Mr David was very friendly


97%

Best hotel in town The hotel is clean,yes Drink welcoming . The staff is very friendly and competent, they help us organize a tour and were very attentive of all our needs. We left for 2 days, and we left our bags there. When we came back, they upgraded us again to a executive room! Our bags were already waiting for us there. The location is ideal, in the center of the old quarter.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic! We had a wonderful stay at this hotel! The staff is wonderful and the setting is perfect. We started our tour in Vietnam with this hotel and we are delighted. It's just the perfect place to stay in Hanoi and in the area! Congratulations to the whole team. Thank you for everything.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great Value ir puikus aptarnavimas

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

emotion good hotel


100%

“Just good” Well placed in old Hanoi, good rooms, good and large breakfast with eggs cooked , nice personnel, good service, no frills hotel but good enough to recommend it. It is not too close to central Old Hanoi but easy to reach on foot (10 min). Caution: in early September there's a popular street night festival in the neighbourhood, which lasts several days and can cause heavy traffic jams in the area (even worse than the usual traffic jams in Old Hanoi). Good value for price, compared to o

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

“Best night in Hanoi” After touring the north of Vietnam with various levels of comfort, we were so warmly welcomed at Hanoi Happy Backpackers Hostel , our rooms large, clean, and comfortable. The staff were always smiling and helpful and the breakfast menu very extensive. Absolutely value for money.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

“Outstanding service” Very good little hotel in the midst of Old Quarter and close to Hoan Kiem lake. The staff is really outstanding - best I have experienced for a long time. Good breakfast too. Quite silent location for being in those quarters is also a big plus. Room is good, especially the bathroom. Good advice re tours to make - we booked a two day cruise at Halong Bay for a very good price. Would definitively stay here again!


57%

Whilst the staff were helpful and good, that's about it. Whilst having glanced in the private room and seen a nice looking bed, the dorm beds are anything but. ROCK solid mattress (if you can call it a mattress) and no proper base made for a bad sleep. Floor looked comfier. Also bathroom covered in scum and mould on ceiling above shower. Could be smelt. No real areas to chill. I'm a frequent hostel dorm user and this amongst the worst. And I'm fairly easily pleased. Don't stay here.


100%

“Super hotel et SUPER staff!” Nous recommandons chaleureusement cet hôtel. Nous avons été très bien accueillis et pris en charge durant tout notre séjour.Chien nous ont tout organisé d'une manière très efficace: Along Bay, Sapa, ou d'autres excursions très intéressantes comme Hoa Lu. Pour Sapa nous avons préféré réserver un hôtel par nous-mêmes et c'était une bonne solution. Le petit-déjeuner est très bien fourni (sauf la confiture :-) et délicieux. Le service est attentionné et chaleureux tou

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

A throughly disappointing hostel which lacked any atmosphere whatsoever. The beds were very hard and the hostel seemed in pretty poor state. The bathroom sink was blocked and smelt horrible, being covered in what looked like dried toothpaste. The shower was cold, and the weather is getting colder now. It also did not stay on the hook and trickled out a small amount of water. The dorm room door had no lock which was not very reassuring and the lockers provided were very small.


97%

Nice hostel, the staff is really helpful for everything.


100%

All the central location ,friendliness and efficiency of the staff ,the quality of the room and the wonderful breakfast ,Furthemore the hostel is of a reasonable size, which is my advantage.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback