Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Mar 2017
10.0

I stayed in the 12 bed dorm, Beds are super comfy and everything is clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast . Wifi is good. And their coffee .... !They have a elevator. Lockers outside the hallway They store your luggage and valuables for free, when you go on trips. The dining room is a decent place to meet other travellers, although not super busy. Customer would recommend this property

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

Enthusiastic staff,Room was dated and worn, but this was reflected in the price. Staff were very helpful, being greeted by David smiling makes you feel welcome. Breakfast on the top floor was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2017
6.0

Room advertised as 8 bed dorm, but we got a 12 bed dorm. Breakfast is cooked "on demand", but only offers 5 options and terribly lacks taste. Wifi was spotty at best. Do not book an airport shuttle with the hostel, an Uber will cost you about 265000VND. Advertised as towels included, but dorm customers pay for towel. Hot water runs out really fast (1 or 2 showers in a row). No individual reading light as advertised. Not enough power outlets. They charge 3% fee for paying by credit card.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.1

The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Excellent service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.4

Nice hotel, in the old town, you can explore old quarters from here. Very helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2017
9.4

The hotel is not large, but friendly staff. near the leisure center .... do very fast wifi internet, breakfast included in the room rate. Tea and coffee you drink for free all day. Accommodations needs further cleaning. This is where you should go to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Just stay here 2 night for waiting my friend. The location and quality is good, and friendly staffs - when I asked for direction, they showed me very carefully. Hoan Kiem Lake is only 6 waking minutes away. You can ask the staff for Hanoi's map ,I have booked this one for the time when I back Hanoi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

Can't say anything bad about this place, facilities as described, very clean and friendly staff. Staff very friendly and helpful, greeted me by name every time, the dorms and common area are kept extremely clean. This hostel seemed to attract a slightly more mature/relaxed crowd than others I've stayed in, good if you're not looking for a party hostel, just a relaxing place to have a beer and maybe some conversation with fellow travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
5.7

Rooms didnt look like the pictures, there wasn't curtains between the bed as stated (which was part of the reason we booked it) bed wasn't very comfortable. Rooms and bathroom hadn't been cleaned very well. Bathroom did have free soap, shampoo, toothbrushes & toothpastes though which was nice. No towel was provided as stated it would it but the shower was hot. The free breakfast had been cancelled on one of the days we stayed because of the TET holidays. too many issues, wouldn't stay here again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jan 2017
6.6

the hostel was pretty dirty especially the toilets. Staff was somewhat helpful. The place just wasn't really value for the money though, since you can find cheaper and better hostels in Hanoi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.