Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
Happy Backpackers Hostel Located at 29 Hang Mam Street, Hoankiem, Hanoi.
Happy Backpackers Hostel
Vietnam
Hanoi 00844 29 Hang Mam Street, Hoankiem
86% 255
21.0336295 105.8540680
Happy Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Dec 2016
9.7

Had a great stay here. The beds are very comfortable and it's nice to have a curtain. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. There's not really a common area but you can pick up conversations with other travelers in the bar. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Laos, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Dec 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel. Very good central location in walking distance to most attractions. Khanh were so amazing, friendly and kind! We booked our Halong Bay trip through them and it was excellent. Khanh also took the time to follow up with us to ensure we had a good trip. Dorms are clean and spacious, bathroom is clean also and there are lockers for your personal belongings . We would definitely stay here again and recommend to all those going to Hanoi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Dec 2016
9.4

I recently stayed at the Happy Backbackers in Hanoi and it was absolutely fantastic. The hotel staff constantly exceeded my expectations and delivered beyond amazing service. The staff always had a smile, were helpful, and wanted to make sure you made the most of your trip the staff's english was also very good. The location of the hotel was perfect too! It's within walking distance of the Old Quarter... We would HIGHLY recommend the Happy Backbackers for anyone looking to visit Hanoi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Dec 2016
9.4

I enjoyed my one week stay in this hostel and Daisy is the best! I highly recommend this for travelers who want a peaceful environment for their sleep. It's not far from the beer district and our room even has a balcony which is really very nice. It would be better if they provide floor towels inside the toilet since it tends to to be really very slippery and it would also be nice if they fix the hot shower for it to work properly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
9.4

Really good location in the center of the old quarter, friendly staff and clean room !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
10.0

Excellent location within the Old Quarter From the convenience store across the road to Lake Hoan Kiem being literally around the corner, we couldn't of asked for a better position. The people at the front desk make the experience wonderful. They booked a half day tour around Hanoi for us on motorbikes within 1 hour of it starting as a last minute idea. All went according to plan. Highly recommend and we will stay there when we are next in Hanoi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Nov 2016
6.0

It's hard to give an accurate review as we only stayed in this hostel 1 night and arrived late at night, the reason I didn't rate this hostel highly is because of the following reasons... -I tried to email the hostel repeatedly in the days before (and on the actual day) we arrived into Hanoi asking about the airport transfer they provide, even tried FB messenger....no reply till too late! -on arrival at 10pm they were not ready for us, we were told our matress got wet 😝 &I had been airing it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.1

Nicest people ever that are managing this hostel! Was traveling by myself as a female and felt very safe there. Left my luggage for a total of 5 nights there and it was fine! The dorms bathroom gets a little dirty in the evening because a lot of people are using it but if you bring flip flops it's fine!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • melodicyeah
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
7th Nov 2016
6.0

ok hostel but lacking in certain areas. For example the photo they have of computers here on Hostelworld are non existent, in that area there is now tea and coffee. It is more of a hotel than hostel with no social/common areas. The people who work here speak good english and try to help....however one of the buses they recommended to catch to the airport never came, they should have better knowledge of things like this, although it must be difficult in Vietnam where nothing functions well and...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Oct 2016
10.0

I am very happy stay here.Thanks you Daisy see you again next time !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.