X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Happy Backpackers Hostel Reviews

29 Hang Mam Street, Hoankiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
164 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Where to stay in Hanoi ? Here and only here. Here is the best atmosphere in all hostels when IIve travelled around Asia. This place is quite at nighy if you want to have goos sleep. But if you want to have a party hust head to the nearest pub. 1 min walkwalk from the hostel. And special thanks to Dazy receptionist she booked a wonderfull tour to Ha Long Bay. 6 star Hostel

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I am using this hotel quite often and can say only good words about it: located very centrally, very friendly staff, reliable pick-up from airport, amazing breakfast from different choices, fast internet, modern and spacy room! Furthermore, it is lively around during day time (shops, restaurants), but very silent during night time. it is much better as famous hotel chains.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

There are several things to like about this hotel. 1.The rooms are clean and well appointed - aircons,TVs... 2.The location is excellent - right in the middle of the old quarter tourist area. Step outside into the hustle and bustle of the area and there are endless possibilities in terms of restaurants, bars, spa etc However, the most memorable aspect of staying here is the service. The staff are genuinely warm and helpful. 3.They are excellent at remembering every guest's name!

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I am using this hotel quite often and can say only good words about it: located very centrally, very friendly staff, reliable pick-up from airport, amazing breakfast from different choices, fast internet, modern and spacy room! Furthermore, it is lively around during day time (shops, restaurants), but very silent during night time. it is much better as famous hotel chains.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

“This place was so lovely. The staff went out of there way to welcome us and help us organise our day/taxis to and from the airport. The cost was cheap for what a big private room with a hot water shower, tv, free breakfast,coffee and tea on arrival welcome, a fridge. Couldn't recommend this place more. It is the perfect place to stay on a budget and you won't forget the friendliness of the staff. Wifi in the room also that worked great.”

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Greeting and friendliness - even though I speak no Vietnamese! Staff made calls for me and booked a car for me. Really good service!”

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

“The level of understanding,patience and willingness to help is parallel from arranging a pick up at the airport to the welcome to helping with booking a trip to Halong bay and even arranged cheaper flights for us,rooms basic but clean. Breakfast good and free tea,coffee in reception. If your on a budget in Hanoi stay at this place,superb!!!”

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The owners are lovely, honest and very helpful. Like everywhere in Hanoi they will organise trips for you, as even for well travelled backpackers it is cheaper and more efficient to have the agents book the trips plus they are more aware of road conditions when there is bad weather etc The owners of this Hotel are very trustworthy, which I think is worth a lot .

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Hotel is very central, friendly staff and a simple breakfast to start your day. For the 12-16 dollars you pay for the room it's awesome! The rooms are small but clean, aircon is great and bathroom is good. I stayed 3 nights and would definitely recommend it.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

We were welcomed by a man sleeping in the lobby who didn't wake up for about 30mins! When we finally checked in they upgraded us to a private room that had stained sheets and a mouldy bathroom! We were then charges double and had to point this out a few times before sleeping beauty understood! Would not stay again


66%

Even though the hostel is located in the middle of old town, the atmosphere is not very good. The booked 8 bed room turned into a 12 bed room, which is the only one available. The beds are a bit scary if you sleep on top, you feel like you're falling down any second. There is no common room and no hostel atmosphere.


100%

Lovely little hostel and the host is so welcoming and accommodating. The beds are so comfortable and the hostel is in a good location. And it's great value for money! Would defiantly stay again.


77%

Nice, cheap little hostel. Beds were a bit uncomfy but we were only staying one night so wasn't too much of an issue. Lovely, helpful staff with very good English who helped us book out Halong Bay trip and buses. Good location, good lockers for valuables. Only downside there was only one bathroom between 10 in a dorm. Overall nice place


80%

No common area so not great for meeting other travelers but the staff was great! The woman at reception helped me book all my tours and checked up on my while I was sick. She remembered everyone by name and greeted them. Good location in Old Town near lots of restaurants.


83%

Lovely staff, bed linen clean. Storage boxes were small and the bathroom was in poor condition- great for the price though!

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Comfiest bed in Vietnam! But we had troubles with water, first day no water in the whole building, next day we had to take shower in another room. Breakfast not very good, but unlimited coffee and tea all day long.


69%

Decent hostel, good location. Cheap. They've got a really good A/C on the dorms, which was fantastic during midday heat..


77%

Great location and value for money. The girl that works at reception is super nice , friendly, and helpful. She organized my Sapa and Ha long Bay tours before I even arrived since I was on a tight schedule. Both tours she booked for me were great.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff in this place is very friendly. The girl at the reception is helpful and honest. We stayed in a standard private room. The blankets were the best in whole vietnam. Very clean and soft. The room is excellent for the price! Including a TV with english channels. AC was working well. The location is very central. Breakfast is standard. Not too special but you can get coffe a d tea as much as you like.


71%

If you are doing side trips to either Sapa or Halong Bay don't book through the hostel, they charge a significantly higher price. I recommend Dao Travel Agency.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback