Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
7.4

Pros Amazing location! Centre of all the action. Comfortable private rooms. Great place for young party travellers looking to meet new people! Party, party, party! Cons Front desk girls kind of rude and not very helpful. Poor security measures, never checked wristbands, anyone could walk into the room area. Windows don't lock, easy to break in. My roommate lost her key and I easily opened the extra large window and went into our room! Very noisy if you want to sleep

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
10.0

As far as atmosphere goes, nowhere else comes close. We stayed here for a couple nights in private and dorm rooms and both had the quality of hotel rooms. It truly is a hostel for the modern traveler. The bar had been closed for a couple weeks and just opened up our last night there. If your looking for a great setting for meeting travelers and locals look no further than Happy Buddha. Definitely will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2017
8.9

I was travelling alone so this was pretty perfect for me - it's a great party hostel and good location. Wouldn't recommend coming here if you want a quiet time - but great for meeting people etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th May 2017
6.9

Didn't get given a room key for the entire time, they didn't seem to have enough? so had to go through to window to get into my room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
8.6

Second time staying here in 4 years, most staff were great but a couple were about as other reviews say. I had a private room which was fine, there's no ventilation or A/C in them and the outside sounds enter very easily, but you don't stay here for peace and quiet. Unfortunately the the bar was not open when I was there and police occasionally dropped in. Some locals told me the licence was recently suspended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th May 2017
4.3

On arrival it took almost 20min to check in while the receptionist served others and seemed to ignore me. This seemed common. The bar is closed - reception says due to no fire escape. Others say it is due to being raided by narcos - evidenced by one of the dorm locks being broken - looking like it was kicked in. My window wouldn't lock and it took almost an hour for them to get a piece of pipe so it could be propped shut. Stay at Kiwi.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
10.0

Haha. The bar under renovation, happy buda still was a good time..! I didn’t think it was true. Then i showed up to find out. I will say, staff speaks what's close to English but not exact. But it's all good, and I never knew the travelers would be so easy to meet. It was great. The bar was down, but we had other spots around we went to. Outside is A LOT here!!! I don’t think we’re to say but we just brought bottles in:) and had our own party hahaha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JamieGordon89
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
2nd May 2017
8.0

Good hostel, very clean, good location, facilities etc. However, advertised as a party hostel, I was there for 5 days and the bar was never open..... they claimed that refurbishment work was being done, but we never saw anyone working on it - as such it was pretty dead in the evenings

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st May 2017
5.7

This hostel was advertised as a party hostel but the bar was closed and had been for a good few days. We weren't even allowed to sit on the outside bar area and were told if we wanted to drink we had to do it up on the roof where there was only four chairs. Our room was smelly and the bathroom was locked, no one had been able to get in for 3 days. In order to shower or use the toilet we had to go down 3 flights of stairs and through an outside bit to use the bathroom which also smelt of damp

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
5.7

The security here did not feel good. Although they say they charge any extra visitors who aren't guests. I saw many people able to just walk in whenever they wanted. My shoes were also stolen when I left them outside my dorm door because they were a little smelly from a hike. I told the front and they took down my name and number but they were not found. Also someone locked the dorm bathroom from the inside where some of my things were. The front didn't have a key for it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.