Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1619 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1619 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

great place to meet people, very friendly staff that are always willing to help you out with everything you need, perfect location, a bit expensive, but the bar makes it for everything lol...would stay there again for sure!! Pura vida!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.9

Nice hostel and good bar at nights for partying/pregaming (although the bar is quite expensive). Very clean. My room was quite hot (no AC) but not unbearable. The staff often seem to be bothered when you ask them questions and the check in process was slightly frustrating, but overall a good hostel experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.3

This hostel stays at El Poblado, perfect location. We can easily move around to restaurants, bars and to the metro station as well (10-15min). Good meeting point in the hostels' bar. The bathroom is the only bad point, shower doesn't work so well and there are few lights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
7.7

Let's manage expectations: this hostel is first and foremost a party hostel and it performs the job well every night between 9pm and the early morning hours. This is not the place you go to relax and to chill out in a pleasant atmosphere during the day. Although it fulfills its purpose, it lacks some qualities that differentiate a great hostel from an average one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jul 2017
6.9

Overall an OK experience. Busy bar in the evenings to meet other travellers. However, staff were so slow and absolutely useless took about 40 minutes to check us in, only to be told our beds were not ready even though check in began 2 hours before. Would definitely recommended staying elsewhere and just using the bar facilities.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.0

Not the worst place I've stayed in but everywhere needs a good scrub! Toilets are dirty but the rest of the hostel is cleanish! Great bar to meet ppl but ask for a room at the back as you will be up all night otherwise from the noise of the bar! staff are extremely helpful! Couldn't thank them enough!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.1

Honestly, a very good hostel. But I must MUST stress that you request to not get the room above the bar. It is ridiculously noisy at night and I only went to sleep in the early hours of the morning. The water also stopped flowing sometime in the night and the next morning the water coming out of the faucets and toilet bowl was brown with a distinct river smell. HOWEVER, all that said, I believe Happy buddha does indeed do well in many many other aspects, thus the high rating from me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Excelente hostal y personal. ¡Por favor díganle a Mathew que todo salió como planeado! Muchas gracias por todo. Saludos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laurakeyes
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
6.3

You pay for the party which was barely there in the week. The rooms aren't nice and the big lockers can only be used with a hostel key and not your own lock. I wasn't in a full room and I knew others that weren't, it would have been nice to fill the rooms to make it more sociable. The staff didn't know what beds people were in and one day I can back and someone had moved my things and taken my bed as it was a bottom bunk!! Good wifi! Nowhere nice to chill and low security, band was never checked

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • timurjin1108
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2017
6.0

Bar is great but rest of hostel not worth it. You don't have to stay at hostel to go to the bar so I suggest you stay at another hostel, others nearby are 40% cheaper, include a proper breakfast and have much better facilities. I changed hostel but still went to Buddha to kick off the night. Overall the hostel is ok in that it's clean and spacious but the main issue is that there is no real chill out areas with comfy seating when recovering from the night before.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.