Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Dragon.Backpackers Hostel

  • 29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang,Dong Cheng District., Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jun 2017
6.3

The place was not the best for Beijing. There was not easy access to exchange money and the team was not very friendly. Hard to get a taxi if you didn't feel like using the subway.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
8.9

Receptionists can speak fairly good English and try to help us as much as possible. When we asked for direction to the place we wanted to head to, the girl looked for clear and detailed direction for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2017
7.1

The staff are nice, speaks english, and helped us with every question. We sat at the bar with 2 other guests, although it was empty, had a nice time there. The area is poor and under construction, but we did not mind, cause there was no noise and we felt safe. A short walk and you have everything you need - stores, bakery, metro.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
9.1

Nice place, very clean and good ac.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
6.3

The staff was great and very helpful, but the rest of the hostel was lacking. It has a very dark, quite feeling. Kind of a bummer to be in. The halls and the rooms smelled, especially the bathroom. The shower is shared with the toilet, so everything gets wet. The bathroom was also very dirty and creepy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
5.7

Needs improvement, but liveable is you're just passing by Beijing or here for a few days and can't find another place. Atmosphere could be better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
3.4

Haha 120rmb for one night in a dorm!? Premium price budget hostel. Hotel costs from 150! You can get double hotel rooms for 190 in Beijing Room was too small. No steps on bunk you need to jump across from the other bed. Room has no window to the outside no ventilation room is never cleaned shower room is black with mould I dont think they understand what cleaning means I heard the cleaner come in for less than 1 minute all she did was empty the two bins. Surrounded by construction.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Friend Thank you for istayed with us, this price is for 2 nights of the room, we are not that expensive at this moment, we are so sorry for is inconvencent,and we improved room facility hope when you come next time is feeling better. Best regards

  • ajeldridge
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.6

The staff behind the desk were delightful and helpful. The bathroom and room wasn't high standard clean but fine... also I believe they were re wallpapering as we were leaving so that comment may mean nothing. Location was great super close to a good metro. Only real complaint is the lack of bar/kitchen to buy food from and the common room was a bit depressed.. may have been the time of years.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2017
5.1

One member of staff was quite nice but the other was rude on every occasion that we spoke to her. She was very dismissive, short tempered and unwilling to help. The wifi was really bad. The rooms were cleaned later than twelce even though we were told we could check in at twelce so it was very dirty. Not a great party vibe as appears on the add, met no one else in their early twenties here, so defiantly don't come if you're alone and wanting to meet other travellers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
7.7

Have stayed here in the past and had a great time, but this time round because of the construction or whatever nearby, and then their construction work to the hostel too, it was very very quiet. Staff were friendly enough and it was great value for money (I stayed in a four bed dorm) as well as a good location with a metro stop a couple of minutes away. I wouldn't recommend for anyone looking to meet other travellers as the downstairs bar area seemed very dead when I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.