X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Happy Dragon Hostel Reviews

29 Ren Min Shi Chang Xi Xiang,Dong Cheng District., Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1884 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Ex location in hutong and close to subway Staff very helpful and rooms clean Highly recomended


74%

I stayed for 4 nights in a single room with private bathroom and it was a good time. The room was clean and there's enough space for one person. Some more hooks to hang clothes and stuff would be useful. Furthermore some sockets didn't work properly and should be repaired. The hostel is good located. Close to subway station and shops. And just 3km far from the Forbidden City.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Again, very nice place to stay in Beijing if you want to be close to the center. Good subway connections. It's a small and cozy hostel, you get to know the staff and other guests well. The staff is very friendly, especially at the bar. Bathroom in one room was a bit small, in the other room it was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good reviews. We hope see you next time~

94%

Staff are amazing. So friendly and helpful. Activities arranged by the hostel (tours, acrobatics etc) are really good value and include transfers. Hostel is a little tricky to find at first but is in a really good location, close to the subway, lots of food places (look out for red lanterns), a supermarket, and even fast food if you are in desperate need of French fries. Room was secure, bed was comfy, linen was clean and fresh.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Good place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good reviews. Look forward to seeing you next time~

83%

No internet in the room, and no real common area to meet other travelers.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest :We have reparied our internet,sorry to bring you the unconvenience .From now on there will be more guests,they will spend their time at the bar.

66%

The location is great, but for some reason it seemed like the restaurant and bar areas were ghost towns. I sat inside the restaurant/bar alone for over an hour on Saturday night! I had heard the food was excellent but this made me doubt. The bathrooms were a bit gross and the show was positioned such that you stand with your head right next to the rusting hot water heater and if you move out of the way, the water hits the toilet paper. Definitely a sub-optimal arrangement, lol.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We feel very sorry that some trouble to you during you stay our hostel . We are very glad to give our hostel so many good suggestions and questions. About that troubles,we have to Improve. We hope see you next time~

97%

+ Excellent service and communication, speak english, very polite, very friendly. - Some noise from market, do not accept credit cards.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks fro your good reviews.Look forward to meeting you next time.

100%

The staff was so nice and helpful! They spoke English super well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good reviews~ see you next time!

100%

Very very nice hostel. The staff is super friendly and useful. Their food is good, the rooms are nice and clean and the place is great to meet people. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your good reviews. Look forward to see you next time~

89%

great hostel in a good location close to metro and easy bike to all the main sites. Rooms are really nice with big beds and a bathroom attached to each room. There is a small bar and very helpful staff. Is quite a small hostel though so don't expect a big party atmosphere - you may have to make your own fun. But for a the location, service and price this is probably the best small hostel in Beijing.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

wifi didn't work and their desktop computers were exremely slow which was frustrating. apart from that location was good and the staff were friendly. rooms seemed clean it smelt like a turd on arrival. overall the place was ok but the lack of internet access was a deal breaker.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review,now the internet is no problem.Looking forward to seeing you next time.

86%

Really helpful and friendly staff. Good value for money. Rich local area with morning market-good for a fast cheap breakfast


89%

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff were amongst some of the most friendly in a hostel I'd ever met before and never had any problem with whatever question I had. They were extremely knowledgable about the location of the hostel and its surroundings, advising us on great restaurants and nearby activities. The location of the hostel is perfect, being just a short, lively walk away from the forbidden city, Tiananmen Square etc, with tons of bars and local eateries along the way.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review.About cleanliness, we will work harder and get better! Look forward to see you next time~

100%

The staff makes up for any short comings

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review.Looking forward to seeing you next time.

74%

Great location near the metro and restaurants. Food street is within walking distance. Wifi is decent. Food was good but a bit overpriced. The staff were great- especially Lemon! The tour they have to Jinshanling was great and it is nice to have those options instead of searching independent companies on your own.


94%

Best bed I had on my vacation (better than mine at home)

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good location and helpful staff. Plenty of restaurants around (better and cheaper than the hostel's café). Only downside are the showers poorly located in the bathroom.


80%

Friendly staff, clean room, and fast internet access

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel was clean and staff was helpful and spoke good English. Beds were alright, I've definitely had way worse in China. Wifi worked pretty well, sometimes struggled with it in the room. They have a bar with happy hour but not many guests seemed to utilize this. All in all it was a pleasant stay.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback