Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Happy Hippo International Backpackers Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
Happy Hippo International Backpackers Lodge Located at 222 Mahatma Ghandi road, Durban Central, Durban.
Happy Hippo International Backpackers Lodge
South Africa
Durban Kwa-zulu Natal 4001 222 Mahatma Ghandi road, Durban Central
82% 226
-29.8679635 31.0423851
Happy Hippo International Backpackers Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
8.3

Very big hostel with good facilities. Decent location but stuff is just a bit spread out in Durban, however the hostel is near a good bus stop. Staff were helpful and room was clean and good size.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
9.1

Stayed at Happy Hippos for 3 nights in a twin private room. The place is so close to the beach and the uShaka resort there was lots tondo in the near vicinity. The main part of the town was a fair walk away but there is a bus service close by if needed. Facilities good and the staff were phenomenal. Something to note, Intrepid use Happy Hippo as their Basix accommodation for one of their trips. So it's good to be of quite a good standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Mar 2016
7.4

Good hostel: nice rooms,very clean, good staff (esp Monica) however location is only good for the beach. There is nothing else nearby. No supermarkets within walking distance and the surrounding area is unsafe At night time. Wifi was a bit sketchy. Also the rooms have no locks so anyone could walk on at any time and there are no lockers available. The staff put our valuables in the safe however it's annoying every time you need something to keep asking for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2016
6.0

It is the small details that make you feel at home, and this hostel messes up a lot of them. Some examples include: - The permanently wet shower - The fact that the supposedly free instant coffee is constantly empty - The non functioning wifi - The at times rude staff (I requested a wifi code since I didnt pick mine up earlier in the day and was submitted to an extensive interrogatory; during which they even accused me of already having got a code and me jist trying to scam them)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Mar 2016
7.7

Pretty good set up, is noisy at night due to being situated on a main road in the city centre. Room was very nice and clean and staff were helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Feb 2016
4.9

They have a fantastic space here but its doesn't fulfill its potential. Their was very little atmosphere and on many occasions I was the only on around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
7.7

Fine place. It was full, but definitely didn't have the vibe of a hostel. Was more half locals from other areas of KZN staying for the weekend including families. Everything was clean, but sedate too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2016
8.9

Great building and setup. Not much near it but it seems safe away from the craziness of central Durban. Good showers and the wifi worked. Full kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
9.1

I had a great time at Happy Hippo,something I really did not expect for a price I paid.I would like to thank Zoe and Smah for a friendly welcome and for helping find a flat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Feb 2016
5.4

Near the beach but miles from the city centre. Walking from town the streets were full of homeless and dodgy people. I had some electronic equipment robbed from my bag. There was a private party in the bar upstairs and members of the public were able to wander down into hostel and snoop around without having to go through any security??? Wifi did not work 90% of time. When it did it was slow and we had to pay for the pleasure. I wouldn't really recommend this place to a friend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.