Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Snail Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th May 2017
6.6

Stayed here for 3 nights and this is my review: The pros: - fairly close to the MRT - They sell discounted tickets to the major attractions - lots of shops nearby The cons: - Not really a hostel but more of a flat in a residential area converted into one with some bunk beds. Because its not really a hostel, there is no staff presence. They have a "volunteer" & the owner on the other end of a phone line. There is no social atmosphere and just some bread with spread available all day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th May 2017
9.1

Cute little hostel, not too far from the MRT, so it's easy to get into the city. Great free toast/peanut butter/Nutella.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jase808
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.3

i enjoyed my stay here at happy snail. the all day toast/jams/spreads was helpful for me personally as i was trying to save on food so that i could spend more on activities during my stay. not too far from the MRT but it was inconvenient if it was raining. mike was a great host, very friendly and welcoming. for the price it is a great place to stay in singapore. mahalos

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.1

Great little hostel located outside of the CBD. Close to bus stops so easy to navigate around Singapore. When you are there definitely do one of the walking tours that are advertised within the hostel. Unlimited peanut butter on toast! Beds are as comfy as they come.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Good service

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.1

Was a little out of the centre and a 15 minuete walk to the nearest tube but places to eat and a shop right next door so not too isolated. Free peanut butter and nutella all day was amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
6.3

Happy Snail is a 20 minute walk to the outskirts of town. There's free toast, Nutella and PB all day and night and you can use the washing machine for $6. The rooms are okay but the air on was on for 3 days and it didn't get any colder. There's lots of information all around the hostel aBout things to do. There was a creepy lady who lived there the whole time and sat watching you when you pottered about. The bathroom floor was always wet. Could she have dried it?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • siobhanasia
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Reminded me of an apartment. Great to meet new people. Very friendly staff and free toast and peanut butter all day long!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
9.1

The staff is a nice and friendly lady. The atmosphere is very cozy makes u want to stay even longer. Kudos to the hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lindsayloset112786
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Apr 2017
7.4

Happy Snail was one of the cheaper hostels in Singapore, and it was worth the money. The location wasn't in a happening part of town, but it's a short transit ride basically anywhere. The main owner of the hostel isnt there often, but there is a free phone to use to call him if you need anything, and a female staff who lives there. The place helps save a few dollars with free breakfast and cheaper tourist attraction tickets!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.