Hostelworld.com

Happy Taipei

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
Happy Taipei Located at Xiaobei Street, Shilin District, Taipei.
Happy Taipei
Taiwan
Taipei Xiaobei Street, Shilin District
92% 741
25.0902433 121.5266846
Happy Taipei
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.1

This place is nicer than it looks in the picture. Very Ikea. 4 floors which makes for a nice division of space. Location is perfect! Bummer the office isn't open 24/7, but they let me leave my bag there before my check-in time. Staff is very accomodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.6

Great location.close to Mrt and night market. Free bearkfast However, the bed is uncomfoartable and the stair is too narrow. For staff ... No comment huh

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
15th May 2016
9.7

The hostel is very very near to Shilin night market and the metro, hence easy to travel around. They also provide breakfast and it is cheap too. Travellers on a tight budget should consider this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
10.0

Definitely recommend! Very nice hostel with laundry services for free (10 TD for dryer, but you can just hang up), free breakfast, great wifi, and great bathroom facilities as well! Highly recommend if you also want to be by the best night market in Taiwan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel! The staff was friendly and very helpful. Everything was really clean. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd May 2016
9.4

Extremely well located right next to Shilin Market. Worth every penny. Free laundry, free breakfast. They provided slippers and had customised hostel stamps too. They installed new blinds for the bunker beds so privacy was improved right away. However, the toilets were always clogged by paper and going to other toilets were a bit inconvenient. They cleaned the room one day and threw out a bag containing my SIM card so it caused me a lot of trouble when I went back home. Other than it was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
9.4

The location was great: easy to find and just a couple minutes from the night market. The facilities were spacious and clean and had a good atmosphere. Our room itself smelled a little musty but it was not overwhelming and the room itself was clean. The breakfast was very good and featured lots of fresh food. The staff there was also very helpful. Would definitely stay there again if we go back to Taipei!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st May 2016
9.1

Happy Taipei was a very nice hostel, perhaps the cleanest I have ever stayed at! Having breakfast included in the price was fantastic too, and it was good, filling food which was the perfect way to start activity packed days in Taipei. The beds were comfortable and the lockers included made the place feel secure. The hostel may not be for a younger, party orientated type of traveller due to the sound curfew and subway stopping at around midnight - but I slept very well all nights here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st May 2016
9.7

We had a great time here! The atmosphere was really friendly and we were able to meet and connect a lot of cool ppl. Free breakfast was nice, and gave us time to plan the day. Only issue was one of the showers on our floor ran out of heat, but the others were fine. Overall great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.4

Happy Taipei Hostel was my home away from home. It was very easy to meet other people and the location was very convenient to get from one place to another. The staff were also very friendly and super helpful! I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to travel around Taipei.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.