Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Taipei

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,004 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,004 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
Happy Taipei Located at Xiaobei Street, Shilin District, Taipei.
Happy Taipei
Taiwan
Taipei Xiaobei Street, Shilin District
91% 1004
25.0902433 121.5266846
Happy Taipei
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • BufferedReader
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Being a frequent backpacker within SE Asia, I must say that Happy Taipei is one of the best hostels I've been to. Staff are very accommodating with good English. Breakfast is great with a lot of variety (coffee/tea with bread+spread or rice/noodles/salad). Washroom is clean with hot water. Bed is very comfortable. Location is very close to Shilin Night Market and is only a few stations away from most of Taipei's tourist spots. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay here. Danny was also helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.4

Beds were really comfortable and the structure of it made hanging clothes at our bunks really easy too. Location is slightly difficult to find as the unit number is not stated, had to ask one of the shops to direct us. Washer and dryer was great, really useful if you are a few days into your trip like us. Wake up early for breakfast though! They don't replenish it after its finished, would love to have more variety on it too instead of the same everyday. Overall good experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2017
10.0

This hostel is amazing, breakfast is massive and tasty. Beds are comfortable and staff always great. I do highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
10.0

This is a great hostel! The location is perfect and while it may seem quiet in the morning, there is a lot to see later on, and I felt very safe as well. The beds were air mattresses, but still quite comfortable, and the hostel was very clean. The lockers in the 8-bed were only big enough for a few things and not my whole hiking backpack, but the room still felt secure. The staff is very nice and helpful--I definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.7

Pros- - Shilin Night Market is just next to the hostel - 5 minutes walking distance to nearest MRT station. -The hostel was clean and very comfortable to stay. - I love their toilet because they provide toilet that can bath in it ( Taiwanese style ) - Breakfast provided ! The bread was nice ! - Desktop and game area provided - Designed environment - Alot of open area to let us chatting outside the room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

This was my second stay, the facility got even better during the interval! Great value, great place to stay.. Book it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.1

位置真的很不错,而且对面就是警察局,一个人连续两天半夜走回都没在怕的。而且往后走一些就是士林夜市,真的很方便。 但是房间的通气问题真的很不好。 我的房间除了我还有另两个女生一同住了6,7天,尤其后面的那几天,房间里都是丑毛巾的味道。房间没窗口,毛巾永远都无法干透。还有一天我手洗了一双短袜子,过了两天都还无法干透就知道透气有多差了吧? 如果以位置为最重要的选择条件,但不太在意其他,其实还可以。

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
5.4

Not the best hostel I've ever been to... one example are the toilets and having to figure out which ones you can actually go to... the staff also walked in while sleeping to clean the A/C unit. We asked them to leave but they didn't.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • buenge
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
30th Dec 2016
9.4

Apart from the hostel being 40-50 min north of the main city, there was very little to complain about here. Great, friendly staff with decent English; comfy beds; common areas on each floor; complementary breakfast of fruits, veggies, breads, and drink; social crowd of fellow visitors; convieient location to the Shilin market, metro, National museum. All in all, this is what you imagine of a quality hostel. It made the trip much more enjoyable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.