Hostelworld.com

Happy Taipei

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 688 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 688 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
Happy Taipei Located at Xiaobei Street, Shilin District, Taipei.
Happy Taipei
Taiwan
Taipei Xiaobei Street, Shilin District
92% 688
25.0902433 121.5266846
Happy Taipei
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.7

Staff are great - very helpful and friendly, good sources of advice on the city. Very close to an MRT station, seconds from bus-stops, and just around the corner from Shilin Night Market, you can get anywhere worth visiting in the city from here very easily. The breakfast is generous with a number of options, and there is free tea and coffee all day. Plenty of common space to relax and meet people. The showers are good, although the whole shower/toilet room is permanently damp with a wet floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

One word: PERFECT This is the best hostel ever i have ever stayed. Great location, good facility, nice staff and excellent atmosphere! Its worth for every single penny you spend here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Loved staying at Happy Taipei; stayed there twice and I would go back again! Convenient location, great staff, free laundry and a good night sleep. What more can you ask for? The place is clean and the staff keeps it quiet after 12 pm, so you're probably gonna sleep well. They also offer a substantial breakfast and quality coffee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • DrJojo
  • Jordan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

I really loved the place. Its location near Shilin night market and Shilin MRT station is the best. Plus you can get on the bus and go anywhere(There are many bus stations here). The staff are so helpful, friendly and sweet; they helped us with where to exchange money, draw money and places to visit. The place is nice, very clean with big showers. If I go back again to Taipei, I will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2016
10.0

Actually I've extended to 2 weeks :D Place is amazing: clean, bright, spacious, everyone can find a place for himself. Super-nice and super-helpful staff (Alice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mydaks8124
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Apr 2016
9.4

Except uncomfortable mattress, everything was perfect in this hostel. Korean receptionist was very kind to accept travellers' requests sincerely. The mood in this hostel was so lovely in the room and common area. Breakfast was just normal with bread & instant noodle. Location was 5 minutes walk from the metro station and 20 minutes metro ride form city centre but it was next to Shirin night market. Also, room was upgraded because there were not many people. Great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Apr 2016
10.0

This is my 2nd stay here and I am absolutely pleased with Happy Taipei Hostel again. The staff is so friendly, the place is very clean and quiet. A very homely place to stay and I like the fact that they are considerate to guests who prefer to have a good rest. Lights off at 12 am is a plus point. Near to Shilin MRT and the Shilin Night market which I enjoy shopping and eating delicious street food. They provide simple but good breakfasts and a great place to mingle with travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • MichaelRogers9653
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel, really close to the Shilin Night market which is the most famous night market in Taipei. The beds were not very comfortable but its a hostel so for the money it was a pretty good deal, The walls were kind of thin so I could hear everything in the next room but for me it wasn't that important. Overall good hostel for the price and in a pretty good location for the night markets and very close to the MRT. Plus,the staff were very helpful. I will defiantly stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location! Close to the Metro and Shilin Night Market. Great value for your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • couturesb3669
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

This is an excellent hostel and I can highly recommend it. I stayed at many hostels in Taiwan, and another in Taipei, and Happy Taipei was the best by far. The staff is very knowledgable and helpful with figuring out logistics. The mattress is quite thick and comfortable. The free breakfast was generous and tasty. The proximity to the night market, MRT and a very nice walking garden was great. No need to look further, this is the place to be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.