Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Happy Taipei

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 905 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 905 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
Happy Taipei Located at Xiaobei Street, Shilin District, Taipei.
Happy Taipei
Taiwan
Taipei Xiaobei Street, Shilin District
92% 905
25.0902433 121.5266846
Happy Taipei
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • weihien909975
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.4

Great location, 2 minutes walk from Shilin MRT station and very close to night market. Free laundry and nice breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amandaleelewis8700
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Sep 2016
10.0

I thought the hostel was great. In a really perfect location near the Shilin Station. Easy to walk to the night market from there. Lots of shops and convenience stores nearby. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and it was very quiet at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Security: lock on the door to the room (but window is not particularly secure against a break-in, from within the hostel) and lock boxes available for small valuables Location: short walk to MRT Shilin station and very close to the bus stop Staff: friendly Atmosphere: like a cafe Cleanliness: seems well maintained There is free breakfast which consisted of curry-ish rice, (instant?) noodles (already prepared), fruit, sweet potatoes, coffee, and tea bags. Very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Sep 2016
10.0

Very good location near a subway station and a big night market. Breakfast is free. Drinking water is free. Beds have curtains. Hostel is relatively cheap. Staff is very friendly. Internet is working well. So in my view a very nice hostel to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel. It has a trendy warehouse feel to it. I loved the breakfast and the staff are real nice. Will come back gain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
10.0

Great hostel! Staff were so friendly and helpful. We arrived early and the staff allowed us to shower, use the wifi, and hang out until our room was ready. Great sized hostel with multiple common areas. Our 6-bed dorm was small, but there are big lockers and curtains on every bed, which makes your space feel bigger, more secure and private. The whole place was extremely clean. Breakfast was awesome. Close to transit and night market. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
7.4

We only stopped through Taipei for a long layover and came by Happy Taipei Hostel. It served its purpose of a place to rest your head, wifi was decent and the rooms were air conditioned. Beds were very soft (almost too soft) and you get an individual reading light plus outlet. Breakfast is nothing to sneeze at but they are close to some restaurants within walking distance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
9.1

A really convenient location to access the Shilin Night Markets and close enough to Shilin MTR station to head out and see everything else that Taipei has to offer. The atmosphere is really chilled-out and relaxed inside. The staff are helpful for whatever you might need and the facilities are good too. No complaints or problems whatsoever.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
9.7

I had a really good time at Happy Taipei. I had a little trouble finding the hostel but I don't put that to the hostel staff themselves it was merely me being bad with directions so if you're like me you may have a tiny bit of trouble just plan ahead. The staff are very helpful and can give you any information you need to get around and the food in the morning is plentiful and good. The place is super cheap definitely recommending it to anyone wanting to travel to Taipei.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice layout. Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Awesome location. Value for money. Uncomfortable bunk bed (upper), made weird squeaking sound whenever I made any slight adjustment to my sleep position. Did not have a good sleep as I was afraid I might disturb the others in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.