X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Harbour House Reviews

Finisklin Road, Sligo Town, Sligo, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
532 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Staff were brilliant, flexible and polite. Would stay again solely for tha reason!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

no stowage options in the rooms (you can put your things on your bed or dirty floor), mould on the bathroom, moldy bread for b'fast, no keys/lock in dorm rooms


94%

We ended up staying here for two nights and loved it. Mary was such a nice hostess. Dropped us in town for a fantastic evening and we would stay again next time we are here.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

We had a private room but we couldn't lock the door from inside.At like 4:30 in the morning some very drunk lady walked in to our room and thinking that was her room she kind of climbed into our bed,we were shouting at her that wasn't her room and eventually she left.It was creepy and we were pissed off, since we paid a lot for that room.It is a funny story, but I didn't think it was funny when it happened. I guess it's not the hostel's fault, only that you can't lock the doors from inside...


69%

The staff was very kind and our stay in Harbour House was mostly what we expected. Some things like parts of the bed or a window required repairs, while the bathroom was clean and in good condition. A small table and a chair in our double room would have been useful.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Some of the rooms are not very inviting. Staff is very helpful and friendly when they are around.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

The bedrooom door was difficult to close as it was coming off its hinges The room was not particularly clean - lots of dust and musty smell The decor was a mixand match of various pieces of shabby furniture THe kitchen area was really dirty, there was no staff in the mornign to tidy up or encourage people to clean up. The lady at reception even left her own dishes on top of the counter. We were promised towels they were never delivered

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Laura was a great host, making us feel very welcome from the moment we walked into the hostel. She offered tea and coffee while we waited for our room to get finished being cleaned. She even offered to do some laundry for us! The kitchen was adequate for making any type of meal you could want. Although some reviews complain about the location, it is only a short walk from the city center. With the extra savings of not being in the city center, I think the walk was well worth it.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A few more hooks to hang things on around beds would be appreciated.


83%

Perfect location ! Staff very helpful. Room nice and clean .

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Harbour House was a great escape from the busy city life of Dublin. The stay was wonderful with such welcoming staff and in the town of Sligo. I felt right at ease and at home with all the facilities, there are small spots for you to store your own food items and a kitchen where you can make your own meals if you wish. The staff also had wonderful recommendations on places to eat, visit, and go out in the evening.


71%

Not bad,also not so good. It's a little for from central town.


77%

This is a great hostel, it would be even better as the location was closer to the town centre.


83%

Convenient location, just a short walk from the bus/train station and Sligo town centre. The rooms were clean, beds were in good shape (not sagging through or with springs poking you everywhere). I found the well-furnished kitchen and dining room with possibility of cooking meals and storing your own food supplies a plus. The living room provides a homey feel and makes it easy to meet other travellers. Staff were friendly and easy to get along with, very helpful as well.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Place not amazing but totaly fine. Short walking distance to town. Good value for money spend.


97%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Free laundry service was much appreciated by cyclists with smelly gear!


100%

Host was very accommodating and helpful to our needs. Very friendly and kind. Provided good information on local area.


54%

Though there is nothing particularly wrong about this hostel, it fails consistently to excel in any areas. Located in an industrial suburb with nothing to recommend it, it's a considerable distance away from everything of interest such as restaurants, shops, buses and trains. There are no lockers, the kitchen is inadequately equipped, there are no organised activities, staff is hard to find much of the time. Good things are the WiFi, and the quiet. Nothing deal-breaking but you can do better.


66%

We rang emailed to say we would be late and they had left keys for our room which was pleasing because unaware the staff would not be present. Did not see any staff in the morning. Hostel was clean and basic. We only stayed overnight so u unsure of location.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff very helpfull and friendly. Location very good,no noise and minutes walk to everything in town.Will be back.


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Sligo Hostels

Please give us your feedback