Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Harbourside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2017
8.3

Nice and clean. A little over our budget but one of the better places to stay in sandakan as it was really clean and facilities were good. We booked the private room so we can't comment on the dorms but I have heard they were nice as well. Breakfast good some toast and you could make your own eggs. The use of the kitchen is nice as we were able to make our own lunch etc. Overall a good place to stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jul 2017
7.7

The hostel was clean and staff were very friendly. However, room smelled damp and needed aired. Not too much to do in Sandakan

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
9.4

Room was good, can't complainant about anything apart from the wifi was atrocious! Really difficult to sort anything out onwards

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 48 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.9

Definitely your best option in Sandakan. This was the perfect spot for a stay on the way in and out of the jungle. Sandakan is more of a jumping off point rather than having too much to do there- so the communal area with heaps of movies to choose from, cable tv and great internet was really handy. You can also book heaps of tours directly for them for a really good price. Staff were friendly, beds were comfortable and breakfast was delicious (you could make your own eggs).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
10.0

Had a really nice couple nights there. It's more like 5 minutes from the mini bus station and almost on the waterfront. Nice bedside outlets for charging and cold working aircon. The breakfast was sinple and the ability to use utensils and hot plate to cook your own food is a super plus! Friendly staff and nice environment as well as travelers. Only thing is the water pressure in the shower I used was but a trickle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HarrietHarper1
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
7th Jul 2017
9.1

Very basic room but can't complain for the price. Included breakfast was good too and the staff were very friendly. Do double check the checkout time, we had a bit of a mix up as I think the time on Hostelworld was different to what they said when we checked in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jul 2017
9.1

Good little spot if you need a couple of days. The aircon is okay, the beds comfy and the staff friendly. The hostel is opposite a shopping centre and one street back from the sea front. If you are stuck for an activity you can always go to the cinema in the shopping centre or bang out some karaoke.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2017
10.0

A very clean and comfortable hostel in a great location. The hostel is run by kind and helpful staff. Highly recommend staying here if in Sandakan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
9.7

This hostel was centrally located. In comparison to breakfast in other Malaysian hostels, this one was worth it. They have eggs that you can cook as you wish, and milk, and coffee that is not watery or gross. The stuff is friendly, especially the guy in the evening is helpful. We stayed at the 6-people dorm during low season (June) and there was only one other person. I would definitely recommend it. It's in front of a shopping center with a nice pizza place, Prezzo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Jun 2017
7.1

Only stayed for one night so was a good place to stay close to restaurants etc. we booked a double room but they could only give us a triple room with single beds which was annoying. They also let people who weren't staying there come and use the wifi which made it super slow and wasn't very good security wise. Overall I would recommend this place for a short stay but not if you're wanting to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.