Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Harbourside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
Harbourside Backpackers Located at 1st Floor, Lot 43, Block HS-4, Harbour Square, Sandakan.
Harbourside Backpackers
Malaysia
Sandakan 90000 1st Floor, Lot 43, Block HS-4, Harbour Square
90% 291
5.8391602 118.1195095
Harbourside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel in a not so great town. Lovely staff, facilities and location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
9.7

A great little hostel with excellent facilities which include two computers for browsing and a big ass tv if you feel like lounging around (I did). The hostel is right across the street from a mall and very close to the harbour (as the name suggests!) and the bus station. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
7.4

Everything good, except the hostel needs to add security lockers. But I noticed that not many hostels in Malaysia or Philippines seem to offer that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.0

Booked a private double, room came with just a bed, a couple of coat hooks and air con unit; very basic. Facilities were clean and good central location. Small kitchenette to prepare your own meals if you wish.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
8.9

Lovely clean hostel, great location, friendly helpful staff. My only advice would be to bring your own towel, as the ones they supply are old and don't smell too fresh

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Great hostel and excellent staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
5th Sep 2016
9.7

Warmly welcomed by James, who provided all the info we needed and even let our friends (who weren't guests) drink at the hostel until we'd arrived. Rooms were comfy, common room with TV, computers and a kitchen area for your basic breakfast. Right in the middle of anything you'd need in Sandakan as far as location goes. Only small negative was no lockers in the rooms for valuables. Otherwise definitely the choice in Sandakan and the cheapest River Cruise tour to book with them - we looked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
10.0

This was probably the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed at. staff was very helpful and friendly, I would go there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.9

If you find yourself in Sandakan this is a good budget choice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2016
8.0

Stayed for 1 night in Sandakan. Central hostel with clean rooms and excellent warm showers. Wifi is good. Air con mediocre. Breakfast consists of eggs or toast or porridge which you make yourself plus coffee and tea. 5 min walk to the MINIBUS terminal - I.e the local bus terminal - for buses to sepilok. The main bus terminal is a bit out of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.