Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Harbourside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 275 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 275 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
Harbourside Backpackers Located at 1st Floor, Lot 43, Block HS-4, Harbour Square, Sandakan.
Harbourside Backpackers
Malaysia
Sandakan 90000 1st Floor, Lot 43, Block HS-4, Harbour Square
91% 275
5.8391602 118.1195095
Harbourside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
8.9

If you find yourself in Sandakan this is a good budget choice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2016
8.0

Stayed for 1 night in Sandakan. Central hostel with clean rooms and excellent warm showers. Wifi is good. Air con mediocre. Breakfast consists of eggs or toast or porridge which you make yourself plus coffee and tea. 5 min walk to the MINIBUS terminal - I.e the local bus terminal - for buses to sepilok. The main bus terminal is a bit out of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
9.1

Nice hostel with friendly staff, and relaxing social area and a good location for beachfront restaurants. Sandakan is a quiet place, so ask about the tours they can help out with

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
9.7

Extremely clean and very helpful staff, ticked all the boxes and great value for money 😄

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
9.4

Really enjoyable time, great location and atmosphere along with superb staff. Would definitely recommend the river trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2016
10.0

Great little hostel in sandakan! It was everything we needed for our two night stay. The staff were super friendly & helpful and the location was perfect for what we needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.4

Good location. Nice common area. Breakfast included. Friendly and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Lovely staff, really helpful and friendly. Single private rooms available which was great. Clean, chilled, basic and friendly - exactly what I want from a hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.7

Great hostel all round. Very friendly staff who will help you with anything. Warm showers and great toilet facilities. Very sociable common room with cable TV (astro) and computers. Free breakfast of as many eggs as you want, tea/coffee, unlimited toast and jams.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.1

Very relaxing hostel with open space, computers, and even cable television. The downstairs door requires a cardkey. Don't fret over security. I've seen the staff and owner clean facilities like clockwork. Free breakfast: toast+jam, oatmeal, milk, and eggs. It was quiet when I stayed here 5 nights. I suspect the safety alerts issued by many governments has damaged tourism in Sandakan and ultimately this hostel. Otherwise, there is no doubt that this hostel would have been more lively.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.