Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Harbourside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
Harbourside Backpackers Located at 1st Floor, Lot 43, Block HS-4, Harbour Square, Sandakan.
Harbourside Backpackers
Malaysia
Sandakan 90000 1st Floor, Lot 43, Block HS-4, Harbour Square
89% 264
5.8391602 118.1195095
Harbourside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
9.4

Good location. Nice common area. Breakfast included. Friendly and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Lovely staff, really helpful and friendly. Single private rooms available which was great. Clean, chilled, basic and friendly - exactly what I want from a hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.7

Great hostel all round. Very friendly staff who will help you with anything. Warm showers and great toilet facilities. Very sociable common room with cable TV (astro) and computers. Free breakfast of as many eggs as you want, tea/coffee, unlimited toast and jams.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.1

Very relaxing hostel with open space, computers, and even cable television. The downstairs door requires a cardkey. Don't fret over security. I've seen the staff and owner clean facilities like clockwork. Free breakfast: toast+jam, oatmeal, milk, and eggs. It was quiet when I stayed here 5 nights. I suspect the safety alerts issued by many governments has damaged tourism in Sandakan and ultimately this hostel. Otherwise, there is no doubt that this hostel would have been more lively.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2016
9.1

One of the best hostel i've stayed in. Very clean, nice staff and good location. Busses only 5 min walk and big supermarket just across the street. Nice toilets and showers with hot water. Wifi pretty good, movies to watch in the common room and also two computers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2016
8.3

Great location and clean facilities. Breakfast was also good. Shame about the guy on the desk. Very unfriendly and bored, had no interest in the people staying there and was more interested in watching tv. Apart from that a general lack of atmosphere, it was a decent place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2016
8.6

Nice hostel in sandakan, very clean and tidy and good AC in rooms. Common area with sofas, satellite tv and DVDs was good, but could really do with AC as it was very humid. Really not much to do in sandakan, so spent more time in the common area. Breakfast was good with toast/jam/peanut butter available as well as a station where you can cook your own eggs

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
10.0

IT IS CENTRALLY LOCATED AND VERY CLOSE TO BUS STAND. FROM AIR PORT BUS ( SMALL CAB ) IS AVAILABLE BUT YOU HAVE TO WAIT FOR LITTLE BIT LONG TIME . SIPLOK TOUR IS GOOD. SIM SIM WATER VILLGE SEA FOOD RESTAURANT IS GOOD AND NEAR BY OTHER RESTAURANTS ARE ALSO AVAILABLE BUT YOU MUST COME BACK BEFORE 7 PM NO BUS AFTER LATE NIGHT. MUST GO FOR HERITAGE WALK IT IS NOT 1000 BUT LESS THAN 100 STEPS AND GOOD VIEW OF CITY. STAFF IS COOPERATIVE, JAMES IS VERY FRAINDLY . NICE STAY NO SPACE FOR CLOTH DRYING.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laurenaisha
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2016
8.6

We really enjoyed our stay at harbour side. The location is fine as everything is walking distance in town. There isn't much to do around there though so I'd only recommend it to go to sepilok, there are daily buses. The hostel is really clean, breakfast is great, there's eggs, bread and cereal which is better than most places I've stayed. The tv room is a great place to chill out. The staff are nice but not super helpful. Only give the basic info when you ask and have to keep questioning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th May 2016
6.9

This hostel was perfect location. Was clean and tidy. The negatives would be no aircon in room with tv and sofa. Only enough space on sofa for 5/6 squeeze so for the people who couldn't fit on we had to use the very uncomfortable seating around it. Not very well thought out. Had towels but they smelt very bad. Asked for clean ones and they also smelt along with our room which smelt damp. No lockers so you really have to trust the people your in a dorm room with. Breakfast not great either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.