Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Harbourside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 332 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
9.7

This hostel was centrally located. In comparison to breakfast in other Malaysian hostels, this one was worth it. They have eggs that you can cook as you wish, and milk, and coffee that is not watery or gross. The stuff is friendly, especially the guy in the evening is helpful. We stayed at the 6-people dorm during low season (June) and there was only one other person. I would definitely recommend it. It's in front of a shopping center with a nice pizza place, Prezzo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th May 2017
7.1

I was a bit disappointed with this hostel having read the reviews. The location was good and the towels were clean. Shower was broken but Dormitory had air con. The common area was large with a flat screen tv. People were really nice. Staff didn't seem keen to help with information about bus services. Totally fine to stay for a couple of nights but I wouldn't call it any kind of home.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
10.0

Possibly the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed at. They clean the entire facility from top to bottom every day. James and his staff are very helpful. The location is terrific, a short walk to the Sandakan hotel to catch the Sepilok/Labuk Bay shuttle. I stayed here 3 nights in total to use as a home base to do multi and single day trips. I would stay here again and I highly recommend. It's over a great Indian restaurant. (try their rotis!)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2017
7.7

Friendly staff, good breakfast as you could cook eggs yourself. Comfy beds, clean showers and toilets. Some good restaurants near by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kazshake1185
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 73 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.1

Good hostel in great location. Very clean & comfortable. Staff were most helpful, friendly & informative. Eggs for breakie is always a great start. No complaints at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.9

Very nice place, great location, there's AC in the dorms which was a god send. Clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
8.9

Like indicated on other reviews. the hostel is located just in front of a huge mall, so everything is accessible. It's also a few blocks away from the bus and shuttle stations, so it's also a huge point. The breakfast was basic (toast, jam, egg, coffee) but you get what you pay for, right? The staff was so friendly and helpful and can accommodate any question you have in mind. The only thing I didn't like was the blanket. It was so narrow! Like if you bend a leg, expect for to be bare.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Mar 2017
9.4

Comfortable rooms and really helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.3

Good value for money and the tv room is great for relaxing - good location to explore Sandakan and do various trips from. Stayed here twice and was equally as good both times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
8.6

Loved the lounge area! And the kitchen was an added bonus! Friendly staff. Hot, powerful showers. Only issue was our door handle was broken so getting into our room was a nightmare! And our room was a bit bare- just a bed and a bin. Would definitely stay again though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.