Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Harbourside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.2
Harbourside Backpackers Located at 1st Floor, Lot 43, Block HS-4, Harbour Square, Sandakan.
Harbourside Backpackers
Malaysia
Sandakan 90000 1st Floor, Lot 43, Block HS-4, Harbour Square
91% 297
5.8391602 118.1195095
Harbourside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jan 2017
10.0

Only stayed one night but wish I'd stayed longer!! This hostel was so nice and chill. Really well run, really clean, great location. Couldn't ask for more!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.7

We originally only booked to stay a couple of nights, but we ended up staying a week. It is a relaxed and clean hostel. The staff are super nice and will help you out if you need help with excursions or booking buses etc. The hostel was a place that you could relax too if you didn't have to much to do that day, as well as being opposite a shopping centre. I would definitely recommend for people to stay here in Sandakan to use this hostel as a hub for your trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel, very clean, comfy beds in dorm. Nice big lounge space with TV & DVDs for travellers to chill. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Good breakfast with eggs that you can cook yourself & porridge oats. Location is ideal, close to cheap eats, restaurants on the harbour front and about 5-10mins to the bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Super clean with toast and egg breakfast included. Security cabinets are available. Located across from mall and near good and inexpensive restaurants and shopping. Staff showed me how to get to sights including orangutan and sun bear sanctuaries using local transportation. Booked for two nights but stayed three. There is lots to do in Sandakan if you look and this is a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Dec 2016
10.0

The staff was lovely, the room was clean and for breakfast, they offered eggs you could boil, porridge and toast! We had a very nice stay and would definitely come back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel in a not so great town. Lovely staff, facilities and location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
9.7

A great little hostel with excellent facilities which include two computers for browsing and a big ass tv if you feel like lounging around (I did). The hostel is right across the street from a mall and very close to the harbour (as the name suggests!) and the bus station. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
7.4

Everything good, except the hostel needs to add security lockers. But I noticed that not many hostels in Malaysia or Philippines seem to offer that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.0

Booked a private double, room came with just a bed, a couple of coat hooks and air con unit; very basic. Facilities were clean and good central location. Small kitchenette to prepare your own meals if you wish.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
8.9

Lovely clean hostel, great location, friendly helpful staff. My only advice would be to bring your own towel, as the ones they supply are old and don't smell too fresh

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.