Hostelworld.com

Harbourside City Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 214 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 214 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Harbourside City Backpackers Located at 105 The Strand, Tauranga, Tauranga.
Harbourside City Backpackers
New Zealand
Tauranga 3110 105 The Strand, Tauranga
78% 214
-37.6839561 176.1697411
Harbourside City Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jun 2016
6.3

I stayed at the hotel because of its great reviews and of course the view from the hostel. The staff was completely desoriented: not knowing where we could park, what we could do in the city. We told them we would check out at 7:30 and the girl at the desk said that there would be someone, there was no one. We called them and obviously no one answered since we heard the phone ringing from inside the check in desk. The kitchen was disgusting, pots and pans everywhere not cleaned.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th May 2016
9.4

Add more outlets to the rooms!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
8.9

This location is perfect! Right in front of the harbor and walking distance to many restaurants, grocery, and activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
10.0

A really great place to stay friendly staff and backpackers. Lots to do. We'll worth a stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, for your 10 out of 10 feedback. This really made our day! Thank you for your kind words. We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels throughout NZ and hopefully we can have the pleasure again to have you stay with us. Take care and happy travels!!! Aline & The always smiling Harbourside Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
8.0

My only complaint is that those who return at 1.45am should not slam their door or talk loudly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2016
10.0

The best place ever, the staff is awesome, really nice people and good atmosphere. Great location and also if you wake up early you can see a beautiful sunrise. Thank you for everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2016
7.1

Great locatiopn, good staff but very tired facility.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay with us, we are so happy you liked our location in downtown Tauranga. We love hearing feedback as it helps us improve for the future. We hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2016
8.9

Excellent location, right across the from the Seaview harbour, surrounded by pubs, restaurants and cafés.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review for your recent stay. We are so happy you enjoyed our location in downtown Tauranga. We hope to see you again soon!! The Harbourside Team

  • paytontiffanynicole5831
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Jan 2016
8.3

The staff were really nice and helpful. I got there around 9 pm, but there was a staff member expecting me. I forgot her name, but she was a bit older and she was the friendliest of them all. Everyone in (and outside of) the hostel knew her. She had good recommendations for places to eat. The American girl was also pretty friendly and enjoyed talking to her about her travels. I was only there for two nights, but everything was nice and clean. They have an awesome deck and kitchen area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2016
6.3

I booked a double bedroom for me and my girlfriend. When i went to the room i noticed they gave me a twin bedroom. The receptionist was very impolite and said thats a system fail and therefore bad luck and he cant give me another room. I told him that i dont feel comfortable and want my money back since he cannot offer me what i have paid for. He denied so i threatened to call the police. Then he gave me a room with a double bed and a bad ontop. Worst service ever!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

H, Thank you for giving us a feedback. I'm so sorry to hear the not acceptable customer service you received from one of my staff members. We do pride ourselves with excellent customer service and always try our best to go the extra mile with a smile :) The room you have stayed in, can be a twin room, double room or triple room. I have followed up with the staff member who has checked you in, and I can guarantee you, this kind of service will not happen again in the future. I hope we have the chance to accommodate you in the future to show you our improved customer service. I'm wishing you all the best for the rest of your travels throughout NZ! Take care & Happy travels! Aline (manager) & the always smiling Harbourside Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.