Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Harbourside City Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
31st Mar 2017
8.0

Great kitchen & the outdoor area overlooking the sea is lovely. Location is good in Tauranga, a bus away from the Mount. However, lots of long staying workers. Wouldn't normally be an issue but I was in a room with 3 of these with their stuff everywhere and the room stank. If I had been in a different dorm it would have been much nicer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
4.3

Way overpriced for whats available. Horribly dirty, stained sheets, dirty kitchen with sticky floors. Wifi was a joke.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.6

Excellent location. Situated within downtown centre where all the shops, cafe, bars were just a stone's throw away. Good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.4

I loved staying in the back apartment. Nice and relaxing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Absolutely great location. Next door to bars and restaurants and across from the water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we always appreciate it when our guest take the time to provide us some feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed our location, it is right in the city centre of Tauranga with an amazing harbour view! Thanks for staying with us and safe travels! Kind regards, Renee, Harbourside City Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.3

Door didn't close properly and although there were lockers they were all already taken by long term guests (although I think I just ended up in the room with all the long termers). Atmosphere was great - especially for solo travellers, everyone gets involved - lots of lovely people and although the party was great you couldn't hear it from the rooms so was fine when I had an early start. Staff were all ace, kitchen was super small, balcony is beautiful, location couldn't be better for Hamilton.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate the feedback a lot. This building is the oldest building in Tauranga. The room you were in has indeed a door that you have to pull or push to close properly as it is written on the door itself, however it will lock fine once pulled/pushed. The lockers in the room are brand new, and we are very happy with them! Sorry to hear you could not get a locker for yourself, I will have a look at it as it's a six bed dorm and there are six lockers so you should've gotten a locker for yourself. When an issue like this occurs, please let us know so we can fix it immediately for you. Thanks a lot for the amazing feedback about our location, the atmosphere and our staff! We do our very best to make every single backpacker feel at home, and I'm glad you did! We would love to welcome you back some time, for now safe travels and hopefully we will meet again! Kind regards, Renee, Harbourside City Backpackers.

26th Jan 2017
6.0

Lockers are useless, don't work properly. Lots of signs saying that you must've careful with thieves. It's not worth by this price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I really appreciate it. I'm sorry to hear you had some issues with the lockers we provide in the room. Next time when a problem like this occurs, please ask us at reception for assistance so we can solve any problem as soon as possible to make your stay a good one. As for the signs, we do make our guests aware to keep their belongings safe as we would like to avoid any disappointment. I do hope you enjoyed your stay here at Harbourside! For now, safe travels and we do hope to welcome you back some day. Kind regards, Renee, Harbourside City Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jan 2017
4.3

Kitchen was absolutely dirty and badly equipped (not nearly enough cutlery, pots etc.). Staff was really slow and sometimes ignorant (kitchen was closed for 'cleaning' during normal breakfast hours). Rooms were okay but very old fashioned and not well cleaned, ensuite bathrooms need to be renovated. The location was great though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I really appreciate it. I'm sorry to hear our kitchen was not up to standard. We are a working hostel which means that the majority of our guests are long term guests who work during the day. When they all return home more or less at the same time, they will all start cooking at the same time. This can result into a messy kitchen and many pots/pans will be in use. However, the kitchen will be cleaned multiple times during the day so we always make sure it will be cleaned afterwards. When cooking at slightly different hours than the working backpackers, you have plenty of space to cook! Regarding the cleaning hours, there is indeed a sign on the kitchen door that between certain hours the kitchen will be cleaned. However, we do not close the kitchen, we just make sure everyone is aware that at this moment cleaners will be busy cleaning, but there will always be plenty of space for you to make your breakfast. Our hostel is the oldest building of Tauranga, this means it has a lot of character. It is not a modern looking building, and it might not be everyone's style but we always do make sure it is clean. When it is not clean or not up to standard, pleas let us know downstairs at reception so we can take care of it immediately. It is great to hear you loved our location, it is indeed right in the city centre of Tauranga with all the shops and restaurants next door. We do hope you enjoyed your stay here at Harbourside and we would love to welcome you and your friend back some day. Safe travels and until we meet again. Kind regards, Renee, Harbourside City Backpackers.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jan 2017
8.6

Very nice hostel. Roof terrace has a fantastic view and the staff was super friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for writing us such a lovely review, I really appreciate it a lot! I must say, it's hard to beat such an amazing view right!?! That balcony is awesome! We would love to welcome you back some day! For now, safe travels and until we meet again! Kind regards, Renee, Harbourside City Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jan 2017
6.0

Okay for what it is, nothing special. Didn't get a great nights sleep, there was an alarm that goes off randomly throughout the day and night. Shower is very temperamental, very difficult to keep at a nice temperature.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I really appreciate it. Sorry to hear the alarms kept you awake during the night. We do have the alarms for our guests safety, it might have been birds or the wind which made them go off so randomly. We will have a look at the showers, thank you for the feedback. Next time when you think we can improve something, please let the staff at reception know, perhaps we can fix it straight away! Hope you enjoyed your stay at Harbourside City Backpackers and we would love to welcome you back some day. Safe travels! Kind regards, Renee, Harbourisde City Backpackers.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.