Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Harbourside City Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 221 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 221 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0
Harbourside City Backpackers Located at 105 The Strand, Tauranga, Tauranga.
Harbourside City Backpackers
New Zealand
Tauranga 3110 105 The Strand, Tauranga
78% 221
-37.6839561 176.1697411
Harbourside City Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.7

Showers not too great, pressure is bad and temperature very hard to get right, wifi is not good unless on stairs or next to reception. Balcony view, common room and kitchen are good though, and everything is kept very clean. Central to everything in Tauranga. Only problem is travelling with a car it is at least $12.50 a week for parking near the hostel at Dive Crescent, which is the cheapest and a 5 minute walk from the hostel. They do have bike hire though and its close to bus stops and shops.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
8.9

Overall a good hostel. Plenty of bars and restaurants on the same street, and the waterfront is very nice. The central bus terminal is just around the corner, so you can get anywhere in town easily. Note the nearest supermarket is over a kilometer away. Some major drawbacks: Terrible Wifi in rooms, need to be in common stairwell to have good signal. Very inconvenient. No lockers available. I stayed 2 weeks with no problems, but constantly worried about my things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
7.4

Nice location with a wonderful view. Just a little old and my main problem there was, that was travelling in winter and it got really cold and there was no heater in the room so it was basically warmer outside than inside which was really annoying and I fell sick afterwards. That has the to be improved. For the rest, still a nice place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

Brilliant Location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2016
6.3

I stayed at the hotel because of its great reviews and of course the view from the hostel. The staff was completely desoriented: not knowing where we could park, what we could do in the city. We told them we would check out at 7:30 and the girl at the desk said that there would be someone, there was no one. We called them and obviously no one answered since we heard the phone ringing from inside the check in desk. The kitchen was disgusting, pots and pans everywhere not cleaned.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th May 2016
9.4

Add more outlets to the rooms!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
8.9

This location is perfect! Right in front of the harbor and walking distance to many restaurants, grocery, and activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
10.0

A really great place to stay friendly staff and backpackers. Lots to do. We'll worth a stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, for your 10 out of 10 feedback. This really made our day! Thank you for your kind words. We wish you all the best for the rest of your travels throughout NZ and hopefully we can have the pleasure again to have you stay with us. Take care and happy travels!!! Aline & The always smiling Harbourside Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
8.0

My only complaint is that those who return at 1.45am should not slam their door or talk loudly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.