X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Harlem YMCA Reviews

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1135 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I WASNT SURE IF I WAS SUPPOSE TO NOT HAVE A REMOTE CONTROL FOR TV. THAT WAS THE ONLY THING AWRY..

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Super friendly staff!


89%

don't worry about safety!It is good!nothing was stolen!but we need more restroom lol

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

80%

Friendly and helpful staff. Considering how many people shared the bathrooms on our floor - they were kept relatively clean. It was a bonus feature having a tv in the room as well. Good view out of the window at the Manhattan skyline. Close to the subway station which was very handy!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are excited to hear that you found your stay convenient, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

89%

Close to the subway. The 10th floor is the ONLY floor that has been renovated, total of (4) bathrooms on this floor, new wall tile, sink, toilet and shower. 11th floor has (2) bathrooms and the 7th floor has (1) bathroom, which is out of order until Aug 1st. Really need more bathrooms. Good value for the money, if you don't mind waiting to use the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! we are glad you noticed the changes made to our guest rooms floor, we continue to make changes based on your reviews. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

100%

good price


71%

New onsite cafe: it's good to have something, but it's quite limited. Only packaged foods. For example, no bagels. And its hours are limited. The "deluxe" floors have very nice rooms. Only 3 bathrooms, however, each for a single person, which is a traffic jam in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

80%

I took a tube to 135th Street YMCA was right there, just 20 mins from Times square. I went on the front desk and I told them about the booking to which a guy in security said "its not confirmed and the booking is no more." And then he smiled, looking at my reaction and gave me a warm YMCA welcome. The people are awesome. YMCA has amazaing facilities and the air is young. Did not see any families but I am sure YMCA is welcoming. My AC was making noise so they switched my room, no questions asked.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are always excited to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves. Thank you for your valuable feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! We will continue to keep it fun for you. Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

83%

Good clean hostel right near a metro station so easy to get in and out of the centre!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear you got a chance to take advantage of our convenient location. Thank you for your valuable feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

100%

Great service from staff !

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our staff is always happy to help and we love to hear that you noticed our upbeat vibe and joy to help you.Thank you for your valuable feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

74%

Harlem is a black neighborhood but I generally felt comfortable there even with blonde hair and blue eyes. My "single room" had a bunk; but I had it to myself. Bar fridge too! Bathrooms were a problem. There was only one male bathroom for the floor. The only two showers are in a single room. You can lock the door but it has a big window in it. Poor privacy. Also only two toilets, and never once did both toilets have toilet paper; sometimes neither! Cafeteria had awkward prepaid card system.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are glad you felt comfortable in our diverse neighborhood of Harlem,NY. It is unfortunate that you could not locate the woman's restroom which we have on each of our guestrooms floors. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

94%

Harlem ymca is a good place .The rooms are clean A/C work and the TV work good.The Harlem YMCA is a good place to go when you come to New York City.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

94%

It would be a good idea, to have more bathrooms per floor.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I want to thanks all the wonderful staff that Harlmen YMCA have. I also want to thanks Ivon Matos for her excellent service and beautiful sense of humor. Now for our next trip to New York, my friend and I will be back to Harlem. We really appreciate your services. Thank you very much ! And see you next time !!!!! ;-) ♧☆ :-)

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very much excited to hear you had a wonderful time with us. We always want to provide the best experience and we are anxious to have you back with us in the future. Thank you for your valuable feedback, see you soon! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

91%

When my friend first refered this hostel I was highly opposed. But the stay here has changed my mind! The staff members were absolutely wonderful! From the security guy to the pool lifeguard....even some of the guests! My only concern is how impossible it was to get forgotten items. For example if the ymca is a 24 hour facility....why not a 24 hour deli/store to get toothbrushes, feminine products and makeup.....two things I had to downtown to find a Duane Reed just to get!

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

A little far north but staff was very nice and facilities on the 10th floor were recently updated. A/C in our room was a little slow and loud, but that is really my only complaint. Thank you for offering an affordable place to stay in NYC!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

74%

I think I got more than what I paid for in NYC. I had access to all the facilities at the YMCA, including their studio, swimming pool, and sauna. The room was small but I was only there to sleep. It was close to the subway station and there are a variety of restaurants around too. The staffs were helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love to hear when our guests get a change to enjoy the included amenities that we offer with your stay. Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

100%

I didnt stay here I changed to other place.


91%

Friendly staff, Security which was great. If you're a fan of Harlem (it's history, people and culture) this hostel is tucked in the right spot. Convenient too (subway and stores all within walking distance)

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay and visited our historic sites. We look forward to your next visit with us! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

77%

The staff in this hostel was the most friendly, helpful and warm staff I have ever encountered. The service was really top notch! The facilities, however, could use major improvements. Restrooms were too few, and not very good. Rooms were very, very tiny and with poor acoustic isolation.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking time to give us feedback! and are happy that you had a good experience with us. We have been and continue to make improvements to insure our guest have an overall fabulous experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, to see the changes! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback