X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Harlem YMCA Reviews

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1120 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Near 165th Tube station. The staff are really nice. The only problem is that there is only one bathroom for 20 rooms!


66%

Bathroom situation for women is weird. One toilet and shower on the 11th floor and all the restrooms on the 10th floor are being renovated so no toilets or showers at this time. We are allowed to use the gym's toilets and showers on the second floor at least, but it's just a bit of a hassle. Also, if you get a room on the "short hall" near the elevators and the stairway door, people are slamming that door shut all night long. Otherwise it would have been a good stay.


86%

A great place for a budget stay in NYC! Close to the subway.


77%

Really nice staff but would be good if more activities (e.g. tours/ nights out) were organised by the hostel


86%

It was nice to be able to use the gym as well as the showers there.


100%

Super location for getting subways and busses all over manhattan. The room was bright and clean-very simple with bunk beds and hard floors. If there is a wait for the one private women's bathroom on 7 or 11, just go to the locker room on 2 next to the pool. It's big and bright and has many showers!

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice neighborhood, convenient transportation to museums, very friendly staff and a great value.


83%

it is good place to stay staff are friendly and kind. the cost is ok. the security staff are excellent they can advise when and what need. they aways in place all the timed

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Laos
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel for the money. A little far out for us and no men's showers on our floor.


89%

Good place, organized but don't have informations enough. There are one security rude there.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a good time staying with us. We have added new information binder in each room to assist in activities and places you might want to visit while in NYC. We look foward to having you stay with us again in the future and experiencing the changes and upgrades to our guestrooms. Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

77%

The advantages of Harlem YMCA are price; proximity to subway and bus lines; ability to use the Y gym, pool, sauna and exercise classes. The rooms are clean, dormitory-like with a TV, bunk beds, and fridge. The fridge in my room had a very noisy hum - ok for a very sound sleeper. The women's wash room has not been updated in many years; so despite being clean it still didn't feel fresh. Overall quite adequate for a low maintenance , super budget conscious traveler.

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We have finished with upgrades on 2 of our 3 guetrooms floors, look foward to having you stay with us again and experiencing the changes first hand. Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

74%

I enjoyed stayng there and the staff was nice . The only thing I would say that the cleanliness was por.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy to hear our staff assisted you as needed. We will keep a closer eye regarding the maintenance of our guestrooms. look foward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

91%

The reception staff was awesome! They went the extra mile to make sure my wife and I had the information to make our stay a pleasant one. Sometimes you expect less from an experience then you get much more than you bargained for; that was my overall experience at the Harlem Y. Yes, the rooms are small and you have to share a bathroom, but the place was clean, we got daily room service, and the staff was friendly and courteous.

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look foward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

86%

good location and worth for money in place like Newyork city

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you took advantage of our convenient location. We look foward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

71%

Hostel was near the subway station, only one block walk. Security 24/7. Area wasn't as bad as what you might heard. Toilet and shower were clean ( I stayed in 7th floor). Mattress was horrible to sleep, or even sit on it.

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear R, Thank you for your valuable feedback! We will check the mattress in your room and make sure it is replaced with a more comfortable one. We apologize that you could not have had a more comfortable stay, and hope that you will have another opportunity in the future to stay with us! Thalia Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms Management

57%

The room had only a bed, a refrigerator and a kind of a sideboard. I couldn't hang any clothes in there. So I had to lay my suitcase on top of the refrigerator to safe some space. Because the room had the size of a broom chamber. Having said that I really enjoyed the gym very much with the newest equipment.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear B, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a more comfortable stay, and hope that you will have an opportunity to come back and stay with us again in the future so that we may be able to provide you with a better experience. Our rooms do have some variance in size, and most have closets, and we would be more than happy to place you in a room more suitable to your needs! Kind regards, Thalia Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms Mgmt

1 2 Next » last »
(36 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback