X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Harlem YMCA Reviews

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1149 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

When my friend first refered this hostel I was highly opposed. But the stay here has changed my mind! The staff members were absolutely wonderful! From the security guy to the pool lifeguard....even some of the guests! My only concern is how impossible it was to get forgotten items. For example if the ymca is a 24 hour facility....why not a 24 hour deli/store to get toothbrushes, feminine products and makeup.....two things I had to downtown to find a Duane Reed just to get!

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

A little far north but staff was very nice and facilities on the 10th floor were recently updated. A/C in our room was a little slow and loud, but that is really my only complaint. Thank you for offering an affordable place to stay in NYC!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

74%

I think I got more than what I paid for in NYC. I had access to all the facilities at the YMCA, including their studio, swimming pool, and sauna. The room was small but I was only there to sleep. It was close to the subway station and there are a variety of restaurants around too. The staffs were helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love to hear when our guests get a change to enjoy the included amenities that we offer with your stay. Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

100%

I didnt stay here I changed to other place.


91%

Friendly staff, Security which was great. If you're a fan of Harlem (it's history, people and culture) this hostel is tucked in the right spot. Convenient too (subway and stores all within walking distance)

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay and visited our historic sites. We look forward to your next visit with us! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

77%

The staff in this hostel was the most friendly, helpful and warm staff I have ever encountered. The service was really top notch! The facilities, however, could use major improvements. Restrooms were too few, and not very good. Rooms were very, very tiny and with poor acoustic isolation.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking time to give us feedback! and are happy that you had a good experience with us. We have been and continue to make improvements to insure our guest have an overall fabulous experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future, to see the changes! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

94%

I would recommend this place to anyone. Excellant

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is super exciting to hear we get your thumbs up of approval. We will only be getting better, and we are look forward to you staying with us again! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

97%

We had a great time in the hostel in Harlem. The rooms were clean, friendly, quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will come back!!!!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is exciting to hear the you enjoyed yourself here in Harlem at our hostel. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

97%

This hotel is wonderful!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your feedback is most valuable! We hope to see you again in the near future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

89%

My only complaint is that their are not enough bathrooms for women. There were only 2 bathrooms on 4 floors that I checked. There are long lines in the morning and most other times you still have to wait. I woke up at 3am to use the bathroom and even had to wait at that time. Otherwise, rooms and facilities are perfectly fine.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We do try and inform guest that we also have a Men's and Women's locker room with several showers, to relieve the wait time. We do apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

100%

Amazing one. I enjoyed stayed there.I recommend this for every one look to travel to NYC.my greetings for the nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look foward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

74%

Everything was great except for the bathroom, which was disgusting. The toilet overflowed at least 3 times during my 3 night stay, leaving water and soggy pieces of toilet paper all over the floor. Those same soggy pieces of toilet paper remained on the floor the whole time, leading me to believe the floor was never cleaned. I don't think it's right to expect guests to deal with these conditions. Everything else was awesome and I would stay again as long as it's not on the 7th floor.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking time to give us feedback! and are happy that you had a good experience with us. We will look into the cleanliness of the bathrooms, all of our guest need to have an overall fabulous experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

69%

Near 165th Tube station. The staff are really nice. The only problem is that there is only one bathroom for 20 rooms!


66%

Bathroom situation for women is weird. One toilet and shower on the 11th floor and all the restrooms on the 10th floor are being renovated so no toilets or showers at this time. We are allowed to use the gym's toilets and showers on the second floor at least, but it's just a bit of a hassle. Also, if you get a room on the "short hall" near the elevators and the stairway door, people are slamming that door shut all night long. Otherwise it would have been a good stay.


86%

A great place for a budget stay in NYC! Close to the subway.


77%

Really nice staff but would be good if more activities (e.g. tours/ nights out) were organised by the hostel


86%

It was nice to be able to use the gym as well as the showers there.


100%

Super location for getting subways and busses all over manhattan. The room was bright and clean-very simple with bunk beds and hard floors. If there is a wait for the one private women's bathroom on 7 or 11, just go to the locker room on 2 next to the pool. It's big and bright and has many showers!

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice neighborhood, convenient transportation to museums, very friendly staff and a great value.


83%

it is good place to stay staff are friendly and kind. the cost is ok. the security staff are excellent they can advise when and what need. they aways in place all the timed

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Laos
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(42 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback