X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Harlem YMCA Reviews

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1122 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This hotel is wonderful!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your feedback is most valuable! We hope to see you again in the near future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

89%

My only complaint is that their are not enough bathrooms for women. There were only 2 bathrooms on 4 floors that I checked. There are long lines in the morning and most other times you still have to wait. I woke up at 3am to use the bathroom and even had to wait at that time. Otherwise, rooms and facilities are perfectly fine.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We do try and inform guest that we also have a Men's and Women's locker room with several showers, to relieve the wait time. We do apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

100%

Amazing one. I enjoyed stayed there.I recommend this for every one look to travel to NYC.my greetings for the nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look foward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

74%

Everything was great except for the bathroom, which was disgusting. The toilet overflowed at least 3 times during my 3 night stay, leaving water and soggy pieces of toilet paper all over the floor. Those same soggy pieces of toilet paper remained on the floor the whole time, leading me to believe the floor was never cleaned. I don't think it's right to expect guests to deal with these conditions. Everything else was awesome and I would stay again as long as it's not on the 7th floor.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate you taking time to give us feedback! and are happy that you had a good experience with us. We will look into the cleanliness of the bathrooms, all of our guest need to have an overall fabulous experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

74%

Bon pour un petit séjour à NYC et pas trop cher. Emplacement idéal à la sortie du métro 125th street (carte métro illimitée à 35 $/week). Personnel agréable et serviable. Idéal aussi pour rencontrer d'autres voyageurs ou des locaux au coeur de Harlem. Ne pas trop s'y attarder si vous cherchez le luxe mais correct et propre si vous privilégiez un petit budget pour dormir et posez vos affaires. Sans doute plus compliqué en famille...?

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Near 165th Tube station. The staff are really nice. The only problem is that there is only one bathroom for 20 rooms!


66%

Bathroom situation for women is weird. One toilet and shower on the 11th floor and all the restrooms on the 10th floor are being renovated so no toilets or showers at this time. We are allowed to use the gym's toilets and showers on the second floor at least, but it's just a bit of a hassle. Also, if you get a room on the "short hall" near the elevators and the stairway door, people are slamming that door shut all night long. Otherwise it would have been a good stay.


86%

A great place for a budget stay in NYC! Close to the subway.


77%

Really nice staff but would be good if more activities (e.g. tours/ nights out) were organised by the hostel


86%

It was nice to be able to use the gym as well as the showers there.


100%

Super location for getting subways and busses all over manhattan. The room was bright and clean-very simple with bunk beds and hard floors. If there is a wait for the one private women's bathroom on 7 or 11, just go to the locker room on 2 next to the pool. It's big and bright and has many showers!

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice neighborhood, convenient transportation to museums, very friendly staff and a great value.


71%

O lugar é bom, perto do metro, aprovado pela relação custo beneficio!

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Seria convenienta que la ventana de la habitacion se pudiera abrir para ventilar un poco.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

it is good place to stay staff are friendly and kind. the cost is ok. the security staff are excellent they can advise when and what need. they aways in place all the timed

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Laos
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel for the money. A little far out for us and no men's showers on our floor.


89%

Good place, organized but don't have informations enough. There are one security rude there.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a good time staying with us. We have added new information binder in each room to assist in activities and places you might want to visit while in NYC. We look foward to having you stay with us again in the future and experiencing the changes and upgrades to our guestrooms. Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

71%

Bei der Ankunft wurden wir von netten Mitarbeiter willkommengeheißen und uns wurden alle Fragen beantwortet. Eingeschlossen ist da auch das Securitypersonal. Für den Preis war das Zimmer in Ordnung, auch wenn es klein war, aber man übernachtet ja nur drin. Es wurde in dem Zimmer täglich sauber gemacht. Leider gab es nur wenige Toiletten / Duschen, so dass man es gut timen musste um nicht in Schlange zu stehen. Wir haben uns sicher und gut aufgehoben gefühlt.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The advantages of Harlem YMCA are price; proximity to subway and bus lines; ability to use the Y gym, pool, sauna and exercise classes. The rooms are clean, dormitory-like with a TV, bunk beds, and fridge. The fridge in my room had a very noisy hum - ok for a very sound sleeper. The women's wash room has not been updated in many years; so despite being clean it still didn't feel fresh. Overall quite adequate for a low maintenance , super budget conscious traveler.

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We have finished with upgrades on 2 of our 3 guetrooms floors, look foward to having you stay with us again and experiencing the changes first hand. Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

74%

I enjoyed stayng there and the staff was nice . The only thing I would say that the cleanliness was por.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy to hear our staff assisted you as needed. We will keep a closer eye regarding the maintenance of our guestrooms. look foward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

(44 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback