X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Harlem YMCA Reviews

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1071 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The accomodation is located just two minutes from the red line on the subway, so you can reach Manhatan in a very short time. The neigbourhood doesnt look safe at all, so I wouldn´t recommend this place for women travelling alone. The hostel is clean and well secured. Rooms are small but good enough, with a small fridge, and comfortable beds. There is a gym and a swimming pool to be used by all the guest by free. There is also laundry facilities outside the building but on walking distance

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are happy to hear you got a chance to use the amenities at our hostel and hope you'll have a chance to stay with us again soon!

54%

Positive: 1) We arrived one day later than planned because of a flight cancellation, but the hostel didn't charge us for that first night, which I appreciate. 2) Staff were friendly and helpful. 3) The sheets on our bed were clean. Negative: 1) No cooking facilities in the 'kitchen room' except a microwave. 2) Very old and uncomfortable mattresses; really need replacement. 3) There was a problem with the plumbing, which led to some unpleasant situations (toilets that couldn't be flushed etc.).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We hope you'll have a chance to stay with us again soon!

66%

Wasser wurde in der Nacht ausgestellt. Am Abend duschen, sowie am nächsten Morgen war nicht möglich, geschweige denn ein Toilettengang.

  • 19th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit, um unser Eigentum zu bewerten. Wir entschuldigen uns für die Unannehmlichkeiten, die durch den Sanitär-Problem, das wir hatten verursacht, und hoffen, dass Sie uns in der Zukunft wieder besuchen.

69%

Un très bon emplacement et des gens sympathique, très agréable la salle de sport dans l'auberge. Mais des lits très inconfortable et une connexion mauvaise donc embêtant quand on viens de l'étranger. Le quartier est sympa on découvre une autre partie de New York.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci de prendre le temps d'examiner notre propriété. Nous espérons que vous nous rendrez visite encore à l'avenir!

40%

Absolutely terrible!! It was like a prison with metal doors banging and very clinical. Nothing like the pictures as only a few rooms have been refurbished! The girls bathroom door didn't lock and the boys showers are communal. DON'T stay here its the worst hostel I have ever been in and I have stayed in many around the world. Also quite far away from sights, underground and in a dangerous area. We're meant to stay 5 nights but left after the 1st. Very dirty, smelly rooms and dorms!

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Muy buena ubicación!

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para revisar nuestra propiedad. Esperamos que nos visite de nuevo en el futuro!

74%

Chambre minimaliste, vétuste mais propre. Très peu de douche pour femmes...sauf dans la salle de sport quelques étages en dessous (plus moderne pour le coup) mais ouvertes qu'à certaines heures. Métro vraiment proche et staff sympa.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci de prendre le temps d'examiner notre propriété. Nous espérons que vous nous rendrez visite encore à l'avenir!

77%

There was some problem with the water, so if we we woke up in the middle of the night and had to use the bathroom, we had to use the elevator to get all the way down from 11th floor to the Gym... I do understand that stuff like that can happen, it just was a bit too much... I would have appreciated some refund offer or at least some free breakfast vouchers....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by our plumbing issues. We will send you an email to further assist with this matter.

37%

There was a problem with the water system, so we got to stay 4 days without the chance to take a shower on our floor. One day we managed on another floor, one day in the changing room of the gym downstairs and one day we didn't manage at all. During the weekdays outside the hostel was not really safe (I got a threat). The common spaces are really poor (a table with few chairs and a vending machine) so there was no social atmosphere at all. Wifi was out of reach in our room.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by our plumbing issues. We will send you an email to further assist with this matter.

46%

You should not have customers when you don't have water. Bathrooms were very dirty. You didn't have the minimum sanitary conditions. You should have provided water to your customer. It was disgusting. I hope I don't get sick. I just didn't move out because I was too busy to find another place.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by our plumbing issues. We will send you an email to further assist with this matter.

74%

Checked in after 10pm, staff was very nice. Stayed on the 7th floor in a room with a bunk - space was small but fine for one person. Bed was thin and wobbly, but fine for one night. Lighting was weak. Ladies bathroom/toilet was by the elevator. Surprised there was just the one for the whole floor. Lucky for me that the floor seemed relatively empty; never had to wait to use the toilet/shower (which was together in the same room). Functional, could be cleaner.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope you will visit us again in the future!

1 2 3 Next » last »
(51 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback