X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Harlem YMCA Reviews

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1174 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The Y looks great after the renovation. The free breakfast is a nice welcome. Good team effort. Fantastic swimming pool. It is us, guests from all over the world who speak loudly in the corridors past midnight or decide to party without concern to others. A hostel is only as good as its guests.

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We look forward to having you back soon!

60%

Convenient location, very closed to subway station. Room is very small and only few bathrooms shared among the whole floor.


77%

Just a good place to stay in New York. Nothing more and nothing less. One bathroom for women per floor within a combination of shower and wc means queuing in the morning if you are not willing to change the floor 2nd floor locker-rooms. The staff is perfect and the place itself is safe. Decide yourself if you also feel safe when you are back late in Harlem. Though the distance between subway and YMCA is short I felt a little uncomfortable coming home at night.

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Good hostel - though only 3 floors were for guests, rest had permanent residents. Staff were very friendly and helpful - the free gym and pool were excellent. However, bathrooms were not great & could be cleaner. Location was average, but close to a subway station which was a bonus, the area (Harlem) felt slightly intimidating at night/ early morning.


89%

Bathroom steel doors in Floor 10 sag and hit the frames upon closing, making loud thumping noises constantly heard throughout the floor; as an architect, I suggest replacing door hinges with new ball-bearing units and adding standard rubber silencers to the steel door frames. Also, the worn door hardware is prone to lockups, my wife witnessed a guest banging on the door from the inside of a bathroom, she was trapped. Our room did not look as nice as the photo on your website.

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the valuable feedback. We will be sure to share your suggestions with our property manager and hope to implement the changes you suggested! We are sorry that the room was not up to expectations, we are still in the process of completing room renovations on two of our other floors and hope that work will be completed before the end of next year. Sincerely, Thalia, Guest Rooms Director

83%

I stayed 5 nights in a single room in Harlem YMCA. Richard and his team are very kind and professional. There is good access to public transport like bus and subway downtown. First night you receive a breakfast voucher for free. The place is very clean and safe and imaginably not luxurious with a two floor bed and shared bathrooms. But on the other hand there is a well equipped gym, a 20 meter pool, a steam bath and sauna included in the price, which is top value for money in Manhattan.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The beds in the room that was given to me were not made, so they had to move me to another room.

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel needs some more women toilets and bathrooms. And a drinks machine at the common room!! Everything else was perfect!!


63%

The Y is located in harlem, so only a short subway ride into the touristy parts of Manhattan. It's in a slightly dodgy area, but how much it affects you will be based on what kind of person you are. I thought it was fine, my boyfriend, not so much. There are no way near enough toilets and showers to meet the needs of all the occupants and given how long girls take in the sfhower, you will always have to wait or traipse through the gym to the change rooms.


63%

Friendly staff, soviet rooms

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

It was the cheapest we could find on manhattan, but this has a price: it is in harlem. It is a poor area, a lot of misery. It is not that i felt unsafe, it just hits one's soul. Police is nearby and also a hospital (which makes some noise in the night - bring earplugs!). The rooms were tiny, a bunk bed, with clean linens and pillows, our floor was dirty with stains and we had only one cupboard. The rooms are very old, the shower too. But were cleaned every day.


100%

Brilliant coming back! Thx(:

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Had a nice stay. Althoughwith the YMCA being such a big Institution, it was rather unpersonal experience. More of a hotel than a hostel.


97%

I can definitely recommend Harlem YMCA Hostel because they are professional. The room was clean, bathrooms and corridors are kept in an order, you have access to the elevator, fitness club, gym, swimming-pool, free wi-fi, vending machines and TV room. You have everything you need in one place. The Hostel is located in a safe area. The subway is very close and it takes 20 minutes to get to the Times Square. Big plus for no taxes! This hostel have made a good impression on me.


83%

I stayed at the YMCA hostel from Sep 10-16, 2013 and did not have any real disappointment to speak of. Room was small, but you're in new york you shouldn't be in the room that much anyway. Security was good, bathroom was okay, only two shower heads and one didn't work that well, so i went down to the mens locker room and showered there. The two best things were the elevator and the subway about two blocks from the Y's entrance. Its a 15 min train ride to the city. All in all not a bad stay.

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Half block away from metro station, very handy with getting about town. Area fine. Free breakfast in near by cafe for one morning of your stay. Toilets are not the best, only 3 of the 11 floors have toilets/showers, some are unisex, most are men's, and a few ladies. So quite often a queue even to just use the toilet. Kitchenette had sink and microwave but no utensils etc.


63%

Worst hostel ever. ONE ladies bathroom for the WHOLE floor with shower and toilet in the same room. Bathrooms always flooded and drains covered with hair. Disgusting!! Also, the rooms are tiny and there's only two outlets in the whole room that are already used for fridge

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear A, We are very sorry that you had such a negative experience during your stay with us! Please know that we will be relaying your feedback to our housekeeping supervisor, and as we renovate our rooms we will look at options for additional outlets. We hope that when you checked in you received our welcome information that stated where additional restrooms and showers could be found on the adjacent floors and in our fitness center. Sincerely, Thalia Harlem Y Guest Rooms Director

89%

I state that "Facilities" were "very poor" because the water was unexpectedly shut off on two days, in addition to one announced day. I had to go to an evening show without showering after a hot workout. Also, on a fourth day, the toilets on my floor would not flush.


94%

Clean, quiet, great view, minutes walk from subway. Great gym, class and steam/ sauna. Local soul food. Friendly staff.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

there was a big problem with water, rest rooms were disguting because of it.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(640 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback