X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Harlem YMCA Reviews

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1142 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Still waiting for a refund. Two weeks later.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Not even close to what the pictures online suggest. It was really dirty with plastic matresses and old AC plus only one shower for 39 rooms? Plus it was really small, barely could open our luggage in the room...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! we continue to make changes based on your reviews. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

83%

I WASNT SURE IF I WAS SUPPOSE TO NOT HAVE A REMOTE CONTROL FOR TV. THAT WAS THE ONLY THING AWRY..

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! we apologize for that oversight with the remote, they are normally in the room but we always have spares at the front desk. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

86%

il manque un endroit collectif pour manger ou autre


77%

Super friendly staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Its always super exciting when someone shouts out our friendly staff, Thank you for your valuable feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

83%

l auberge s est améliorée et modernisée depuis ma première visite il y a quelques années.


89%

don't worry about safety!It is good!nothing was stolen!but we need more restroom lol

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

83%

Très bonne auberge. Personnel agréable et arrangeant. Excellent rapport qualité prix. A moins de 5 min du métro donc accès facile au centre ville. Harlem est un quartier agréable et plein de vie. On recommande

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly and helpful staff. Considering how many people shared the bathrooms on our floor - they were kept relatively clean. It was a bonus feature having a tv in the room as well. Good view out of the window at the Manhattan skyline. Close to the subway station which was very handy!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are excited to hear that you found your stay convenient, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

89%

Close to the subway. The 10th floor is the ONLY floor that has been renovated, total of (4) bathrooms on this floor, new wall tile, sink, toilet and shower. 11th floor has (2) bathrooms and the 7th floor has (1) bathroom, which is out of order until Aug 1st. Really need more bathrooms. Good value for the money, if you don't mind waiting to use the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! we are glad you noticed the changes made to our guest rooms floor, we continue to make changes based on your reviews. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

100%

good price


94%

Merci pour votre accueil toujours en sourire, votre disponibilité, et la propreté que vous avez accordé à l'hôtel

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

New onsite cafe: it's good to have something, but it's quite limited. Only packaged foods. For example, no bagels. And its hours are limited. The "deluxe" floors have very nice rooms. Only 3 bathrooms, however, each for a single person, which is a traffic jam in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

80%

Chambre très propre mais salle de bain commune laisse a désirer toujours plein des cheveux dans la douche pas toujours du papier toilettes a disposition .

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Hébergement très bon marché pour New York et plutôt bien situé dans Harlem à 5 min à pied du Métro. Idéal pour visiter la ville sans dépenser tout son argent dans l'hébergement. Cependant oubliez l'atmosphère conviviale d'une auberge de jeunesse, cela plus ressemble plus à un hôtel de l'Ex-URSS. Les chambres sont petites mais propres et possèdent la climatisation.


80%

I took a tube to 135th Street YMCA was right there, just 20 mins from Times square. I went on the front desk and I told them about the booking to which a guy in security said "its not confirmed and the booking is no more." And then he smiled, looking at my reaction and gave me a warm YMCA welcome. The people are awesome. YMCA has amazaing facilities and the air is young. Did not see any families but I am sure YMCA is welcoming. My AC was making noise so they switched my room, no questions asked.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are always excited to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves. Thank you for your valuable feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! We will continue to keep it fun for you. Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

83%

Good clean hostel right near a metro station so easy to get in and out of the centre!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear you got a chance to take advantage of our convenient location. Thank you for your valuable feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

100%

Great service from staff !

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our staff is always happy to help and we love to hear that you noticed our upbeat vibe and joy to help you.Thank you for your valuable feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

74%

Harlem is a black neighborhood but I generally felt comfortable there even with blonde hair and blue eyes. My "single room" had a bunk; but I had it to myself. Bar fridge too! Bathrooms were a problem. There was only one male bathroom for the floor. The only two showers are in a single room. You can lock the door but it has a big window in it. Poor privacy. Also only two toilets, and never once did both toilets have toilet paper; sometimes neither! Cafeteria had awkward prepaid card system.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are glad you felt comfortable in our diverse neighborhood of Harlem,NY. It is unfortunate that you could not locate the woman's restroom which we have on each of our guestrooms floors. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

94%

Harlem ymca is a good place .The rooms are clean A/C work and the TV work good.The Harlem YMCA is a good place to go when you come to New York City.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback