X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Harlem YMCA Reviews

180 West 135th Street, NY 10030, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1151 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

При заселении требовали заплатить в 2 раза больше, чем в ваучере, пришлось разбираться. Трансфера в аэропорт нет, только такси за 60 $. Чисто!!! В целом, если не обращать внимание на безграмотность персонала, то жить можно. Бассейном, тренажеркой, саунами и кафе со скидкой не пользовалась. Вечером на улицу выходить страшновато.


83%

Had an amazing time ! Not so much for people looking for friends to go out with but gym is great and staff excellent and keen to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate the feedback. Its awesome that you got a chance to use out amenities. Our staff anticipate your next visit with us. -Stephanie Harlem Guest Rooms

91%

We had a very pleasant stay at the Y and can only recommend it! One little thing that could be improved: bars or hooks or sth. to hang towels and clothes in the bathrooms and places to put the soap in the showers.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you had a great time at our hostel. We will look into adding those hooks. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope you will be back to see the improvements we will be making. -Guestrooms

91%

I love the place. For sure im going back because for me this place is safe to stay, its clean, plus near to subway and of course w friendly staff. They have gym, pool and free sauna too. The amount that i paid is not expensive compare to the other hostel,so what can i ask for?

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you found our hostel convenient and its awesome you got chance to use the amenities. We look forward to having you back with us in the future. Thank You for your feedback!

89%

The Y is a great place to stay. Naturally the kind of people staying there is not just your general hostelling crowd. There are long-term residents, and everybody can access all floors. We stayed for 4 nights, and never had any issues with anybody: tourists or residents. You got everything you need, though the rooms are tiny. Great location, easy subway/bus access, lots of food places, always felt safe. I recommend it!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your feedback is most appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our divers population. We will see you again on your next visit : )

71%

Everything was good except for the cleanliness. The bathrooms and the room wasn't as clean as I hoped it would be. Other than that: Great Hostel!

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You for your feedback it is most appreciated. We are happy your overall stay was pleasant but do accept our apologies about the cleanliness that is something that will be addressed before your next visit, see you then : )

77%

Ein nettes Hostel überhält Manhattan. Die Metro Station ist nich weit entfernt und kleine Supermärkte, Subway, McDonald's auch in unmittelbarer Nähe! Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und hilft bei allen Angelegenheiten. Das gebäude wird am Empfang von Sicherheitspersonal bewacht und man muss immer seine zimmerkarte vorzeigen. Die Zimmer sind sehr klein, aber völlig ausreichend, da man dort ja meist eh nur nachts zum schlafen ist. Leider kein wlan Empfang mehr auf dem Zimmer. Wir waren zufrieden.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

I have always thought that coffee early in the morning is a fundamental human right. I was astonished to find a well set up coffee bar which was not open until 9 in the morning! If I can swim at 6 in the morning, and then need to wait over two hours for coffee, I am in a very bad mood. Maybe it is just my age.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You for your feedback. We find that most of guests and members do not frequent our Cafe before 9am. But thanks to our convenience of our location there is a store on the corner of our facility that opens at 6am. We hope the entirety of your stay was pleasant and we will see you on your next visit.

57%

Not even close to what the pictures online suggest. It was really dirty with plastic matresses and old AC plus only one shower for 39 rooms? Plus it was really small, barely could open our luggage in the room...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! we continue to make changes based on your reviews. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

83%

I WASNT SURE IF I WAS SUPPOSE TO NOT HAVE A REMOTE CONTROL FOR TV. THAT WAS THE ONLY THING AWRY..

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! we apologize for that oversight with the remote, they are normally in the room but we always have spares at the front desk. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

86%

il manque un endroit collectif pour manger ou autre


77%

Super friendly staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Its always super exciting when someone shouts out our friendly staff, Thank you for your valuable feedback! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

83%

l auberge s est améliorée et modernisée depuis ma première visite il y a quelques années.


89%

don't worry about safety!It is good!nothing was stolen!but we need more restroom lol

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

83%

Très bonne auberge. Personnel agréable et arrangeant. Excellent rapport qualité prix. A moins de 5 min du métro donc accès facile au centre ville. Harlem est un quartier agréable et plein de vie. On recommande

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Friendly and helpful staff. Considering how many people shared the bathrooms on our floor - they were kept relatively clean. It was a bonus feature having a tv in the room as well. Good view out of the window at the Manhattan skyline. Close to the subway station which was very handy!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are excited to hear that you found your stay convenient, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

89%

Close to the subway. The 10th floor is the ONLY floor that has been renovated, total of (4) bathrooms on this floor, new wall tile, sink, toilet and shower. 11th floor has (2) bathrooms and the 7th floor has (1) bathroom, which is out of order until Aug 1st. Really need more bathrooms. Good value for the money, if you don't mind waiting to use the bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! we are glad you noticed the changes made to our guest rooms floor, we continue to make changes based on your reviews. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

100%

good price


94%

Merci pour votre accueil toujours en sourire, votre disponibilité, et la propreté que vous avez accordé à l'hôtel

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

New onsite cafe: it's good to have something, but it's quite limited. Only packaged foods. For example, no bagels. And its hours are limited. The "deluxe" floors have very nice rooms. Only 3 bathrooms, however, each for a single person, which is a traffic jam in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are happy that you had a great experience with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Stephanie Harlem YMCA Guest Rooms

« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback