Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Harmonia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
10.0

awesome staff who gives good recommendations! feel as if you have been their friend for a long time : ) good atmosphere, very easy to make friends. visited all my blocos with the people from my room! had a great weekend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kristelflores
  • Philippines, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Feb 2017
10.0

Met a lot of wonderful people. The owners are very warm, welcoming and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
10.0

Absolutely terrific! I loved every moment of it. The operators were very accomodating, warm and generous, always willing to assist and provide advice. Couldn't have asked for another place that felt so much like home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Great Hostel! Accomodates only 18 people which gives a more secure feeling and you get to know everybody in just one day. The staff members are able to create a great atmosphere! They suggested great daytrips to me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
9.4

Very good hostel, in a nice quite road just off from Rua Barao da Torre. There staff would be there during the day and there would be someone in the evening to open the door to you at all hours. Everyone is really friendly and always willing to help you with directions around Rio, places to go out, eat etc... Tip would be to request a room with a/c when booking in high season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
8.9

I had a very enjoyable stay at this hostel. The staff were brilliant, in particular Chris who makes a genuine effort to make you feel very welcome and comfortable. This is certainly not a party hostel, but rather the perfect stay if you are looking for a friendly laid-back atmosphere. Rooms and facilities are basic but very clean. Considering the brilliant location (a few minutes from Ipanema beach), this hostel offers very good value for money. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.6

The host, Chris, is really helpful and treats the guests at the hostel like guests at his own home. His practical travel tips saved me a lot of time and ensured that I got to the sights at the optimal times of the day - I would stay at Harmonia again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

I stayed at Harmonia in January 2017. The location is ideal, being 3 blocks from Ipanema Beach. Chris and Saskia were amazing hosts always helpful and friendly. I had a major flight issue and Chris helped me out by inviting me to return and I did so for the day. Definitely highly recommended from my experience. Oh and waking distance of pubs and great restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
9.1

Overall, really awesome hostel. Saskia was SUPER helpful with tips on where to go and what to do at night. Something extremely, extremely important to note is that Rio stays extremely hot even at night time in the summer. Harmonia has 1 of its bedrooms without AC (but the non-AC room has fans but they don't do much). So if you are uncomfortable sleeping in extremely high heat (say 35 degrees celsius or so) make ABSOLUTELY SURE you are in one of the hostel's air conditioned room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
6.3

Well located and secure but the place is quite small, and the rooms are very cramped when full without much place to put your stuff. Small common area too that fills up very quickly. Breakfast is late starting which is not good for early starters.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.