Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.0
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham Located at 92/95 Livery Street, , Birmingham.
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham
England
Birmingham B3 1RJ 92/95 Livery Street
78% 1992
52.4862299 -1.9041967
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.0

laundry faculties need a proper cleaning; make sure you remove the dust in the rooms Staff was generally nice but when I checked in the customer service was not very welcoming, seemed like the person did not like its job

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tiiamarilaine2174
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel! Location was good, only 10-15 minutes to the center. Breakfast was included. Rooms were clean and really nice. Atmosphere was relaxed and nice. :) i would stay again for sure!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the nice review. We're glad you had a good time at Hatters Birmingham and we hope to see you again in the future!

16th Jul 2016
4.3

Worst hostel stay I've had! Reservation screwed up at check in. Staff clueless! This as a general theme! Staff were awful. 12 bed dorm cramped. Ensuite toilet/shower filthy. Trash from previous guests left in room for 3 days, staff ignored! Wifi ok. Breakfast was fine. The worst was the sweltering conditions in the dorm. Inside room with one small window to the courtyard. Pleas to the staff were ignored. Loudest complainers got better rooms. The rest of us just suffered! Would never recommend!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
8.9

Very laid back but offered plenty to do if people needed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
7.4

I was very disappointed with the bathroom facilities in the 12 room dorm - only 1 toilet and not even closeted! There were no other options to go to the bathroom, other than next to the kitchen. Overall didn't rate the shower and bathroom facilities at all, especially given the size of the place! Someone helped themselves to my food! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the other facilities - kitchen, rec room, wi-fi were all top notch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
10.0

The place was great, an absolute gem. Nicely decorated, not too fussy but clean and functional. The staff were incredibly helpful and accomodating. The room I was booked into had a very very smelly guest but the staff was really understanding and managed to swap me to another dormitory. The free breakfast was great but a less sugary 'healthy' muesli and some fresh fruit would be much appreciated. But can't complain! Highly recommend The Church pub for dinner. Absolutely delicious!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
9.1

The breakfast wasn't great and the water on the showers was extremly hot. Other than that, great staff, clean rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2016
10.0

Second time at this hostel, this time in a private room which I loved. Clean, towels provided and I really appreciated the little details like the bottles of water and the biscuits on the bedside tables. Great atmosphere as always, helpful staff. Best hostel, definitely staying here again whenever I come back to Birmingham. Thank you guys, keep up the good work :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the good review. We know details can make the difference and we're happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon for an even better third stay!

  • bergy24583415
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
7.1

Reception was not particularly friendly. Breakfast was nice, bathrooms were clean. My room did not really have a fair distribution of power sockets and some were broken anyway, so you may have to charge in the common areas. Staff do coordinate some social events but atmosphere was largely lacking. Good price and good location. Would stay again, but not stellar by any means.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
7.4

A nice hostel, a bit out of the way. If you book into a smaller room and want extra privacy and less noise, see if there are any NOT in the sleeper. Granted there was only 4 bunks per room, but no door to block noise from the corridor and other rooms. Just a heads up!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.