Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2159 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
5.7

the staff at hatters were less than helpful when asking where anything was. I got a grunt and a point as directions. the reception has been updated but the so called up dated sleepers were less than impressive, all but one had a curtain to it. the space between the bunks was only enough to walk through and there was no door of anything kind to separate the pods as the old one had a saloon door which gave it more privacy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
5.1

Rooms were clean and tidy, easy access to cheap parking, staff were friendly and some what helpful (just don't ask them for any change for parking) however the beds were terrible. Stayed in a 4 bed bunk room with friends, 3 of the bed supports under the mattresses were that badly sunk that we could only sleep on one end of the bed as there was a metal bar running under the middle of the mattress. Definitely something the hostel needs to sort out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
2.6

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights with 4 friends. The hostel is a clean place but the staff are so rude and no way helpful at all. I wouldn't recommend this accommodation at all. Checking in was a nightmare due to the receptionist being extremely ignorant which made us feel so unwelcome. Any time we walked into the hostel the receptionist wouldn't even speak/greet us. The facilities in the hostel were terrible, most were out of order. We will definitely not be returning to this kip.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
8.9

Nice hostel. Basic and clean. Friendly staff. My room had 4 bunk beds tightly packed into a small room. Not much space to store anything other than a small locker. Bathroom was very clean and had soap/bodywash/shampoo provided. Free breakfast was cereal and toast…nothing fancy. You do your own dishes. Location was a medium walk from the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
4.6

Stayed in the 24 bed dorm. Its an entire floor that has small areas off the hallway/open space with 4 beds in each. Each bed has a curtain, small locker, light and power socket. Only one light worked in the toilets down stairs and the floor was very dirty. Out of 4 showers 2 didnt lock and all 4 were pretty gross. Its a bit of a walk from the main train station as well but fairly easy

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
6.3

The place is not very clean (bathrooms, toilets, under the beds, carpet etc). Thankfully, the kitchen and dining area are clean. It is a fun place with daily activities planned for the evening (like bar crawls etc). Just the place needs to be cleaner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
7.4

I do not need a discussion about religion from front desk for 15+ minutes when I check in at 4 am. I just want to sleep. Building kept rumbling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.0

Clean room, large and clean bathroom. I stayed in 6 bed female dorm and they have number in each bed, which is good and fair i think. When i came around 7 pm the room is a little bit cold, but around 10-11 pm i thought the heater was turned on as the room getting warmer and made every body comfortable to sleep. They also have nice breakfast (cereal, bread and jam, juice; considering you only pay a low price i think this is a big advantage). The only down i think they have very little power plug.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
2.0

Staff over charged me at check in. Claiming the Hostelworld deposit was just a service fee and I owed the full amount. Not acceptable. The heater didn't work. It was winter and freezing outside and inside. Hard to sleep in the cold. The beds are really comfy and private which is a huge plus. The free dinner night didn't happen. The bathrooms are bad, it is confusing after walking from beautiful new bedrooms into old mouldy bathrooms... it's like they ran out of money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Staff were very friendly and the facilities were great. Pretty comfortable, great value for price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.