Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 2241 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 2241 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jun 2017
6.3

positive: good location, very good breakfast (ham, cheese, cereal, coffee, etc.) negative or areas of improvement: the lockers have that weird lock which I couldn't make my lock work, if you talk in the room, every room can hear it, music is always on at kitchen, at front desk, kitchen was really unclean- tables in kitchen area were always dirty even at breakfast time. Summary: C average hostel, but the city really isn't the greatest for tourists.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.7

It's excellent except for other guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
6.9

Time and time again, facilities and security seem to always be a hostel's biggest set back. There isn't a single locker in any of the rooms, and they even failed to supply the bathrooms with toilet paper. Other than that, everything was fine, but I tell ya, no toilet paper in a bathroom can be a serious bummer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mark73bigboy8180
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jun 2017
8.6

Whatever could go wrong did this time. Firstly the key card for the door didn't work,then there wasn't a duvet on my allocated bed-which had to be sourced from another bed-and to add insult to injury I had to climb up the SIDE of the bunk bed as opposed to stairs. These things happen to everyone I guess....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
6.3

I enjoyed my stay, it was a new experience for me I never spent a night in dormitory before, I like it. The only problem is that I thought that the bathroom was left a little bit dirty or without taking care of, when from 4 to 20 people are using the same bathroom you need more care and attention to it. But the next day I find the bathroom at the same state. It's a shame.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th May 2017
8.0

A decent backpacker in a decent location. Having secure storage for backpacks would be nice, and a mattress witha little more foam! Otherwise good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
9.1

In a good location. I had a good experience staying at the hostel and would consider it one of the better ones. It was quiet as it was a Sunday night and I wasn't really after a party. The check-in was easy and fast and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The guy on the night shift was so helpful that he swapped my booked top bunk for the bottom bed when I asked. I would say take your own pad lock for the lockers in the room as there were non and needed to lock away mt passport etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
26th May 2017
8.6

Good hostel stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jrunnalls19
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th May 2017
2.0

It's a joke of a place but not a bad price I guess.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
8.9

Very good facilities and excellent value for money. The staff are also very good as well and they give very friendly and polite service, making the guest feel at home as soon as they arrive at the hostel. The location is slightly away from Birmingham City Centre, but the transport links including buses and trams are very good though. The dormitories could be doing with more ventilation though, as they can get a bit stuffy at night. The pod style beds with sockets and lights are very good as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi John, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are pleased to know that, in a overall perspective, you enjoyed your experience here in our hostel. Hope to see you again! Best regards, Hatters Hostel Team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.