Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2,031 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2,031 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.9
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham Located at 92/95 Livery Street, , Birmingham.
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham
England
Birmingham B3 1RJ 92/95 Livery Street
78% 2031
52.4862299 -1.9041967
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.1

convenient location , good for the money .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.1

Booked an early 6am bus from Birmingham so needed a place to stay for the night. This was a cheap place to stay and actually quite nice providing good value for money. Stayed in a 24 bed dorm which wasn't as intimidating as it sounds as the beds are divided into 6 sections of 4 beds so you do have a bit of privacy. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.7

Quite good place. Nice that there is a shower for each room. It turned out to be enough for 6 people. I didn't like that it was too hot there and the staff didn't even know how to open the window. Plus there was only 2 plugs so be prepared that you won't be able to charge your phone. I had to do that on the kitchen. The location is pretty good - you don't need a bus to get to the train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
7.4

Stayed in room 101 for three nights, on one occasion I returned to the dorm to find that the door wasn't closed properly by the people who had been cleaning the room plus others staying in the room kept leaving it unlocked because there was a problem where it was sticking slightly and needed to be almost slammed shut. In addition to this there was a lot of noise both in and around the room from both upstairs rooms and outside or in buildings next door where it seemed like there was drilling.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.0

As a hostel, it does what it says. Twin room I booked was secure, spacious with a tidy shower and toilet provided. TV provided was modern and adequate if thats what you wanted. There were some very slight noise problems encountered, that being the seagulls squawking away early morning and the quite busy rail lines over the street. I found walking to and from the city centre during daylight hours no problem; no intimidation from locals or motorists in comparison to some other places.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.9

Bit of a hike from the bus station. Great kitchen/dining hall area. Staff were great and really helpful. I stayed in the 6-bed girls dorm it was a SAUNA - no ventilation in dorm as windows don't open - all 3 blinds were broken and need replacing and there wasn't enough power outlets. Having stayed at Manchester Hatters, the free dinner here in comparison was DISGUSTING (flavorless white rice with frozen vegies thrown in??)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Aug 2016
6.6

The hostel was fine, as a solo female traveller I felt safe in the area. The rooms were the biggest problem. The room smelt awful. In a 12 bed mixed dorm with ensuite the bathroom wasn't cleaned in the four days I was there and the smell wafted into the sleeping space. The room also had a damp and musty smell. There also weren't enough power points in the rooms. The kitchen was average as well - only a stove top and a microwave, not even a kettle. Not a very social hostel. Good security.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the comments glad to hear you felt safe in the area as we know important that is to solo travelling guests. All rooms are cleaned and refreshed each day even if there are no departures - i will look into that room straight away. We also have week night activities for our guests which help create a nice social atmosphere so always good to give this a go whether its our games night or karaoke. We hope to see you again on your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.9

The hostel great value for money which includes breakfast. Downside the room I slept in had no fan to get some air into the room. But apart from that the place is a great location 5mins to StPauls Square and 10 mins walk to The town centre. Or get the tram. Would stop there again I like ambience of the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comments - we have some portable fans which we can put into the rooms - best advice to to ask at reception and we will do all we can to make everything as comfortable as possible for you. But you're right we have a great location next to the buzz of the city centre but in the nice retreat of leafy St Paul's Square. Hope you pass by again soon!

9th Aug 2016
9.1

This hostel is great! The staff was so friendly and accommodating. They have events going on every day of the week so we can get to know fellow travelers! This place made Birmingham much more enjoyable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
9.1

Stayed for a night in the 6 bed female form, nice secured card access dorm with lockers for your valueables (if you bring a lock for them). Fresh clean bedding was provided. Location is also great, 20 mins walk from town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, great to see you liked the hostel and felt safe, we know its very important to our guests and is a priority to us. Next time you come we will show you a quicker way into the city centre - our staff know all the quick routes.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.