Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Apr 2017
7.1

Great hostel, with a very nice and helpful staff. The only bad point is that the bathroom needs refurbishement.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
5.7

We were turned away from checking in as arranged for at noon as room not ready. On entry in evening room was very dusty (bedside tables and other easily visible surfaces). Floor unvacuumed and body hairs in bed and shower. A few cobwebs in room. Not good value for room with that level of filth.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Neil, Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry for any inconvenience from our part and we will take into consideration your comments in order to improve the hostel! We hope to see you again! Best regards, Hatters Hostel Team.

9th Apr 2017
5.7

Filfthy place, in a bad location, with uncomfortable beds. Good value for money...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Fabio, Thank you so much for your feedback! Regarding the bad aspects of your stay, we are sorry for any inconvenience and we will take your comment in consideration in order to do our best to improve them. We hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Hatters Hostel Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
3.7

DIRTY, UNHYGIENIC

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
5.7

Lovely staff, but the hostel was very dirty and smelly! Therefore I wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Emma, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are sorry for any inconvenience from our part and we will take into consideration your comments in order to improve the hostel! Best regards, Hatters Hostel Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
2.0

I booked this hostel online and turned up to discover that my room had been given out to someone else and there was in fact no booking communication between hostel world and the hostel themselves thus leaving myself and my friend in an accommodation predicament at 8pm in Birmingham. We were forced to overspend on a last minute hotel room as there was 'no room at the inn'. Not impressed at all by hostel world and this muck up.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
5.1

We booked a four bedroom dorm and when we arrived we're put in a 24 bedroom dorm. We received no apology from staff and were simply told it wasn't their fault and there wasn't anything they could do about it. The bathroom was disgusting and unusable. It looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks and had hair and dust everywhere. There was also dust and rubbish under our bunk beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
6.0

I stayed one night, came to hostel at 1330, wasn't able to leave my bag in a safe place. I told them I would be back until the early hours of the morning and when I did get back there was no bedding and no one in reception to quickly help, also when I checked out again no one was around or help, so I just left room key behind desk and left

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are pleased to know that, in a overall perspective, you have enjoyed your experience in our hostel. About the bad aspects of your stay, we will keep it in consideration in order to improve our customer service! We hope to see you again in the future! Best regards, Hatters Hostel Team.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
10.0

nice hostel...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you so much for your amazing feedback! We are glad you enjoyed staying with us here in the hostel. Hope to see you soon again! Many thanks, Hatters Hostel Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
6.6

Nice place in a good location but the service was pretty poor and our room didn't have lockers when supposedly every room has lockers. Fine for a short stay if you're not in a hurry as the staff appeared to be part of the furnishing at times.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Michael, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are sorry for any inconvenience from our part and we will take into consideration your comments in order to improve the hostel! We hope to see you again! Best regards, Hatters Hostel Team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.