Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2,062 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2,062 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham Located at 92/95 Livery Street, , Birmingham.
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham
England
Birmingham B3 1RJ 92/95 Livery Street
77% 2062
52.4862299 -1.9041967
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.0

It is a really nice place to stay and the staff are all really nice people. The only downside is that it's not the cleanest place to stay, but it is still good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the comments. We're glad to hear that you liked the place and our staff. We work hard to offer the best service to our guests and we always recommend to inform the nice people on reception of any problem with the rooms to make your stay a perfect one! We hope to see you again soon

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Sep 2016
7.7

This place was great to stay at and very clean but there was never anyone at the front desk and you always had to wait at least 5 minutes before someone showed up. When we checked out we just had to leave a note because no one came and we couldn't wait any longer. Also washing machine was broken but not alternative suggestions

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the comments, love to see you enjoyed your stay. Sorry with regards to the washing machine we have had an engineer straight out to it. Next time you come round on your travels you will not have to wait at reception that's a promise! Happy Travels!

12th Sep 2016
5.4

The bedrooms smelled like raw sewage and the sheets had yellow stains on them. The staff were okay but that sewage smell was my biggest issue

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Any issues during your 5 night stay I would always recommend raising to reception immediately so that we can offer an alternative or take corrective measure. We want everyone to leave us happy. I can assure you none of our rooms have any or smell of raw sewage, all of our linen is supplied by a reputable company and closely checked. I am sorry it did not live up to expectations. If you would like to discuss these concerns further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Birmingham@hattersgroup.com. All the best and happy travels.

11th Sep 2016
7.7

So much better than Liverpool Hatters and that's coming from a scouser! Look at my review or trip adviser for more information :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • gtrinity
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
9.1

Stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm but it was sperated into two spaces with four bed so not squished at all. I liked how they had events nights and a very well equipped kitchen. The one thing is they have an outside yard for smokers but the door is always open to that area and the smell permeates the rest of the hostel or if you are sitting in the front near reception it wafts in the windows. I didnt have a problem in the room though. Very clean and wecoming enviroment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
10.0

Hatters Hostel in Birmingham is BRILLIANT. I can recommend it 100%. Clean, warm, great facilities, clean sheets, excellent company. For £10 it was just the best accommodation possible. Well done to all the staff who run hatters. I will return!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you! we think you are brilliant too! I will pass on your comments to all our staff - look forward to seeing you again.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.0

Centrally located hostel with friendly staff and free breakfast. We arrived in the morning on an overnight bus and the staff were very accommodating with storing our luggage for free until check-in. The bathroom layout in the 12-bed dorm was a bit strange but the beds were comfortable. It was also great to play free video games in the lounge after a long day of sightseeing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments, great to hear you liked our chilled vibe down in our communal area, the retro video games, the TV, pool table and other games we have available are a good way to relax after a day of travelling and sight seeing. Be good to see you again if you are passing back through!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.1

convenient location , good for the money .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, great to see you had a great time definitely drop back by if you are travelling in the area again. all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
9.4

The Hostel is quite central and really new. We had a bedroom on the ground floor with two beds and private bathroom. Was really nice and clean. The beds were so comfortable and so cute the fact they leave a bottle of water and some cookies by your bedside. The staff was so kind. The breakfast was ok. You can chose between cornflakes and toast with butter and jam and coffee. They have group activities every day so you won't get bored!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi,, you are right in your comments, you will never get bored here!! Always plenty to do. We are all about have a great time, fun atmosphere and friendly staff on top of the accommodation. It's not just a bed for the night but a fun social experience. Hope we will see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.1

Booked an early 6am bus from Birmingham so needed a place to stay for the night. This was a cheap place to stay and actually quite nice providing good value for money. Stayed in a 24 bed dorm which wasn't as intimidating as it sounds as the beds are divided into 6 sections of 4 beds so you do have a bit of privacy. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the comments, and you're right the 24 bed is actually nice and cosy as it is set into pods of four beds in each section. You get the best of both worlds privacy when you want it and a full on social experience when want to take part. Hope you made the bus ok!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.