Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2,141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2,141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham Located at 92/95 Livery Street, , Birmingham.
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham
England
Birmingham B3 1RJ 92/95 Livery Street
78% 2141
52.4862299 -1.9041967
Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
6.3

The place is not very clean (bathrooms, toilets, under the beds, carpet etc). Thankfully, the kitchen and dining area are clean. It is a fun place with daily activities planned for the evening (like bar crawls etc). Just the place needs to be cleaner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
7.4

I do not need a discussion about religion from front desk for 15+ minutes when I check in at 4 am. I just want to sleep. Building kept rumbling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.0

Clean room, large and clean bathroom. I stayed in 6 bed female dorm and they have number in each bed, which is good and fair i think. When i came around 7 pm the room is a little bit cold, but around 10-11 pm i thought the heater was turned on as the room getting warmer and made every body comfortable to sleep. They also have nice breakfast (cereal, bread and jam, juice; considering you only pay a low price i think this is a big advantage). The only down i think they have very little power plug.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
2.0

Staff over charged me at check in. Claiming the Hostelworld deposit was just a service fee and I owed the full amount. Not acceptable. The heater didn't work. It was winter and freezing outside and inside. Hard to sleep in the cold. The beds are really comfy and private which is a huge plus. The free dinner night didn't happen. The bathrooms are bad, it is confusing after walking from beautiful new bedrooms into old mouldy bathrooms... it's like they ran out of money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Staff were very friendly and the facilities were great. Pretty comfortable, great value for price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.7

First night i stayed, i was not happy as i was so cold i could not sleep + the heating was not on, the receptionist said i could not have a blanket either. The next 3 nights i was moved to a bigger room and it was beautiful and warm. So miffed, but they made up for it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
8.0

Bed a bit uncomfortable , bar running down the middle of it which wasn't great. Not a great common area for socialising. Good location, clean with good wifi and I would recommend Hatters!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
27th Dec 2016
7.7

Above average hostel but nothing special. Breakfast wasn't great and shower took a very long time to heat up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
6.6

There are no noise insulation in the room, and when guest check in late at night its very very noisy. Kitchen is dirty and full of smell, especially the microwave oven, I guess this hasn't been cleaned for month! The juice used in the breakfast tastes with awful smell and feels like out of date stuff. Anyway its ok for the worth considering the "price" in UK, and comparing with Hatter Hostel Manchester its cheaper and a lot better hahaha ;(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
8.0

Pros: great staff, lovely building with nooks and crannies to relax in, nice lobby, nice restaurant, good price. Cons: there was no towel in the room and it wasn't fully cleaned. Most of all, the room was absolutely FREEZING. I had to go to bed in my jumper, trousers and scarf just to get to sleep. The heating should have been on all night in December. I woke up so many times in the night it ruined it for me. It's a real shame as the place is great. Invest in proper heating and insulation!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.