X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham Reviews

92/95 Livery Street, Birmingham, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1485 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Wifi was horrible, but everything else was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we're glad that you had a good time here. Sorry about the patchy wifi but during your stay we were experiencing some router issues, they're all sorted now, see you next time!

54%

Dirty room with large patches of black mold on ceiling and walls. Poor wifi (only accessible in one small corner.


100%

Loved being in the city. Hatters must have been a luxury hotel before becoming a backpackers as our room was incredible.


86%

I recommend this hostel in a large former industrial building. Definitely the better of the two main hostels in Birmingham. Good location just off the City Centre close to the canal system and the Jewellery Quarter. Slightly difficult to find but OK if you follow the directions given. Nice kitchen, dining area and TV/Common Room. Pubs, shops and fast food places nearby. All rooms seem to be “on suite” only downside is that not all have lockers in the room for valuables.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We're glad that you enjoyed your time here. See you next time!

89%

The facilities were perfect. Especially the shower was very nice. I was only there for one night but it seemed that the atmosphere was a little bit dull, especially if you travel alone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us some feedback, we hope to see you next time that you're in Birmingham.

89%

Good hostel to meet people. Staff is engaging for most part and facilities are kept clean. Did a 5 bedroom. Only thing we did have to complain more than once by different people about a broken window in the room before staff took note of it. Ensure u have adapters/towels/coin for laundry before ur stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again. Just a quick note, we do have adaptors and towels(for dorms, they're free for private rooms) to rent at reception and for the laundry you just need to come and buy some tokens fro reception.

60%

It said online, that I booked a "deluxe 4 bed female dorm"... however, in reality it was a 24 mixed dorm which was devided into 4-bed sections to be entered through saloon doors. This meant you actually had to noise level of a 24beds room .. I would have preferred to have known that beforehand!

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great facility indeed. 6 people in a band on tour could not have asked for more. Clean, secure, tidy, helpful staff, near to what was needed in the City Centre. (Y). Large bathroom. Everything was fine.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey guys. Thanks for the great review, next time you're playing in town we'll be only too happy to welcome you back!

97%

Everything was really nicke, the Rooms are spacious and the staff friendly, the included breakfast adds to the good value for money. My only critique point would be, that the wifi availability should be increased at least to the upstairs lounge if not to the whole hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, we're happy that you had such a good time here. Sorry about the patchy wifi during your stay, we were having some router issues but they're all sorted now. See you next time!

94%

I must say ivr stayed in a few hostels around the country, This was by far the best one. A clean kitchen to use with all the conveniences, free breakfast and cameras for added security. The beds also had privacy curtains in case I wished to sleep less modest in a shared dorm. Only thing is lockers are very small amd not enough space to put luggage, but who cares! felt safe none the less. On arrival, reception staff made sure I had my preferred male dorm.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear that you had such a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back!

83%

no lockers for your belongings :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the positive review. Sorry that you missed a locker, we do have rooms with lockers and for those without you are always welcome to store your things in one of our secure luggage rooms.

57%

The directions to find this Hostel were very complicated, and it is virtually unknown , having asked 10 people including a policeman, spent an hour walking around Brum trying to locate it, with the Hostels own directions in my hand! - place was nice, staff not too helpful or communicative.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will take your comments on board.

83%

I just stayed one night in the hostel but would have stayed more. Good location and really friendly staff, and breakfast! In the free walking tour they gave us a free beer and had a crazy night out with the people there. Would definetely recommend it.


91%

One of the cheapest beds you will find in England on the weekend. Birmingham actually has a good party scene if you look around. This hostel was great, staff were incredible (they cooked us a BBQ), facilities where modern and clean. Met other travellers at the hostel and went to a drum and bass gig with them. Everything you could want in a Hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the taking the time to leave a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you will return to stay with us again.

86%

Excellent and professional staff! The hostel is pretty big, yet they run it smoothly! (Great attention to detail, which makes this place stand out). Spacious kitchen and lounge at the loft give out a great view of Birmingham. The only downer seems to be the fact that toilets/showers are only located in the dorms, which mean that there is always a queue in the morning, as there is only one bathroom per room. However, for a British hostel, this stands out in a very positive way!


69%

Most of the guests were friendly but some of them were very noisy and kept others awake. Some people were apparently arriving at 4 o'clock in the morning. I found it difficult to sleep. One group of people were making gratuitous noise at 6 o'clock in the morning. They were talking very loud. I heard a couple arguing late at night. The boards on the floors of the dorms were creaking while people walked on them and this contributed to my disturbed sleep.


83%

We just stayed for a very short night. Good value for money as even breakfast is included... Super helpful staff, nice bars and restaurants in the area, easy walk to city centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michaela, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts, we're glad that you had such a great time and look forward to your return!

86%

Me and my sister had a very pleasant stay at Hatters Hostel - Birmingham. The room (private room) was clean and better than expected and the staff always answered our questions happily and patiently. The location was very good too, as it was within walking distance to the centre and there were more than enough quality pubs and such in the area to enjoy yourself close to 'home'. I would defenitely recommend hatters hostel to friends & family if they were looking for a place to stay in Birmingham.


94%

Great experience at this hostel. Great staff.


89%

Reception staff where fabulous. Out twin ensuite room was clean, comfortable and warm with a bonus TV. We loved this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Myfanwy, Thanks for the great review, we're glad that you were so happy with your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

(72 results)


View all Birmingham Hostels

Please give us your feedback