X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham Reviews

92/95 Livery Street, Birmingham, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1548 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The hostel was really good. Nice living room and kitchen area. The only problem is that there is nothing to do in Birmingham but you can't blame the hostel for that.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Brand new hostel, very expensive for what you get; you have to setup your own sheets, 12pers dorms, basic breakfest...New staff not from the area, hard to get directions and info. It was clean but they are still undergoing construction, so a bit unfinished.


80%

The Hatters in birmingham provided us with a comfortable and very relaxed environment. Our room was clean and had an ensuite bathroom which was well taken care of, it was very handy being able to shower etc in our own room. We were in a 12 bed dorm which was completely empty, and the hostel in general was quiet. This meant the overall atmosphere was a lot calmer than we were expecting, but this was probably because we stayed mid week. Overall a nice hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that you liked our hostel, next time that you come make sure to join in with our newly revamped social activities or if you're really looking for a great night out, stay on a weekend when you can join in our amazing pub crawl!

91%

Lovely, friendly staff at the hostel and plenty of facilities available. The location was a short walk from town and we were able to walk into and out several times during the day.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you next time! regards, Lovely, friendly staff :)

100%

Awesome hostel! Only issue was due to 3 drunk french guys coming in our dorm at 5am and waking everyone in my room, but thats the price i paid for staying in a 12 bed dorm. The rooms are pretty sound proof so no other noise was heard and after they shut up everything was fine. The beds are comfy and everyone seemed really nice. Would deff recommend to a friend.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
As you said the rooms are pretty sound-proof so if you have drunken people (French or otherwise) making noise in your room, make sure to let us know and we'll be happy to sort it out for you! Glad that you enjoyed your time here so much, see you next time!

77%

Hatters Birmingham has changed a lot since the first time I stayed there, the one thing that remains constant is the amazing people you meet. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and regardless what your purpose for staying there, you always feel welcome.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear from someone that has been able to see the hostel evolve, great to hear that the most important thing, the people are still as great as always. See you next time!

86%

Overall a really nice hostel with great common areas at the top of the building. Constructive comments: Bag room was left unlocked and was out of view of the reception desk so technically anyone could walk in and take luggage. Kitchen could be much better equipped, organised and better ventilated. More fridge space needed. The dorms would benefit from curtains/blinds as the sunlight woke a lot of people up The lockers were very small. I would have been happier with larger ones.


89%

Great kitchen. Unusual room set up with separate shower and toilet as part of ensure. No hooks in shower and no door, just a shower curtain.


83%

I loved the hatters and will definitely plan to come back:) The place has got amazing social/communal areas, great kitchen, superb dining space with a breathtaking view and a great TV lounge. However there is still some room for improvement: the fact they had no a/c (which may be understandable in a hostel) was only made worse by the lack of proper windows in the dorms, no lockers and hardly any cupboards to store our belogings in the bedrooms, plus wifi not working properly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
...and we'll be happy to have you back! Whilst it has been very hot here recently, this is very unusual for Birmingham (and the UK in general) and so having air conditioning here is practically unheard of. If you have problems with the WIFI make sure to let us know and we'll be sure to get it sorted for you! See you next time..

80%

We couldn't get the tv to tune in

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about that, next time that you stay let us know and we'll be sure to get your TV humming away.

69%

My mattress was a little bit old and there were few power outlets in the room. No wifi at the rooms either. The stuff were nice, Breakfast was just ok. No lockers at the rooms, no much space either (at least in the 4 bed's room)


69%

They don't have A/C, and with it getting warm in the summer, it makes for an uncomfortable night sleep (if you get any). Location was just outside the Jewelry Quarter and about a 15 min walk to the Centre. The staff were nice, and accommodated me when I asked to move rooms due to the heat of the 12 bed dorm (that doesn't have opening windows) and a ridiculously loud snorer above me. The breakfast was a bit of a joke with toast and a couple different cereals being the options. Not bad over-all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah the perennial problem of dorm-snorers, I hope that your second room was snore-free. We appreciate that it has been pretty hot here in Birmingham for the past few weeks but air-conditioning would be a little bit overkill for the few weeks of summer we're blessed with every year in England!

49%

In the dorms there was this awful stench. the ventilation in the room was non-existent.


51%

The room was not very nice and the hostel is around 20 min walking to the centre....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we take will take your comments into account and hope that you will come to stay here again and maybe change your mind.

83%

Everything was perfect, friendly staff, good value for money, despite the fact that there was no window in the room you could open. There was also no ventilation and a door to the hallway, which also had no ventilation. The hostel would be perfect if there was air to breathe!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that you enjoyed your time here even with the heatwave!

100%

great place, clean, friendly staff, amazing view from the balcony in the lounge, free breakfast, cheap, modern design.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review, we look forward to welcoming you back next time that you are in Birmingham!

97%

We only stayed for two nights and wished we had booked more! Staff are friendly and helpful, and our room was brilliant! Very close to the city centre and train stations which was useful, we will be visiting again soon hopefully!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! See you next time!

60%

The beds were very rickety/ fragile and didn't feel comfortable sleeping in them. I understand you don't get amazingly brilliant beds in hostels but at least something sturdy would have been nice... Atmosphere in common rooms was nice. The room however looked a bit cheap without being charming...

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Your opinions shape the future of our hostel.

63%

Nice hostel, friendly staff and OK location. They have some problems with wi-fi which is not working all the time and there was no wi-fi in our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We will take your comments into consideration.

100%

Great place to stay. Very friendly staff..You can not find a better place than Hatters to stay for low budget...A+++++

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review, we look forward to welcoming you next time that you are in Birmingham!

(94 results)


View all Birmingham Hostels

Please give us your feedback