X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters Backpack Hostel -Birmingham Reviews

92/95 Livery Street, Birmingham, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1663 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

I stayed very briefly, but it seemed like a friendly and cool place. My only complaint is that the bathrooms weren't clean and properly stocked, otherwise I found it very comfortable and would glady stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. In shared dormitories it can be difficult to keep the shower rooms clean at all times sue to the high amount of traffic however if you let us know at reception that it needs a bit of a clean we'll be happy to oblige. :) See you next time!

43%

Images on the website aren't an accurate representation. A basic hostel run by people who don't want to work there. Couldn't connect to wifi in the common area, essential if you are travelling. If remote hostels in European countries manage to have it, seems not that difficult for a major city in the UK. Other facilities fairly poor. Does not match the quality of many many other hostels offered around the UK and Europe. Luggage room had no lock, anyone off the street could walk straight in.


83%

i have been here twice, it's a freiendly hostel in a good location. there will no doubt be a third time i stay here when i am next in Birmingham


74%

The location is away from city centre. It is a bit scary to walk back to the hostel at night. The wifi doesnt work. Or else, the atmosphere was nice and friendly. The staff were very helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The hostel is located right in the middle of the Jewellery Quarter and only a five minute walk from the heart of the city centre, perhaps you took a long route without realising? Next time that you stay be sure to ask at reception and we'll be sure to show you the quick way!

80%

Nice Stuff, but cold room and could have been cleaner.


100%

We stayed two nights in a private room with own bathroom and were amazed because we felt like in a proper Hotel instead of a Hostel with a nice price for that kind of room. Staff was really kind and helpful, we felt very welcomed. The location is actually not so far as we thought. We took part in the pub crawl offered on fridays and had a nice evening with all the other guests. If we were ever back to Birmingham we would definitely choose the Hatters again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Be sure to stay again on your next visit to Birmingham and we will try our best to improve upon perfection! :)

89%

I stayed here for one night before catching a flight, and it was a nice hostel. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm which had a huge bathroom and bath mat (luxury!), the bed was a bit hard. The staff were kind and helpful, there is only internet in the common room which didn't have much of a vibe, it was just everyone sitting in the dark on their phones. Kitchen facilities looked great and the breakfast was good. Everything was nice and clean, bit of a walk to the city centre.


89%

Hostel has a good kitchen and common area which makes it very easy to meet fellow backpackers. Staff are friendly and willing to give advice about the city and what's happening around the place. Beds are great with individual power socket, light and curtain for added privacy.


80%

Nice place close to the city centre. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We aim to please! See you next time!

63%

Could be worse, could be better. Location is quite fine and guys from the security and staff in general are friendly. However, the men toilets smells permanently (since the toilets don't flush), rooms are quite noisy, and the WiFi is not working in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear that the toilets wouldn't flush during your stay, however rest assured that if you have a quick word with the staff we'll do our best to make sure that any issues are resolved as soon as possible. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, see you next time!

86%

This place is a maze with so many different corridors and rooms, but I liked it. Breakfast is free, but pretty basic. Location could be a little better, but it's acceptable. You have to go to the common room on the top floor to get wi-fi. My room was clean, and the attached bathroom was spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We often find that a ball of string helps when navigating the labyrinth! ;) See you next time!

86%

The staff was all really helpful and the hostel was well located and maintained. The room I got was a bit smelly (103) but from what I understand the majority of the rooms are more recently renovated and nice and not smelly. I do think it was also somewhat overpriced but given the lack of options in Birmingham, I suppose you can get away with it. Overall great stay and I would recommend it!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Unfortunately when you stay in a shared room it can be difficult to control the less shower-prone individuals that you may on some rare occasions be unlucky enough cohabit with. Please be assured that we do clean all of the rooms daily and that the vast majority of our guests are just as fragrant and floral as our staff! We look forward to welcoming you back next time that you come to Birmingham.

1 2 3 Next » last »
(52 results)


View all Birmingham Hostels

Please give us your feedback