X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters Hostel- Liverpool Reviews

56/60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3157 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Generally really good. Radiator in bedroom didnt appear to work. Free breakfast was added bonus. Downstairs toilets couldve been cleaner. Staff were excellent, really helpful and friendly. Cool hostel, good value for money.


97%

I had a wonderful stay. We were in a 4 person room, 1st night we had the whole room to ourselves and second night we shared with thankfully two clean guys. The bathroom was top notch everything was functioning including the heater and hot water, the bunk was easy to climb and sleep on and I loved the lockers in the room for peace of mind. Thankyou hatters for a good stay.

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Three of us arrived Friday for a weekend in Liverpool, we were greeted by a young female member of staff. She was pleasant and helpful. However as we walked in to our room there a guy was smoking weed in d room and drinkin alcohol. We discovered he was from the locality. Although he seemed o.k. we discovered later that one of my friends had his new jacket stolen. It would not surprise us if it was the same man I just talked about. Furthermore the room was freezing and the toilets were dreadful.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice people, clean environment, but wifi only worked in the lobby.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments Happy to see you enjoyed our Hostel We have free wifi in communal areas and hopefully soon we will again have WIfi in the rooms so keep an ear on the ground. See you again soon

100%

It was nice and comfortable

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the short and sweet review ༘჻ღཾཿ

51%

The elevator is broken Just need to take your luggage by stairs to fourth floor The surface of the building is pretty but the room inside is awful And the toilets is dirty The light is broken you have to shower in dark What a bad experience Luckily that I just stay 2-3 days there


97%

I feel this is the best hostel in my travelling aroud England: ketchen,restroo,computer room,hot shower,quiet sleeping,dining-room.breakfast,etc., everything perfect,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wohoooo ☆.。.:*・°☆.。 you nade our day - Thanks for the lovely words

80%

The hostel was nice and good value for money. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was fine and the hostel has a pleasant feel to it. The one thing I disliked was that one night a group across the hall was extremely loud and the staff couldn't handle it, even when they were told about it. You have a policy for handling misconduct, quoting penalties and everything. Use it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback Come bakc soon ( And this time we are ready for those noise makers)

69%

Felt like they needed more staff, the desk staff seemed always too busy to talk to you with people checking in and out etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ahh nooo! we might have busy spells but we always have time for everyone!ᕙ(▀̿̿Ĺ̯̿̿▀̿ ̿) ᕗ please don't hesitate to come and talk to us Thanks for the feedback

83%

The staff were incredibly helpful and lovely. Whilst not particularly centrally located, it was walkable distance to everything I wanted to go to such as the main train station at Lime Street, the main bus stops and Liverpool One. The atmosphere was great and the communal areas are really nice. The rooms are okay but a bit old and bigger lockers and would be better. Clean and efficient living space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the lovely feedback

83%

Good stay overall, good value for money, but the place in general seemed a bit abandoned. And the bathroom in the room was dirty, the shower was very mouldy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback You must have stayed on a quiet day , but we have daily events on to make sure guests get a proper hostel experience, Always let our friendly reception team know if there is anything we can do to make your stay better Come back soon

100%

My lasting impression is alot of Victorian character but rather charming and modern and cool! hostel is really clean. Free wifi and breakfast is good. great location - only a 5 minute walk from the train station

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the lovely review! We love our building too, it carries a glance of history . And yes we believe with free Breakfast we set you up the right way for a your day in Liverpool Till next time ᕕ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡° )ᕗ

100%

good experience. When is checkout 11am and breakfast 10am so no hurry :)

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We believe our guest have the right to a mini lay -inn! happy to see you enjoyed your stay Don't be a stranger ( ͡^ ͜ʖ ͡^ )

100%

Very pretty building and nice staff. Recommended. Will be back

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments We can't wait to see you again ( ͡~ ͜ʖ ͡°)

100%

Amazing hostel, staff were very friendly and efficient. Also the room was a good size - we had a 6 bed dorm - me and my friends had an amazing time and the atmosphere and design of the hostel is fantastic, no complaints whatsoever and I'll be booking up again when I go back to Liverpool. :)

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the lovely words, we were happy to have you here . Till next time ❁

74%

The breakfast was really good and there was always new things if something was empty. Staff was also really friendly and helpful. The toilets in my room were not really clean but it was still alright.

Owner Comment (Hide)
AHHH noooo why didn't you come tell us one of our friendly receptionist would have sorted that for you. Our housekeeping team clean all the bathrooms daily but sometimes in Dorms thing can get messy afterward but do not fear we have a mop, bucket and all else ready at reception! We are happy that you enjoyed our complimentary breaky See you again soon

97%

Between the staff present, activities available, and the patrons present my stay at hatters Liverpool has without a doubt been my best hostel experience. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Liverpool.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fantastic review. We do pride ourselves in trying to create the best hostel atmosphere possible

77%

2 guys (both 37) on 3 night stay. Very, very noisy all night long every night, no attempt at all to enforce the consideration rules as parties in the corridors go on pretty much all night. "Continental breakfast" was actually cereal, toast, revolting instant coffee and squash (not juice), not a croissant in sight. TV didn't work, and they only had one key for us to share (private twin room). Kitchen poorly equipped, severely limited cooking options. For £15 a night... tolerable - just!

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing! Wohooo you used our self catering facilities but always let us know if you need anything we are here 24/7 ( The cutlery seem to go backpacking themselves) Our Breakfast might only be Tea, Coffee,Hot Chocolate, Juice, Toast, Yogurt, Cereals, Fruit, Toast, Jams but we do this to keep it complimentary. Till next time

77%

Well first off the location is wonderful! You can't really beat it. The staff were very friendly but some of them weren't as helpful as other but still good. When I stayed the entire hostel was getting renovations done to it so it was a little dirty and also caused the wifi to be terrible but I'm sure once renovations are done everything will be great! I was also upgraded to a nicer room because of the renovations so I can't complain! Overall it's a great hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are always trying to improve the Hostel with as little disruption to the guests as possible. Im glad we were able to upgrade you free of charge.

74%

The location and overall atmosphere in the hostel were really good. The breakfast wasn't a blast, but it was ok. The main problem was with the bedroom, the dormitory that I stayed in was very cold and even after complaining with the staff, we had a cold night of sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Sorry you had to Freeze all systems checked and very room is now nice and toasty. Happy to see you ejoyed our complimentary breakfast it is not a Full english , but hey its on us :) Come back soon , and this time we promise no penguins in the room

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Liverpool Hostels

Please give us your feedback