X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hatters Hostel- Liverpool Reviews

56/60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2741 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Double room was very good.

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was fine, not the most social environment and cold rooms, but I ended up meeting cool people and it does have everything you need.


97%

we stayed with my friend for two nights in the hostel and was very friendly and the environment. the proximity of the hotel to the point of interest Liverpool makes the place even more funny. the breakfast is very good, large kitchen and relaxation room. The breakfats it's very good. very nice hostel. we will return if needed

Owner Comment (Hide)
The combination of our wonderful guests and excellent staff make Hatters Liverpool a very friendly place indeed! It's just one of a long list of reasons why Hatters is the best place to stay in Liverpool!

43%

The staff was very poorly prepared to manage everything and at times very rude. The kitchen cannot be used after 10 pm so it is not possible to make your own diner if you want to eat late or prepare a snack. The hostel has it's own bar so you can't bring your own drinks inside either which I find quite ridiculous. A friend was also kicked out from the hostel when it was raining and cold, her luggage being stored inside since she had to leave some hours after having done the checkout.

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry to hear your were no satisfied with our facilities at Hatters. Due to the terms of our Premises License it is forbidden to drink alcohol in the bar that was not purchased in the bar however there are other areas of the hostel were you can drink your own alcohol. Can you provide us with more details as to why your companion was kicked out of the hostel as I assume this is the main reason why you are not happy with your stay.

86%

We absolutely loved it! As far as we are concerned, our stay would have never been the same without Bela S., the amazing guy at the desk. He was always willing to help us with any problem we had. When we got there, he told us every thing we needed to spend an unforgettable weekend: where to go, what to do, how to use the wifi (let’s face it, that’s the most important thing we needed to know)… We are looking forward to come back. PS: BELA, we love you, we will never forget you! Your Catalan girls

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Yeh was good In general would defiantly come again.

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to hear it! We would love to have you back. Cheers for the review! :)

100%

Absolutely superb, the people here are brilliant, so agreeable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yet another wonderful review from one of our lovely guests! Thank you so much! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love it if you came back to see us again in the future :)

77%

The showers could be better separated and have the enough pressure to ensure 2 people at the same time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our showers are all nice self contained cubicles, providing all the privacy you need to have a good scrub! The water pressure serves us really well, considering there are so many guests who love a good rain bath at the same time! You could take a tactical approach to your showering. By jumping in when the place is quiet, you will get all the water pressure your heart desires, and you get to sing Cliff Richard songs REALLY LOUD!

74%

Well someone broke in while we were there so cant say the security is great, and they need to sell food in the bar cause we was hungry. And they need to invest in better mattresses downstairs (also known as the titanic, because one of the lights kept flickering in the hallway). Im sure upstairs is much nicer but us lowly peasants were stuck with dodgy mattresses and criminals around our hallways. Other than that it was a great stay, especially new years with lots of french boyzz in our room ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oops said the person that left the door open! (now under lock and bold) But we are actually very secure with cctv and dooralarms and other high tech gadgets. Please always let us know if there is anything wrong onboard so we can get our crew to sort it asap. The french boyzz was our gift to you happy to hear you had a good time and next time come try our new foam mattress you won't be jumping ship anytime - Thanks for the feedback:)

89%

It is a great place and the internet deal is excellent, also The pub, pool, sky sports, coffee and tea all day. An ideal stay for the Liverbird Marathon

Owner Comment (Hide)
So happy to see you had a great stay and we can't wait to have you back!! We like to keep things comfy and sociable around here. Free wifi 24/7 in our bar,where you can enjoy as many cuppa's as you want for free. See you for the Liverbird Marathon 2014 :)

57%

The place is not as well located as advertised. Some spots are near, but the good stuff is a couple of miles away. My room was completely disappointing though. The heating system never worked properly, the lights flickered, the shower drain was clogged and the shades of the window were broken. I reported all these issues twice and they half fixed them the second time around. The lights of the lift didn't work either. The place has potential but I think it's miss managed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ahhh no!!! We don't like to let anyone down. All is now rectified thanks for telling us, we are usually quicker than that.All the Christmas eating slowing us down...... We are less than 5 mins from Lime Street and about 10 mins to Albert Dock although Liverpool is much bigger than it looks so we offer free maps at reception on which we can mark the shortest routes .

66%

It was in a good location... but the bed was really uncomfortable and the showers had issues (one was broken)...


80%

too bad the bar was closed due to x-mas time Overall a good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback and when you are back next year the first beer is on us! :)

94%

It was just what I needed for one night at the city. Clean, comfortable, appropriate, nice attention. Good female dorms to take into account.

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ahh Thanks :) you summed it up perfectly in one sentence.:)

77%

The main light was not working. It should have been checked before we moved in. As we were very tired we did not again go downstairs to complain about the light.

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

No english beer on tap in common room, only foreign (Italian, etc.), only one bottled english beer/ale - for me as a foreigner it would have been nicer to have something "local" to drink, which would also encourage me to spend time & money at the hostel bar. Everything else was fine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the Feedback! We agree local beers are a must specially for our guests from abroad and we love having our guests around the building. We will have a much bigger selection of beers and drinks available soon! Our bar is a new addition that we are continuously improving it See you again soon and we will give the local taste experience you deserve :)

83%

The hostel itself is gorgeous and the bar and kitchen are both great facilities. Our bedroom was very nice but 5 of the 6 beds had the worst mattresses possible and, while the hostel staff did give a foam cover to stop the springs from digging into our backs, it didn't really help. The staff were lovely but the hostel was pretty quiet- we really had to work hard to find a fun loving group. But we did and we had a great time overall! We will be back but will make sure our beds are comfy first!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We agree! We are really lucky to have such a gorgeous building with so much history and character! It's great to hear you like our brand new bar too! It's the perfect place to hang out and meet lovely like-minded people who just want to have fun in our beautiful city of Liverpool!

94%

Everything was perfect! Just one problem with a lady in the bar.. She was always angry and rude.. She is the one with a lot of tattos.. And this is why i will not recomend the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and sorry to hear that you had a problem with someone in the bar. I presume this lady was another guest as we have no staff that have tattoos so this must have been an isolated incident

91%

It was great to be welcome by such a good staff!!! We enjoyed the place and were helped anytime with great kindness. THank you so much and have a merry Christmas, Rosaria

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's because we love our guests! We will do our very best to make you feel welcome and are always happy to help :) Merry Christmas and we wish you all the best for 2014!

77%

Wall to wall carpet all over the hostel. The bathroom was not very clean and it was some mold at the roof. Great hostel, serviceminded staff and good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! It's great to hear you enjoyed our hostel and found our staff to be helpful!

(60 results)


View all Liverpool Hostels

Please give us your feedback