X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hatters Hostel- Liverpool Reviews

56/60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2740 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I`ll stay by Hatters Liverpool next time.

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very glad to hear it! We have lots of loyal guests who come back and stay with us many times! Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again :)

80%

great food, rooms and staff. only comment id make is about the key card door system is poor. my card stopped working three times and I had to get it reprogrammed.

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic hostel, the staff and location couldn't be better! Wouldn't even consider staying at another hostel next time I'm in Liverpool.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Squeaky beds, makes noise through the night.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Sorry about the squeaky bed. Maybe the frame just needed a quick tighten. We would have been happy to fix it straight away or even change your bed if you were unhappy. We appreciate your feedback!

83%

Great location, clean dorms, amazing hall where you have wifi, free tea and coffee and breakfast every morning, in an atmosphere similar to a lovely pub.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

No WiFi in rooms was annoying. We were told 24hr reception, when we asked if we should book our 5am taxi for the airport the receptionist said not to bother as they could call one and it would be there in five minutes. When we came downstairs), there was no one there. Waited 15 minutes, called out walked around. Eventually had to use the pay hall phone to call a taxi which took ten minutes to get there. As we were hopping into the taxi i saw the person come to the desk. Almost missed flight.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry about your taxi. We do have 24hr reception, but if a guest needs help or something needs attention then we obviously can't be in two places at once. As you are aware, we do provide a pay phone for guests to call taxis whenever they need. Also, wifi is available in rooms for a small charge, although guests prefer our free wifi in communal areas. Sorry again for any inconvenience and thanks for the review- Ashlea

77%

Terrible mattress and a bit of dirty toilets. Helpful staff. Is not really in the center of everything but is close to the train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. We will use your comments to improve our services in the future. Your feedback is really important to us!

54%

The bathroom was in poor state and we all got burnt trying to take a shower... Woke up to find out that breakfast was not included, which given the price and the general state of the facilities was quite a disappointment !

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are unsure why you were told your breakfast wasn't included as breakfast is served daily for free! At the weekend, we have a cooked breakfast available for a small charge, but this charge is made clear at check-in and there are also notices in the breakfast room.

86%

Very nice hostel! I highly recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We hope to see you again some time! - Ashlea

74%

staffs are kind and friendly. it was a nice hostel. but there were no hook in the bathroom, I felt a little disappointed. but on the whole, I liked this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that overall, you enjoyed your stay here at Hatters Liverpool. It is always lovely to hear that guests find our staff kind and friendly! We will keep your comment about the bathroom hook in mind when thinking of ways to improve our guest's experience. Thanks again!- Ashlea

66%

Dirty carpet, broken window shutters in the bathroom and the 4-bedroom only had one major light, no small ones next to the beds or anything which is very annoying when someone comes in late at night.

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value your feedback and will use your comments to improve our services in the future- Ashlea

71%

Loved the location and the outside of the hostel. However, inside the rooms were disgusting. No plug ins by the mirrors. Floor is always wet. Underwear on the floor. No towels or way to dry your hands. Light fixtures don't even work- going to the restroom in the dark. Switched from one room to the next, and still same exact problem. You can't find your bed in the dark, the staff suggested "I just grabbed a bed if mine was taken up". Ended up getting yelled at because I was in someone else's bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, as we really value your feedback. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here and we will certainly look into why you were told 'to just grab a bed'. Hopefully you will return so that we can make it up to you!

94%

This is a very central hostel, perhaps on the pricier end but for the location, the rooms were clean and warm (we were there the week of the "tornado" like weather so it was cold) and we had our own fab shower. The breakfast was slightly disappointing but not unexpected (the say "continental" but it just juice and toast!). People were not as friendly as some hostels but many seemed to be British so were in big "Uni" groups but were only there for 1 day. Overall I'd love to stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! We will look into why you only had juice and toast at breakfast as we serve hot drinks, cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad, croissants and muffins too. Also, at the weekend we have a full English cooked breakfast on offer for a small charge. We are sorry you missed this! Hopefully we will see you again so we can serve you the best breakfast you have ever had!

83%

The only bad point was a noisy group of people in the room above mine, they didn't allow me to sleep properly. The rest it was all right, goog value for money.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

well located hostel, really close to the main part of town and all the bars. the only time we actually talked to any of the staff was on check in, when they were very rude and impersonal. there is a great kitchen but its almost impossible to find. there were lots of school kids running around which ruined any chance of a good atmosphere. it would have been almost impossible to meet people here because of the lack of atmosphere and huge size. the private rooms were good value


86%

Myself and my 2 friends really enjoyed our stay at the hostel. Found the staff, especially Chris, extremely helpful and friendly. Hostel has a great relaxed vibe and is the prefect location. Would most definitely stay there again :) many thanks

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

No surprises.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

very good

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

It is an average hostel. The room i was in was very small and had no lockers, so you had to put your valuable stuff in a locker on the ground floor. I had to ask the staff to pick up the rubbish because the bathroom bin was overflowed once. Breakfast is included and is very complete and it has free wifi in the common areas, but you have to pay for it if you want it in your room. The hostel offers you a wide variety of things to do such as tours etc.


83%

a lot for the money. Very good :-)

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(64 results)


View all Liverpool Hostels

Please give us your feedback