X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters Hostel- Liverpool Reviews

56/60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3310 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Gorgeous breakfast! Staffs are helpful with trip advises. Beautiful environment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback φ(*⌒▽⌒)ノ

86%

Generally really good. Radiator in bedroom didnt appear to work. Free breakfast was added bonus. Downstairs toilets couldve been cleaner. Staff were excellent, really helpful and friendly. Cool hostel, good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we will check up on the cleanliness it is something we take very serious. Happy to see you had a good experience with us hopefully we meet again ৵( °͜ °৵)

80%

Great location! We stayed in a private room that was decent enough for 4 nights stay. Hostel was also quiet - we were able to sleep well ('cos we were partly on a business trip). The breakfast is typical hostel breakfast, nothing special, but it's nice that it's included on the price. Nice budget accomodation and easy to walk everywhere in the central Liverpool.

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, happy to see you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast - just enough to start the day right ;) You are right every thing is just a short walk form us ! Till next time ^‿^

97%

I had a wonderful stay. We were in a 4 person room, 1st night we had the whole room to ourselves and second night we shared with thankfully two clean guys. The bathroom was top notch everything was functioning including the heater and hot water, the bunk was easy to climb and sleep on and I loved the lockers in the room for peace of mind. Thankyou hatters for a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. we are happy to hear you had a good time and some good room mates .Hope we see you again soon(ノ゚▽゚)ノ

77%

I had a great time there. However, the front door was kept unlocked at night when i returned late and left right early for a bus. It didn't bother me, but I had to show my pass at the hatters in Manchester, not in liverpool. Also, there is considerable mold on the shower curtain in my room. It may be wise to replace it. Again, i'm not picky and had a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we check the showers daily that has been sorted now. We have CCTV and new locks so you can feel super secure. Happy to see you had a good time any way , come back soon :)

94%

We only stayed one night but had a very good experience. Most of all because of Bell, a guy from the staff who gave us a lovely room when we realised our roommates were... hmmm, a little bit messy. He was really nice and understanding, and he even invited us a beer. Thank you very much Bell, you are awesome!

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, you made Bell blush :) happy to see our staff went the extra mile to make sure you have a lovely time that is what we are about . hope we see you again soon

46%

Three of us arrived Friday for a weekend in Liverpool, we were greeted by a young female member of staff. She was pleasant and helpful. However as we walked in to our room there a guy was smoking weed in d room and drinkin alcohol. We discovered he was from the locality. Although he seemed o.k. we discovered later that one of my friends had his new jacket stolen. It would not surprise us if it was the same man I just talked about. Furthermore the room was freezing and the toilets were dreadful.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, we are not in the habit of making assumptions proof before finger pointing. Please always tell us if something is not the norm , we do not tolerate any illegal activities and it is an immediate ban from our property. You are welcome to get in touch if you want to discuss this further liverpool@hattersgroup.com

74%

I only stayed there for a couple of nights, but I still found it frustrating that the wifi did not reach the room I was in, which was at the end of the ground floor hallway. Also, the light in the ensuite bathroom went out. Overall, however, I was content with the accommodations and the location was great for everything I wanted to do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Guess what we heard what you were saying ( thanks for the feedback) and voila - we have new super fiber optical WIFi ( sounds like something you can have for breakfast ) every where in the hostel. Come visit us again soon and you can now skype us from the room if you have any questions ("',)

60%

The lobby and social areas are nice and amazing but the rooms were extremely tiny and crammed when you place several people in one room. Our room had two bunk beds in part of the room with only about a foot of space in between them.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Happy to see you enjoyed most of the facilities. Always let us know if you are not completely satisfied we can always advise you of alternative facilities. Till next time :)

89%

Nice people, clean environment, but wifi only worked in the lobby.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments Happy to see you enjoyed our Hostel We have free wifi in communal areas and hopefully soon we will again have WIfi in the rooms so keep an ear on the ground. See you again soon

100%

It was nice and comfortable

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the short and sweet review ༘჻ღཾཿ

51%

The elevator is broken Just need to take your luggage by stairs to fourth floor The surface of the building is pretty but the room inside is awful And the toilets is dirty The light is broken you have to shower in dark What a bad experience Luckily that I just stay 2-3 days there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are sorry that your visit coincided with our lift being offline for maintenance. We did have staff on duty who were able to assist you with your bags and they would have gladly done so. Apologies as well for the light being out in your room, again our in house maintenance staff could have fixed that straight away had we been notified. We hope you will come back an visit us again as the incidents you mention were isolated and next time it will be a lot better

97%

I feel this is the best hostel in my travelling aroud England: ketchen,restroo,computer room,hot shower,quiet sleeping,dining-room.breakfast,etc., everything perfect,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wohoooo ☆.。.:*・°☆.。 you nade our day - Thanks for the lovely words

80%

The hostel was nice and good value for money. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was fine and the hostel has a pleasant feel to it. The one thing I disliked was that one night a group across the hall was extremely loud and the staff couldn't handle it, even when they were told about it. You have a policy for handling misconduct, quoting penalties and everything. Use it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback Come bakc soon ( And this time we are ready for those noise makers)

69%

Felt like they needed more staff, the desk staff seemed always too busy to talk to you with people checking in and out etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ahh nooo! we might have busy spells but we always have time for everyone!ᕙ(▀̿̿Ĺ̯̿̿▀̿ ̿) ᕗ please don't hesitate to come and talk to us Thanks for the feedback

83%

The staff were incredibly helpful and lovely. Whilst not particularly centrally located, it was walkable distance to everything I wanted to go to such as the main train station at Lime Street, the main bus stops and Liverpool One. The atmosphere was great and the communal areas are really nice. The rooms are okay but a bit old and bigger lockers and would be better. Clean and efficient living space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the lovely feedback

83%

Good stay overall, good value for money, but the place in general seemed a bit abandoned. And the bathroom in the room was dirty, the shower was very mouldy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback You must have stayed on a quiet day , but we have daily events on to make sure guests get a proper hostel experience, Always let our friendly reception team know if there is anything we can do to make your stay better Come back soon

100%

My lasting impression is alot of Victorian character but rather charming and modern and cool! hostel is really clean. Free wifi and breakfast is good. great location - only a 5 minute walk from the train station

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the lovely review! We love our building too, it carries a glance of history . And yes we believe with free Breakfast we set you up the right way for a your day in Liverpool Till next time ᕕ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡° )ᕗ

100%

good experience. When is checkout 11am and breakfast 10am so no hurry :)

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We believe our guest have the right to a mini lay -inn! happy to see you enjoyed your stay Don't be a stranger ( ͡^ ͜ʖ ͡^ )

100%

Very pretty building and nice staff. Recommended. Will be back

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments We can't wait to see you again ( ͡~ ͜ʖ ͡°)

(110 results)


View all Liverpool Hostels

Please give us your feedback