X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters Hostel- Liverpool Reviews

56/60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3682 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Weird staff. Hostel was overrun with a biker gang when I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We did have a big group of bikers but as you might guess we can't discriminate just because the ride steel horses. As the Super furrys would sing: You've got to tolerate All those people that you hate I'm not in love with you But I won't hold that against you You might have noticed that Liverpool was "overrun" by bikers as there was a big bikers rally in town. Check out http://hattershostels.com/events/ to avoid noisy neighbours . Till we meet again

86%

Hostel bathrooms and showers were really gross.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nooooooo we don't want to hear this :( Please always come tell us if there is a problem we are equipped at the ready with mops , buckets, cloth and sprays to make sure you have a lovely stay

80%

The hostel itself is brilliant, breakfast is fine they had free pasta night when I was there, you can take your own drinks into the bar when it's not open, the kitchen was brilliant etc. The only let down (and maybe it was only my room) in the basement room 20 there is only one toilet for 18 people, and the showers are terrible, the room smelt dank I suppose it lacks ventilation and sunlight being in the basement, and also the lockers can't hold much for organising your stuff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments, We have free food night every Tuesday !!! Monday is movie night , Games on Wednesday , Pubcrawl Thursday well what can we say we like to Host! Ps . For next time we do have extra bathrooms available if you are in need and if there is anything you need come see us at reception Come back soon

100%

I only stayed one night but had a very good experience. Great location,friendly people.

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feed back :) Happy to see had a great time come back soon

97%

Good hostel , friendly people, clean rooms . Enjoyed my stay- Liverpool is a great night out

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woohoooo! happy to make your stay a fun one - Liverpool is an excellent night out next time join us on our pubcrawl we love a party

100%

Lovely breakfast! Staffs are helpful with trip advises,,It was clean and comfortable. Location very good

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback , we love to help and we love to tell you all the little secrets of Liverpool Till next time :)

83%

Good experience!!

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good Guest!!!! See you again soon :)

94%

5 minutes from station , staff friendly , clean rooms

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review !! We are a quick walk to most things in Liverpool - only 5 mins from Lime street Happy to see you enjoyed our smiles

86%

The entrance part of the building was vey nice - usually not a fan of bars in hostels, but this one worked very well. The rooms could do with a bit of love - there was a funky mural in the bathroom, but the shower didn't work well (more of a mist than anything) and the windows didn't seem to close in the room. The staff were lovely, even loaned me an umbrella, so just a bit more work and this place would be A1!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback , we are working on it :) Happy to see you had a great time

49%

You cant lock your luggage in your room! Its exist just one big Luggageroom for everyone, so everyone can take his luggage without the Hostelpersonnel! :( The Hostel is Expensiv. The Rooms are dirty. You can hear everything from outside. But the Breakfast is great. The Hostelpersonnels are nice and Friendly. Its in the center of Liverpool.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review , we do have lockers for smaller valuables just so you know for next time but luggage storage is just so you don't have to drag big bags around town(Although the luggage room is base on 1984 and we are watching everything closely ) We are happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and our smiles Come back soon

77%

Lovely staff and a great location, easy walking distance to all the major sites. The breakfast was yummy too. The room itself is ok, comfy bed, however a condom packet (used) was under my bed, so I think a little more attention could be taken with cleanliness as it's not the nicest item to accidental pick up. I was impressed with all the plug sockets, which is a bonus in a 4 bedroom, more than enough for everyone

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review .....Ohhh Boy:( I'm sure they used it for waterballoons........ well we can hope . We must have missed it on our daily cleans will make sure HK double check under beds Happy to hear you had a good time though till next time

91%

The staff are so nice and the room are clean. However the door lock inside the washroom doesn't work sometime and you have to climb out from the toilet

Owner Comment (Hide)
Congratulations you got the puzzle room!! and you succeeded - Prize 1 free Smile!!! No Really sorry about that we will look at that so no one gets stuck in there Come back soon

74%

I think the sinks in the shower was the main annoying thing. It's almost blocked. Otherwise other things are ok. Staff friendly and location very close to all the main stations.

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Republic of South Sudan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words about our friendly staff. See you again soon!

77%

Not sure whether we were just unlucky, but our room stunk. There was this smell that hit you the moment you opened your room. One of the two showers didn't work, and the bathroom area just wasn't very clean. Outside our room the communal facilities were first rate. There was internet everywhere in the hostel. The kitchen had all the utensils you needed and the breakfast was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing , sorry to hear that!!! Hope you told reception we are here to assist you the guest. happy to hear you had a good experience overall and our lovely breakfast. Next time it will fresh daisy smell all around ;)

94%

Free food nights are a great idea:)

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our free food night on Tuesday's and we hope you'll be back soon.

86%

Great for location very easy to reach everything from. However the room was really small for eight beds in.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review , happy to see you had a good time and enjoyed our super central location :)

63%

This hostel slightly disappointed in the fact that the bar only opens on Fri/Sat nights. Also, no other toilet facilities other than in the rooms. Actually the rooms were okay, i suppose, the lockers could have been better and maybe bigger bins in the bathrooms. Unfortunately, i had one of the messiest and loudest snorers ever in my room. The hostel (s) are for tourists, not so much for students/workers! No good moaning at nights, get a single room if a student or worker! The breakfast was good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We do have washroom facilities in our public areas, so on your next visit please be sure to ask a staff member to point them out for you. Also, we want every guest to enjoy their stay so if there's anything at all we can do to make things more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know.

26%

even if the location is good, the room and the staff was unbearable... I stayed in a 10 person extra dirty room in the basement with only 1 toilet and 1 shower. the room had 2 tiny little windows close to the ceiling which were kept closed, of course. when asked to open them, a very rude guy at the reception told me that that was not possible and that basically "it was not his problem", i mean really, c'mon... to be fair the only kind staff person was a spanish black hair girl at the reception

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We take cleanliness very seriously, so on your next visit please don't hesitate to let us know right away if there's anything at all that's not up to the standards you would expect.

83%

I had already been a couple of years ago and I think some refurbishment really helped the look of the hostel. I was quite happy to find out WiFi was available on the floors as well as in the hall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind comments! 'Til next time.

80%

Good breakfast included in nice room. I stayed in an 8-bed with ensuite and it was clean and tidy. Good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. See you again soon!

(123 results)


View all Liverpool Hostels

Please give us your feedback