X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters at Hilton Chambers Reviews

15 Hilton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3140 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The staff and owners were very helpful and kind and always available to help or chat. Located at the heart of the city and easy to travel to and from.


66%

Food not too good: half the fruit and the bread would be mouldy :(


100%

Very good Hostel to meet people and made some friends. Very nice staffs, They are friendly y kindly. I recomend this Hostel and sure come back there.


89%

Very friendly stay. It was a pleasure to stay here

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It was a good hostel in a good location, but my room was right across the street from a super loud bar that played loud music until 5am. There are also no lockers, there are tiny ones that might fit a purse but not ones in the rooms or big enough for a suitcase. You also can't get wifi in the rooms, only in common areas. Because of this the common areas are crammed and theres not enough seating. The staff was a little unfriendly, and not all of them spoke English. Way over priced.


83%

nice hostel and it's located very close to (which i believe to be) the city centre, approx. 5 min walk to picadilly gardens. the staff is very friendly and helpful. but in the shared room where i stayed in there were no lockers. breakfast was alright and tea, coffee and toast are provided all time round. i only spent 24 hrs in mcr so for this short period everything was ok for me. hostel is a bit run down but that just seems to be the case with accomodation in england.


74%

: excellent location, clean bathroom - : very loud at night, wifi just at reception, too expensive for a tiny room (with a broken "closet") in November!


80%

Really nice and helpful staff.


77%

Expensive - £40 pn in a 6bed dorm!!!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hotel in excellent location. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Aww shucks! Thank's for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your time here!

86%

We only stayed one night in a private room, however we would be happy to stay again. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Wifi didn't work in our room.


94%

this is the last noght for me.. I will miss so much this place! you really feel as home.. GReat AtmosPHERe!!!!! the staff is friendly, lovely and ever available to help you! Specially the recepcionist Flavia! :) very beautiful and clean rooms and warm common area! you can meet so many amazing people there and enjoy the hostel activities!!!

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The location is the saving grace for this place- bring earplugs because there's a mix of people and lots of drinking and music. When we arrived I asked the receptionist for lunch recommendations so she googled and said wagamama (!) could improve knowledge of area. Their security pass system is silly, bracelets would be easier. No free wifi in the rooms which isn't right and could offer late check in for more £. Average hostel in great location. Go to the soup kitchen opposite- amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Cheers for the review, always good ot know what's happening in the hostel. Unfortunately it does take a bit of time to get used to the area and tell the good from the bad. We do have a few recomendations inside the security voucher, along with the map - just to make things a easier.

74%

An OK hostel, would expect more for the money. The breakfast, bunks and ensuite were fairly standard. The the northern quarter is quite a cool area, and not too far from the train station which was handy. The wifi would not connect on my laptop, no lockers in the room, no reading light, which would be helpful. Wifi is an essential now to any travels, so it is really disappointing that this hostel has not installed or paid for wifi that actually works.


100%

I had a lovely experience at Hatters. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It smells very clean but they do not have lockers available for everyone.


86%

No WiFi away from common areas (only paying), which is very annoying.


66%

Positive: The staff was friendly. Especially the Italian girl that checked us in. The kitchen was clean and there was free tee and hot chocolate which is always nice. Not so positive: There were no lockers in the room, the ones provided on the hall were all occupied. The bathroom was a bit of a mess at the end of the day. Our room was not ready at check-in time and still wet from mopping when we entered the room.


71%

Great location, right in the heart of the Northern Quarter. Clean enough hostel with kitchen, common room with pool table, TV, playstation and also a nice courtyard. Only downside was the wifi (£5 a day if you want it in the rooms) lockers (none in the dorms and the ones downstairs were too small for even a hand luggage) and there's no age limit. We had three homeless men in their late forties, they all snored, one decided he jump into another guests bed. Overall an okay stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, cheers for the review! We do check everyone who enters the hostel for identification & valid card details. However we do not have a specific age limit as we do get schools and families. Unfortunately we haven't got an adequate snore test set up at the front desk yet :/ The wifi is free in the common areas, and you're more than welcome to make the most of it. Not having the lockers in the room is a bit gnarly, but the ones we have are under the watch of Big Brother! ... (the CCTV)

86%

It´s a good place but I missed a quiet room. There were always some kind of noice. If it wasn¨t the music in the kitchen, it was for the television. Some more chairs and tables are needed as there is no wifi in the dorms.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(134 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback