Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters at Hilton Chambers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 4179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 4179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Apr 2017
5.4

Hostel is ok, but the bathroom is very old, and you have only one for a 10 bedroom doorm. Otherwise, the location is very central. Prices are going up on the nights United and City are playing in Europe, worth knowing

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. As we are currently going through some renovations,the bathrooms will be improved tremendeously and usually our guests appreciate that they have en-suite bathroom. Our prices fluctuate according to the demand and events in Manchester but we still keep prices fairly low. And always free breakfast!

14th Apr 2017
2.6

Horrible and over priced.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
7.4

Good location, clean beds, nice kitchen. Bathroom in room was moldy, and not really clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • chrissteffe
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.1

Rooms where clean. Staff where helpful and friendly. Location was easy to find and situated in the middle of many great bars. Atmosphere inside was nothing special but the sistering hostel where pub crawl goes from had a great bar downstairs and is close. No bar meant it was quiet at night. Would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. We're glad you enjoyed your stay! We are looking forward to see you again! :) The Hatters Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.3

Good Hostel. Great location in the centre of Manchester. Clean, good atmosphere and friendly staff. A locker in the room would have been good though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are happy to see you had a good time. We are always willing to store extra valuables in our office if requested. The Hatters Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
7.7

Good location in the Norther Quarter near bars and food. Staff were all very friendly. I didn't really worry about security although lockers in the room would be better than the current set up for most. Also the breakfast was good, lots of cereal and bread with spreadables.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Manchester and also Hatters. We try to do our best to secure safety of guests valuables and there is always an option to store extra valuables in our office. We are hoping to see you enjoying our breakfast again soon! :) The Hatters Crew

6th Apr 2017
7.7

Pros: room very clean, location, but the door did not lock with swing arm (had to make sure you pushed closed) Cons: no lockers in room, there were lockers throughout the lobby and stairs but this made it inconvenient. The shower was a mess... tap to the left scolding hot; tap to the right ice cold. They are going through some construction so it could be attributed to this. Staff was awesome tho, always willing to help out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Glad you found our hostel clean and location convenient for your interests. Also, we are always here to help and with best tips to get the best of Manchester. We hope to improve showers and door locks during our ongoing renovations, so we would like to see you back here soon. :) Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
7.7

This was a good hostel in a central location. Rooms are on the small side, but have everything you need and are well maintained. It would be helpful to have lockers in the rooms (though this may be difficult given limited space). Otherwise, definitely a good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Glad you found our location convenient. We also do. Also our rooms are going through renovation and we try to change the security more convenient, but with limited space we hope to guarantee that our guests have place to lock their valuables and there is always option to leave them in reception if lockers are not trusted. We hope to see you again soon :)

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
8.0

Everything was good, maybe staff can be bit more friendlier.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
5.7

Very disappointing. Booked into a 4 bed dorm only to find out they had made a mistake and put me in a 10 bed dorm! Hardly ideal. They gave me a small cash refund but honestly, I would have gone elsewhere or got a private room had I known before paying! Room smelt strongly of smoke, other than it was okay. Bathroom decent. Location - good for all the train/tram/bus stations but very loud at night due to clubs and pubs on the surrounding streets. Other hostels in the area may be a better option.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.