Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters at Hilton Chambers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 4314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 4314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Aug 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel! Renovations going on but didn't affect our stay. Power tools might wake you up but we're early risers anyway. Place is really nice and will be even better after renos are done. Friendly staff. Great security. 24 hour access. After 11pm you have to buzz door and show check-in card. Comfy beds. AMAZING SHOWER!!! Light & plug for each bed. Facilities in each room. No lockers in rooms. Great location in town. Lots of restaurants and pubs nearby. Would definitely stay here again. =]

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Erin, We're delighted to hear you had an awesome time in Manchester and loved the hostel. And news just in : the renovations are nearly finished so there'll be no more of those pesky power tools. We have lockers in the corridors which are monitored by CCTV to keep your belongings extra safe. Take care and happy travels. The Hatters @ Hilton Team

5th Aug 2017
8.0

Well located hostel in an area with lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Very good key-card security. The rooms were nice, but the common areas were not clean. There was no lounge to hang out in due to construction. I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Bradley, Glad you had a good stay and enjoyed our central location and security. I'm sorry the cleanliness of the common areas let you down and we'll try to improve :(. As I type this the finishing touches are being put on the new common room. Can't wait:) See you next time you're in Manchester. The Hatters @ Hilton Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.3

Currently have renovations happening. The room itself was ok for what you pay and i would probably stay again especially once the building work is completed. The staff were very nice throughout the stay and helped whenever i had questions! No lockers in room unfortunately though. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there Kristian, I'm happy to hear you'll visit us again. I'll pass your comments on to the reception team about how super nice and helpful they are. We have lockers available for guests to use but they're in the corridor, under the watchful eye of CCTV, as opposed to the rooms. Come back soon. John - Hatters @ Hitlon

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.3

Not too shabby for my first hostel. Loved the location and met some friendly people in the hostel to explore the city with! One of them was even on my next flight and we were able to continue our travels together.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Joali, Welcome to the world of hostels!! You're not too shabby for a first time hosteler ;) Hope you meet lots of friendly people and build some awesome memories on your travels. Take care and hopefully see you again sometime - The Hatters @ Hilton Team

27th Jul 2017
10.0

A first rate hostel, excellent location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

A first rate guest :) Thanks Gerald for taking the time to leave a review. we're all super happy here you had a great time. Happy travels - the Hatters @ Hilton Team

25th Jul 2017
9.4

The quieter of the two Hatter Hostels in Manchester. Currently undergoing construction, so it may be wayy nicer in a few months.Everything was fine though, with bathrooms located in the room themselves, which is quite nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
6.9

To be fair the hostel was in the middle of some remodeling, but despite that there are some problems. No lookers inside the rooms, no personal lights in he beds, no bathrooms in common areas and very basic breakfast, just to name some. The bed was very nice and the staff very welcoming and eager to help. Also the wifi is very bad and they block whatsapp at some times during the day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • martinjones1808859151
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
7.1

The location of the hostel was perfect and all the staff were great, however its a bit weird that a massive refurb was being undertaken during the peak season and the whole site felt like you were in a construction zone. The bed was comfortable and clean, though the room and the general décor was significantly more dated than the pictures would suggest. The bathroom was quite dirty and the shower drain was blocked meaning after two people had showered, the floor would flood outside the shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • cailinmary
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.6

Good location, walking distance from Piccadilly station. Friendly staff. Pretty basic rooms, but adequate. I'd stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2017
2.9

Poor, dirty,dusty, bed sheet dirty. Step to room dusty. Addition the bathroom water does not run off.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Yousuf, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. They really help us improve. I'm sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during your stay. Unfortunately, showers get blocked from time to time but we try our best to make sure they're not. Obviously, this one got missed, and for that I'm kicking myself. It'd be great if you'd give us a second chance some time in the future and if not I hope you find your happy place. Take care - The Hatters @ Hilton Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.