X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters at Hilton Chambers Reviews

15 Hilton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3448 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

was checked in by a very rude woman who was more interested in talking to a man beside me than checking me in and supplying me with the required information. The place had signs all around stating please lock away your gear. Well that would of been a lot easier if there where lockers in the room supplied. Positives free breakfast was good and the staff member in the morning that helped with storing my bag was lovely.


91%

I've been to many hostels in my life, and this one certainly tops most of them in terms of cleanliness, location and helpful staff. Great value for money too and very professional service.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent facilities, Has everything that you need. Breakfast is limited but overall good value for money. Note the sister hostel down the road has more atmosphere as it has a games room and more events on, which you are allowed to attend from this hostel.


83%

It was a cool hostel, great staff; my only issue was that it was towards the end of my trip i was exhausted and there was people walking in and out of the room at all hours couldn't sleep at all. The hostel itself was good.


100%

The staff are more then happy to help and and the fellow guests are friendly and with engage you in convosation and make you feel more then welcome

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

El hostal era bastante precario y no muy limpio. Las habitaciones sencillas pero sin ningún tipo de comodidad. Un camarote y punto. Ningún espacio para guardar nada, tampoco una luz individual o algo parecido. Por lo que cada vez que alguien entraba tenía que despertar a todos. Además la pieza daba a un patio interior donde habían personas cantando y gritando a viva voz toda la noche. Nadie decia nada. Los hostales en Manchester dejan mucho que desear.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The place was great!! Very clean and the staff were awesome. I think that if this place had gender specific rooms this easily would have been one of the best hostels ive ever stayed in. The free breakfast in the morning was awesome, although some addictional seating in the breakfast room would have been helpful. The washrooms were very very clean (some hooks in the washrooms would be good too) location was amazint as it was so close to the train station, restaurants, bars and shopping!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers for the review! Our location is awesome; the Northern Quarter has everything you need :).

83%

A brilliant hostel in a brilliant location with brilliant staff. I really enjoyed the pub crawl. It would be great if there was more kitchen space and a fan or two in the hot 12-bed mixed dorm, but otherwise it was very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed the bar crawl - they're so much fun, and a great way to meet other people!

77%

It's located in centre of the city. Just few mins you can get to the place you want to go. Nice facilities. The staffs are patient to dealing with customers. Thx all of them.


49%

The breakfast was really poor, especially given the amount paid. The facilities where basic and things like the pool table had no cues.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

"Breakfast" is a generous term, although they did have lactose-free milk available for those with allergies or intolerances, which was a pleasant surprise. Photos online showed curtains on the beds, which we did not have in our room. The communal bathroom was cleaned (maybe) once during our four-day stay, and the showers were clogged and dirty. Decent value, but we would have expected higher standards for cleanliness and breakfast in a place that has so many people coming through.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

A very enjoyable stay, the only fault was in the Kitchen. Only 1 kettle and 2 slots of the 8 slot toasters were working,

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel is well located in a trendy neighbourhood, walking distance from bus stations. The 8 bed dorm is too small to fit 8 people and too noisy because it's right on the corner of a busy street. The doors slam so hard. The bathroom was dirty all time and the rooms need proper cleaning as well. Staff looked always tired and not willing to help. Paying for the using of computer was frustrating. It's a place for stag's party. Too pricey for what you get.


83%

It took us a while to figure out that while nothing much was happening at our hostel (Hatters at Hilton) there was apparently a bunch of social activities happening at the sister hostel (Newton street) which would have been nice to know about. Informing people when they check in that a bunch of stuff happens over there would probably be helpful to lots of travellers.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay!

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear it! Hope to see you again :)

63%

The hostel is not bad. Location is great. At night, I mean 2 or 3 in the morning there was a group of teenagers screaming around in the corridors and running up and down the hostel, which made it almost impossible to sleep. The personnel at reception wasn't really friendly either, which made the atmosphere rather cold. Didn't feel at home at all in a city that doesn't have much to offer either.


83%

Apart from having my brolly possibly stolen, everything seemed ok here. There were lots of Spaniards in the hostel. The night was rather hot; they could have given you a sheet rather than a blanket. This remains the only hostel I have been to that makes the bed for you. It took only 15 minutes to find the hostel from Piccadilly RS. There was quite a lot of food at breakfast.


83%

Overall good hostel. Room was stuffy and so windows needed to be left open. However the nightlife parties outside kept us up till 3am. Check in staff was quite slow. Only one member of staff was at the desk, and I had to wait for 45 minutes before being able to speak to staff to check in for 6 people.


89%

The hostel was clean and the staff was extremely helpful !! Breakfast was good !


86%

Amazing location for Manchester! Hostel was clean, would have been great to have a power point by each bed and the wifi only worked well in the kitchen. Our room was above some sort of nightclub, so it was very noisy all night.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback