X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters at Hilton Chambers Reviews

15 Hilton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3670 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The internet was/is very,very,very,very,very,very.slooooooooooow.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

One of the beds in the room hadn't been made upon arrival h/e this wasn't used, apart from that a very clean and welcoming hostel! I didn't use any extra facilities so can't comment but I felt safe within the hostel and would definitely stay again if need be!

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very Good Value, Excellent Reception Staff especially Rebecca and Sarah. Would liker to date one of them. for the record for very different reasons. Next Time Rebecca you want me to go round in circles! Come with/or join me. Girls I hope you like the flowers.

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to bunk. Enjoyed the hosts loads. Enjoyed the pub crawls hosted by Rob the Soul Collector. I think they need to offer a much bettet breakfast, perhaps add eggs and sausages to their menu. And I don't understand why it costs double per-night over weekends. It's too expensive over weekends.


69%

Location is awesome! Just a few minutes walk from Manchester Central Station, main attractions and bus station. Staff was friendly and attentive. Cleanliness could be improved. I enjoyed the fact that breakfast was included in th price.


83%

Great place, I would definitely stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Daris!

80%

Great location. Downstairs bathroom and toilets were not clean at all. Bathroom drains had lots of gunk and the like. The beds were comfortable and warm. The kitchen is really a microwave and stove with a kettle and tea at all times. Staff and very helpful and the pub crawl with Rob was really fun.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're happy to hear that you had a great time with us, sounds like you made the most of your visit :) Happy travels, Hatters at Hilton Chambers

71%

I really wanted to like this place. It was very clean and had a good atmosphere. However there was a ton of black mould that made me and other guest very sick. Half of the pans didn't have handles. The air vents above the stoves don't work. The day I tried to do laundry, the laundromat connected to the hostel stopped allowing self service and switched to full service only. They staff were completely unaware. There is NO LONGER a self service laundry and it should be removed from the listing.


77%

Nice hostel. Amazing location and facilities. The rooms and the bathroom are okey. Beds make a lot of noise, maybe the worst thing. A bit expensive at weekends in relation with the value for money. 7/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your kind words and helpful feedback! Please come back any time :) Warmly, The Hatters Team

74%

our room was clean but smelld really weird.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry for the strange smell back in November, hope you enjoyed your time in Manchester! Regards, Hatters Team

91%

Second time in less than 3 months, still my first choice when visiting Manchester :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Looking forward to your next visit :) Warmly, The Hatters Team

100%

Staff were absolutely babe!!

  • 18th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks man :)

83%

good place, good value for money.

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback :) Come back any time! Warmly. The Hatters Team

63%

Cleanliness - really dirty shower and dirt on the windowsill at the room. Security - it's more about the district where the hostel is located. I needed to call a taxi to go to the station at night because some men were trying to force themselves to the hostel. Saying that I have to mention that the staff was very nice and helpful. The gentleman on the night shift called a cab for me.

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry that you have mixed feelings about your stay with us, glad that you found the staff friendly :) Warm regards, The Hatters Team

80%

No major complaints. There were lots of facilities which were kept clean. The only things are it is quite expensive over the weekend and the pans in the kitchen are going rusty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tom, Thank you for your kind words and feedback, it was a pleasure hosting you. Come back any time :) Kind regards, The Hatters Team

83%

Situation is perfect for a short stay in machester. The beds are not very comfortable though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Joel, Thanks for your kind words and helpful feedback, come back any time :) Regards, Hatters Team

34%

Once I got to my room, someone else's belongings were all over and next to my assigned bed. The bathrooms were terrible with mold all over the walls and showers. Showers had no privacy. Very overpriced for one of the worst hostels I stayed in on my trip across Europe.

  • 3rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Heather, We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. People switching beds certainly riles us up as well. We do hope that you enjoyed your time in Manchester regardless. Warm regards, The Hatters Team

100%

Friendly, chilled-out staff; nice clientele; decent facilities, great stuff!

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% Wooohoooooooooo! Thanks for giving us full marks Andee, we hope to see you again soon :)

97%

Excellent location - we walked from the hostel to everything - Gay Village, Football Museum, John Rylands Library, etc. Breakfast is a great extra - toast, cerial, tea/coffee, juice, fruit, can't think of many other hostels that offer that. Staff were nice and no problem leaving luggage there to collect later. Bathroom in the ensuite was huge :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Brian, So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay back in October! Hope you had a great time in Manchester :) Hatters Team

83%

Great location, nice hostel. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Maurice, So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay back in October! Hope you had a great time in Manchester :) Hatters Team

(83 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback