X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters at Hilton Chambers Reviews

15 Hilton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3212 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

nice hostel and it's located very close to (which i believe to be) the city centre, approx. 5 min walk to picadilly gardens. the staff is very friendly and helpful. but in the shared room where i stayed in there were no lockers. breakfast was alright and tea, coffee and toast are provided all time round. i only spent 24 hrs in mcr so for this short period everything was ok for me. hostel is a bit run down but that just seems to be the case with accomodation in england.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Haha, I like your uncertainty concerning Manchester's city centre. It is an odd little city. The location is a good point, especially for those just visiting the city briefly. Unfortunately with the lockers, not all the rooms have enough space for lockers. We have some in the corridors under the cameras, or you're more than welcome to leave precious articles such as laptops and passports at the front desk for free if needs be :) And yes - England is old and full of equally old buildings

74%

: excellent location, clean bathroom - : very loud at night, wifi just at reception, too expensive for a tiny room (with a broken "closet") in November!

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the review! Hopefully you made the most of the location! Unfortunately being near the alt-art & indie hub of Manchester does come with a price; but in the mid week it's pretty easy going and cosy here - unless there's football on, in which case no ones safe! The building itself is pretty old, and the architecture is a bit funky. But we do what we can with what we have!

80%

Really nice and helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Why thank you ; ) Come back anytime!

77%

Expensive - £40 pn in a 6bed dorm!!!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Phew!? That must have been a chronic weekend (unless there was more than one of you). The prices are set to fluctuate depending on what events are on in the city. Manchester is a bit of an events hub for the U.K. the population of this city of football mad with up to two matches a week, lots of gigs and events like the warehouse project also draw in crowds from all over. The down side to all this awesome is that it naturally drives up the prices of all accom in the city too.

83%

Nice hotel in excellent location. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Aww shucks! Thank's for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your time here!

63%

Horrible experience. I stayed there for 3 nights and none of those nights could even sleep well with the noise from street dunkers. Even horrible with the last night a group of guy getting into our female dorm and woke all is up, it's a terrible security problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, oh no please come and talk to us at reception. we take security seriously at the hostel. We pride ourselves of having CCTV in all corridors, have group code of conducts and inform guests of our ID policy that they need to show us after 11pm. Sometimes we can't control all behaviours but if we find out of any misdemeanor we will deal with it.

86%

We only stayed one night in a private room, however we would be happy to stay again. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Wifi didn't work in our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! It would be nice to have you back! :)

94%

this is the last noght for me.. I will miss so much this place! you really feel as home.. GReat AtmosPHERe!!!!! the staff is friendly, lovely and ever available to help you! Specially the recepcionist Flavia! :) very beautiful and clean rooms and warm common area! you can meet so many amazing people there and enjoy the hostel activities!!!

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We miss you too. Thank you for staying, it was a pleasure having you :) We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and made friends with the socialites we hire & host. Hope to see you again!

71%

The location is the saving grace for this place- bring earplugs because there's a mix of people and lots of drinking and music. When we arrived I asked the receptionist for lunch recommendations so she googled and said wagamama (!) could improve knowledge of area. Their security pass system is silly, bracelets would be easier. No free wifi in the rooms which isn't right and could offer late check in for more £. Average hostel in great location. Go to the soup kitchen opposite- amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Cheers for the review, always good ot know what's happening in the hostel. Unfortunately it does take a bit of time to get used to the area and tell the good from the bad. We do have a few recomendations inside the security voucher, along with the map - just to make things a easier.

74%

An OK hostel, would expect more for the money. The breakfast, bunks and ensuite were fairly standard. The the northern quarter is quite a cool area, and not too far from the train station which was handy. The wifi would not connect on my laptop, no lockers in the room, no reading light, which would be helpful. Wifi is an essential now to any travels, so it is really disappointing that this hostel has not installed or paid for wifi that actually works.


100%

I had a lovely experience at Hatters. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It smells very clean but they do not have lockers available for everyone.


86%

No WiFi away from common areas (only paying), which is very annoying.


66%

Positive: The staff was friendly. Especially the Italian girl that checked us in. The kitchen was clean and there was free tee and hot chocolate which is always nice. Not so positive: There were no lockers in the room, the ones provided on the hall were all occupied. The bathroom was a bit of a mess at the end of the day. Our room was not ready at check-in time and still wet from mopping when we entered the room.


71%

Great location, right in the heart of the Northern Quarter. Clean enough hostel with kitchen, common room with pool table, TV, playstation and also a nice courtyard. Only downside was the wifi (£5 a day if you want it in the rooms) lockers (none in the dorms and the ones downstairs were too small for even a hand luggage) and there's no age limit. We had three homeless men in their late forties, they all snored, one decided he jump into another guests bed. Overall an okay stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, cheers for the review! We do check everyone who enters the hostel for identification & valid card details. However we do not have a specific age limit as we do get schools and families. Unfortunately we haven't got an adequate snore test set up at the front desk yet :/ The wifi is free in the common areas, and you're more than welcome to make the most of it. Not having the lockers in the room is a bit gnarly, but the ones we have are under the watch of Big Brother! ... (the CCTV)

86%

It´s a good place but I missed a quiet room. There were always some kind of noice. If it wasn¨t the music in the kitchen, it was for the television. Some more chairs and tables are needed as there is no wifi in the dorms.


91%

A good hostel during the week for real travelers. I was told to avoid on the weekend as it becomes a party hostel. Staff helpful, the 4 bed room was very small compared to most I have stayed. I was disappointed that 4 out of the 6 promoted daily activities involved consuming large amounts of alcohol. Doesn't Manchester have more to offer than getting drunk?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, matey! Manchester acts like a pivot for UK travelers with people stopping over before exploring the North / South, or heading over to Ireland. It's also a big focus for music so it does tend to attract a lot more in the way of party goers. I can vouch that there is some snazzy stuff here for anyone looking not to pickle their liver. We do have a walking tour on the weekend, and our receptionists can point you in the right direction to some of the attractions.

89%

Very centrally located...very convenient...friendly staff and generally the facilities were very good. Would recommend gladly to friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Aw thatnks matey! Glad you enjoyed your stay here; it is a well placed hostel, particularly if you need to get in and out of the city centre. Hope to see you soon!

54%

This hostel is suitable just to sleep for a night.


83%

Too many people crammed in one room, not much space to move around in the mornings. One bed has light shining on it all night from the street outside. Can be loud since it is in an area that is very lively, but the walls are thin so beware of staying here on the weekends. The internet did not stretch into my room but was fine within the common areas. Staff is very friendly and polite, and the hostel felt safe and secure otherwise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for the review matey. Unfortunately the odd old-school design of the hostel has led to a lot of peculiar angels and oddly shaped rooms. It makes it a little hard to furnish the rooms properly, but it does depend on luck of the draw. Hopefully a little trial and error Feng-sui can sort it out when we do our next remodel. Otherwise, I'm glad you enjoyed your time here!

(103 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback