X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters at Hilton Chambers Reviews

15 Hilton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3111 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Nice stay at this hostel. Nice staff, very clean, comfortable, excellent location. Some problems: wi-fi access only in the common areas, sockets not well located inside the room, breakfast could be better. Definitely would stay there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately because our building was not built as a hostel originally ie. the plug sockets were put there before the beds, every bed may not have a plug socket right next to it, but let us know if you're having trouble finding them and we'll help you out!

91%

Stay here if you're heading to Manchester.

Owner Comment (Hide)
That, sir, is a marvelous plan.

80%

Solid hostel. Staff were helpful and facilities clean and tidy. My room was great, ensuite with good shower and clean bathroom. Spacious room which is a rarity in many England hostels. Would recommend and stay again for sure!


91%

I had a great time at the hostel and was very happy with the service there.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We organise hostel activities every evening and generally just love to see you happy :)

86%

Nice hostel, just not as lively as I was hoping. Everyone seemed to be doing there own thing. Staff were super friendly and helpful though

Owner Comment (Hide)
This hostel is a little quiet and better for getting your head down than partying! Next time you book with us (which we hope you will!), opt for the Hatters on Newton Street. Alternatively you can book for Hilton and just use and abuse Hatters for it's rowdiness ;)

80%

Staff were great and really helpful, easy quick check in and check out, only a 5 minute walk to the main square which means a great location. Room was a little outdated and not the most comfiest of beds but there were still a lower price rand a house keeping option so you cant complain. overall good price because your close to the city centre. You can also get free breakfast which we didn't get to use because we always slept in till after 10. But overall a really good stay :)

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!! We're going to assume you missed the brekkie because you had an awesome night-before - The Northern quarter where we are is fantastic for it! The bar at our other hostel is getting all the special treatment at the moment but we promise to focus our attention on the rooms when we're done :)

83%

Good place to stay. Rooms were pretty sterile, but the common room was awesome. Really easy to meet people. Great kitchen and really helpful staff. He's the tick of approval from me :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
He's the tick of approval from me ....No name? We have two male members of staff here and now they're both going to have to quit over the stress of not knowing who you were talking about. We'll work on those rooms, know any artists?? Thanks for the review though and glad you got to meet people, it's the best part of traveling!

100%

Loved this hostel. Great variety for breakfast and the rooms were really comfortable. Common room was well equipped and loved the playstation setup too! It can be a little busy and crowded in the kitchen and common room in peak times, but overall would highly recommend this hostel.


86%

Very nice and helpfull staff, cool kitchen, there is a room to watch football games, nice atmosphere, very central!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay our first football review! We're playing all the games either here or at our other hostel with it's big screen :) Don't forget as well that if you walk in wearing your countries colours then we give you a VERY EXPENSIVE medal, and the chance to win a kindle!!

89%

Great place. Really enjoyed my time here. Cool bars around, Record shops, shopping, and grocery. Standard breakfast and free coffee/tea anytime. Standard kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! the Northern Quarter where we are is, in our opinion, the coolest place in Manchester and we are proud to inhabit it :)

60%

decent place to stay. Card access to every room, large enough kitchen and living room. I'd say the place is clean but it has certainly been well used. Internet only in common areas, so everyone hangs out in the common areas using their phone or computer, which doesn't really help with chatting with fellow travellers. Breakfast is a bit limited

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Our common areas are open 24/7 and are stocked with free tea and coffee :) Regarding too many people using their devices in social areas - we find the best thing to do is bluetooth them a massive picture of your own face and then sit really really close to them.

97%

Awesome place to stay. Atmosphere was great and the general set up of the hostel was really good. The staff were mostly happy and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mostly happy and helpful! Does one of our staff members need a cookie? Haha thanks for the review and we hope you come back soon :)

83%

Staff were super friendly and never in short supply. The place was in nice condition and a perfect location if you are wanting to be close to city centre and lots of nice cafes. One teeny problem was the wifi didn't work in some rooms. The pub crawl was great!!! Would recommend to anyone who loves a party. Free breakfast so can't complain! Really nice atmosphere - I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our wi-fi actually only works in our common areas, so you got lucky getting it in the rooms :p We're glad you had a good time, our bar crawls run from Thu - Sat and and we're all here at reception to nurse your hangovers the next morning!

80%

I liked the hostel and will probably stay there in future.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Did you mean you'll DEFINATELY stay here in the future? Good. Thanks for the review ;)

91%

it was awesome, i would come back every time i had the opportunity :D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Then it's lucky life is full of them ;)

69%

Need more detail explanation on how to get there, definitely its not beyond walking distance. the atmosphere are too plain. Staff are nice and helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya, our directions are on both Hostelworld and our own website, but we'll double check them to make sure they're clear, as both our hostels are within a short walking distance to almost anything you're looking for in Manchester!

91%

Special thanks to the receptionist Martina.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Special thanks to yourself on behalf of Martyna! You must have been a well-behaved guest ;)

89%

Nice hostel in the middle of manchester!


97%

Had a fantastic stay at Hatters, the rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful. Had a lot of fun on the pub crawl and the walking tour was a great way to see the main sights of Manchester. Pablo was a great tour guide! :)

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks yo! We run activity nights e'rrrrrry night ioncluding pubcrawls, cinema and free food!! Thanks on behalf of Pablo and we hope to see you again soon :)

97%

I really enjoed my stay here. All of the facilities were great and I met alot of cool people. I went on the Thursday night pub crawl with Pablo and it was really good. The only negatives I would say would be that there was no lockers in the rooms, but they did have lockers outside the rooms. Also there were no sharps knives in the kitchen, but when someone mentioned that they said they said would order some more.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(130 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback