Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters on Newton Street

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 4,598 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 4,598 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.2
Hatters on Newton Street Located at 50 Newton Street, , Manchester.
Hatters on Newton Street
England
Manchester lancashire m1 2ea 50 Newton Street
72% 4598
53.4818913 -2.2329282
Hatters on Newton Street
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Sep 2016
4.3

20 minute check in as the girl on reception prioritised risks over a queue of people. Wifi not working throughout stay. Room in desperate need of some tickets and a deep cleaning. No plug socket near bed. Dirty shower room and toilet. In short, I'm staggered at how many basics are lacking, quite possibly my worst ever hostel experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
5.4

Very uncomfortable bed in a room on 5th floor with no lift for guests to use. There was absolutely no way to have any privacy to get undressed or dressed, eg no curtains around the bed, not acceptable in a mixed dorm. There is no bathroom or toilet on the 5th floor, so I had to go down stairs to 4th floor in the middle of the night to use the toilet. There are no plug sockets in the bathroom for hair dryer, so wasn't able to wash my haid. I will not go again or recommend, very disappointed

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2016
7.4

Location was great just minutes walk from the bus and train stations, plenty of good cheap food around. Near the mall too. Friendly staff, good breakfast with cereals milk oj bread spreads. Toilets could have been cleaner, the sanitary bin was not emptied the three days i stayed. Showers were clean but could be more private.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
2.0

Trampy, disgusting hostel. Do not stay here. Got no sleep due to a guy high on drugs switching on the light at 4.30am and forcing everyone awake to listen to someone play the guitar. He opened the window and lit a spliff and got aggressive when I told him to take it elsewhere. He came back about half an hour later and did the exact same thing, this time harassing the female guests. Reported it to reception the next day. They didn't care. Your are not safe here. Do not stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
6.0

Clean bed, easy to find, central location, good bar underneath. Could do with more sockets for charging and a cleaner tv room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
4.6

Not a fun time. Lots of homeless people and not very clean. Area was very loud

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2016
6.9

Staff is really nice, they helped me with luggage. The only thing i mind is female room is not clean as it should be and the toilet it not clean either . Cleaning must be improved and in kitchen i found that dishes like some mugs wasnt properly washed. Ev is basic but cleaning is not good enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your feedback! We are always wanting to improve our hostel where possible. We will be taking these points on board. Kind regards, Hatters Hostel Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Sep 2016
7.7

Good location and free breakfast and kitchen facilities. Honestly some of the hostel was a bit run down (bathrooms and dorm, didn't see the kitchen) but hostel was open about this saying they're in the process of upgrading. Girl at reception with long brown hair and glasses was absolutely fantastic and a real cracker, but one of the guys working overnight/early morning shift was pretty rude.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We are happy to hear for the most part you have enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully if you find yourself in Manchester again you can stay with us and you enjoy your stay even more. Kindest regards, Hatters Hostel Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Sep 2016
5.1

Really really basic, weird atmosphere

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Sep 2016
8.9

Nice, charming little hostel in the heart of Manchester. Great location, great staff. It was nice and clean. Separated female and male bathrooms - bad side you might need to go to lower or higher floor to get to the bathroom. But no elevator, which is no good when you are on the 5th floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.