Hostelworld.com

Hatters on Newton Street

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 4842 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 4842 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
4.3

All facilities dirty and covered with hooligan stockers. Extremely noisy. Bed was dirty upon arrival. Bed was messed up after returning to room. Only 2 staff to manage entire hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
7.1

Only hostel I've been to in Manchester. Location is great. If you arrive by train or tram it's just a short walk. The big dorm was quite noisy on a thurstday night with people talking and arriving drunk and flirting. But if you mind that you should take a smaller dorm. In the end a good place for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
7.4

Hatters budget accommodation in Manchester, as hatters was overbooked. Good value for money with a large room and en-suite bathroom. But the bed did have dips in it and was quite uncomfortable to sleep on, the floors creaked and the walls were quite thin. The complimentary breakfast wasn't anything more than just a slice of toast with marmalade or jam. coffee and orange juice. ( so don't expect to eat your heart out). You will have to wash up after yourself but this is no big deal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2017
8.3

They gave me a room on 5th floor & the lift is too old to work

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
3.7

Never again - really dirty hostel. No hot water for the showers Freezing temperatures during the night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
4.6

Showers were cold, windows were cracked so the wind blew through them, bed springs could be felt in my back when sleeping, pooh splatters down the toilet door. Not a nice place to stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.1

Bathroom and toilet need improvement. Especially the toilet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
2.0

I booked twin room,on the irrival time the hostel haven't got an room.And didn't get refund my deposit..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Feb 2017
3.4

I've been back packing around Europe or over 3 months. I've stayed all of the place in the. Cheapest accomadation abvailable. I've felt compelled to write this review as this by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Do yourself a favour and do not stay here; you will regret it. There was someone in my bed, it took over 45 minutes to check in because the computer doesn't work at reception, they don't change the sheets from previous users and the toilets are so disgusting they are unusable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
7.4

The hostel was ok for a short stay bit i would not recomend staying for more than a couple of days. The lockers are not big enough for your bags so i was always worried about leaving my belongings there. It is however in a good location and with a little improvement would make a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.