Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters on Newton Street

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 4940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 4940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
7.4

I was a solo traveler, the staff was really welcoming and provided different activities each day. The location is great, near the center, however there is a pub/club next to the hostel so there is a lot of noise until about 2-3am. The floors and walls were quite dirty, but overall I had a good experience here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
6.9

it was really dirty and the mattresses where not good at all

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. We are sad to hear you had such a negative experience with us. We always try to work on our highest possible standards but also encourage our guests to point put some faults to reception so we can something about it as a priority. Your mattress could have been easily changed and also it wouldn't be hard to pay extra attention to places you found dirty. It's hard to keep up with OCD standards in a hostel environment tough...sorry.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
6.3

Horrible beds in a really bright noisy room. The showers and toilets were pretty gross as well. Location was amazing and staff were nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
7.1

One staff member at the reception desk called me a douche because I was wearing sunglasses indoors. And she laughed when I said that I did it because my regular glasses were broken. Not at all nice. There were only two socket to more than 16 beds. Very nicely located Fairly clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello We are sorry that you couldn't get our sense of humour. We always try to create fun and relaxing environment where receptionist can interact with guests and vice versa. We would never offend someone on purpose. Hopefully you will recover soon! The Hatters Crew

16th Apr 2017
2.9

One of the worst hostels I have ever been. Very rude staff, when I made the check-in I waited for 40 mins, including the fact that at 3:00 pm they change the staff at front desk. The lady after 3:00 pm is very rude and not polite. The place is very dirty, everywhere, the restrooms and toilets are awful are really dirty. And if you try to sleep, not there, or unless you wait until 2 - 3 am, 'cause the noise from the bar is really loud. Worst experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola We are sorry you had that kind of experience. We are busy very often and always try to ensure our guests that checking in might take more time between 2-3pm because a lot of people want to get to their rooms as soon as possible. As we are aware of your situation, our "rude" receptionist apologised to you and explained the situation, so we only can deal with a queue as fast as possible. Also, we recommend you to do research before booking as we are hostel located in a bar/club area which means some nights can be noisier. All the best, The Hatters Crew

  • HistoryGirl531
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
8.6

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff members, the bed and facilities were quite clean. Breakfast is included and is quite good for the price (toast, cereal and some fruit). It has an all female dorm, which is always a plus for me as I prefer them and feel safer. The hostel is in quite a party heavy area, so there was a fair bit of noise at night. The building itself needs more maintenance - the carpets etc look very worn out. If I'm ever back in Manchester, I'd definitely stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
8.0

Pretty good stay but when they advertise free food and breakfast know that it is limited. Everything was great aside from that though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Apr 2017
6.9

Perfect location for a good night out and near all central facilities including the train station. Though the hostel really needs a thorough clean. Staff does it best to keep things clean, but just the floor and walls are pretty nasty. Breakfast is decent for a hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
6.0

Good location near Piccadilly Gardens, and cheap, but sleeping on the 5th floor without an elevator is simply too much. And there was only one toilet on the whole floor! The shared room was really spartanous, even for a hostel. The free breakfast was ok but only marmalade for the toast, and the staff was friendly. Windows couldn't be closed, a renovation is heavily needed for this worn building, and fortunately there seems to be plans to do it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • chae98
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2017
9.4

Amazing location, friendly staff, loved the facilities, great WIFI and easy access to everything. Only issues: having to walk up so many flights of stairs just to get to your room, the key cards stop working if you so much as put it near your phone, resulting in being locked out your room numerous times. The facilities are great but at 2 separate occasions the female bathroom was so gross and had sanitary napkins overflowing the bins. Other then that it's perfect and would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.