Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters on Newton Street

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 4,787 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 4,787 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.4
Hatters on Newton Street Located at 50 Newton Street, , Manchester.
Hatters on Newton Street
England
Manchester lancashire m1 2ea 50 Newton Street
72% 4787
53.4818913 -2.2329282
Hatters on Newton Street
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jan 2017
9.7

Awsome location and great people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
8.6

Very friendly staff and great location. Mattress should be updated since they are not really comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.7

Perfect and not expensive place to stay in Manchester. In the city center with great entertainment programme

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
6.0

It was in a pretty cool old building but the decor was spartan. There were radiators throughout the facility but none were running & the electric heater provided didn't help with the bathroom. Despite the "Quiet" posters at every level, there's a central vertical corridor that connects all levels and also channels all the noise from the 1st floor up. The 5th floor bathroom needs a latch because the double bounce it makes sounds like a knock &, aside from the noisy neighbors, kept waking me up.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
5.7

This place is pretty bad, but it’s one of the only hostels in Manchester so you kinda just have to deal with it. The beds are horrible, it’s dirty, it’s loud, the wifi is shocking, the breakfast is bad, and there are zero facilities beyond the basics. The atmosphere isn’t even good - and the pub crawl they advertise isn’t running at the moment. Positives: it’s in a good location. It was adequately heated. The showers were hot. The important things were clean. The staff were excellent.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
3.1

By far the worst hostel I've ever been. No heating in the room, cold shower in an even colder room and a dirty place overall. Go sleep in the street with the homeless and you'll fell better. Absolutely not recommended.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • leahp74879838
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
4.9

Worst staff I have ever come across! On New Year's Day a female member came up in the life screaming a swearing at us because she thought we was calling the bell for the lift. We wasn't. All so rude and unhelpful. Hostel had no atmosphere at all. It was new year eve and no one really seemed to be anything. Bar was closed duration of our stay. However, rooms were fine and good location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.4

Overall a good hostel. The only thing they really have to improve is the cleaniness of the toilets. The flush wasnt working and there was wet and dirty toilet everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
6.6

Warning! Terrible experience. Hostel was closed.......so heating was poor. I wore all I had to sleep to stay warm. Booked in room 201,18bed, some beds were not clean! Mattress had springs coming through the padding. Showers are timed and luke warm at best. Wifi, although free, isn't good for uploading pics, video, and chatting. Breakfast....say no to instant coffee! Staff were late to reopen for 1300, toilets for guest are on the 3rd floor. Lift not for guest use. Cant use lockers with own lock!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
4.6

Poor service. Had to wait outside and was unable to check in on time as the premises was closed and the receptionist took over half an hour to get a set of keys to open up. Dorm was unclean and bedding/duvets were absolutely appalling. Would not recommend it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.