Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters on Newton Street

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 4877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 4877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.3

A great location, close to everything! I stayed in a dorm for 8, with only 4 outlets available, meaning 4 people were to be left without an outlet. They weren't close to the beds either, so you'd have to make do. The beds aren't the most comfortable, and they weren't clean when we arrived. There was a comb on the blanket, so the dorms were not checked prior to our arrival. Breakfast isn't anything special - just some toast and jams! Overall, it was a good place to stay to explore Manchester!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
9.4

Great location, kind and friendly staff and the pub there was great. Would recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
6.3

We booked the to stay at the Hatters; however, when we checked it quite late. The staff told us one of us needed to move to another branch. They claimed that its because the hostel is overbooked. Anyway the staff told that its the first day that the room is open for used. However when we got there the hostel is not ready to open. The outside is still on construction and the room still smells like paint. The customers should get to stay where they expect to!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
10.0

Such an awesome place to go!! Staff are so friendly and helpful!! Couldn't fault anything!!! Just go, you'll have a great time no matter what you do!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2017
7.4

I stayed in a room with window frames that had severe rotting. I would prefer the hostel to review the windows in their rooms to replace windows that need renovation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.3

This hostel is basic, and wouldn't appeal to everyone, but suits me fine, as it is good value, convenient and provides all I need simply and efficiently.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
5.1

Questionable security, and utterly filthy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
4.3

All facilities dirty and covered with hooligan stockers. Extremely noisy. Bed was dirty upon arrival. Bed was messed up after returning to room. Only 2 staff to manage entire hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
7.1

Only hostel I've been to in Manchester. Location is great. If you arrive by train or tram it's just a short walk. The big dorm was quite noisy on a thurstday night with people talking and arriving drunk and flirting. But if you mind that you should take a smaller dorm. In the end a good place for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
7.4

Hatters budget accommodation in Manchester, as hatters was overbooked. Good value for money with a large room and en-suite bathroom. But the bed did have dips in it and was quite uncomfortable to sleep on, the floors creaked and the walls were quite thin. The complimentary breakfast wasn't anything more than just a slice of toast with marmalade or jam. coffee and orange juice. ( so don't expect to eat your heart out). You will have to wash up after yourself but this is no big deal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.