X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hatters on Newton Street Reviews

50 Newton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3541 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This place is awesome!! Great location, around some great night life. They organized a bar crawl when we stayed, SO much fun. Also the free breakfast was a lovely touch. All the facilities on the premises were clean and neat. No complaints!


74%

We had a lovely stay at Hatters in Manchester, and would recommend staying there to anyone looking for budget accommodation :) We did have a run in with one of the staff who was not too friendly (a man on night watch) and there was some trouble with the kitchen our second day but other than that everything was great :)


83%

staff polite, room cleanliness, great location only 10 min walking from Piccadilly train station and the Shudehill Interchange Bus Station


66%

It's a pity that WIFI works only in common area,should be in dorms too. Bathroom so cold that water freezes in tabs. Over all it's okay if you not staying lobger than 2-3 nights

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Not a good experience!! Was in a room full of men. Scared. Noisy men either sides too. Not a wink of sleep due to them

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Everything was good, better than I expected. Nice staff, decent and clean rooms, perfect and well equiped kitchen (including basic food - salt, sugar, coffee, tea, oil etc.). Breakfasts are very basic there (bread, butter, marmelade, coffee) but for free. The reception works around-the-clock. The advert says "party hostel", but it doesn't mean that you can't sleep - the nights were calm as usually. No problems appeared.


97%

Hatters is a very big hostel in the middle of Manchester. They provide free breakfast and sometimes even free dinner. The international staff is very friendly too. One girl at the reception has a very sweet smile. Here you meet a lot of other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Mister :) First of all I hope that your bag didn't explode on your way to the airport. Second of all thank you so much for the review, we have all made the very best of friends at Hatter's and hope that you did too! And yes, free dinner Tuesday (today, ha you're missing out), free popcorn Wednesday, free barcrawl Thursday....JOIN THE FREE WAGON EVERYONE!

91%

Good hostel, very well located. Has activities to encourage meeting people and it's great. I had a good time at night playing pool with Pablo (staff) and some other bag packers.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

People were drying hair in the kitchen YUCK! Girls toilet was blocked for 4 days that I was there. Tea and coffee all day was good

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do get people to fill out a disgusting habits questionnaire before we let them stay but sometimes, apparently, people are just massive LIARS. Our toilet has a pretty old flushing system and needs a good tug, so although we check the toilets every morning and evening, it may happen that the toilet just isn't flushed properly! We know it's not your job to inform us of yuckiness but we're not afraid to get our hands dirty if you do let us know :)

54%

To noise with the pubs around

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, for a quieter stay we would recommend somewhere out of the city...our hostel description on websites does include the fact that we are quite central - the downside to that is that you have to put up with Manchester's lively night scene! We find that using a megaphone to tell everyone on the street to shut up.....doesn't help.

51%

It is quite dirty and i was in a 10 bed room and it got incredibly hot at night. The wifi sucks. Cool toilets though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Excuse us while we quietly celebrate the fact that your review means that maybe, just maybe, summer is coming. ................. Okay. So more seriously, we will take that as a sign that it's time to get the fans out. More specifics on this dirt! Our housekeeping team try their best, but sometimes when we have rooms with long stayovers it's hard to get inbetween all the bags and afternoon nap-time guests! Just let us know if anything in particular is bothering you and we'll be right on it!

97%

Stayed in a private room so can't comment on the dorms but the room was brilliant. The building is amazing, love how they've done it. The hostel is so central, amazing location. I'm definitely going back next time i'm in Manchester.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great receptionist, really helpful and friendly. The room and bed were fine, although I had the bed right by the door which meant it was a very noisy night! As the room wasn't fully booked, I'm not sure why I was given this bed and not a quieter one. The showers were great, water temperature was perfect. Thanks for the free breakfast too, although would be even better if you had peanut butter ;) Directions were great, found it very easily. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey!!! Thank you so much for leaving a review - when our bookings come through they are automatically allocated, but next time you book just put in a request and we'll go scope out the room to get ya what ya need! Peanut butter is an absolutely fabulous idea, you should be hired as our hostel cuisine director I reckon haha. SEE YOU SOON!!

83%

That blond girl from the staff was fabulous :)

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Haha thanks guys!!! But there's two blonds - we're going to have to have a ho-down. All the best in Manchester and we hope you had a FABULOUS time with us (of course you did).

69%

We booked a night in a twin bedroom for one night at the Hatters Hostel on Newton Street. When arriving there, the staff at the reception could not find our reservation. It turned out, that the hostel had moved our reservation to the Hatters on Hilton Street. It would have been nice if we were informed about this beforehand. The hostel on Hilton Street was nice, it could have been cleaner though. The breakfast was simple, but good and the location was great, too. The staff was helpful and nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This happens very rarely (we promise) and we must have had a very hectic weekend for an overbooking to occur! We take all measures possible here at reception to make sure all communications are passed on but somewhere along the line something must have been missed! Inexcusable but we appreciate you bringing our attention to it, and truly apologise for the inconvenience!

100%

great hostel. had a great stay. excellent staff. thank you Amethyst, nice to have someone so warm and welcoming on reception.


60%

the wifi in the common room is not strong enough. i understand no wifi in the bedroom but even the common room....it seems force us to buy wifi there. wifi is a common thing in every single hostel now.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya, this really shouldn't be happening so please let us know if you are having trouble! When there are lots and lots of people using the wi-fi it can panic a little under the stress but a quick call to our technical team can calm it down again. We understand the importance of budgeting - we don't want to force you to buy anything!

69%

Stayed when man united played man city, so it was very expensive for us but that was bad luck (because we aren't into football). Although bedrooms were good, kitchen facilities were poor - no tea towels so things were always wet, a lack of cutlery and few pots and no pot lids. Also shower doors are completely see through! Events were fun (movie night, and pasta - thanks Pablo). Breakfast was run out by 9am so late risers miss out.


66%

Staff were nice but the whole place was dusty and grimy its too bad because there are so well position right downtown.

Owner Comment (Hide)
This makes us sad, we are very sorry! The building is very old and in regards to cleaning, very inconveniently shaped meaning there may be nooks and crannies that we can't get to but we try our best!! Our manager has an eagle eye for dirt so we rarely get away with slacking but if you notice anything particularly yucky we won't get insulted for being told!

80%

Great location right in the city centre. The room was correct, bed was nice enough and hostel facilities are good. Continental breakfast was superfb and free. On the negative side, bathrooms are old and often very cold, although they were quite clean. Special and very positive mention to the staff and volunteers, they were really friendly, the activities were nice (that movie projection!) and the guys created a great atmosphere during my stay. PS: someone stole my shower gel in toilet...

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello again and thank you for the review! We have activities every single night at the hostel which are all free and all fabulous :D We're sorry about the cold in the bathrooms, they are 'authentic' and can get cold, we're waiting for the summer to roll on!!!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(79 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback