Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hatters on Newton Street

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 4,714 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 4,714 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.4
Hatters on Newton Street Located at 50 Newton Street, , Manchester.
Hatters on Newton Street
England
Manchester lancashire m1 2ea 50 Newton Street
72% 4714
53.4818913 -2.2329282
Hatters on Newton Street
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

Hatters was a solid hostel, beds weren't super comfy and the lacknof a lift was a small pain especially coning back to the high floors. The staff were pretty friendly and the pub crawl was good fun! Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
3.4

Walked into room and walked out after making me feel physically sick with the smell and cleanliness. Bed wasn't even made which didn't help, had to hunt for a pillow which was in another bed. Once bedding was changed, quality was horrendous, I wouldn't know how anyone actually sleeps here. Wasted £130 on 2 nights. Ended up staying in stunning hotel more central for £190 for the 2 nights. Please do read through reviews before you book, it's worth spending the small amount more elsewhere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
6.3

Cold water in the shower, cold in toilet and shower. Toilet was dirty!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
7.7

The hostel urgently needs more heaters. There are no outlets to carry the cell phone on all the beds. The staff is well available and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Nov 2016
9.4

This hostel suited me just fine!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • smartiecookies
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
29th Nov 2016
6.0

I wasn't terribly impressed by hatters, arriving I had to wait several minutes before I could check, and then when I went to my room someone else had been using the bunk I was assigned. The staff of course solved this problem, but it just took extra time from my evening, the rooms are bare and not terribly modern or nice looking, but would do for a night. the toilet facilities were not dirty but just very run down and very very old. the free breakfast was good and orange segments were nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Nov 2016
6.9

Good location, but bed was super uncomfortable,

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • steph_keith861
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
6.3

Excellent location being close to amenities & the train station. Good facilities overall, however there were not many toilets. Noisy on weekend nights but fairly quiet during the week. My room was spacious but characterless with only a few beds, no decor or curtains & one overhead light for everyone. The hostel had a bit of a dated feel to it with draughty windows & it needed a lick of paint. The hygiene was dubious at times too with flies in the kitchen, a grimy microwave & dust on surfaces.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.4

The pros: The hostel's location is great. The staff is nice and helpful. The breakfast is pretty good. The cons: The rooms are honestly depressing. Just the beds which aren't exactly comfortable, and nothing else. The blinds in my room were broken so had to sleep with the city lights. The whole place is quite old so everything feels a bit dirty. Overall it's a handy hostel if you need a cheap night in Manchester, but I still found it a bit expensive for what it is.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Nov 2016
6.0

Toilets were constantly filthy, showers are push button which run for 10 seconds before turning off!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.