Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hatters on Newton Street

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 4,487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 4,487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
Hatters on Newton Street Located at 50 Newton Street, , Manchester.
Hatters on Newton Street
England
Manchester lancashire m1 2ea 50 Newton Street
71% 4487
53.4818913 -2.2329282
Hatters on Newton Street
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jul 2016
6.6

An interesting party hostel in centre of Manchester, 10 minute walk from Piccadilly train station and near local buses/trams. Great helpful staff. Dorm rooms ok, beds have lumpy matress and room is hot, unable to open windos! Bathrooms on separate to dorm and a long walk at night! Good place if you like to drink/party, pub crawls, open mike etc. Not that cheap, but basic breakfast included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
5.7

The only redeeming feature of this place is cheap place to crash in Manchester. Beyond that, it is disgusting on the clenliness, the staff ain't very helpful, ND it's just another big hostel in big city. Good place to crash and that's about it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • klausdenecke
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.0

The location is very good, but for me need a box in every Romm to leave a luggage

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jul 2016
6.3

The mattress were almost impossible to sleep on they were so bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.7

I had a great time. A great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
10.0

Brilliant hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
6.0

Stayed one night and that's about long enough. Nothing special here. Just your typical soulless urban hostel. Stayed in a 10 bed dorm. Room was big enough. Toilets ok, but pretty crummy. Showers about the same. Facility is old and tired. Small lockers available outside the room, need own lock. The beds were horrible. Very uncomfortable and terribly squeaky! Breakfast ok. Cereal, toast and juice. If you need a night or two cheap accommodations then this place fits the bill.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2016
5.1

Bad bathrooms and toiletes: COLD water on the showers, not cleanned very often. Few out lets to recharge phones and other eletronic devices (wasn't enough for everyone in the room to use during the night). Hostel was not very clean. But most of all, the guys at the reception were the worst, not helpfull at all, they kept people waiting for no reason and were very rude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
6.6

Had read the reviews ahead, but since there was only Hatter's available (both locations) that was our only option and we figured we could make it one night. We did, and the staff was fine, but the MATTRESSES sweet lord- they are exactly as uncomfortable as everyone says. It's actually impressive how lumpy and awful they are. Otherwise, the place was fine, breakfast typical, although the cleaning solution they used was pretty smelly so I headed out from the common area as quickly as possible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
3.7

The advertising on the website does not represent the nature of the facilities. An overall upgrade in the facilities is required for it to live up to its advertised image--new beds, clean facilities, etc. I left this hostel as soon as I could.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.