X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters on Newton Street Reviews

50 Newton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3732 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Hostel is in a good location, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Decent sized kitchen. Only request would be for more plug sockets in the rooms and lockers in the rooms.


80%

good location , clean, think some staff could of been bit more friendlier , female showers dripped-really need sort the showers out and were not warm too, beds felt like the springs were coming out, no towel offered like the hatters in Liverpool, preferred the layout of breakfast in Liverpool hatters, but apart from that I would use again because low budget and location and clean .


77%

This was an okay hostel. Staff was nice, location was good and the common area was great. The toilets and showers were pretty bad though. Dirty most of the time (morning, afternoon

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you enjoyed the hostel and seemed to soak up the good atmosphere in the common areas, but upset that you found our toilets dirty! Our housekeepers are in everyday and do their best to keep things clean. We will try to keep them more regulated though, and will always appreciate a tip-off at reception when the housekeepers have gone home :)

91%

I stayed in a 24 bed dorm on a Saturday. Amazing location about a 5min walk to the centre, 5 min walk to the train station and 10 min walk to Sudehill exchange (bus station). I was visiting friends from Manchester so was only there for 1 night and didnt spend much time there, but still got chatting to several people so it's a really sociable place, especially for people travelling alone. Free breakfast in the morning was great, simple selection but great to have it included in the price.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Security at the main entrance is very secure but once in my room door was left open by other guest. Location is great very central. If you want to book the man u tour make sure you do them well in advance with the hostel.


97%

Great common areas!!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Very close to the center and piccadilly rail station. The staff is nice and friendly. The showers are very loud when your room is next to, especially at night. But for a one night stay the hostel is okay and not very expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!! We're a 10 minute walk from practically anywhere you need to get to in Manchester and are always happy to welcome you in!

94%

wifi isn't available on the second floor


91%

I'll stay at Hatter's whenever I come to Manchester.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah you will.

80%

it was good and practical.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're good and practical too, I think we must be soulmates.

100%

Great location and a great spot to spend a night. A little hot in the room but that seems to be all the hostels these days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
A night.........or FIVE!

91%

Excellent staff and value for money considering the low cost. Fantastic location. The 5 stories were a little bit of a jaunt without the use of the elevator. Disappointed that nobody checked my luggage was indeed mine after retrieving from the "secure luggage room" upon checkout despite the raffle ticket system in place.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I think it's fair to say on behalf of all our staff that, after working here a while, we find ourselves developing a super power called the "Luggage Room Cock-Eye". Trust us, we're watching you. The CCTV we have installed in there helps too, a bit. Cheers for the review ;)

91%

I really recomend Hatters, if you want to be in the city centre and meet people there is the perfect place to go! :)

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
CORRECTOMONDO

94%

Nice, spacious, clean hostel at a great location in the heart of Manchester. Awesome friendly staff too! Shoutout to Caitlin who took us on the best pub crawl ever and a walking tour of the city the next day. Only negative was the showers which had poor pressure and weren't very hot even in the middle of the day

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh deary deary me. We have had a few shower issues since work started on the bar downstairs, but once the building stops getting poked and prodded we should be okay!! On a better note, here's a big thank you on behalf of Caitlin :D Our activity nights are run every night and include THREE BARCRAWLS, so please prepare yourself prior to arrival.

71%

Wi fi service barely covers from ground floor to second floor. One WC was broken (cannot flush). Lockers were all full and there were no padlocks to rent. Showers were new and clean. Staff was kind and smiling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're a lucky thang if you got any wi-fi at all on the second floor as it is only available on the ground and first floor. There shouldn't be any problems at all with our wi-fi so if there is we really need to be told - a solution is only a quick phone call away!

89%

Loved the time i had at the hostel :) had a great time. The staff was very friendly :). The only thing that bothered me was the state of the toilets. Often there was no toilet paper.. And there were dirty, but i do understand that that really doesn't have to be the fault of the staff but rather the fault of some not good people.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, we're so glad you had a good time!!!! We're sorry about the toilets - it's the hardest to keep them in tip-top shape on the weekends, but it is our responsibility to keep the toilet paper stocked, so we'll take that comment on board and make sure we do it first thing! Our guests can be very messy, but are well behaved most of the time ;)

71%

A good base for a stay in Manchester. It's not one of those hostels where you spend a lot of time socalising in the common areas, when I stayed there wasn't much of a vibe going on. Lockers were outside of the rooms, which didn't bother me, but may bother others. A good budget option.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hmm...Wednesday night is usually quite quiet but we are definitely always witnessing some sort of hype. It sounds like you may have missed the bar crawl that was held the second night you were here which is a shame, but we'll keep goin' strong, so come back and join in!!!

86%

All v.good and everything in walking distance. But, only one But: shared toailets might be on every floor

Owner Comment (Hide)
Heya, thanks! Our hostel is close to pretty much everything - the only time you would need to take a tram or a bus is to see the stadiums, and that's pretty cheap in itself anyway :) Thanks for the review - we will keep in mind to try harder when we are floor/gender allocating!

74%

The showers are horrible - they are in the basement and there aren't any hot water (at least at night). You have to continuously push a button in order to get water so is virtually impossible to wash your body properly, as one hand is occupied. Also, there are only two power outlets per room (7 persons in the one I was staying in). Other than that, very okay place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you did in fact find yourself in our basement you would have been confronted with the foundations of our new bar....we're all pretty comfortable with a bit of dirt under our fingernails but we don't shower with concrete and rubble ;) You do need to push a button to keep the water running but you don't have to keep your finger on it, your other hand is still very much free to roam. We hope other than this you made some good friends and enjoyed the atmosphere!

86%

Showers on my floor were not functioning

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(101 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback