X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters on Newton Street Reviews

50 Newton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
4260 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Everything was ok with the hostel. The staff is really nice and kind. Toilets and showers are ok. The only problem that I found is that there were few electric sockets in the room where I was staying. The only sockets in the room where far away from my bed. In the hostels where I have been, usually there is one socket per bed, so it is easier to charge your appliances whilst using them (mobile, laptop, etc.). Apart from that, it is a nice hostel to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind words! We hope you had an amazing time in Manchester, come back any time :) Warm regards, The Hatters Team

57%

The taps in the male toilets did not work, and the toilets did not flush. I did not have a shower there after speaking to someone who just had one and described it as low pressure and too hot - he could not adjust the temperature. There were not enough lockers available - and many of the lockers were unusable because the locks had broken; the large lockable storage room was incovenient - I had to make several trips to get things. Also, the whole place was dirty and shabby. Very noisy -loud music

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your time with us. We hope the 5 star staff and location made your trip to Manchester worthwhile :) Warm regards, The Hatters Team

83%

Everything is good. It's just a bit too noisy even after 12 midnight because my room is just next to TV room.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Sorry for the noisy stay, and thank you for your great review! Next time you're in town, we'd be happy to move you to a room in a quieter area :) Warm regards, Hatters Team

74%

The beds are awful, the rest is ok.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't like the beds, but we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of what we have to offer :) Kindly, The Hatters Team

91%

The bathroom & accommodation requires updating, eg the metal windows in the accommodation.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the great rating and feedback. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! Best, Hatters Team

46%

I hope that the series of events that happened in my stay were unusual, but almost all toilets had been "out of service" during two days! Maybe because of the few number of toilets available and the old hydraulic system. The lockers, rooms and toilets were very far from each other. I also found the dishes and floors very dirty! And one member of the staff had his walet stoled inside the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, The toilets being out of order was both unusual and, you're right, very inconvenient, we're very sorry about that! We hope you had a good time in Manchester regardless, thank you for your excellent feedback. Warm regards, Hatters Team

80%

Clean rooms, friendly staff and decent free breakfast. The heating in my room didn't work but they gave us a small fan heater which worked well enough. The men's toilets on the 3rd floor are very old and in horrible condition. Showers are fine and the toilets on the ground floor are cleaner and newer ( didn't check toilets on the other floors).

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a really good time. You guys were easy and awesome

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great to hear! Come back any time, we miss you already! Love always, Hatters Team

89%

Pretty solid hostel. WiFi was a bit spotty at times. Breakfast was decent. Place was a bit dead but that is probably to be expected a day or two after Christmas. Would recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks man! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - come back when there's a match on and you're bound to have a blast! Best, Hatters Team

49%

Please work on maintaining cleaniness and taking care necessary things that are required for utilities.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the great feedback, we hope you enjoyed your time in Manchester. Best, Hatters Team

57%

Understaffed, resulting in the facilities of being a sub par of cleanliness and beds not being prepared in time for set check in times. Hostel lives for the premium guests are forced to pay on Friday/Saturday. Hope my extra money gets contributed to fixing up some basics of hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time here, we hope you liked Manchester regardless. Best, Hatters Team

100%

V good location. Clean. Good showers.

  • 17th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome, thank you! Come back any time :) Best, Hatters Team

100%

great experience... expected standard hostel stuff but this was was one of the better hostels I've stayed in. Ron the Australian and Alice were fun people.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time, we'd love to have you back again! Warmly, The Hatters Team

77%

Stayed here for a night and it was great!


83%

The hostel is very close to the train station, food, bars, restaurants, and clubs. The second you walk in the staff is very friendly, offered free dinner, and made an inviting atmosphere. The rooms were fine, the bed worked out great, but the showers do not really get warm. It's not a problem though because the hostel is totally affordable, they'll watch your stuff for free in a secure place, and it is a good value for your money. I highly suggest.

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we'd love to have you back the next time you're in town! Happy travels, Hatters Hostel

40%

Worst hostel I've stayed at z in over 30 years. Unhelpful staff, dirty rooms, no hot water, most taps didn't work, loo paper on the hall floors, underwear on the stairs -still there the next day- blinds were broken, window didn't close, extremely loud music in the corridor outside my dorm at 3am and the dorm door didn't close. There was only 1 power outlet. I was booked in for 2 nights but didn't come back on the second night, choosing to stay somewhere else instead. A really poor expe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, an older building situated above a bar certainly has its drawbacks. We hope you enjoyed your time in Manchester nonetheless. Regards, Hatters Reception Team

60%

When we arrived where circumstances where people lay in our beds. The hostel was a little bit dirty.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry that there were people in your beds - bed hoppers are the worst! We hope that you enjoyed your time in Manchester regardless! Kindly, Hatters Team

63%

Need Some improvements, bad matrasses

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry that you had an uncomfortable stay, hope you enjoyed your time in Manchester regardless. Kindly, Hatters Team

71%

The staff and security are great but I would say everything else is average. Nothing wrong with it just not great either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed our company! Hope to see you again next time you're in town :) Kindly, The Hatters Team

74%

The dorms were quite big, so even though there were almost 20 beds, it didn't feel crowded. The showers were too public, only a glass door with some glazing covering you. The showers were also scalding how and it was impossible to regulate the temperature. Some of the toilets were kind of old looking as well and spilled water all over the place when flushed. The breakfast was okay, but I feel that it needed more protein.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! Hope you enjoyed your time in Manchester. Warm regards, The Hatters Team

(114 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback