X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hatters on Newton Street Reviews

50 Newton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3747 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Excellent hostel. Only improvment I could suggested it privacy curtains round the beds

Owner Comment (Hide)
Noted! We've got a few home improvements going on at the moment (let me take this opportunity to say that our bar will be up and running in a couple of months time yipee!) so we'll make sure that's on our list!

74%

Good location, plenty of shops, food and beer close by. Good common area with pool table, couches and small kitchen. The room was fine, plenty of room even though there was 8 people. The showers and toilet were old but still worked fine. Had a good night on the pub crawl..


60%

I've been to this hostel before and i have always loved it. but this time i was disappointed. the kitchen was closed or doesnt exist anymore!? toilets, showers and rooms need a makeover. staff is not unfriendly but not very forthcoming either. the activities are sparse. in the past this hostel was all about making the guests feel welcome. now its about asking for a lot of money while offering little. i dont think i'll be back:(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hee-eeeey we do have a kitchen, and it's bigger and better!! You may have missed it as it's been moved to the first floor so we apologise if we forgot to mention this at check in! We have activities every single night except Sunday (this day is dedicated to Bar crawl hangovers). We're really sorry you didn't feel as welcome as before, we try our best and now we're sad :( Come back so we can make it up to you!!!!

89%

The hostel facilities, location and staff were excellent but I just faced only 1 problem that is it's very noisy at night time due to vehicles movement outside the hostel. Rest everything is perfect.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey and thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review :) We're sorry about the noise, just ask us at reception for earplugs if you need them!

20%

Do not stay here. The staff are unfriendly and the conditions are absolutely horrible. Everything is run down and broken.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we're really sorry you seemed to have a bad experience! It does help when our guests talk to us at the time, but if you feel strongly about what happened, please send us a direct email letting us know what went wrong! It's rare that we get our percentage ego so bruised, so we'd like to know what we could have changed to give you a better time!

83%

Very nice hostel- friendly, enthusiastic staff, great location, fairly comfortable, and sufficient room for cooking, eating, and just chilling. Only suggestion: I stayed in the 18 person dorm, and the blinds didn't really do anything about shutting out the light, and therefore I was woken up every day at around 5 (or whenever the sun rises) because it was REALLY bright, and the same goes for trying to fall asleep. If possible, install heavier blinds, but it is a relatively small issue.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is bright for the most part on the UK summer days so we will take that into consideration! We have recently purchased new blinds for a few of our rooms so hopefully 201 will get it's special treatment soon too! it was very nice to have you guys, hope you return soon :)

66%

Room and showers were comfortable. There is room for improvement for service staff mending the reception.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review! I'm not quite sure whether you mean that we could improve as customer service representatives or carpenters but we will do both!!!

71%

The hostel is very well located, you can go walking to everywhere but I honestly think it's too expensive for what it is itself. You can have a free tea anytime of the day though, which is a good thing. There's no lockers in the rooms, so it's a bit unsafe for your suitcase.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location - very close to Picadilly Station. Hostel is close to the main street of Manchester. Staff is very friendly and helpful. You can leave your baggage there but is a little to expensive.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for the review - we're in a prime location near the (best!) bars and restaurants, and we do our best to make you feel welcome. You may have been misinformed about our luggage storage, which is free before and after check out - you only need to pay if you are leaving it overnight and are not actually staying!

74%

Good breakfast, nice place, good location atmosphere: very nice wifi, internet, nice living, nice place! value for money: very good staff: two guys in the reception dont like their job, dont like turist and they rudes, unfriendly and they must be fired (my opinion) the woman in reception was very agreable, but not the guys.


74%

Good hostel in city center. Facilities were a bit on the old side and run down, one of the toilets had trouble flushing and the hot water didn't work on some of the sinks. Close to the city and bus station though and they have nightly events so that's nice.


83%

Was a great hostel, Tuesday night we got a free dinner (maybe advertise it a bit more) rooms were clean, beds were pretty comfy. Showers were good location good and staff reasonably helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Advertising our activity nights - definitely noted!! We run these nights EVERY night and they're all free and lots of fun, get awwwn it!

69%

This hostel is just too huge. I personally prefer small hostels so that i can interact with more people. The staff were busy doing their work so did not get a chance to talk to them. The breakfast is just ok, because they only provide some cereals and bread (no fruit). The toilets are very old...

Owner Comment (Hide)
If we look busy, just wave your hands in our faces and shout expletives. Joking, we'll kick you out if you do that. Haha. Our common rooms are open 24/7 and with the help of our host running activity nights, it is quite easy to meet other backpackers, although admittedly we are sometimes quiet during the week! We hope you can meet more people next time you're here :)

80%

Very nice hostel, but there was no soap left in the bathroom. A bit expensive on Saturday nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Please just ask us if you notice anything missing, we'll restock before you can say...soap?

74%

I was happy to choose this hostel! I really like the location and the staff were so cool

Owner Comment (Hide)
We ARE pretty cool, aren't we?!?! And close to all the cool bars, cool art, and cool coffee shops! Cool.

83%

Globally the hostel is good, near of city (bus, tram, shop, animations....), the area is safe and clean, there is not really staff, only one receptionist (she was great person) , but its not enough. The alone problem, is , toilets and shower are not close of rooms, and are not so clean. But I advise it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! There may be moments of madness when a few people check in at the same time, but during the week it is seldom that we need more than one member of staff, we're multi-tasking queens :) If you notice a probelm with the toilets just let us know and we can sort it out, and we can always change your floor if you have an issue with going up or down a flight to the toilets :) Just ask!!

97%

Loved this hostel! One of my favorites I've stayed in so far. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made my stay incredibly enjoyable. Would definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wowzerss thank you!!!! We hope you have a good time on the rest of your travels and you are always welcome back :)

89%

Huge hostel without the usual issues for really big hostels. Good number of toilets and showers, clean enough, good beds, big rooms have a considerable space between beds, very good breakfast, big and useful kitchen. The thing, as usual with hostels in UK, is that you feel like you are over paying a little bit. Unfortunately, if you want to travel expensive countrys, you have to spend a little bit more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much!! Our kitchen has just been fitted as it used to be a little smaller so we're glad people are putting it to good use!! We're sorry to be charging a little more than you might pay in other countries in Europe, but I'm not sure we would survive in the UK if we didn't ;)

83%

A 5 minutes walk from the station. Very good atmosphere and free dinner at the night of my stay. Friendly staff. large and clean shower room for dormitories. The only problem is to find a shelf to put your clothes before shower.


63%

Dorms are on the shabby side; really could do with a renovation. Very noisy, windows don't seal properly. Broken sleep with people rapping on the door as they'd forgotten their card in the early hours...

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would recommend booking a private room to avoid disturbances from other guests, we have three single rooms here and also more privates in our sister hostel, Hatters at Hilton Chambers!

(90 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback