X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hatters on Newton Street Reviews

50 Newton Street, Manchester, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3654 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

the good great location nice music and chillout area staff are helpful the bad terrible showers (cant change heat settings and weak) dusty, especially under the bed, could use a proper vacume too many "DO NOT DO..." this and that signs everywhere! kinda off putting

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments on the music, our manager needs to be careful that we all don't set off to become DJ's, no?! Unfortunately during busy times when everyone is taking showers it can be a bit too much pressure for our pipes, but we will look into improving that!! Concerning our signs...people STILL misbehave sometimes (often), so we hate to imagine the chaos if we didn't have them up!

89%

Very nice hostel that is located perfectly for exploring Manchester. Just about 5 minutes away from Manchester Piccadilly. The staff is helpful and friendly and the rooms (at least mine; mixed 4 dorm) were clean and spacious. The hostel itself also was clean and in good condition. I have already been to the Hatter-hostels in Birmingham and Liverpool and again I was not disappointed by the hostel. WIFI is only available in the common room. Breakfast is okay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks!!!! We're so glad you hit all our hostels and enjoyed yourself - we hope you took advantage of the 10% discount that you receive off our hostels when you book directly with us!!!

100%

Great facilities and atmosphere. Great location as well. Totally recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
100%! Thas wut am talkin abou'. Thanks so much for the review, glad to hear you were happy with everything - although how could you not be with free tea and coffee and such brilliant guests to keep you company :p

86%

A really spacious room and good breakie however there is no lift so you might be disappointed when you're on the 5th floor and have to go up and down everyday


86%

overall a pretty cool place. Loved the chilled out morning receptionist who was super friendly and gave us lots of advice. Pretty sure one of our roomates was a small time drug dealer who stole our toiletries though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Those damn drug-dealing theives!! Maybe even a toiletrie dealer?!!? No but really, let us know if anything shifty is going on, so we can scope it out!! Was it South America you were going to next??? Either way I hope you both have a brilliant time, you are our favourite type of guests :) See yous across the waaaay!

83%

great location but a bit noisy! staff were great helpful with tourist info

Owner Comment (Hide)
The great location does equals noisy we're afraid!!! We do have earplugs at reception though, never hesitate to ask :) Thank you so much for your review, you are welcome back anytime!!!!

71%

We booked Hatters at the last minute so that may be why it was really expensive. Pros - great location to see the sites and go out at night; convenient breakfast (which was well stocked even though we didn't get there until 9.30). Cons - 22 pounds for a ten person dorm that doesn't have power points or lockers wasn't value for money; the dorm was up a massive flight of stairs; shared bathroom is freezing cold and there were only two girls toilets for the floor; no real communal space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi guys!! The most likely reason that your stay was expensive may have been due to the fact that it was New Year's Eve...we try to keep cheap but our prices can go up in high demand times! Our dorms do have power points and there are also some in our 24/7 common rooms, just ask us if you can't find them :) We apologise for the stairs, we can't let go of our beloved antique lift!!

1 2 3 4 5 Next » last »
(87 results)


View all Manchester Hostels

Please give us your feedback